We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Rock Hotel

22 Broad Carr Lane, Hollywell Green, Halifax HX4 9BS, England (Formerly Rock Inn Hotel)
Hotel amenities
The Rock Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Halifax
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
Gerrie66 Dorking, United Kingdom
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    6
    1
    2
    4
See reviews for
2
5
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (20)
  • Mar-May only
    (12)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (0)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (0)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (8)
All months
Matlock, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
14 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Pros: a very tasty breakfast, with a 'full English' and adequate range of pastries, yoghurts etc with table service. Holywell Green is set within easy reach of excellent walking country and the ultra-hippy Hebden Bridge (I recommend it for some dinky shops). The car park is large and free at the point of use. The staff are friendly (particularly the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Dorking, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just spent three nights here for our friends' wedding and we were very pleasantly surprised having read some of the reviews. Our rooms were clean and well furnished and the staff at The Rock Inn were friendly and helpful. It was a great venue for the wedding which was well organised and beautifully done. Good food in the restaurant and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul A, Owner at The Rock Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments I have forwarded them on to the team More 

Elland, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We had our wedding at the rock yesterday 4/4/2015. It was amazing. The staff, especially Lawrence and Gordon were helpful, friendly and put us at ease, answering every query promptly and courteously. Paul was very accommodating, getting in specific drinks that members of the wedding party requested. Nothing was too much trouble. We filled nearly all the rooms in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul A, Owner at The Rock Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review I am glad you had a fantastic weekend at The Rock More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Booked this through an Internet booking site for work purposes. Very friendly staff. Although the room, and in fact the whole premesis, is non- smoking, the room I was in smelled like the stale cigar smoke of an old boys club. Even the was once white phone was now a yellowish brown. On a positive note they are in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul A, Owner at The Rock Hotel, responded to this review

thank you for your review We have put in place a new Housekeeping policy that will notify management if a room has been smoked in so that it is not let out. We do not allow smoking in any room and it is unfortunate that some guests ignore this rule. I am glad you had a good stay and look... More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Rock is defiant place to stay in the Halifax area. Our room was clean and had plenty of towels and had obviously been recently refurbished. The staff behind the bar were really nice and breakfast was very 5 star service at affordable rates

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul A, Owner at The Rock Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review I am pleased you had a great stay and look forward to welcoming you back to The Rock More 

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Overnight stay for business, breakfast excellent. Building clean and tidy, friendly staff,good location, free wifi Only let down by the tired bathroom, very thin walls, no hair dryer and lumpy mattress but ideal for a one night stopover and half the price of the next hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul A, Owner at The Rock Hotel, responded to this review

I am glad you had a good stay and look forward to welcoming you back to The Rock More 

Tywyn, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Understand this is under new ownership & they are in the process of renovation. Over night stay. On the plus side staff where friendly & the cooked breakfast was excellent. However the room was dirty & had not been dusted in quite some time. Shower still had used toiletries from previous guest, shower plug missing & very dirty. Kettle was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul A, Owner at The Rock Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments I have spoken to the house keeping team and forwarded your comments More 

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed here a week or so ago with my partner as we were in the area for work. We arrived at the hotel shortly before 11pm and the staff member on reception was uninterested and barely looked up from his vmobile, he informed us of the wrong check out time (2pm when in actual fact it was 11am) and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul A, Owner at The Rock Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry you did not feel you receive the service you expected at The Rock I have responded to the previous review by the person who stayed in the room with you and we have now purchased hair dryers for all rooms to avoid the situation arising again. We can find no fault with the heating in that room... More 

Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

I visited the hotel for a one night stay as I was in the area for business. When checking in to the hotel the staff member at the reception was completely uninterested and sat looking down at his mobile phone. I was reading the signs surrounding the reception saying ID must be provided, and he didn't bother to take any... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul A, Owner at The Rock Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear that you were unhappy with the service you received at The Rock. The member of staff who checked you in was in fact looking at the booking details on the phone to enter them onto the booking system however I have mentioned this to the reception manager so that the staff can explain this to... More 

Bolton,Lancs
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

The Rock Hotel is a basic hotel, but very clean, and seems to be going through some improvements since its recent change of ownership. Our friends were staying down the corridor in a twin room, which had a hairdryer and heating. We had neither in our double room, but were quickly offered an electric heater to warm the room when... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul A, Owner at The Rock Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, as you point out we always have some extra heaters if people feel that they need extra heating in their rooms. I am glad you had a good stay and look forward to welcoming you back to The Rock More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

29 photo of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question