We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 6 Lerwick hotels

Grand Hotel - Lerwick

Save Saved
You added Grand Hotel - Lerwick to your Saves list
149 Commercial Street | Shetland Isle, Lerwick ZE1 0AB, Scotland
Hotel amenities
  • Overview
  • Reviews (49)
  • Photos (6)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (12)
  • Location
  • More
Grand Hotel - Lerwick
Ranked #6 of 6 hotels in Lerwick
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lerwick
Check In Check Out
true
Write a Review

49 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    4
    12
    10
    15
See reviews for
Families
0
10
Solo
0
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed on a Saturday night, noisy night club is part of the hotel. Night porter very unhelpful. Rooms very old poor decoration. No good if unable to manage stairs. Food above average, location right on the high street could not be more central for harbour and shops.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

i stayed for business, first impressions were tired old hotel, these were reinforced by the room, the frayed stair carpets and the decor in the bar. negligible sound proofing as my room was near clock tower that chimed every 15 minutes all night. thank goodness it wasn't blowing a storm! if i was going on holidays i would have been... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Scotland, Maryland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Its just an average place to go. Went here with a couple of friends and i've been a few times. When our meal came, as we were sat in the bar, it was just what you get at home from the freezer. Although, a fine cheap price, its not that brilliant. Certainly needs a bit of a boost with everything.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Peter190781, General Manager at Grand Hotel - Lerwick, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. All our food is freshly made on the premises and not store bought as your review would tend to suggest. We receive many compliments about the food and enjoy a large amount of repeat business. More

Liverpool
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Just popped in for a drink. Took one look at the bar and popped out again. Smelt off fish, but not the fried battered variety. Smelt like cod liver oil, and not even a fresh smell. Also, more atmosphere on the moon.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Peter190781, General Manager at Grand Hotel - Lerwick, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. The smell that you noticed was an oil based paint used during the refurbishment of the bar. Unfortunately the smell lingered for a couple of weeks afterwards but has now gone. In regards to the atmosphere that is down to your own personal interpretation. More

Scotland
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

My husband took me here for an anniversary meal. The entrance should really be very grand, a lovely foyer and staircase to climb, but it has not been looked after and the glass and brass was in need of a clean and polish!! When we arrived upstairs there was no-one on reception and we did not know where we were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Peter190781, General Manager at Grand Hotel - Lerwick, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. All the brass and glass is cleaned every morning. Due to the amount of people using the premises throughout the day we are unable to keep these items clean. Since your visit we have begun a program of refurbishment starting with the public bar and new carpets on the staircase. More

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

If you ever have the misfortune of staying here over the weekend then dont expect any sleep for two nights ! The reason being the hotel owner uses part of the Hotel for a nightclub at weekends , the banging music, shouting and screaming goes on till the early hours ! When i talked to another guest about the noise... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Peter190781, General Manager at Grand Hotel - Lerwick, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. When your booking was made the person making the booking would have been made aware of the nightclub on the premises as is standard practice with all our weekend bookings made. More

Chester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

This place is a dump. No guest lounge, shower did not work, beds like stone, window would not open. Has to be about the worst hotel stay ever. The staff were pleasant and the food reasonable but other than that a one star flea pit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Peter190781, General Manager at Grand Hotel - Lerwick, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. Whilst every care is taken to make your stay enjoyable we cannot please everybody. If you had mentioned the problems you experienced to a member of our team we may have been able to rectify the situation. We are currently undergoing a major refurbishment program at the moment. More

Fife, Scotland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Stopped in for a birthday lunch today, we had lunch in the bar. It was the biggest tastiest burger I have EVER eaten!! Reasonably price & large platefuls & lovely staff. No complaints at all. If anything there was too much food on our plates lol salad, lovely creamy coleslaw, nice crispy chips and our delightful burgers, cheese and bacon... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Peter190781, General Manager at Grand Hotel - Lerwick, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your comments. we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. More

Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

I stayed here in November last year before staying at the Queens the second time and this was an equally brilliant stay. Again the staff were very welcoming and the hotel was lovley and warm very homely. The food was first class and this was right in the center of town which was great for getting around. Anyone going to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Peter190781, Manager at Grand Hotel - Lerwick, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and we hope to see you again in the future. More

Tralee, Ireland
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Apart from the really nice staff The Grand Hotel dose not live up to its name, from it's worn out carpets to the drafts (& I used draft in the kindest way) coming in the window the Grand is well past it's sell by date. It's time someone took it off the shelf and put it in the trash. You... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Peter190781, Manager at Grand Hotel - Lerwick, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments with regards to the Hotel. Please note that refurbishment will start in May. This is to include the public bar and the carpets. With regards to the noise unfortunately these points are out-with our control. The council controls the clock. The noise from the street is due to being a town centre hotel. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Grand Hotel - Lerwick, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Grand Hotel - Lerwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel - Lerwick

Address: 149 Commercial Street | Shetland Isle, Lerwick ZE1 0AB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Shetland Islands > Mainland > Lerwick
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel - Lerwick Shetland Islands

6 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Lerwick with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Please note that major refurbishment work will start in May to improve the appearance of the Hotel and to make your stay more enjoyable. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
23

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Grand Hotel - Lerwick staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer