We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Grand Hotel - Lerwick

149 Commercial Street | Shetland Isle, Lerwick ZE1 0AB, Scotland
Grand Hotel - Lerwick
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    4
    15
    11
    19
See reviews for
2
11
1
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (58)
  • Mar-May only
    (16)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (14)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (18)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (10)
All months
Wishaw, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I read the reviews on this hotel before travelling and really wasn't looking forward to my stay! Long story short, my other half ended up in hospital and his company booked me into the Grand. When I arrived I was expecting the worst but in all honesty it's a lovely old building, yes it's a little dated and the water... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2015

Hotel rooms need updating it is stuck in the seventies. Showers are poor water pressure terrible. It's position in Lerwick is good right in the centre of town shops and bars on the door step Food very good we have had several meals and breakfast there and no complaints

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2015 via mobile

Didn't bode well trying to find the place and then entering via a horrid, dark, smoky "tunnel" to the nightclub area. Dark, dingy, dated decor and reception area...building is lovely but clearly no money spent on it for a long time. Room 322 tiny...door hits bedside table...should only have a single bed. First night...No wifi and staff rebooting modem made... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Peter190781, Manager at Grand Hotel - Lerwick, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. I am sorry to hear that you were not happy with the room that was allocated to you. When you requested to be moved to the Queens hotel you were informed that unfortunately they were fully booked at the time. You were offered an alternative room in the Grand which you accepted. As for the... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2015

I stay in hotels extensively for work and this is one of the worst I have ever stayed in. The bathroom was clean but the bedroom was questionable. Wifi is non-existant regardless of how many connections you try. Restaurant is chaotic, I could barely touch the beef but they do give you a lot of it. Many of the comments... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Peter190781, Manager at Grand Hotel - Lerwick, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, whilst we try our best we sometimes do not meet expectations. When we don't we would like to hear about it personally rather than anonymously where the situation cannot be rectified. We currently are in the process of refurbishing the hotel in stages. You may appreciate the fact that this is a time consuming business... More 

Jarrow, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2014

Worst hotel I've stayed in! Getting told when to eat and what breakfast you can have. Who in their right minds puts a night club in a hotel!? Under rooms?? The bar owner who looks Andy Carroll,helped me out with ear plugs. Biggest dump on the island hope the company goes bust

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Peter190781, Manager at Grand Hotel - Lerwick, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. The reason you had set meal times is the fact that you have a set pick up time and we like to ensure that you are fed before you leave. More 

Clydebank, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2014

Slept on the worst matress in the world. Had to put the duvet on top of the matress to get a sleep. Also couldn't get a whisky at the bar because the barman couldn't find the whisky price list and did't know what to charge me. Breakfast was good in the morning.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Peter190781, Manager at Grand Hotel - Lerwick, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. All of our bedroom stock is replaced at regular intervals. If you had let us know the problem we could have replaced the mattress for you. More 

Lerwick, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2014

have eaten here many times and have always enjoyed it, but sadly, not this time, the food was enjoyable, but everything seemed to be too much trouble for the staff, i asked for butter to go with my oatcakes and cheeseboard, and the waiter came in with a handful of butter pats, just threw them on the table in front... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Peter190781, Manager at Grand Hotel - Lerwick, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. I am disappointed that our service standards fell short on this occasion. More 

Inverness, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2014 via mobile

We only lunched rather than staying here, and the food came in generous portions and was tasty enough (though somewhat pricy). The decor and general ambience reminded me of the 70s (not that I was old enough to go to a bar then!) and despite the high ceilings and 'classic' wallpaper had a rather tired feel about it. Perhaps if... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Peter190781, Manager at Grand Hotel - Lerwick, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. The hotel is currently benefiting from a refurbishment at the moment. More 

Colorado
Top Contributor
250 reviews 250 reviews
44 hotel reviews
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

We did not actually stay here, we just had food in the hotel restaurant. It seemed authentic as far as I imagine the kind of food that is served is what people here actually eat. As far a quality, I would say it was like a home cooked meal by someone who is an OK, but not very good cook.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Peter190781, Manager at Grand Hotel - Lerwick, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. I am sorry that the food and service were not to the required standard. More 

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

Stayed on a Saturday night, noisy night club is part of the hotel. Night porter very unhelpful. Rooms very old poor decoration. No good if unable to manage stairs. Food above average, location right on the high street could not be more central for harbour and shops.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Peter190781, Manager at Grand Hotel - Lerwick, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. When rooms are booked for the weekend the person making the booking is informed of the nightclub opening hours. If the information is not provided by your booking agent you need to take up the point with them. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

7 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question