We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 20 Lytham St Anne's B&Bs / inns

The Carlton Hotel

61 South Promenade, Lytham St Anne's FY8 1LZ, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Carlton Hotel to your Saves list
The Carlton Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
69%
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
jc_lmmyles Halifax, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (33)
  • Photos (13)
  • Location
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (8)
  • More
true
Write a Review

33 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    9
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
8
14
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This family run small hotel is situated a short walk from the main shopping area and Pier of St. Annes. I stayed here for the Lytham 1940's weekend 16 - 17 August. Small car park out front but street parking opposite also available. Breakfast is now Continental served in the Banksey's café, newly refurbished and is bright and airy. Our... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

What a little gem! We recently stayed at this hotel for an extended weekend and were blown away! We were made to feel very welcome and nothing was too much effort for the warm and friendly staff. Our room was very comfortable and clean. We had a choice of continental breakfast (included in the room price) or a cooked breakfast... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Blyth, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

very dissapointed this time, we stayed at the hotel last year and found it excellent very friendly staff and good english breakfast. This time it was a continental breakfast we were offered cereals, a bowl of fruit that looked as though it had been there all week, very dried up cossiants, yogurt, and toast. Most of the staff were very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lytham
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

As a resident of nearby Lytham ~ The Carlton is located around 3:5 miles along the Prom ~ it is in ideal location / pit stop whilst we are out cycling along the stunning Fylde Coast. It prides itself in freshly home prepared foods and it's quality is second to none ~ also one must mention the excellent coffee on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lancashire, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

we stayed here for 1 night , it was a Saturday night , as we handed our money over , we was told the proprietors was having a family party and we were quite welcome to attended the party .We didn't take much notice of that , no one would go to a strangers party. well the room was nice... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Stayed here with a late booking for 2 nights last weekend. The hotel is very clean and staff very helpful.................However the mattresses on the beds were poor., My friend in a separate room had springs directly under the mattress cover............using the duvet from a spare bed underneath the bottom sheet helped . My room was spacious with a sea view.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Hi iv just stayed at this lovely family run hotel which I have to say was superb run business. I have no complaints the rooms excellent not only for me but catters for disabled people with a lift. The staff excellent especially dark haired girl name I think lu lu a highly experienced member of staff, Again I would definitely... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights on a B & B basis. We had asked on the phone if there was parking and we were told there was but on arrival there was only room for 6 cars and as there are 18 rooms it was totally full up. We were then directed to one of the nearby streets which... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Roger B, Owner at The Carlton Hotel, responded to this review

In response to quasimodo01 • £25 p.p.p.n. for a sea view room is not overpriced in anyone’s book. (special price given at time of booking) • We only have 15 letting rooms and six parking spaces on site however parking across from the hotel is free and no time limit. Of course on a beautiful sunny Good Friday parking will... More

Oakham, Rutland United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Staff very friendly. Been on a course for the week. They looked after me very well. Washed my clothes from fire fighting course and dried my wet ones from sea survival. Breakfast was great. Will stay again

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
england
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
40 hotel reviews
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Eight of us spent a night at the Carlton in November and had a pleasant stay. The hotel is spotlessly clean with parking for several cars. Two rooms had a sea view while the third looked over what was a carehome car park I think. The rooms and public areas were spotlessly clean but as the rooms are quite spacious... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Carlton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carlton Hotel

Address: 61 South Promenade, Lytham St Anne's FY8 1LZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lytham St Anne's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your The Carlton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Carlton Hotel Lytham St Anne's, UK - England

13 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Other (5)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Carlton commands the finest position on the South Promenade, an excellent view of the sea, rock gardens and pier. The hotel is in walking distance of the main shopping centre, bus routes and Ashton Gardens, and within easy reach of the four championship golf courses and bowling greens.It overlooks the minature railway, pitch and putt course and putting greens.St. Annes is the perfect base for day trips to the many beautiful attractions the North West has to offer.We are a family owned and managed hotel, our main concern is for your relaxation and comfort, and to provide good home cooking and a pleasant stay in St. Annes.St. Annes is an attractive resort offering entertainment for all the family. Blackpool, with all its many attractions, is only a few minutes away but St. Annes retains a quieter charm in a restful atmosphere. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
15

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Carlton Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer