We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Shore

Shore Street, Kirkwall KW15 1DN, Scotland
The Shore
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    42
    10
    6
    3
See reviews for
8
52
9
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (106)
  • Mar-May only
    (30)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (43)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (26)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (7)
All months
Guildford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We recently spent a few days in Kirkwall and stayed at The Shore. The new owners were very hospitable and made us feel welcome. Our room was very comfortable, clean and spacious with a very comfortable bed and partial sea view. The breakfast was good and all in all a great stay especially as the weather was sunny most days.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Samantha B, Owner at The Shore, responded to this review

Delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. What a week the weather was - it's not always like that - I promise! Please come and see us again - we'll order the sunshine..... Sam More 

Carnoustie, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here in March 2015 with Theatre Group for a competition. Hotel was perfect for a mixed group of adults and teenagers. Rooms lovely all recently upgraded (nice touches the use of local soaps and shower gels so good I went and bought some to take home). Food good value and locally sourced again. Staff were lovely and really helpful... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Samantha B, Owner at The Shore, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. We enjoyed sharing the weekend with you all and hope we see you again very soon! With kind regards, Sam More 

Inverness, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Was looking for accommodation for a long weekend in Kirkwall/Orkney. I've eaten many times in the Shore and been very impressed, so I thought I'd check this out. Booked a suite with two rooms accommodating three people. Newly refurbished rooms, very spacious, very clean, with an en-suite shower room, and all our needs were met with attention to detail including... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Samantha B, Owner at The Shore, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind feedback. We all enjoyed having you stay with us and sincerely hope to see you all again. Special thanks to Bradley, for the wonderful trip down memory lane, it was lovely to recall the days listening to the Wombles with my sister when we were young. And more thanks for the shortbread -... More 

Edinburgh
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

Just back from a return trip to The Shore. It was excellent last time and it was just as good this time! The rooms are lovely. Simply but tastefully furnished with everything needed for a short stay. Our bathroom was lovely and spacious with a good sized shower. The breakfast was excellent and plentiful and the staff so friendly and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Samantha B, Owner at The Shore, responded to this review

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. I have shared your review with the rest of the team who get such pleasure when their work has helped ensure a pleasant stay for our guests. We hope you can come to see us again! Thank you. Sam Berston More 

Inverness, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2015

We would highly recommend this hotel as the views, comfort of rooms and so on is of a high quality. On fist appearance it looks like an inn with rooms, but that is just a facade. Staff very friendly and helped us with questions on where on visit and what to see. Overall a nice place to stay in Kirkwall... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Karen C, Owner at The Shore, responded to this review

Thank you for your very positive review of your stay at The Shore. We are delighted that you found the rooms to be of a high quality and that the staff were friendly and helpful. More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2014

I ate here in December 2014, with my family, as a pre-Christmas get-together. Admittedly it wasn't our first choice of restaurant (my parents live in Kirkwall, and have their favourites) as lots of placed were booked up, but I would definitely return. The menu had a huge and varied selection, some festive fare and some standard - and with clean... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Karen C, General Manager at The Shore, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for your lovely review. We are really pleased that your group all enjoyed their meals and that you found the staff helpful and accommodating. More 

Kirkwall, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2014 via mobile

We were shown to our room, which is a nice touch and something not seen very often these days. Our room faced out the front and was simply stunning. Very luxurious and welcoming. Quality bedding that was so comfortable. Lovely ensuite with nice Orkney made toiletries. Soft towels and bathrobes were a nice touch. We looked in the room but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Karen C, Owner at The Shore, responded to this review

Thank you for you splendid review. Your feedback is very much appreciated, More 

Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2014 via mobile

Had the privilege of staying in one of their new rooms. Amazing bed, lovely modern bathroom, nice modern feel. The hotel food at lunch time was very good, and the breakfast was just superb. I will be staying here again on my next trip to Orkney.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Karen C, Owner at The Shore, responded to this review

Your lovely comments are very much appreciated. More 

woodsetts
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2014

We stayed for one night and stayed in a double room with en-suite shower room. The rooms are spotless and modern with lovely crisp white sheets and towels, and the hotel provide hair dryers and body wash. The hotel has great bars and a lovely restaurant with very efficient staff, we arrived early but we're able to get straight into... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Karen C, General Manager at The Shore, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review. We are pleased that you found your room with the harbour view clean, well equipped and quiet. We have just moved to providing B & B prices rather than room rates so that everyone can enjoy an inclusive breakfast as part of their stay. More 

Saratoga Springs, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2014

Our opinion of The Shore rose over the course of our 4 night stay and we ended up happy with our experience there. We were initially disappointed with the cramped lobby, small room, and mediocre continental breakfast. For less, you can have a very nice breakfast at Trenabies on the main street. The Shore appears to be a bar/restaurant with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Karen C, Owner at The Shore, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that you had a good overall experience. It is particularly pleasing to hear that you had a good level of service from the staff. We have just appointed a new Operations Manager who will ensure a 24/7 presence at the hotel. The rooms do vary in size so we are... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

22 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question