We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Windlestrae Hotel

The Muirs, Kinross KY13 8AS, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Windlestrae Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

384 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    90
    160
    79
    34
    21
See reviews for
57
172
7
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (384)
  • Mar-May only
    (111)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (107)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (82)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (84)
All months
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Only place the dog is welcome was room? Had lovely gardens but no outdoor seating ? But so did the whole village?very strange couldn't find anywhere in the village to sit and eat and have the dog with you. Lovely golf course attached with lovely terrace overlooking course but can't sit out there with a drink?

Was this review helpful? Yes
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Booked here last minute and disappointed on arrival all rather tired and old fashioned, clean but just dated. Haven't tried the bed but this was just first impressions. Others in town looked better the courthouse restaurant down the road was great for dinner and fresher looking

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Was in the hotel today for my sons swimming lesson had just bought cans of juice from the serving area when my wife said about straws she went back to the bar to be told they did not have any by a gent called Harrison, All the families that were they all looked at each other out of disbelief by... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2

Travelers are raving about these Kinross hotels

Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We found the Windlestrae as a last minute place to stay for an early anniversary night away. We were trying to get into the Apex in Dundee which was fully booked. (Thought this strange for a midweek night with nothing obviously on in Dundee) the Windlestrae was definitely a cheaper option, albeit a bit of a drive from Dundee. From... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Clean warm room with massive bed. Two singles pushed together to make double, but no problem. Minor problem with room dealt with efficiently by both receptionist and housekeeping staff. Friendly bar staff and prices as expected. Breakfast was buffet, with food replenished regularly. Good selection of food, all piping hot. Would visit again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chorley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Booked double room with double bed. Was given room that was a twin. After going back to reception to complain was given a room with a double bed but it was 2 singles zipped together. Bed was also very hard. Staff were very helpful and spa facilites were good but the food was poor. Ate in the hotel the first... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Abu Dhabi, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Full family stayed for weekend up in Kinross. Booked 4 rooms with singles, couples, family with big kids and family with small kids. All were catered for and happy with the stay. The food in the Monty's restaurant was pretty good, especially the breakfasts. The bar staff were attentive too - kids couldn't stay in after 8pm though (not sure... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2015

Accompanied my husband on a recent charity golfing event held at this hotel and was quite disappointed overall. Due to an error somewhere along the line, our room was not booked and a single room had to be made into a double room (beds put together with a noticeable join felt, in a very hard bed). The room itself, although... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2015

stayed here as part of a golf break and it was perfect. Id advise trying to play both the courses if you get a chance. Hotel had nice décor , polite staff , fantastic food, comfy and clean rooms and great bar!

Was this review helpful? Yes
GreenManager, Sales Manager at Windlestrae Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and I'm pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our golf courses are getting excellent feedback which the green keepers are happy to hear! It's also good to hear that you enjoyed the hotel and facilities; across the Resort we are getting good feedback on the food and staff. Thanks again and... More 

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2015

We stayed at this hotel with our 20 year old son and girlfriend. Reception staff were efficient and helpful. Leisure facilities great very well maintained and not too busy, staff there very helpful and informative. Unfortunately we felt certain waiting staff in the restaurant where we had an evening meal and breakfast let the hotel down. My son and girlfriend... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GreenManager, Sales Manager at Windlestrae Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and I'm pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and would return. I do apologise for the issue you had when you were in the restaurant, this is not the experience we want for our guests and I will pass your comments on to our Food & Beverage manager so it can... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

51 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (22)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinross
0.2 mi away
The Green Hotel
The Green Hotel
#4 of 5 in Kinross
3.5 of 5 stars 483 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kirklands Hotel
Kirklands Hotel
#1 of 5 in Kinross
5.0 of 5 stars 273 reviews
4.9 mi away
Glenfarg Hotel
Glenfarg Hotel
#1 of 2 in Glenfarg
4.0 of 5 stars 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Balmule House
Balmule House
#1 of 12 in Dunfermline
5.0 of 5 stars 73 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Famous Bein Inn
The Famous Bein Inn
#2 of 2 in Glenfarg
3.5 of 5 stars 175 reviews
8.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Balgeddie House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay