We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Windlestrae Hotel

The Muirs, Kinross KY13 8AS, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Windlestrae Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Windlestrae Hotel
Add Photo Write a Review

377 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    90
    157
    76
    33
    21
See reviews for
55
169
7
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (377)
  • Mar-May only
    (111)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (100)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (82)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (84)
All months
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Accompanied my husband on a recent charity golfing event held at this hotel and was quite disappointed overall. Due to an error somewhere along the line, our room was not booked and a single room had to be made into a double room (beds put together with a noticeable join felt, in a very hard bed). The room itself, although... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

stayed here as part of a golf break and it was perfect. Id advise trying to play both the courses if you get a chance. Hotel had nice décor , polite staff , fantastic food, comfy and clean rooms and great bar!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at this hotel with our 20 year old son and girlfriend. Reception staff were efficient and helpful. Leisure facilities great very well maintained and not too busy, staff there very helpful and informative. Unfortunately we felt certain waiting staff in the restaurant where we had an evening meal and breakfast let the hotel down. My son and girlfriend... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GreenManager, Sales Manager at Windlestrae Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and I'm pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and would return. I do apologise for the issue you had when you were in the restaurant, this is not the experience we want for our guests and I will pass your comments on to our Food & Beverage manager so it can... More 

Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here from june 3rd to 5th with 11 friends and can say we all enjoyed our stay & will return the golf courses the bruce & the montgomery were in brilliant condition and excellent lay out top marks to the green keepers the dinners & breakfast were ideal nice cheery waitresses very friendly the bar service was slow at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GreenManager, Sales Manager at Windlestrae Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and I'm pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Both golf courses have been getting high praise from our parties so I will ensure the green keepers are informed. I do hope we can welcome you back soon Kind Regards More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Set in very pleasant surroundings The Windlestrae has leisure centre with a generous sized pool, sauna and steam room. There is also a beauty spa offering a wide range of treatments. For the golfers there are two courses to choose from. The perfect place to recharge your batteries. Friendly staff made the whole experience very enjoyable. Will definitely be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
GreenManager, Sales Manager at Windlestrae Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review and I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and will come back to visit us. The Windlestrae is a great hotel with lovely gardens and in a very central location, a great place to relax as you say. Kind Regards More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My husband and i had our evening reception here on the 20th june, couldn't praise the staff enough! Everything in the running up to the day was perfect and kirsty did all she could to cater for all our requests! The day was perfect and kirsty and mark were on hand as promised to smooth out any hiccups, again seeing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GreenManager, Sales Manager at Windlestrae Hotel, responded to this review

Congratulations on your recent wedding and it's great to hear that you and your guests enjoyed your wedding here at The WIndlestrae Hotel. With the recent refurbishment the MacMillan suite is a lovely space, and with manicured gardens, it's a great venue for your wedding reception. I will pass your thanks on to Kirsty & Mark, who I know had... More 

Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2015

Excellent hotel, clean, friendly with most helpful staff. Large room, even bigger bed well appointed bathroom, new furniture. Quiet location. Breakfast was of a high standard with a wide choice to suit all. Golf courses (2) were well kept and provided some challenge for the 4 guys in our group. This was our second visit and we have already made... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GreenManager, Sales Manager at Windlestrae Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review and lovely comments which I will pass on to all departments. Chef and his team are working hard to offer great ingredients and meals that guests want to eat and our Green keepers are getting great feedback on the courses this summer from many golf groups we have booked in this year. It's great to... More 

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2015

All staff were friendly and helpful. Room was large as was the bed. En suite shower was poor. Decor outdated and room was dusty. Was expecting a lot more for the cost. We were attending a reunion function and friends who have attended several times stated the Green hotel is a better hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
GreenManager, Sales Manager at Windlestrae Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am pleased to read that you thought the staff was friendly and the bed was large. I have passed your comments on to our Housekeeping staff as bedrooms should be dust free. We are continuing to update our bedrooms throughout the Resort and the Maintenance team are working hard to do this. I do... More 

Sittard, The Netherlands
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2015

Nice middleclass hotel. Big rooms with lots of space, with a small bed with a hard mattress. Nice bathroom. Breakfast was not good. Hotel is nearby Edinburgh and the highlands. A few minutes from the hotel is Loch Leven where you can walk for hours. Nice hotel for a short stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
GreenManager, Sales Manager at Windlestrae Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and I'm pleased to read that overall you did enjoy your stay. I am sorry to read that you didn't enjoy your breakfast and will pass your comments on to the Kitchen staff. Our location is great for the main cities and to be by Loch Leven, that is again another great asset for the... More 

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2015

Quiet, clean and comfortable room. Large bed. We thoroughly enjoyed the swimming pool, sauna, steam room etc. followed by a drink at the bar. Location was close to historic Loch Leven, We will be back

Review collected in partnership with Amoma.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
GreenManager, Sales Manager at Windlestrae Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review and I'm pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Windlestrae. It's good that you took advantage of some of the facilities we have to offer and I do hope we can welcome you back in the future soon. Kind Regards More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

39 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinross
0.1 mi away
The Green Hotel
The Green Hotel
#4 of 5 in Kinross
3.5 of 5 stars 473 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kirklands Hotel
Kirklands Hotel
#1 of 5 in Kinross
5.0 of 5 stars 266 reviews
4.9 mi away
Glenfarg Hotel
Glenfarg Hotel
#1 of 2 in Glenfarg
4.0 of 5 stars 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Famous Bein Inn
The Famous Bein Inn
#2 of 2 in Glenfarg
3.5 of 5 stars 167 reviews
11.9 mi away
Duchally Country Estate
Duchally Country Estate
#2 of 4 in Auchterarder
4.5 of 5 stars 490 reviews
6.7 mi away
Balmule House
Balmule House
#1 of 12 in Dunfermline
5.0 of 5 stars 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay