We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 11 Halifax hotels

The Rock Hotel

22 Broad Carr Lane, Hollywell Green, Halifax HX4 9BS, England (Formerly Rock Inn Hotel)
Hotel amenities
The Rock Hotel
Ranked #9 of 11 hotels in Halifax
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Halifax
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Write a Review

178 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    49
    53
    28
    25
    23
See reviews for
28
94
1
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Penistone, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Quite a bizarre place and experience. We discovered that despite their website and numberous signs claiming delicious food available. No food was served at all at any time. The bar is sterile and souless. Our room was dirty. The highlight was undoubtedly the 3.30am fire alarm. All the demoralised guests filed outside and waited...and waiting. Apparently no staff work at... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cullercoats, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Always stay here when working away, staff and management very helpful, one member of staff even ordered me a takeaway from a local restaurant later at night. Very reasonable prices and nice rooms, would recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

We booked a number of rooms for a local wedding over 3 months ago only to be told 2 months before the event that we are not welcome. If we had been a group of 18/30s you could have understood it but seeing as the youngest is knocking 50 it doesn't make sense. I wouldn't recommend anyone to even consider... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HalifaxReception, Owner at The Rock Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. As explained to you already, we are a function hotel that offers exclusive use to our wedding couples. You were advised that one of the dates you had booked clashed with a wedding at our venue. It is disappointing that you have taken this position so negatively, and we hope that you find an alternative... More

Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

We arrived at about 8:30pm and weren't sure how to get in, when a lovely man trotted across the road and referred to me by name. He was really laid back, said "check out whenever", and left us to it. The room was nice and clean, and the place was basically empty which was quite weird. In the morning there... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
HalifaxReception, Owner at The Rock Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us. As a function led hotel January and February are very quiet times for us and as such if you were to visit this weekend, when we have a party you would see the place much busier. We are glad that you appreciated our more relaxed style.... More

Bradford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

So me and my family stayed over one night as we were going to a 40th birthday due. The location was great and we went to the party unfortunatly last orders were at 11.20pm so we decided to get a taxi back and have some drinks at the hotel bar. As we returned to the hotel the bar was shut... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Avoid if you can and when you can. Its a horrible smelly dirty place. Carpets in bedroom are stained. Bin in the bathroom has never been emtpied by housekeeper. Tv in bedroom is tiny and if you are wearing a glasses you will be unable to see it because its hanging high on the wall. This place needs a good... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

me and my husband stayed at this charming hotel last night (december 1st). stunning place full of rustic, rural charm. staff were absoloutly fantastic, and i think it was the manageress sewed me into my dress for the evening after it ripped. she also had free drinks sent to my room as she could see how stressed i was over... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Elland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We have been here a few times ,sadly a couple of funerals ....others have been weddings and just going for a meal on our own ,wonderful foods were served each time ,its a beautiful place ,lovely staff ....and good parking

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
York, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed here with some friends as we were at a Wedding just a few miles down the road. We got 2 for £30 each which was good value. When we arrived my friends had already checked into there room having been switched due to problems in another. The room was fine except for what looked like fat dripping down... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Halifax, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Just wanted to say a massive thank you to Lawrence and the team for facilitating such a successful Bday party on Sat 21st Sept. From start to finish every guest enjoyed themselves, the food was amazing and entertainment a real hit. Your recommendation for the DJ was fabulous and we will certainly book him again too. Our cooked breakfast was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes

Been to The Rock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rock Hotel

Also Known As:
Rock Hotel Halifax
Rock Inn Hotel
Address: 22 Broad Carr Lane, Hollywell Green, Halifax HX4 9BS, England (Formerly Rock Inn Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Halifax
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 hotels in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rock Hotel is now Under New Management. The recently renovated and updated hotel is a beautiful 27 bedroomed Hotel and Restaurant, set in idyllic rural surroundings. The Rock Hotel has been resurrected and restored to its former glory, with a few modern twists and is now back as one of the finest eateries in the area. The Rock Hotel must be experienced to appreciate what we now have to offer. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Rock Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Rock Hotel to your Saves list