We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Old Post Office

55 Winding Road, Halifax HX1 1SJ, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Old Post Office
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

42 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Halifax, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Hit, bed sink and tv. no facilities, no kettle, no anything in rooms, no where to put clothes. freezing cold, shabby rooms. shared toilet/shower between several rooms, constant music banging through floor until midnight makes rooms useless bins not emptied at all, one towel never changed, towels and bed smell like mildew. garbage location. this place is the worst place... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kyle H
351thomasw, Manager at The Old Post Office, responded to this review

Hi Kyle. I am very sorry to hear that you haven't enjoyed your stay with us. We wasn't aware that you didn't enjoy your stay at the time as none of this was brought to our attention. We have different types of rooms which are different prices.. £25 for a single room with shared bathroom and a shared kitchen with... More 

Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2015

nice b+b ideal for contractors with clean rooms a nice pint and cheap meals, they also provide a well equipped kitchen for there guests to prepare there own food. another good point about this hotel is its location, right in the centre of halifax, near loads of shops.

Helpful?
Thank william g
Bridlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2015

On the wall outside they advertised luxury rooms and bed and breakfast We were met in the bar by a friendly barmaid. Who informed us they didn't do breakfast and she couldn't really recommend anywhere .she gave us the keys and said we had to vacate the room by 10am and if we left before this to put the keys... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank happyeater262

Travelers are raving about these Halifax hotels

Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2015 via mobile

I was made to feel welcome from the first second I entered the place. The staff are exceptionally friendly and make you feel more than welcome and in fact with in hours I felt like I had always been here! One issue was a male member of staff I believe named pav. He is far more interested in cleaning, even... More 

Helpful?
Thank deano26575
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2015

This is a pub with some rooms that only have one way out....and that is not through the pub but directly onto the street! There is no-one about in the morning and absolutely no early breakfast.....I don't know if there is a late breakfast even! Oh what a mistake....but my car had broken down and I needed somewhere to sleep.

Helpful?
Thank AGourmetvegetarian
351thomasw, Owner at The Old Post Office, responded to this review

The author of this review booked a room through 'laterooms' at 11.30pm on a Saturday evening. She then arrived one hour later at 12.30am expecting us to be open. If she had telephoned to confirm her booking we would have been able to make arrangements to accommodate her. It clearly states on our website our opening times and that we... More 

Halifax, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2015

Overall goo experience. We were looking for a hotel with kitchen and this hotel offers everything from self kitchen to self laundry. Within reach from metro station. The rooms were ok with not exactly like hotel facility but would offer a suitable option in case you need to have combination of hotel and B&B

Helpful?
Thank tinnu2011
351thomasw, Owner at The Old Post Office, responded to this review

Many thanks for your fair and considered review More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2015

Great customer service from all the staff at the old post office. Everyone is so welcoming. What i loved about the staff they would always go that extra mile to make me feel comfortable in my room. The room was very spacious and i found that i had loads of storage to put things away. The room is very clean.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Gaz120
351thomasw, Owner at The Old Post Office, responded to this review

Many thanks for your excellent review. We constantly try to go the extra mile to help our valued guests More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2015 via mobile

I recently had an 18th birthday and the staff were fantastic!! The room was pefect and I couldnt of asked for a better deal 18th Thank You! Would definitely recommend this pub! My family and friends were looked after and they helped out when we needed it.

Helpful?
Thank Courtney C
351thomasw, Owner at The Old Post Office, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for your party. We think that our function room is one of the best in Halifax and a great size to hold parties and functions for between 30 and 100 people. We get many compliments from customers who have held their function with us and appreciate all of them More 

Halifax, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2015 via mobile

Myself and my partner have stayed here twice now and stayed again Monday night it's a lovely little place inside and out the food is brilliant an very reasonably priced but the young lady behind the bar made us feel so unwelcome she never smile not even once and never explained anything to us just give us a bank detail... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank s-west79
351thomasw, Owner at The Old Post Office, responded to this review

We have asked that this review is removed as we think that it has been written by a disgruntled ex-staff member or a friend of theirs. Tripadvisor has turned down our request as it falls within their guidelines. We find it strange that that someone from the Halifax area would stay here as a couple twice within a short period... More 

Barkisland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2015

Here for one night and the room (at street level) exceeded my expectations in terms of cost, size, provision of a mini kitchen and, most importantly, access to town centre (less than 300 metres away). The room met my needs in respect of comfort (can't whinge about springs in mattress when paying such a fair price), cleanliness, service (despite bar... More 

Helpful?
Thank WarWalker
351thomasw, Owner at The Old Post Office, responded to this review

Thank you for your reasoned and sensible review.As you allude to, We offer good quality accommodation at a very fair price In a convenient location. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

17 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Halifax hotels
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Halifax Town Centre
0.2 mi away
The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality
0.1 mi away
Wool Merchant Hotel
Wool Merchant Hotel
#9 of 11 in Halifax
3.5 of 5 stars 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Imperial Crown Hotel
1.4 mi away
The Tower House Hotel
The Tower House Hotel
#2 of 11 in Halifax
5.0 of 5 stars 309 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Rock Hotel
The Rock Hotel
#10 of 11 in Halifax
3.5 of 5 stars 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay