We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 8 Kirkwall hotels

Kirkwall Hotel

Harbour Street, Kirkwall KW15 1LE, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Kirkwall Hotel to your Saves list
Kirkwall Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
65%
Ranked #6 of 8 hotels in Kirkwall
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 5 days ago
Jennifer259 Wales UK
  • Overview
  • Reviews (171)
  • Photos (54)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (34)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

171 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    50
    59
    29
    20
    13
See reviews for
25
62
15
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wales UK
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
44 hotel reviews
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Check in was efficient and quite painless Public areas acceptable Food was very good Service not perfect but adequate.... Bedroom looking a bit tired (no pun intended) Bedroom clean. Lighting in the bedroom could be better. The armchair in the bedroom was most uncomfortable. Not the sort of chair to relax in. Good location on the harbour side yet also... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hampshire
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Overall a comfortable stay though hotel's decor is a little tired. Room was clean. The building is impressive and has some lovely features. Situated by the harbour we had a pleasant view. Excellent dinner & breakfast with very helpful staff. The pub next door was noisy but it was at the weekend!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dublin
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great location and comfortable rooms. The food in the restaurant was excellent. However, what really made this place was the staff. They are mainly Orcadian, are very helpful and friendly and could not do enough for us. I'd highly recommend this hotel to stay in.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Had another pleasant stay at the hotel.Dining room very busy...asked for the desert menu, but never received it.Food was good.Had the St Magnus chicken.Room was clean and we'll presented STAFF very helpful and friendly

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
kirkwallhotel, General Manager at Kirkwall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you,sincere apologies for not getting the desert menu please make yourself know if you choose to stay & dine with us again and we will compliment you a desert! Amanda More

Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a Superior Double Room booked for 2 nights on the show weekend. Sadly the room was very cramped, I don't know what an inferior room would have been like? Also the shower recess was so small if you dropped something you had to open the door in order to pick it up! But the bed was comfy with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
kirkwallhotel, General Manager at Kirkwall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for enjoying our hotel,food and the service,with the hotel being 124 years old we are restricted to not being able to knock down walls to make rooms larger,sorry if you felt 216 was small we do have some larger rooms just ask at time of booking for availability. Regards Amanda More

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I dined in the Kirkwall Hotel with 6 friends on a busy Friday night in August. As a regular visitor to Orkney i would say this was usually one of my favourite places to eat. On this occasion i was slightly disappointed as first of all as a "large group" we were asked to pre order our meals which was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 15
kirkwallhotel, General Manager at Kirkwall Hotel, responded to this review

At a peak time like show week the way for us to efficiently handle the increased volume of diners is for some pre-ordering ( although we are grateful you choose to eat with us and that you have in the past if you were not happy to do this you didn't have to book or perhaps you could have chosen... More

Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Arrived late off the boat from Aberdeen The view in the morning over the harbour was awesome. The room was large, clean and that great view. This was a traditional hotel. Not one of the fancy ones that all look the same. Breakfast was traditional scottish and served by friendly staff eager to help. Was well impressed so far, therefore... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
kirkwallhotel, General Manager at Kirkwall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the 5 stars,we are a traditional 3 star family owned and run hotel ,glad you enjoyed all that we offer.hope you will stay with us again some day. Regards Amanda More

Leeds UK
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

What a lovely hotel. Overlooking the harbour, the bedroom was a good size and the bed very comfortable. There was a good size and comfortable looking sitting room (no time to use it) and the dining facilities were first class. The food was excellent and the staff helpful and professional. This hotel is to be recommended and I would certainly... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
kirkwallhotel, General Manager at Kirkwall Hotel, responded to this review

Brilliant! thank you very much for such a lovely concise review,we look forward to welcome you back soon. Regards Amanda More

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Should have been ideal. Unfortunately i arrived late and was given a room on the top floor with the wardrobe in a very odd place. Next morning I realised it had been placed to cover black damp staining on the corner of two walls.Paintbrush/ stain block/ paint / quick job? Otherwise the room was clean with a nice new shower.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 14
kirkwallhotel, General Manager at Kirkwall Hotel, responded to this review

All of your room issues were dealt with and apologised for at the time by the Owner,as for your breakfast we offer a cook to order breakfast using fresh quality local produce,on the buffet along side the fruits in syrup we also offer fresh fruit and fresh juice,also bakery rolls we do not offer cheese and ham however if you... More

Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The rooms are small, the beds are small, the bathrooms are small, but everything is clean. The location is what makes this hotel a great place to stay in Kirkwall. If you go for a room with a view of the harbor, expect to be woken by the sounds of noisy gulls and drunken locals. I thought it was worth... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
kirkwallhotel, General Manager at Kirkwall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you,all our customers are of great value to us,locals and tourists,we can only take the amount of bookings for the restaurant that we a are capable of cooking and serving for efficiently we try to accommodate as many others as we can,we do get very booked up so we recommend booking well ahead to guarantee a table on our... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Kirkwall Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Kirkwall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kirkwall Hotel

Address: Harbour Street, Kirkwall KW15 1LE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Mainland > Kirkwall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Kirkwall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kirkwall Hotel Orkney Islands

54 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (28)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (19)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Kirkwall with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Kirkwall Hotel with stunning views to the north is one of Orkney's finest Victorian Buildings, perfectly situated within the historic town of Kirkwall, on the picturesque harbour front, close to the marina and the main shopping area, ideal for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
36

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Kirkwall Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer