We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kirk Lea Guest House

303 Huddersfield Road | West Yorkshire, Halifax HX3 0PG, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kirk Lea Guest House
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Kirk Lea Guest House
Add Photo Write a Review

30 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    17
    5
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
6
6
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (30)
  • Mar-May only
    (7)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (12)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (4)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (7)
All months
Madrid, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed for two nights in a comfortable, quiet single room at the top of the house, with kettle, microwave and wifi provided. Pearl was very welcoming and also really helpful throughout my stay. She makes a generous breakfast the way you like it, and she's got her own supplier for bacon and black pudding! The weather was gorgeous when... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KirkHalifax, Owner at Kirk Lea Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write the wonderful review. We try hard to ensure our guests are comfortable and have everything they need. Most of our customers agree that we are well located to get around Calderdale. We enjoyed your company and looking after you, we do hope to see you soon. Best Wishes. More 

Alicante Province, Spain
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Pearl & Dave run a very good B & B, we were met and shown our very nice spacious room on arrival. The room was clean and well presented with a large on suit. We spent 2 comfortable nights and we very pleased that there is a selection of buses that we were able to make use on the door... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KirkHalifax, Owner at Kirk Lea Guest House, responded to this review

Hi Paul, It was a great pleasure having you both stay with us at Kirk Lea Guest House. We welcome your positive feedback and look forward to meeting you again. As someone has previously said “It’s worth staying just for the breakfast!” Thank you again. More 

Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Pearl was very welcoming and nothing was too much, room was nice and fresh and just what I needed after a busy day in the Fax. The access to parking was brilliant helped by a parking permit, would definitely stay there again. Finally the breakfast was EPIC :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
KirkHalifax, Owner at Kirk Lea Guest House, responded to this review

We aim to please everyone who stays with us at Kirk Lea Guest House. Your feedback is appreciated and much welcomed. WE look forward to seeing you again. Best Wishes. More 

Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Pearl and Dave who run this B&B are an extremely kind and welcoming couple who really treat their guests in a very warm and hospitable way. It is worth staying here just for their excellent cooked English breakfasts (which were so plentiful that they lasted me through most of each day). The location is handy - especially for visitors to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KirkHalifax, Owner at Kirk Lea Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and kind words. It was a pleasure having you stay with Kirk Lea Guest House again. We enjoyed your company too. We have almost completed the redecoration. Best of health and leisure. We hope to see you again. Regards. More 

Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2015

I live on the same road as this guest house so have obviously never stayed- was reading these comments out of curiousity. I do think that the comments about cleaning seem unfair though- simply because whenever I walk past the owners seem to be constantly busy and 99% of the time you can see that they are cleaning! So the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KirkHalifax, Owner at Kirk Lea Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive comments. We really do try. Please feel free to come and have a cuppa with us. More 

Swanage, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2014

I booked for three nights and stayed for one. I was put up on the 2nd floor. It smelt of cooking oil and the two rooms on this floor are in desperate need of refurbishment. The toilet has a sliding door and did not feel private. The shower was in a very madeshift room and not particularly clean. I found... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
KirkHalifax, Owner at Kirk Lea Guest House, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for your feedback. We welcome comments and would appreciate a direct conversation so we can understand concerns. Sorry you found the cooked breakfast odour too strong for you. Following the comments we have made adjustments to the sliding door and are planning redecorating some of the rooms. The original house had been converted into the Guest House... More 

Buxton
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We stayed here for 1 night in room 2. It was extremely noisy - road traffic from the main road directly below. The room was OK but there's a need for some new bedding and some redecoration. Breakfast was fine and the host was very friendly. But overall if we'd paid £50 for the two of us we'd have thought... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KirkHalifax, Owner at Kirk Lea Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback, sorry you were disturbed by the road noise. We are planning to redecorate some of the rooms in the near future. Thank you for the positive comments on the breakfast and staff. We do hope to see you again. Regards More 

Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

A broken bed, a childish room, FILTHY bedding, the pillows stank! Thank goodness we didn't have breakfast ... The whole experience was depressing! Noisy, dirty when we complained the woman just shrugged and said " oh" Don't stay here ... Find another place ... Or sleep on the park up the road !!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
KirkHalifax, Owner at Kirk Lea Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback, which really shocked us. As soon as you notified us (on the second day) that the bed had broken it was replaced immediately. We did not blame anyone as these things happen. As for the other comments, they are not true. You asked for a special rate as you did not want breakfast during your... More 

Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

A super b&b. I stayed for four nights helping my daughter to move into a house nearby. My room and the public areas that I saw were very clean and tidy but, overall, the place is a bit seedy and could do with freshening up. I stayed in room one, a clean, comfortable twin bedded room overlooking the side street... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KirkHalifax, Owner at Kirk Lea Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. It is always a pleasure to look after visitors like you. More 

Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Run by freindly husband and wife team, situated on a very busy main road, traffic noise could be an issue to some . Have stayed in room one twice, clean and comfortable also resionably quiet. On street parking needing a permit issued by the b&b. Choice of places to eat short walk away.

Was this review helpful? Yes
KirkHalifax, Owner at Kirk Lea Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments. We can move guests to different rooms if available. We look forward to meeting you again. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

15 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
0:54
All traveler photos (2)
Viewed
0:54
Videos (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay