We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 14 Halifax B&Bs / inns

Kirk Lea Guest House

303 Huddersfield Road | West Yorkshire, Halifax HX3 0PG, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Kirk Lea Guest House to your Saves list
Kirk Lea Guest House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
78%
Ranked #10 of 14 Halifax B&B and Inns
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014
jtay_12 Oxford, United Kingdom
  • Reviews (23)
  • Photos (11)
  • Amenities
  • Room tips (4)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

23 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    4
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
5
5
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A broken bed, a childish room, FILTHY bedding, the pillows stank! Thank goodness we didn't have breakfast ... The whole experience was depressing! Noisy, dirty when we complained the woman just shrugged and said " oh" Don't stay here ... Find another place ... Or sleep on the park up the road !!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
KirkHalifax, Owner at Kirk Lea Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback, which really shocked us. As soon as you notified us (on the second day) that the bed had broken it was replaced immediately. We did not blame anyone as these things happen. As for the other comments, they are not true. You asked for a special rate as you did not want breakfast during your... More

Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

A super b&b. I stayed for four nights helping my daughter to move into a house nearby. My room and the public areas that I saw were very clean and tidy but, overall, the place is a bit seedy and could do with freshening up. I stayed in room one, a clean, comfortable twin bedded room overlooking the side street... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
KirkHalifax, Owner at Kirk Lea Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. It is always a pleasure to look after visitors like you. More

Bedford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Run by freindly husband and wife team, situated on a very busy main road, traffic noise could be an issue to some . Have stayed in room one twice, clean and comfortable also resionably quiet. On street parking needing a permit issued by the b&b. Choice of places to eat short walk away.

Was this review helpful? Yes
KirkHalifax, Owner at Kirk Lea Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments. We can move guests to different rooms if available. We look forward to meeting you again. More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012 via mobile

Kirk lea is an exceptional b and b. A warm and friendly welcome, helped instilled a home from home atmosphere. Location provided a perfect base for business as well as facilitating leisure activities. Overall i would recommend Kirk Lea, as breakfast was perfectly cooked and plentiful.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Management response:

Thank you for your pleasant comments. It was good to meet you and we look forward to seeing you again. More

Blackpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012 via mobile

Rooms are quite pricey for what you get. Bathroom in serious need of professional maintenance as its grubby and falling to bits. Indian owner not investing money in making a quality B&B experience!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
KirkHalifax, Owner at Kirk Lea Guest House, responded to this review

Hi, thank you for your comments. We hope you enjoyed your stay otherwise and sorry if the bathroom was found not to be up to your standard. We’ve recently restarted the redecoration. Have a look at our recent photo’s on our website. More

Sturminster Newton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

I made my reservation several months ago when invited to a Wedding nearby. Before reserving, I read the web site thoroughly and was pleased with what I read hence my booking. On arrival the alarm bells rang and that was just looking at this place from the outside. I was greeted by the very pleasant John and shown to my... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
KirkHalifax, Owner at Kirk Lea Guest House, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for your comments. Agreed the staff at Kirk Lea Guest House are very helpful and always try to help. Sorry we were not up to your expectations. With regards to the furnishing, window closer and floor board that needs screwing down will be looked into this weekend, if the room is free. Thanks you. More

Farnborough, Hants.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

My wife and I stayed her in early December 2011, we can not match the place we stayed with the reviews we read. The whole place is tired and worn out, the curtains were thin and let in the light from the street lamp outside. It is opposite the hospital and the ambulance sirens kept us awake. There is a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

Very nice B&B, rooms clean and cosy. Good rates, including a fantastic full breakfast, freshly prepared even at 6am in the morning. Will very happily stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

Going to a funeral the following day, had a restful night, superb breakfast which set me up for the day. John & Val are lovely people, very professional, nothing was too much trouble for them, they provide an excellent service and deserve to do well. So book in now! Highly recommend the place to anyone, and it will be even... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
northampton
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

stayed here whilst at the hospital for birth of grand daughter...flexible beyond belief! Welcome and service excellent and made us feel like at home ... Rooms clean and have everything you need and Breakfast absolutely first class.. . thank you both so much for making our stay first class after all the un sociable hours we kept back and forth... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
KirkHalifax, Owner at Kirk Lea Guest House, responded to this review

You are more than welcome. We try to accommodate everyone’s needs. Here’s hoping you have many more grand children, so we see you more often! Thank you and very nice to meet you too! More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Kirk Lea Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Kirk Lea Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kirk Lea Guest House

Address: 303 Huddersfield Road | West Yorkshire, Halifax HX3 0PG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Kirk Lea Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

11 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
0:54
All traveler photos (2)
Viewed
0:54
Videos (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Amenities

Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A highly recommended bed and breakfast guest house in Halifax, for £32 per night with a full English breakfast included. Choose from good sized bedrooms with en-suite shower rooms or single bedroom with shower room and W.C. The comfort of your stay includes TV in all rooms, tea, coffee making facilities. Children of all ages are welcome. The Bed and Breakfast is situated on A629 with easy access to local towns and motorway network. There is an excellent public transport service to and from Halifax town centre with its bustling nightlife, theatres and cultural attractions. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
5

See which rooms travelers prefer