We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Windlestrae Hotel

The Muirs, Kinross KY13 8AS, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Windlestrae Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Windlestrae Hotel
Add Photo Write a Review

372 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    88
    155
    75
    33
    21
See reviews for
54
168
7
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (372)
  • Mar-May only
    (111)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (95)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (82)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (84)
All months
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

My husband and i had our evening reception here on the 20th june, couldn't praise the staff enough! Everything in the running up to the day was perfect and kirsty did all she could to cater for all our requests! The day was perfect and kirsty and mark were on hand as promised to smooth out any hiccups, again seeing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Excellent hotel, clean, friendly with most helpful staff. Large room, even bigger bed well appointed bathroom, new furniture. Quiet location. Breakfast was of a high standard with a wide choice to suit all. Golf courses (2) were well kept and provided some challenge for the 4 guys in our group. This was our second visit and we have already made... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GreenManager, Sales Manager at Windlestrae Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review and lovely comments which I will pass on to all departments. Chef and his team are working hard to offer great ingredients and meals that guests want to eat and our Green keepers are getting great feedback on the courses this summer from many golf groups we have booked in this year. It's great to... More 

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

All staff were friendly and helpful. Room was large as was the bed. En suite shower was poor. Decor outdated and room was dusty. Was expecting a lot more for the cost. We were attending a reunion function and friends who have attended several times stated the Green hotel is a better hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
GreenManager, Sales Manager at Windlestrae Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am pleased to read that you thought the staff was friendly and the bed was large. I have passed your comments on to our Housekeeping staff as bedrooms should be dust free. We are continuing to update our bedrooms throughout the Resort and the Maintenance team are working hard to do this. I do... More 

Sittard, The Netherlands
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Nice middleclass hotel. Big rooms with lots of space, with a small bed with a hard mattress. Nice bathroom. Breakfast was not good. Hotel is nearby Edinburgh and the highlands. A few minutes from the hotel is Loch Leven where you can walk for hours. Nice hotel for a short stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
GreenManager, Sales Manager at Windlestrae Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and I'm pleased to read that overall you did enjoy your stay. I am sorry to read that you didn't enjoy your breakfast and will pass your comments on to the Kitchen staff. Our location is great for the main cities and to be by Loch Leven, that is again another great asset for the... More 

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2015

Quiet, clean and comfortable room. Large bed. We thoroughly enjoyed the swimming pool, sauna, steam room etc. followed by a drink at the bar. Location was close to historic Loch Leven, We will be back

Review collected in partnership with Amoma.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
GreenManager, Sales Manager at Windlestrae Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review and I'm pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Windlestrae. It's good that you took advantage of some of the facilities we have to offer and I do hope we can welcome you back in the future soon. Kind Regards More 

Forfar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015

A group of 6 golfers including myself have just returned from a 2 night stay which included 3 rounds of golf. Rooms were spotlessly clean, warm with nice soft beds and pillows. All staff made us very welcome, and I would recommend this Hotel to any others of the golfing fraternity.

Was this review helpful? Yes
GreenManager, Sales Manager at Windlestrae Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for review and pleased to read that you and your group enjoyed your time here at the Resort. I will pass your comments on to the relevant departments so they can share with your team. if you are booking your next outing, please call the Reservation team direct and we can offer competitive packages to you. Thanks again More 

Glasgow
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2015 via mobile

Stayed here for the one night, last night. Fantastic value for money. Our room was spacious and very comfortable. Spent some time in the bar and found that to be very reasonable and the staff were very friendly. Breakfast was excellent and the 12pm check out was very welcomed!! The guy on reception gave a great, friendly, professional impression of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GreenManager, Sales Manager at Windlestrae Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your response, much appreciated and I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Since putting Sky in Rushes, the bar has become very popular. I will pass your comments on to the staff; I hope to see you back to the Resort soon, Kind Regards More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2015 via mobile

I booked a deal for a night away with my nephew, the bag of toys gave my nephew hours of fun in the pool and the pool table was great! As it was his 10th birthday I had taken a balloon for the table at night where the very helpful lady on reception got it from the car so my... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GreenManager, Sales Manager at Windlestrae Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review and I am really pleased to hear that you and your nephew had a great stay with us and that his birthday was memorable. I do hope that you will come and visit us soon again Kind Regards More 

Stonehaven, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2015

Just back from a one night stay at windlestrae.on arriving was told bar not open till 5pm it was 5.45 before it was finally opened by receptionist who hadn't a clue what to do.was also told from anotheR member of staff in another week the bar would be opening at 12 noon as golf party's season was starting but lo... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4

Travelers are raving about these Kinross hotels

Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2015

The hotel staff were professional and courteous. I had a snack in the bar which was good value for money. The room was very clean and comfortable and good value for what I paid. I would definitely stay there again

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GreenManager, Sales Manager at Windlestrae Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your positive review and I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I do hope that you come back and visit us soon. Kind Regards More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

39 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay