We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Grand Hotel - Lerwick

149 Commercial Street | Shetland Isle, Lerwick ZE1 0AB, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Grand Hotel - Lerwick
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Lerwick
Add Photo Write a Review

66 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    10
    6
    17
    13
    20
See reviews for
3
13
1
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (66)
  • Mar-May only
    (17)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (21)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (18)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (10)
All months
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Managed to get a table, booking might be advisable. Dining room must have been resplendent in its glory, today the interior is still dramatic. The staff are extremely attentive & seem to queue to be ready to assist. Food was very good & extremely reasonable.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Lerwick does not have a huge offering of decent hotels, but I would say The Grand is slightly below average, even here. The decor is extremely dated, walls terribly thin, and at the weekends you are treated to the in-house Posers nightclub. ABSOLUTELY DO NOT STAY HERE IF YOU WISH TO GET SOME SLEEP ON A FRIDAY OR SATURDAY!! On... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I have stayed here several times, the staff have always been excellent but the internet has been off more than on over my visits which is difficult and the hotel is tired in areas but they are obviously making an effort. parking can be a challenge as it's basically free for all car park behind the hotel.You need to park... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2015

There weren't many options to eat out in Lerwick (unless you're happy with fish&chips or burgers) and the menu posted outside the Grand Hotel looked OK. We were given a table in the bar area, which is windowless and quite oppressive. The staff were willing but didn't appear to have been briefed or trained... The waitress had no idea what... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dunfermline
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2015 via mobile

Worst hotel I have stayed in Shetland. Lovely dinning room but service was embarrassing. Food wasn't great and the chef standing at the top of the stairs playing on his phone put me off eating again. Made to pay my bill half way through my main meal. Mattress in room was terrible and needs replacing. Struggled to get wifi. Asked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2015

I have stayed in The Grand a few times now but this time it was the best of all! The food was fantastic and the service was 1st class, All the staff were very welcoming and the rooms were bright and clean.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Stromness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2015

A group of us went here for food in the lounge bar on a Saturday night, the food was very good, really big portions and at a very reasonable price! The only downside was the very chilled red wine, and the waiter was a little annoying, hovering at the table waiting to take our order before we even looked at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Wishaw, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2015

I read the reviews on this hotel before travelling and really wasn't looking forward to my stay! Long story short, my other half ended up in hospital and his company booked me into the Grand. When I arrived I was expecting the worst but in all honesty it's a lovely old building, yes it's a little dated and the water... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2015

Hotel rooms need updating it is stuck in the seventies. Showers are poor water pressure terrible. It's position in Lerwick is good right in the centre of town shops and bars on the door step Food very good we have had several meals and breakfast there and no complaints

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2015 via mobile

Didn't bode well trying to find the place and then entering via a horrid, dark, smoky "tunnel" to the nightclub area. Dark, dingy, dated decor and reception area...building is lovely but clearly no money spent on it for a long time. Room 322 tiny...door hits bedside table...should only have a single bed. First night...No wifi and staff rebooting modem made... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Peter190781, Manager at Grand Hotel - Lerwick, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. I am sorry to hear that you were not happy with the room that was allocated to you. When you requested to be moved to the Queens hotel you were informed that unfortunately they were fully booked at the time. You were offered an alternative room in the Grand which you accepted. As for the... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

9 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lerwick
0.2 mi away
Kveldsro House
Kveldsro House
#1 of 6 in Lerwick
4.0 of 5 stars 86 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Lerwick Hotel
The Lerwick Hotel
#2 of 6 in Lerwick
3.5 of 5 stars 120 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Shetland Hotel
The Shetland Hotel
#3 of 6 in Lerwick
3.0 of 5 stars 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Busta House Hotel
Busta House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Busta
4.5 of 5 stars 219 reviews
0.0 mi away
Herrislea House Hotel
Herrislea House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tingwall
3.5 of 5 stars 38 reviews
0.3 mi away
No photo provided
Knysna House
#6 of 7 in Lerwick
4.0 of 5 stars 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay