We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Britten House

Certificate of Excellence
21 Kirkley Cliff Road, Lowestoft NR33 0DB, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Britten House
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

266 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    226
    33
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
46
145
11
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (266)
  • Mar-May only
    (79)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (114)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (39)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (34)
All months
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We chose Britten House because of its great location by the sea and the the positive reviews that we read online. We were not disappointed! Our room was clean and well stocked. The breakfast left us full (loved the fresh fruit salad every morning!) The hosts were very friendly and helpful. My son used the sand toys to play on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Was very impressed on arrival. Owner came to meet us at our car. They were very friendly and advised us of everything we needed to know. Also told us how good there breakfast was. The room was immaculate. Really big with great views. This morning after a perfect night we enjoyed an incredible breakfast. I had a fantastic full English... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Derby
Level Contributor
39 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our ninth visit and yes we know Ann and Colin very well now. Viewers of my reviews on Britten House may think I automatically give favourable reviews because of the number of visits and because we want to keep returning. That could not be further from the truth, tripadvisor reviews initially brought us to Britten House and wherever we have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great location right on seafront. Very friendly welcome by Anne one of the owners. Had the Elgar suite which gave excellent sea views, room also had fridge and coffee/tea facilities. Breakfast is excellent actually filled me up for the whole day. Only downside was we could not shut the main window completely so a little road noise at night. Other... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shifnal, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My partner and I visited this hotel for two nights in August. My first impressions on approach to the hotel were great. Impressive house, overlooking the beach. First off we couldn't find the car park, which is hidden away. The car park fits four cars maximum which isn't ideal, if it's fill you have to fend for yourself basically. There's... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brittenann, Owner at Britten House, responded to this review

Dear Joseph H, Wasn't it a fabulous weekend, absolute scorcher. Everyone was on the beach and had filled the car park opposite and both sides of the road which is one way and has unrestricted parking. We are lucky we have a car park when most of the other B&B have no parking at all. I had nothing more important... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2015

I have never come across a hotel before that charges for a cancellation AT ANY TIME until now. In the small print it states this hotel will charge you 100% of the first night regardless of how much notice you give. I gave 2 weeks notice and it still cost me £80. Despite attempts, they would not budge. DO NOT... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brittenann, Owner at Britten House, responded to this review

There are now so many guests who make reservations to secure accommodation, mainly through on-line Travel Agents, with the intention of cancelling. If nearer the time they can find a late deal or dependant on sunny weather conditions. Having often held rooms for months, to have a last minute cancellation, after turning away numerous requests. We changed our cancellation policy,... More 

?!
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2015

The owners of this house helped me out loads as I was planning a wedding and had lots of family and friends coming to Lowestoft. All the guests that stayed here were impressed with the facilities, comfort and (most mentioned) breakfast! I popped in often and had the pleasure to meet 'Benjamin' himself, what a treat! (Ask very nicely and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brittenann, Owner at Britten House, responded to this review

Thank you Sarah, It was lovely to have been of help to you whilst planning your wedding. We would love to see you for a coffee, and please bring your wedding photos. Kind regards Ann More 

Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2015

Really great place, but have to give poor overall score as room I was in (booked specifically for the big spar bath) had no cold water due to a fault. They were aware of the fault, and really I don't think the room should have been used. Great breakfasts, large room, some (but limited - pot luck) parking, and lovely... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Brittenann, Owner at Britten House, responded to this review

I am sorry you were unable to work the Shower/bath. I do show my guests how it works on arrival and made sure the temperature is at the correct temperature. If you had asked me to re-set it at any time I would have been happy to do so. I am glad you enjoyed the rest of your stay. Kindest... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2015

Have stayed in Britten house many times always find the service excellent. It feels more like visiting friends as Colin and Ann are always so welcoming, and always remember us. Always has clean tidy rooms have stayed in many different rooms over the years. Find them family friendly. Great home cooked breakfast. Plan on going back again and again. Keep... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brittenann, Owner at Britten House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review. It is so very nice for us, not only to have guests who come back time and time again, because for us it is catching up with old friends, but also because we know we must be doing something right. Thank you for letting other people know and we look forward to... More 

Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2015

We were soooo pleased with our stay at Britten House every thing was perfect the breakfast is outstanding the room was so lovely comfy bed excellant tea coffee and biscuits were of the best quility worthy of a 5* B B We were so inpressed we have booked to go back again. well done Britten House Anne Colin its a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Brittenann, Owner at Britten House, responded to this review

Thank you for a lovely review. Biscuits!!! I only give my guests really nice biscuits. Yes they cost more and because they are so nice more get eaten. But I know that far more have been enjoyed and at the end of the day the enjoyment of our guests is always paramount. When your grandchildren come there will be lovely... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

41 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (25)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lowestoft hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#4 of 8 in Lowestoft
4.0 of 5 stars 253 reviews
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Lowestoft
Premier Inn Lowestoft
#2 of 8 in Lowestoft
4.5 of 5 stars 480 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Hatfield Hotel
The Hatfield Hotel
#7 of 8 in Lowestoft
3.5 of 5 stars 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Ivy House Country Hotel
Ivy House Country Hotel
#1 of 8 in Lowestoft
4.5 of 5 stars 200 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chiltern House Bed & Breakfast
0.1 mi away
Somerton Guest House
Somerton Guest House
#2 of 28 in Lowestoft
5.0 of 5 stars 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay