We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 14 Loughborough hotels

The Hunting Lodge

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   38 South St. | Barrow upon Soar, Loughborough, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Hunting Lodge to your Saves list
The Hunting Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Booking.com Hotels.com
and 6 more sites!
66%
Ranked #9 of 14 hotels in Loughborough
Certificate of Excellence 2013
A recent review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013
MFB1968 Barrow Upon Soar, United Kingdom
Write a Review

54 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    12
    6
    9
    4
See reviews for
4
31
1
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

Very poor Xmas lunch today. Reasonably priced and the setting was nice but the quality of food was poor and it was all served cold. I was very disappointed. The service was also very slow. Not the standard I would expect for the price. Would not recommend!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Barrow Upon Soar, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

As a local in Barrow, I've visited The Hunting Lodge several times now. The food and service can be very good, or very poor - you just never know what you'll get on a particular day. So overall it's a disappointment because you can't rely on getting a good meal, served hot, or much attention from the staff, and I'm... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Lovely welcome from the staff, liked the room colour and the mattress was comfortable. They are the only positives. Bed was sheets of which the top one had obviously not been washed as it smelled very strongly of men's aftershave. Choice of artwork was interesting, a naked lady eating an orange. Also choice of magazine available in the room was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic menu so many things to choose from . Have eaten here many times always very good food and service . Sunday lunch was excellent good value food ,drinks a little bit expensive ! Great value early bird menu . Looking forward to our next visit here very soon .

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leicester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
19 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

I have been visiting the hunting lodge for years and have always enjoyed it. The service is always good, and you can relax inside on the vintage furniture or enjoy sitting outside in the large garden area with friends on a hot summers day. I am not overwhelmed by the food, some of it does not seem to be home... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gavin H, Manager at The Hunting Lodge, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. We are happy that you enjoy coming to The Hunting Lodge and will look forward to seeing you at the next Halloween party on the 1st of November. More

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We visited with friends for Sunday lunch at the pub/restaurant part of the Hunting Lodge and although we had a bit of a mix up at the beginning with the time of our booking, we were accomodated in the big bar area of the restaurant which was actually really nice (the main restaurant was also a large space and totally... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
leics
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
15 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Visited for an early eve Sunday meal. Great menu, plenty of choice, not too pretentious. Very good attentive service, knowledgeable staff and nothing too much to ask. We opted for chicken roulade and a braised beef. Both accompanied with potatoes and vegetables. For dessert, a traditional apple and rhubarb crumble with custard. All the food was freshly prepared. The veg... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Can't believe people are saying the food is rubbish, what are you talking about!?! We went to eat on a Tuesday for the early bird menu (2 courses for £7.95, before 6.30pm). We were not expecting large portions for the price. However, we could not have been more pleased with the food. Absolutely delicious, tastes homemade. Generous portions for the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
West Sussex
Top Contributor
198 reviews 198 reviews
28 hotel reviews
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We stayed as part of the annual reunion, the food was terrible and I couldn't eat it. The room was fine and we slept quite well until woken very early by noisy heating, but the breakfast was also disappointing and not up to their usual standard. I also agree about the packed bar, unfortunately due to the bad weather, but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
26 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Attended our annual reunion on Saturday which was a fantastic event as always. As a venue this works really well when the weather is fine as the large beer garden allows everyone to spread out and circulate. However, on this occasion the weather was cold and showery which meant that the @300 guests were all packed into the bar area... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gavin H, Manager at The Hunting Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Martin, Thank you for you review. I can only apologies that you didn't receive the level of service you expected at The Hunting Lodge on the day of the Army Reunion. We do try our best to make sure all our guests leave happy and this occasion we have not. On the day in question we did have 6... More

Been to The Hunting Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hunting Lodge

Also Known As:
The Hunting Hotel Loughborough
Hunting Hotel Loughborough
Address: 38 South St. | Barrow upon Soar, Loughborough, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Loughborough
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Loughborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hunting Lodge 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spectacular three story granite building proudly boasts six individually styled bedrooms ranging from the ethnic origins of The Biko room to the regal opulence of the Louis Room. With full restaurant and bar serving delicious food and drinks all day - seven days a week. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Hunting Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hunting Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.