We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save Saved
You added The Shore to your Saves list
Shore Street, Kirkwall KW15 1DN, Scotland
Hotel amenities
The Shore
Ranked #14 of 25 Kirkwall B&B and Inns
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kirkwall
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    41
    10
    6
    3
See reviews for
6
49
9
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (98)
  • Mar-May only
    (26)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (43)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (24)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (5)
All months
woodsetts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed for one night and stayed in a double room with en-suite shower room. The rooms are spotless and modern with lovely crisp white sheets and towels, and the hotel provide hair dryers and body wash. The hotel has great bars and a lovely restaurant with very efficient staff, we arrived early but we're able to get straight into... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Saratoga Springs, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Our opinion of The Shore rose over the course of our 4 night stay and we ended up happy with our experience there. We were initially disappointed with the cramped lobby, small room, and mediocre continental breakfast. For less, you can have a very nice breakfast at Trenabies on the main street. The Shore appears to be a bar/restaurant with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Karen C, Owner at The Shore, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that you had a good overall experience. It is particularly pleasing to hear that you had a good level of service from the staff. We have just appointed a new Operations Manager who will ensure a 24/7 presence at the hotel. The rooms do vary in size so we are... More

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I've stayed in a couple of places in Kirkwall, but will definitely return to The Shore. I recently stayed for two nights and ate breakfast and dinner there twice. The omelette I had on my first morning was one of the nicest omelettes I have ever eaten. Both evening meals were satisfactory. Rooms are modern and fresh (wifi is available... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Karen C, Owner at The Shore, responded to this review

Many thanks for your lovely review of our rooms, breakfast and food. It is very much appreciated that you took time to give us your feedback. More

Sydney
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

A family of four, we stayed at The Shore for two nights in July. The hotel is adjacent to the port and town "CBD", although most of the interesting sights on the Orkneys are out of town.I'm While the rooms are quite comfortable, the standouts of The Shore are the quality restaurant, comfortable bar and exceptionally friendly staff. The Orkneys... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Karen C, Owner at The Shore, responded to this review

Thank you for letting us know that you and your family enjoyed your recent stay at The Shore. We are delighted to hear that the family suite was to your liking and that you rated the meals and facilities so highly. Thank you again for taking the time to write us this great review. More

Stirling, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just had 3 nights at the shore. Check in (young guy) was pleasant and professional, attentive and courteous, Modern clean spacious, well appointed room, comfortable bed. Clearly the room has been recently upgraded and looks good on it. Only slight downside is the extractor in the bathroom is woefully underrated. One shower and its like a sauna, walls streaming with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Wolverhampton
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were on a Fred Olsen cruise of the Highlands and Islands. Decided to have a drink in the bar at the end of the mains street in Kirkwall which was The Shore. We had a drink only and some conversation with the friendly bartender who is studying at Strathclyde University. Nice bar, friendly staff and good views of the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Karen C, General Manager at The Shore, responded to this review

We are pleased that you enjoyed your recent drink at The Shore. Thank you for coming in to see us and for your great feedback. More

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Visited recenlty as part of a large party for an evening of Cocktails and Food, We did not stay in the hotel. We had the private function room of the side of the bar. The atmosphere was really nice. We had pre ordered our food and was very nice indeed, it was freshly prepared and exactly what was required. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A very nice and comfortable place to stay! Spacious bedroom, well decorated and maintained, high quality food! The excellent choice to stay when exploring gourgeous Orkney! The Shore is much more than what you see from the street!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Karen C, Owner at The Shore, responded to this review

That you for your excellent review. It was a pleasure to have you eat and stay with us. More

UK
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The rooms are really nice, well presented and spacious with plenty of plugs and good quality bathrooms. Room 15 is really quite noisy in the night though (water pump?) so bring ear plugs. I was very impressed with the standard of the rooms as I was expecting bad things, based on the the check-in desk and corridors. Breakfast was very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Karen C, Owner at The Shore, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of room 15. It has recently been totally refurbished so we are glad that it was to your liking. More

Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

We used The Shore as a one night stay at the start of our holiday. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Room was very clean and well presented. Felt welcomed and very much at ease. Really very happy to recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Do you own or manage The Shore?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Shore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shore

Address: Shore Street, Kirkwall KW15 1DN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Mainland > Kirkwall
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
The Shore Kirkwall, Orkney Islands

12 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay