We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Green Hotel

2 The Muirs, Kinross KY13 8AS, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Green Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Green Hotel
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    172
    65
    55
    27
See reviews for
54
230
4
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (439)
  • Mar-May only
    (136)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (93)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (118)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (92)
All months
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

After booking this hotel I read some of the reviews and was a bit worried that I'd done the right thing. I had - the room was large, clean and very comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was very nice and even though the food was under heat lamps it was still fresh. My only slight criticism was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dundee, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed on saturday on a Dinner Bed & Breakfast and were not disappointed we had a very nice well equipped room.Dinner in Jocks Bar was 1st class and staff could not do enough for us.We also had a very enjoyable breakfast in Basil Restaurant.Very relaxed atmosphere and very welcoming and friendly staff,will return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My husband and I visited on an Itison voucher - DBB. We decided to take a late lunch in Jock's Bar as we weren't granted access to the room before 3pm. The staff informed us that half the menu wasn't available as they would be renovating the place the next day. Ok, fine. Once we were checked in, we decided... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

My friend and I went to the spa which is part of the green hotel. We had a fantastic day. The spa treatments were excellent, our lunch was fantastic and we had full use of the facilities. The staff were so welcoming and accommodated. We will definitely be going back again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Have stayed at the Green Hotel a few times, usually for Backstage concerts. The rooms are large, comfortable and very clean. While we have always enjoyed our stay, I'm afraid the food has been a let down, especially in Jock's Bar. We have had the wrong meal brought to the table, or food not cooked right, I ordered a steak... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GreenManager, Manager at The Green Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your comments. We appreciate the feedback concerning Jock’s menu and, as with many menu’s it will always be evolving. With the introduction of a new Head Chef joining us on Thursday we will soon have our Spring Summer menu agreed and launched in early April . We will continue to increase our on-going service training to enable... More 

Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I live local to this hotel and very rarely us it as I have never been impressed and better places are to hand. Decided to try it out and have a bar meal, well nothing really has changed apart from the decor in the bar which is way better than it used to be! The food is expensive and not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
GreenManager, Manager at The Green Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your comments. We appreciate the feedback concerning Jock’s menu and, as with many menu’s it will always be evolving. With the introduction of a new Head Chef joining us on Thursday we will soon have our Spring Summer menu agreed and launched in early April . We will continue to increase our on-going service training to enable... More 

Uddingston, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Been here twice to music shows Backstage, and ate in the bar / lounge. Food was nice, must admit, if a bit pricey, but the service was awful. At busy times I think they need more staff. Shame , cos it's a nice place. I will probably attend more music events and would even try eating here again but I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
GreenManager, Sales Manager at The Green Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and I do apologise for the issues you had with service while you were here. The Food & Beverage department are addressing the comments been made and I do hope you return in the future so we can show our improvements. Many thanks More 

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Unfortunately this review is not a good one, we have been going to the Green Hotel for a few years now , cheap and cheerful , not to far from home and the 2 best things about it where the staff and the food!!! Oh no not any more..... Reception was lacklustre and strained, she did not know what she... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Broxburn, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Having stayed at this hotel several times I was very disappointed this time! Huge difference in service since my last stay. The room we were allocated was adequate but small, however the sound of other guests using the toilet was not a welcomed addition (although it did add to the comedy value) we had booked a table for 8 pm,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
GreenManager, Sales Manager at The Green Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, although I am very disappointed to hear your expereinces while you were here. Can I please ask you to call the hotel and ask to speak to the Sales Manager, so I can talk direct to you with regards to your stay? Many thanks More 

Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a really good room here. Spacious with a lovely bay window overlooking the garden. The decor is a bit tired but it was warm, comfortable and good value. A generous breakfast and ok restaurant for evening meals. Location is handy for the delightful walk around Loch Leven.

Was this review helpful? Yes
GreenManager, Sales Manager at The Green Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of your stay at The Green Hotel. I'm glad that you enjoyed yourself. The hotel is less than a mile walk down to the Loch and with the Boathouse opening soon, it will be another great place to visit. Many thanks More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

66 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (54)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question