We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 11 Halifax hotels

The Rock Hotel

22 Broad Carr Lane, Hollywell Green, Halifax HX4 9BS, England (Formerly Rock Inn Hotel)
Hotel amenities
The Rock Hotel
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Rock Hotel to your Saves list
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Halifax
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Jennifer T
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    2
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
1
3
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (9)
  • Mar-May only
    (1)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (0)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (0)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (8)
All months
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We booked this hotel for my friends birthday from the 27th February to 2nd March. After a apprehensive start i.e. the bad reviews from the past that I had read we arrived only to be greeted by the lovely Lawrence. We had bookd a twin room but were told by Lawrence that as it was my friends birthday he was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul A, Owner at The Rock Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. I am glad that we made your Birthday special for you and that you had a great stay at The Rock Hotel. I will pass on your comments to the team and look forward to welcoming you back to The Rock More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My family and I visited today for Sunday lunch. It was a lovely meal and great value for money . The staff were very friendly and we had a really nice afternoon out . I would highly recommend it and we definatley be going again

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul A, Owner at The Rock Hotel, responded to this review

Thankyou for your review I am gald you enjoyed your time with us at The Rock. I have passed your comments on to the team. I hope to welcome you back to The Rock soon More 

Liversedge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My partner and I went to the Rock Hotel for Sunday lunch recently, and It was one of the best Sunday lunches we have had, and at 9.95 for a starter and a main course was brilliant value. The pub is warm and welcoming and all the staff that work there are very friendly and helpful. We had a look... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Paul A, Owner at The Rock Hotel, responded to this review

Thankou for your kind words I have passed them on to our team in the Kitchen and Bar. I hope to welcome you back to the Rock again More 

2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Food excellent, good choice,fantastic value. Staff friendly and helpful. Nice touch at the end of our meal a red rose for my wife and two daughters. Will defiantly be visiting again. Would recommend to friends and family.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul A, Owner at The Rock Hotel, responded to this review

Thankyou for your comments. We at The Rock strive to make all our customers happy. I will pass your comments on to my team and I look forward to welcoming you back More 

Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My wife and I called yesterday for Sunday lunch after seeing the advert on the front page of the Examiner. We used to visit regularly when it was Churchill's so we decided to give it a try. We had the Sunday lunch @ £9.95 for a starter and a main (soup and prawn cocktail followed by the roast chicken and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Paul A, Owner at The Rock Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments I have forwarded them to the management team and Restaurant staff. More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Whilst in its infancy, the hotel is slowly being transformed, new carpets, new decor and a new lease of life, thanks to the new owners. The newly opened restaurant is offering high quality food at very reasonable prices. The staff are friendly and polite. The Rock is offering a relaxing countryside atmosphere at a price that's value for money. I've... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul A, Manager at The Rock Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am pleased you like what we are doing with the Rock and look forward to welcoming you back More 

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2015

Having visited this hotel as a drinker during the last year and having a less than favourable experience it pleases me that I can say the hotel is back on the right track. The main bar/pub is now back open and manned by genuinely nice staff who I found very friendly and attentive. Was nice too to see the place... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Paul A, Owner at The Rock Hotel, responded to this review

I am glad that you had an enjoyable experience and will forward your comments on to our team More 

Halifax, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2014

I had my wedding booked at this hotel for December 2014. Unfortunately the old manager shut the hotel without any warning taking mine (and I'm sure - many others), wedding deposit with him. I contacted Enterprise Inns who own the building, only to be told that they were not liable and I had to contact the old owner to get... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Paul A, Owner at The Rock Hotel, responded to this review

This all happened before we bought the hotel from Enterprise Inns PLC ,due to Trip Advisor Rules, because you have put your review up after we opened the hotel they have put it on their site. There is no comment I can make on this as it was before we purchased the building and we were not involved in your... More 

Halifax, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2014

Myself family and friends decided to give the place a chance since it had reopened for a drink on Christmas eve. The establishment was reasonably busy but only 2 members of staff behind the bar who between them didnt have a clue. Watching them trying to change a Bottle of Vodka which was on optic was like something out of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Paul A, Owner at The Rock Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry that you felt that our drinks were expensive with our most expensive lager (San Miguel) only being £2.80 at the time I understand that at the time our prices are very competitive for the local area. I have forwarded your comments to the bar regarding your experience and they will be bought up with the staff working... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Rock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rock Hotel

Address: 22 Broad Carr Lane, Hollywell Green, Halifax HX4 9BS, England (Formerly Rock Inn Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Rock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rock Hotel Halifax
Rock Inn Hotel

5 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay