We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cottons Hotel & Spa

4.0 of 5 Manchester Road, Knutsford WA16 0SU, England
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cottons Hotel & Spa
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Cottons Hotel & Spa
Cottons Hotel & Spa
Cottons Hotel & Spa
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    157
    77
    23
    15
See reviews for
88
150
17
116
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (507)
  • Mar-May only
    (97)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (156)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (132)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (122)
All months
Lamonts
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Well – where to start - Ruined overnight leather bag, Very poor customer service, dark & dismal ground floor bedroom, overcrowded breakfast room, with not enough seats for those wanting breakfast (other dining areas available but we were not allowed to sit at them). We had to queue and wait whilst staff too busy had to clear left tables and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CottonsHotel, General Manager at Cottons Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

We are disappointed to read your recent review posted from your stay in November 2014. I imagine from the tone and content of your review that you are set on doing as much damage to the hotels reputation as possible because we did not compensate you for the damage to the handbag mentioned in your review. It’s a real shame... More 

Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The entrance, restaurant & spa are great - they highlight a gorgeous clean hotel. I stayed on a 3 day, 2 night course. The room for the course was shabby - nails hanging out of walls and dirty decoration. My room - which should be 4* - was horrid. The grout in the bathroom was dirty, the ceiling had peeling... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
CottonsHotel, General Manager at Cottons Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your review. It is always disappointing to receive such a poor review especially when it is out of character with the many positive reviews we get thorough the year. Clearly, the hotel was not to your liking, but what I would say is that if you experienced such poor standards, why didn't you let any member... More 

Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

On first impression Cottons is in a nice location, has good transport links (close to the motorway) and is situated in semi rural location. It's well worthy of four stars, but not special enough for 5. You pull into the car park and it is obvious the hotel is well kept and maintained, and you are immediately put under the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sandbach, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great spa facilities and great staff. Lady served us for dinner also served us for breakfast. A birthday card waiting for my wife was a lovely touch as was the upgrade. Room 148 was our room . A little in need of some TLC but all in all a nice stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CottonsHotel, General Manager at Cottons Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Tom, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel after your recent stay with us. I was pleased to read that you generally enjoyed your stay and we are working through our refurbishment plan as we speak, so far we have introduced free superfast broadband, new corridor and public area carpets, an al fresco dining area and... More 

Biddulph, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Having spent several years at Cottons Hotel for the Christmas package I felt compelled to write, to convey my disappointment at my experience, this time round. I knew, with a change of manager, that some changes were inevitable and was expecting them but did not expect most of them to be negative. The pre-ordering of each main meal, for the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
CottonsHotel, General Manager at Cottons Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your review on your recent visit to our hotel. We are clearly disappointed to get such poor feedback, especially as we have had such fantastic comments from other guests staying on the festive package. You were obviously not happy with the pre order system we introduced this year, but this also proved very successful especially with our... More 

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
57 hotel reviews
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I spent a Saturday here with four of my best girl friends on the Girls Night Out Deal. It was superb value - a three course meal , half a bottle of wine each, a cocktail, the room, breakfast and spa access with free popcorn and a beauty goodie bag PLUS a £20 voucher for spa products. The rooms were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CottonsHotel, General Manager at Cottons Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Amy, Thank you for taking the time to post your review on your recent stay with us. I was pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay but have noted your comments on the awareness of the team regarding your spa package. This is very unusual as we have been running these packages for a while, but we will... More 

Rochdale, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband decided he wanted to treat me for my birthday and so paid for me and 2 friends to go to Cottons Hotel & Spa for the weekend. It was amazing, the package he had opted for included accommodation with overnight stay, a 3 course meal in the evening, breakfast buffet the following day, a 30 minute pamper treatment... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CottonsHotel, General Manager at Cottons Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Kimberley, Thank you for posting your review from your recent stay with us. I am really pleased that everything went well and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Regards Philip Walker More 

Manchester
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We chose to have our wedding at The Cottons in the Upstairs Verandah room. It was amazing from start to finish, Melissa the wedding co-ordinator is so dedicated to her job and helps with every tiny detail. They could not have done enough for us. Like most weddings we had a few intricaies that needed special care, for example, we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CottonsHotel, General Manager at Cottons Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

I am so pleased with this review, it really shows what Cottons is all about and has been about for the past 30 years - great customer service from a team that really cares. Thank you so much for your review, I will ensure the team are aware of your comments and hope to welcome you back to Cottons in... More 

Telford, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed for one night. NewYears Eve Gala ball. Afternoon tea lovely, although less cakes and more sandwiches would be nice. Hotel rooms starting to look bit dated, will need some revamping soon. Receptionists amazing, friendly and efficient. Waiting staff not quite as enthusiastic. Gala ball, food lovely, had to wait ages for coffee. Average age of clientele probably 60 so... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CottonsHotel, General Manager at Cottons Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on your recent stay with us. I was pleased to read that you generally enjoyed the event and the entertainment. With regards to the revamp, we are currently making significant improvements to all areas of the hotel with enhancements like free superfast broadband, new corridor and public area carpets and... More 

cheshire, England
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We booked the package for afternoon tea, five-course dinner and overnight stay including breakfast. Firstly, there are only two of us but the afternoon tea consisted of five finger sandwiches,10 small cakes and 2 scones with cream and jam! We only ate a fraction of these and all were delicious. Following afternoon tea we drove to nearby Knutsford for a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CottonsHotel, General Manager at Cottons Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your review regarding your recent New years eve stay with us. We are really pleased that you had a great time at the event and enjoyed the entertainment we laid on for night. We will soon be publishing our Christmas and New years eve packages for this year so I hope that we will have the pleasure... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Cottons Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottons Hotel & Spa

Address: Manchester Road, Knutsford WA16 0SU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Knutsford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cottons Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Cottons Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cottons Hotel And Spa
Cottons Hotel Knutsford
Cotton Knutsford
Cotton Hotel Knutsford
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Knutsford
#4 Romantic Hotel in Knutsford
#5 Family Hotel in Knutsford

68 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (26)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (42)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay