We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
You added The Shore to your Saves list
Shore Street, Kirkwall KW15 1DN, Scotland
Hotel amenities
The Shore
Ranked #14 of 24 Kirkwall B&B and Inns
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kirkwall
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    41
    10
    6
    3
See reviews for
7
51
9
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (102)
  • Mar-May only
    (26)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (43)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (26)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (7)
All months
Inverness, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We would highly recommend this hotel as the views, comfort of rooms and so on is of a high quality. On fist appearance it looks like an inn with rooms, but that is just a facade. Staff very friendly and helped us with questions on where on visit and what to see. Overall a nice place to stay in Kirkwall... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Karen C, Owner at The Shore, responded to this review

Thank you for your very positive review of your stay at The Shore. We are delighted that you found the rooms to be of a high quality and that the staff were friendly and helpful. More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2014

I ate here in December 2014, with my family, as a pre-Christmas get-together. Admittedly it wasn't our first choice of restaurant (my parents live in Kirkwall, and have their favourites) as lots of placed were booked up, but I would definitely return. The menu had a huge and varied selection, some festive fare and some standard - and with clean... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Karen C, General Manager at The Shore, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for your lovely review. We are really pleased that your group all enjoyed their meals and that you found the staff helpful and accommodating. More 

Kirkwall, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2014 via mobile

We were shown to our room, which is a nice touch and something not seen very often these days. Our room faced out the front and was simply stunning. Very luxurious and welcoming. Quality bedding that was so comfortable. Lovely ensuite with nice Orkney made toiletries. Soft towels and bathrobes were a nice touch. We looked in the room but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Karen C, Owner at The Shore, responded to this review

Thank you for you splendid review. Your feedback is very much appreciated, More 

Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2014 via mobile

Had the privilege of staying in one of their new rooms. Amazing bed, lovely modern bathroom, nice modern feel. The hotel food at lunch time was very good, and the breakfast was just superb. I will be staying here again on my next trip to Orkney.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Karen C, Owner at The Shore, responded to this review

Your lovely comments are very much appreciated. More 

woodsetts
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2014

We stayed for one night and stayed in a double room with en-suite shower room. The rooms are spotless and modern with lovely crisp white sheets and towels, and the hotel provide hair dryers and body wash. The hotel has great bars and a lovely restaurant with very efficient staff, we arrived early but we're able to get straight into... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Karen C, General Manager at The Shore, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review. We are pleased that you found your room with the harbour view clean, well equipped and quiet. We have just moved to providing B & B prices rather than room rates so that everyone can enjoy an inclusive breakfast as part of their stay. More 

Saratoga Springs, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2014

Our opinion of The Shore rose over the course of our 4 night stay and we ended up happy with our experience there. We were initially disappointed with the cramped lobby, small room, and mediocre continental breakfast. For less, you can have a very nice breakfast at Trenabies on the main street. The Shore appears to be a bar/restaurant with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Karen C, Owner at The Shore, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that you had a good overall experience. It is particularly pleasing to hear that you had a good level of service from the staff. We have just appointed a new Operations Manager who will ensure a 24/7 presence at the hotel. The rooms do vary in size so we are... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2014

I've stayed in a couple of places in Kirkwall, but will definitely return to The Shore. I recently stayed for two nights and ate breakfast and dinner there twice. The omelette I had on my first morning was one of the nicest omelettes I have ever eaten. Both evening meals were satisfactory. Rooms are modern and fresh (wifi is available... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Karen C, Owner at The Shore, responded to this review

Many thanks for your lovely review of our rooms, breakfast and food. It is very much appreciated that you took time to give us your feedback. More 

Sydney
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2014 via mobile

A family of four, we stayed at The Shore for two nights in July. The hotel is adjacent to the port and town "CBD", although most of the interesting sights on the Orkneys are out of town.I'm While the rooms are quite comfortable, the standouts of The Shore are the quality restaurant, comfortable bar and exceptionally friendly staff. The Orkneys... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Karen C, Owner at The Shore, responded to this review

Thank you for letting us know that you and your family enjoyed your recent stay at The Shore. We are delighted to hear that the family suite was to your liking and that you rated the meals and facilities so highly. Thank you again for taking the time to write us this great review. More 

Stirling, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2014

Just had 3 nights at the shore. Check in (young guy) was pleasant and professional, attentive and courteous, Modern clean spacious, well appointed room, comfortable bed. Clearly the room has been recently upgraded and looks good on it. Only slight downside is the extractor in the bathroom is woefully underrated. One shower and its like a sauna, walls streaming with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Karen C, General Manager at The Shore, responded to this review

We appreciate your feedback. We will soon have four completely new rooms ready at The Shore and have just appointed a new Operations Manager who will lead on our service offering. Please let us know if you are planning to visit again as we would love to let you see our new rooms and to meet our new manager. More 

Wolverhampton
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2014

We were on a Fred Olsen cruise of the Highlands and Islands. Decided to have a drink in the bar at the end of the mains street in Kirkwall which was The Shore. We had a drink only and some conversation with the friendly bartender who is studying at Strathclyde University. Nice bar, friendly staff and good views of the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Karen C, General Manager at The Shore, responded to this review

We are pleased that you enjoyed your recent drink at The Shore. Thank you for coming in to see us and for your great feedback. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Shore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shore

Address: Shore Street, Kirkwall KW15 1DN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Mainland > Kirkwall
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
The Shore Kirkwall, Orkney Islands

22 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay