We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 10 Knutsford hotels

The Mere Golf Resort and Spa

4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Chester Road, Knutsford WA16 6LJ, England
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
1 Night Sunday Stay £149
Save Saved
You added The Mere Golf Resort and Spa to your Saves list
The Mere Golf Resort and Spa
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
88%
Ranked #1 of 10 hotels in Knutsford
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
Laurence T Halifax, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (435)
  • Photos (102)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (112)
  • More
Write a Review

435 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    292
    91
    33
    15
    4
See reviews for
50
210
7
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

As a Yorkshireman I cannot help myself - we just have a need to moan so here goes. This is my second visit and I need you to know what I have found. Perfect tranquility. People looking after me that care, have a smile, are attentive and genuine. A room that is the right size, right temperature and has all... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
lauren_yates, Guest Relations Manager at The Mere Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Lawrence T, It was an absolute to pleasure to have met you, shared your interesting views and of course looked after you whilst staying with us. I am delighted that you enjoyed your time here at The Mere and that you are as enthusiastic about the resort as we are. May I also take this opportunity to personally thank... More

Flintshire
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

As a frequent visitor of spa hotels, I had high expectations of this experience from viewing the website and looking at the stunning photographs. Unfortunately, my visit was met with disappointment and despite using a LivingSocialDeal voucher, I did not feel that the treatment I received was anything close to the 4 star rating as boasted by Mere or worthy... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
lauren_yates, Guest Relations Manager at The Mere Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Dear SGW1987, May I say that I am genuinely disappointed to learn of your Spa Day experience; it is not often that we receive negative feedback regarding our ward winning facility. I would like to take this opportunity to assure you that this is not our normal practice and apologise on behalf of The Mere Golf Resort and Spa. I... More

Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

we stayed here for our Christmas party last year, the room we were allocated was a ground floor disabled room and it was a tad disappointing (as I am not at all disabled). The room was a little on the small size, with a view of the car park - the function room itself was on the outside of the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
lauren_yates, Guest Relations Manager at The Mere Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Loobylou66, Thank you for taking the time to share a review following on from your Christmas party. Unfortunately as your stay was last year it is a little difficult to say why you were allocated an accessible room. I would imagine it would have been due to the busy festive period and the hotel being full. This would have... More

Lancashire
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
33 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is the 4th time I have had the pleasure of staying at The Mere and it was as excellent as always. We had our wedding here 4 years ago and the hotel was not built then, now it is missing some of the lovely features that it had, such as the bridge over water in the main lobby, but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
lauren_yates, Guest Relations Manager at The Mere Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Dear RaewynLancashire, Thank you for taking the time to share your guest experience here at The Mere Golf Resort and Spa. We would like to thank you for your repeat custom and are pleased that you enjoy our wonderful resort so much that you return to us time and time again. I will of course pass on your kind comments... More

Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I recently stayed here with friends and spent time in the spa. On arrival we were greeted by friendly staff who were keen to ensure we had a pleasant stay. Our room was lovely with a view of the golf course. We had dinner in the restaurant and the food was first class. The breakfast the following morning was one... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I've already had a satisfactory email exchange with Lauren Yates, the hotel's Guest Relations manager, following our stay in early June, but it was tripadvisor that led me to stay at the hotel and I should therefore add my feedback: The hotel is quite difficult to find with poor signage on the road, but once we did, our first impressions... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
lauren_yates, Guest Relations Manager at The Mere Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Dear PenLou, Thank you for your recent review, As I explained to you we value our guest feedback, without it we are unable to grow and develop the resort. I am pleased that you felt the way in which this was dealt with was done in a satisfactory manner. We would relish an opportunity to welcome you back to see... More

merseyside
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I visited the mere spa on sunday using a living social voucher, this is my second visit after 2 years. The first time I went I really enjoyed the whole experience but there were a few little niggles this time around. The spa restraunt the food was a bit of a let down my pasta dish was dry & quite... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
lauren_yates, Guest Relations Manager at The Mere Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Dear 131268, Thank you for taking the time to share your review regarding your recent Spa Day. I have spoken with our Spa Manager and asked her to contact you directly to discuss your feedback in more detail. As a repeat visitor of the complex you know for yourself that this is not our usual practice and we are confident... More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We have just stayed on a special Saturday offer. The rooms are very nice but a bit dark. Browns restaurant is lovely. However, the hotel needs to work on the service provided by the staff. We arrived and went for lunch in the hotel bar. We had to request someone to clean the table twice and they needed to sweep... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
lauren_yates, Guest Relations Manager at The Mere Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Ljc001, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following on from your recent stay. I was extremely disappointed to learn of the cleanliness and service issues you unfortunately encountered during your time with us. For this I would like to sincerely apologise as it is not our usual 5 star standards that we strive for. May... More

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stay here every few months for a few nights to get away and spa with a night out in local knutsford. Couldn't ask for more from what we want. Food is fabulous, spa is super for a hotel spa and staff are always happy to help.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We chose this hotel because of a lot of great reviews on TA and it's location. We went for a "weekend gettaway" and would like to have stayed longer. I'll briefly summarise our experience. Arrived just after 2pm for check-in. Staff very courteous and informative. Room met expectations, (we asked for view of golf course rather than car park). My... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Mere Golf Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Mere Golf Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mere Golf Resort and Spa

Address: Chester Road, Knutsford WA16 6LJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Knutsford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mere Golf Resort and Spa 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Mere Golf Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

102 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (85)
Viewed
Room/suite (31)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (17)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Other (5)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#1 Business Hotel in Knutsford #1 Romantic Hotel in Knutsford #2 Family Hotel in Knutsford
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Mere Golf Resort & Spa in the heart of the Cheshire countryside is famous for its extensive conference, weddings, spa and golf facilities.The resort's historic main Victorian building inspires feelings of classic charm, accompanied by modern, luxury accommodation and amenities.Located alongside The Mere Lake and close to the picturesque town of Knutsford as well as the bustling cities of Manchester and Liverpool and the historic city of Chester.There are excellent transport links with Manchester International Airport only ten minutes away, a frequent two hour train service to London from Manchester Piccadilly and the M6 and M56 motorways close by. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
81

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer