We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Rock Hotel

22 Broad Carr Lane, Hollywell Green, Halifax HX4 9BS, England (Formerly Rock Inn Hotel)
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Rock Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

51 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Seville, Spain
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2016

The room itself was fine. Clean enough etc. but we got very little sleep. There were people running up and down the corridor shouting, at around 1-2am, for at least an hour. in all that time, no staff came to deal with it. Worst of all, we had no phone in our room. We could also hear everything from the... More 

Helpful?
Thank toni2010blackpool
Paul A, Owner at The Rock Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry that you had a bad experience at The Rock. December is a month when we hold a lot of Christmas Party Nights and some people can be noisy in their rooms. If we had been made aware of the issue on the night we could have dealt with it. I note that the phone in your room... More 

berkshire
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2016

We arrived at the Rock after a tiring journey from Chester. On arrival starving hungry and tired we were told that no food would be available and the bar would close at 8pm. We were mortified as we had arranged to meet family at the hotel who lived nearby and we hadn't seen in a long while. We had booked... More 

Helpful?
Thank robsBerkshire
Paul A, Owner at The Rock Hotel, responded to this review

I am glad you enjoyed your stay at The Rock. Unfortunately on the day you visited the restaurant was closed to allow the chefs a evening off as we had been so busy during the Christmas period. However next year we will make sure it is open throughout the break. More 

Anglesey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2015 via mobile

Went to a wedding party here the service was good food was ok breakfast fantastic ideal location the only downside as we were staying the night was the room ! First impressions bath Matt was dirty marked with foundation/ make up !! Bin not emptied hair on bathroom floor very dusty, toilet not clean only given some kind of toilet... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rhian W
Paul A, Owner at The Rock Hotel, responded to this review

I am very surprised by your comments as I have checked the records and the room was cleaned and signed off. Unfortunately as you didn't let the staff know so we could investigate and either move your room or send in the housekeeper there is no further comment I can make More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2015 via mobile

We cannot praise Paul Anderson & his staff enough for making my daughter & husbands big day so special . From the minute we checked in to the end of the day/ night , nothing was too much trouble for them. The venue was superb, the rooms were excellent & the table dressers did a fantastic job, & the day... More 

Helpful?
Thank John B
Paul A, Owner at The Rock Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words.I have reported them back to the team More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2015

If it's good food that you're looking for, The Rock Inn won't disappoint. we booked a meal to celebrate my mums birthday on Sunday and were quite surprised at how quiet the place was. The atmosphere was comfortable and relaxing , with friendly staff. I was surprised to find the menu was just on a sheet of paper, was expecting... More 

Helpful?
Thank carole f
Paul A, Owner at The Rock Hotel, responded to this review

I am glad that you enjoyed your meal and hope to welcome you back soon More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2015

Arrived late at night - breakfast went up in price £2 for 0000hrs to 0800hrs - no sugar on table, told continental breakfast - £7.50 reality of which was bread jam & cereal no cheese ham or fruit - all mediocre ....... Was ok nothing bad nothing good

Helpful?
Thank Rollerderbychick
Paul A, Owner at The Rock Hotel, responded to this review

Its always good to hear that nothing was bad with your stay More 

Travelers are raving about these Halifax hotels

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2015

Back for another stay so much enjoyed the last time that I have booked in for three days. The head chef used to working with a team of 15 under him has taken up the challenge to give his hometown a tasteful experience from the popcorn shrimp (yum) to chicken leek mushroom Stilton pie and good chunky crispy chips the... More 

Helpful?
Thank zalkion
Paul A, Owner at The Rock Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments. I hope to see you at The Rock in the future More 

Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2015

We returned for another nights stay at the Rock Hotel as we were attending a wedding in the area. The receptionist was very friendly and cheerful and showed us to our rooms. Nothing was too much trouble for her. She sorted out minor problems instantly. She also arranged for a taxi to collect us from the hotel and to bring... More 

Helpful?
Thank jppb62
Calderdale
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2015

Decided to go to The Rock on our way back from Leeds, had the Sunday lunch, we have a meal out every Sunday and I can honestly say that that was the tastiest Meal we have had for quite some time!! I would highly recommend that you check it out, lovely envioroment with friendly staff, will definatley be visiting again!!

Helpful?
1 Thank Yvonne00
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2015

We decided to book a last Minute one nights stay at the Hotel that had been mentioned and recomended to us by friends for sometime. We were not disappointed, the location is second to none, the staff friendly and helpful, our room was spacious to the point of excess, however this diid help with the wifes second waldrobe. The room... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank anthony h
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

30 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Halifax
2.8 mi away
The New Hobbit
The New Hobbit
#1 of 1 in Sowerby Bridge
4.5 of 5 stars 215 reviews
3.3 mi away
The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality
5.7 mi away
Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Tower House Hotel
The Tower House Hotel
#2 of 11 in Halifax
5.0 of 5 stars 309 reviews
3.4 mi away
Wool Merchant Hotel
Wool Merchant Hotel
#9 of 11 in Halifax
3.5 of 5 stars 206 reviews
3.4 mi away
Premier Inn Halifax Town Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay