We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kirkwall Hotel

Harbour Street, Kirkwall KW15 1LE, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with HotelsClick to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kirkwall Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Kirkwall Hotel
Add Photo Write a Review

215 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    64
    77
    36
    24
    14
See reviews for
30
77
20
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (215)
  • Mar-May only
    (54)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (110)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (40)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (11)
All months
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
181 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We arrived late from Shetland, but had to hang around at reception, which was unattended, although the bar was buzzing. Finally, got someone's attention and worked our way up to a top floor room which was badly maintained, untidy, scruffy at best and a complete rip off at £135 for the night.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We (family all adults) visited the restaurant at Kirkwall Hotel 3 times while in Orkney recently. The food was always of very high quality. The atmosphere was always good, although Sunday lunch was very informal and maybe a little noisy. The quality of food was always excellent, I can recommend the roast lamb and the cajun salmon. The fish dishes... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed in the "second best king" room which was spacious, with a clean comfortable bed, a good view over the harbour and good wi-fi. Bedroom had some nice new furniture, but no chairs suitable to put under the tables or dressing table, and apart from a feature wall, the wallpaper etc was very tired. The toilet was awful -... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our room was tiny, the bed just made it to the size of double. The window was so grimy, we could hardly see out of it. Probably just as well as the view was definitely depressing. The bathroom could have won a top award for the worst use of space, no room to put anything. The shower was warm but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers are raving about these Kirkwall hotels

Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We ate here in the evening four times during a one-week stay. We found the staff to be friendly and helpful, even during busy periods. There is a great choice of dishes, with local seafood predominant. The person who creates the sauces is a genius! Over the four evenings we ate a range of dishes, and we're not disappointed in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Central Scotland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel needs a bit of a face lift. Everything looks a bit dated. The room I had was clean and presentable but the furnishings do need to be replaced. There were new headboards and a chair but the 1970's furniture is very worn. The staff on arrival were not very friendly but the staff in the restaurant were excellent.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
gourock
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have never been to the Orkney Isles before, but as a Scotsman, I was pleasantly surprised by the quality of service and in particular the standard of the food. We stayed for 2 nights and both nights were memorable. Use this hotel you will not be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
kirkwallhotel, General Manager at Kirkwall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for five stars and your lovely comments,we are delighted you enjoyed our food,rooms and service.we look forward to welcoming you back soon! More 

New Malden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Weather awful on arrival. Foot ferry cancelled and we had to be transferred to a different one. We rang the hotel to advise of our late arrival. Arrived just on 9.00pm. We asked if we could have a meal but were told that the kitchen "has just closed". We could however try the restaurant across the road, but their kitchen... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
kirkwallhotel, General Manager at Kirkwall Hotel, responded to this review

First please accept our apologies for the way in which your check in was handled and the inaccurate information you were given this is of course unacceptable and was down a new trainee member of staff,we have now put procedures in place to prevent this happening again. we are happy to provide food for late arriving guests if they request... More 

Exmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Kirkwall Hotel, overlooking the harbour, is an extremely pleasant place to stay. It also has an excellent restaurant, and many of the dishes are also available in the adjacent Skippers Bar. Highly regarded by Orkadians, the restaurant offers simple and moderately-priced traditional food, plus the a la carte menu is outstanding, with inventive but not over-fussy local delights e.g.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
kirkwallhotel, General Manager at Kirkwall Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for a great review,happy to hear you also enjoyed our popular ( with locals and tourists) Skippers Bar,where we serve food all day. And your right booking is advisable for the restaurant certainly for the ala carte menu,but we always do our best to accommodate walk ins as well. More 

Frankfurt
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stay at the Kirkwall Hotel in early June: We chose the hotel because of the central location which is most convenient to explore the island. First impression set the stage for what turned out a disappointing experience. We had made a dinner reservation for 8:30pm but part of our group only arrived at the hotel at 8:40 due to late... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
kirkwallhotel, General Manager at Kirkwall Hotel, responded to this review

Ah we all remember you! we offer our bar supper menu until the kitchen closes( you were much later than the normal reservation time) and this was explained to you,it is a very comprehensive selection quality food cooked by a talented chef using local quality ingredients,served in our lounge bar rather than at the bar. As for the lacklustre staff... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

68 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (41)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (19)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay