We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kirk Lea Guest House

303 Huddersfield Road | West Yorkshire, Halifax HX3 0PG, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kirk Lea Guest House
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Kirk Lea Guest House
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    4
    2
    3
    2
See reviews for
6
5
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (26)
  • Mar-May only
    (7)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (8)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (4)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (7)
All months
Halifax, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2015

I live on the same road as this guest house so have obviously never stayed- was reading these comments out of curiousity. I do think that the comments about cleaning seem unfair though- simply because whenever I walk past the owners seem to be constantly busy and 99% of the time you can see that they are cleaning! So the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KirkHalifax, Owner at Kirk Lea Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive comments. We really do try. Please feel free to come and have a cuppa with us. More 

Swanage, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2014

I booked for three nights and stayed for one. I was put up on the 2nd floor. It smelt of cooking oil and the two rooms on this floor are in desperate need of refurbishment. The toilet has a sliding door and did not feel private. The shower was in a very madeshift room and not particularly clean. I found... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
KirkHalifax, Owner at Kirk Lea Guest House, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for your feedback. We welcome comments and would appreciate a direct conversation so we can understand concerns. Sorry you found the cooked breakfast odour too strong for you. Following the comments we have made adjustments to the sliding door and are planning redecorating some of the rooms. The original house had been converted into the Guest House... More 

Buxton
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We stayed here for 1 night in room 2. It was extremely noisy - road traffic from the main road directly below. The room was OK but there's a need for some new bedding and some redecoration. Breakfast was fine and the host was very friendly. But overall if we'd paid £50 for the two of us we'd have thought... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KirkHalifax, Owner at Kirk Lea Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback, sorry you were disturbed by the road noise. We are planning to redecorate some of the rooms in the near future. Thank you for the positive comments on the breakfast and staff. We do hope to see you again. Regards More 

Halifax, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

A broken bed, a childish room, FILTHY bedding, the pillows stank! Thank goodness we didn't have breakfast ... The whole experience was depressing! Noisy, dirty when we complained the woman just shrugged and said " oh" Don't stay here ... Find another place ... Or sleep on the park up the road !!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
KirkHalifax, Owner at Kirk Lea Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback, which really shocked us. As soon as you notified us (on the second day) that the bed had broken it was replaced immediately. We did not blame anyone as these things happen. As for the other comments, they are not true. You asked for a special rate as you did not want breakfast during your... More 

Buckingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

A super b&b. I stayed for four nights helping my daughter to move into a house nearby. My room and the public areas that I saw were very clean and tidy but, overall, the place is a bit seedy and could do with freshening up. I stayed in room one, a clean, comfortable twin bedded room overlooking the side street... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KirkHalifax, Owner at Kirk Lea Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. It is always a pleasure to look after visitors like you. More 

Bedford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Run by freindly husband and wife team, situated on a very busy main road, traffic noise could be an issue to some . Have stayed in room one twice, clean and comfortable also resionably quiet. On street parking needing a permit issued by the b&b. Choice of places to eat short walk away.

Was this review helpful? Yes
KirkHalifax, Owner at Kirk Lea Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments. We can move guests to different rooms if available. We look forward to meeting you again. More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

Kirk lea is an exceptional b and b. A warm and friendly welcome, helped instilled a home from home atmosphere. Location provided a perfect base for business as well as facilitating leisure activities. Overall i would recommend Kirk Lea, as breakfast was perfectly cooked and plentiful.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Management response:

Thank you for your pleasant comments. It was good to meet you and we look forward to seeing you again. More 

Blackpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

Rooms are quite pricey for what you get. Bathroom in serious need of professional maintenance as its grubby and falling to bits. Indian owner not investing money in making a quality B&B experience!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
KirkHalifax, Owner at Kirk Lea Guest House, responded to this review

Hi, thank you for your comments. We hope you enjoyed your stay otherwise and sorry if the bathroom was found not to be up to your standard. We’ve recently restarted the redecoration. Have a look at our recent photo’s on our website. More 

Sturminster Newton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

I made my reservation several months ago when invited to a Wedding nearby. Before reserving, I read the web site thoroughly and was pleased with what I read hence my booking. On arrival the alarm bells rang and that was just looking at this place from the outside. I was greeted by the very pleasant John and shown to my... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
KirkHalifax, Owner at Kirk Lea Guest House, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for your comments. Agreed the staff at Kirk Lea Guest House are very helpful and always try to help. Sorry we were not up to your expectations. With regards to the furnishing, window closer and floor board that needs screwing down will be looked into this weekend, if the room is free. Thanks you. More 

Farnborough, Hants.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

My wife and I stayed her in early December 2011, we can not match the place we stayed with the reviews we read. The whole place is tired and worn out, the curtains were thin and let in the light from the street lamp outside. It is opposite the hospital and the ambulance sirens kept us awake. There is a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

11 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
0:54
All traveler photos (2)
Viewed
0:54
Videos (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay