We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 10 Knutsford hotels

The Mere Golf Resort and Spa

4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Chester Road, Knutsford WA16 6LJ, England
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
1 Night Sunday Stay £149
Save Saved
You added The Mere Golf Resort and Spa to your Saves list
The Mere Golf Resort and Spa
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
88%
Ranked #1 of 10 hotels in Knutsford
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
Linda B London, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (474)
  • Photos (107)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (121)
  • More
true
Write a Review

474 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    314
    102
    38
    16
    4
See reviews for
55
227
8
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

My husband and I stayed at the Mere hotel on our way home from Scotland to London. This is our second stay at the hotel, it is a wedding venue and golf hotel so you are always going to run the risk of late night wedding guests the worse for wear, or a rowdy golf group up drinking late. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
56 hotel reviews
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I have stayed in this hotel on a few occasions and cannot fault the venue, location, service, quality and overall experience. From the moment you drive in through the gates and up the country road, you cannot help but be impressed. The Spa is one of the best I've experienced in 25 years of business travel and everything is just... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Northallerton
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Where do I start with this place. I booked the mere as a surprise for my girlfriend with the intention of making it a perfect night by proposing to her. We travelled 2 and a half hours on the Saturday afternoon to arrive in Knutsford. The drive up to the Mere was made up of beautiful scenery. As soon as... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Beautiful venue wonderful wedding and bedrooms only reason I have marked service low is because my sister and brother in law got married there and when they got the post box home they had cards with money and vouchers stollen and when reported to the hotel they refused to investigate the matter

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Brackley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The reception staff were really friendly and the hotel gives a lovely first impression when you walk in, the room didn't disappoint either. It was spacious, clean and convenient - there wasn't much light but that didn't really matter too much. The en suite was very nice too and there was a really good sized TV and free WiFi. I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
lauren_yates, Guest Relations Manager at The Mere Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Jasmine B, Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your most recent stay with us, As a potential regular guest of the hotel I wish to assure you that this is not our usual five star standards. I am very disappointed to learn of your frustrating and unacceptable in room dining experience, however I am... More

Salford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

After visiting the Mere for the 4th time in the last 18 months, I couldn't help but feel the need to write about how PERFECT this place really is. We were greeted by friendly staff with beaming smiles, immaculate décor and a room which was spotless, spacious and cosy. After dropping our luggage, we went straight to the spa where... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
lauren_yates, Guest Relations Manager at The Mere Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Darren H, Thank you so much for sharing your superb review titled “Flawless” I am absolutely delighted that you enjoyed your stay; it was a pleasure to have you stay with us again. Please feel free to contact me directly when staying in the future and I will of course make sure that you are once again, well looked... More

Stockton Heath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
18 hotel reviews
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Booked a Livingsocial deal for a spa day at The Mere and redeemed it last Friday. The deal was £130 for 2 people, 2 course lunch each and 2 treatments each. Really good value. The facilities are lovely – seems to have had quite a recent renovation or decoration. The pool area is really nice, steam room etc are all... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My Husband and I have Just arrived home to Oxfordshire after spending the weekend at Mere golf and country club and spa. I last stayed approximately two years ago with our Son and my review back then was glowing. However, my experience on this occasion has been very different. Over the past 30 years, a large part of my life... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
lauren_yates, Guest Relations Manager at The Mere Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Corrieorrie, Thank you for taking the time to post a review following on from your recent stay with us. We acknowledge your feedback and encourage you to contact us, either via my direct email lauren.yates@themereresort.co.uk or alternatively by telephone 01565 830155 Kind Regards Lauren More

Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The staff are very polite, and on arrival after completing the required form for our treatment, we were shown where everything is. Everything is very clean and modern. Clean towels are at your disposal, and slippers and a robe are also provided. The spa facilities are the best I've experienced, I've only been to a few but you normally just... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
lauren_yates, Guest Relations Manager at The Mere Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Talia16, Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful birthday experience at The Mere Golf Resort and Spa. The hot lava shells massage is something new that we have just introduced and is the latest biggest craze!! I am so pleased to know you were both a fan of the treatment; I have mine booked for next... More

Leeds
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We booked the Mere to celebrate our 1st wedding anniversary, and I was not disappointed. The whole experience from start to finish was fabulous. The reception staff were very efficient, friendly and helpful, despite us arriving early our room was ready, which is always a bonus. The room (206) was large and well furnished we had a super king sized... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Mere Golf Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Mere Golf Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mere Golf Resort and Spa

Address: Chester Road, Knutsford WA16 6LJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Knutsford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mere Golf Resort and Spa 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Mere Golf Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

107 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (90)
Viewed
Room/suite (31)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (17)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Knutsford with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#1 Family Hotel in Knutsford #1 Romantic Hotel in Knutsford #1 Business Hotel in Knutsford
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Mere Golf Resort & Spa in the heart of the Cheshire countryside is famous for its extensive conference, weddings, spa and golf facilities.The resort's historic main Victorian building inspires feelings of classic charm, accompanied by modern, luxury accommodation and amenities.Located alongside The Mere Lake and close to the picturesque town of Knutsford as well as the bustling cities of Manchester and Liverpool and the historic city of Chester.There are excellent transport links with Manchester International Airport only ten minutes away, a frequent two hour train service to London from Manchester Piccadilly and the M6 and M56 motorways close by. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
81

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Mere Golf Resort and Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer