We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kirkwall Hotel

Harbour Street, Kirkwall KW15 1LE, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Kirkwall Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

230 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    68
    80
    40
    26
    16
See reviews for
32
81
22
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (230)
  • Mar-May only
    (54)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (125)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (40)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (11)
All months
Inverness
Level Contributor
83 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

For a hotel that prides itself on being the highlight of Kirkwall this was very disappointing. Terrible single room- disappointingly institutional style room with single bed, drab decor, overlooking taxi rank which was noisy. Bathroom a disgrace. No shower. Window sealed shut so no ventilation. Grubby bath. Unappealing paint and no attempt to make it even remotely homely. £80/ night!!!... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
170 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed two nights - talk about Fawlty Towers. No water in the cold taps and very hot water in the hot water tap. Needless to say when you had a shower, all soaped up and nothing to wash the soap away. The toilet, another thing, if there was no water to clean your teeth, you guessed it...no flushing! Complained... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
kirkwallhotel, General Manager at Kirkwall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Farpiviions This is a really unfair post,let me address your issues, we did have a water problem ( indeed no water getting to the entire 2nd floor showers but they were able to flush toilets),as soon as we were alerted to it( around 7am) we called our plumber who for your information has been working on the restructuring and... More 

Travelers are raving about these Kirkwall hotels

Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Booked into Kirkwall hotel as a last resort (everywhere else booked up). We were pleasantly surprised - it is an old hotel and some areas are a bit tired but the staff were very helpful and our room was spotless. We were in a large double on the second floor overlooking the harbour - a great spot to watch life... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed for three nights in a double room on the top floor at the side of the building. It's in a great location overlooking the harbour and is a fairly typical traditional Scottish hotel - tartan carpet, grand dining room and bar. The room was fine, and the service was good - all the staff were lovely. However, breakfast... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Dumfries and Galloway, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was my first trip to the Orkney Islands which combined business wifh a couple of days holiday. Hotel was great - room spotless and the staff were very friendly. We ate in the restaurant one evening and I cannot recommend this enough - the seafood salad was wonderful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Small single bed room on 2nd floor very disappointing . Firstly was a stain on carpet probable from spilt coffee , the ancient basic bath ( no shower attachment ) had not had been cleaned from previous occupant and although the duvet looked beautifully white crisp cotton the bottom sheet was crumpled obviously had been slept on . Very pleasant... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I've stayed at this hotel on 2 previous occasions. My experience has been mixed. My previous stay has been in the better rooms in the main part of the hotel. On this occasion I had a clean but tired room towards the back of the building in what felt like an annex/extension. The room is somewhat noisy, dark and dingy... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our family stayed here for a couple nights at the end of July beginning of August and what a great stay it was. Very friendly staff and decent sized rooms. The food was also delicious and best of all the hotel overlooks the harbour so you can watch the fishing boats coming in, in the morning.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Perth, Western Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The view was nice, breakfast was delicious. The 3 nights that my group stayed there I did not see any other guest under the age of ~55. The room was nice, Very muggy, the window that you could open was very high. There were 2 pubs located within 1 minutes walk from the hotel, it was loud into the early... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2015 via mobile

Kirkwall has only a few good restaurants and we were squeezed in between bookings. With some relief we sat down and then very pleasantly surprised by the great service and then a very big menu. Great meal, recommend booking.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

73 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (46)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (19)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkwall
0.1 mi away
Ayre
Ayre
#5 of 8 in Kirkwall
4.0 of 5 stars 231 reviews
0.1 mi away
Albert Hotel
Albert Hotel
#3 of 8 in Kirkwall
4.0 of 5 stars 98 reviews
10.6 mi away
Merkister Hotel
Merkister Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harray
4.5 of 5 stars 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burray Village
4.5 of 5 stars 80 reviews
11.4 mi away
Smithfield Hotel
Smithfield Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dounby
4.0 of 5 stars 43 reviews
1.1 mi away
Highland Park House
Highland Park House
#15 of 24 in Kirkwall
4.5 of 5 stars 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay