We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Carlton Hotel

61 South Promenade, Lytham St Anne's FY8 1LZ, England
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Carlton Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Carlton Hotel
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    11
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
8
16
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (35)
  • Mar-May only
    (5)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (19)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (10)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (1)
All months
St Helens, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Booked a 2 day break. The Carlton is basically bed and(continental) breakfast. I think we got the best room - bay window on the front (room 7). Good size and comfortable. Immediately above the bar but that wasn't a problem mid week. Breakfast was perfectly adequate; cooked cost £4-6 extra. No evening meal but there is a pub across the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Oldbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

Stayed here with my wife for a long weekend in June for an in-laws wedding. We arrived late having hit a bit of traffic on the way to find the owner helpful and understanding. All the parking spaces were taken but we found ample free parking over the road which was not a problem (we could see our car from... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Halifax, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

This family run small hotel is situated a short walk from the main shopping area and Pier of St. Annes. I stayed here for the Lytham 1940's weekend 16 - 17 August. Small car park out front but street parking opposite also available. Breakfast is now Continental served in the Banksey's café, newly refurbished and is bright and airy. Our... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

What a little gem! We recently stayed at this hotel for an extended weekend and were blown away! We were made to feel very welcome and nothing was too much effort for the warm and friendly staff. Our room was very comfortable and clean. We had a choice of continental breakfast (included in the room price) or a cooked breakfast... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Blyth, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

very dissapointed this time, we stayed at the hotel last year and found it excellent very friendly staff and good english breakfast. This time it was a continental breakfast we were offered cereals, a bowl of fruit that looked as though it had been there all week, very dried up cossiants, yogurt, and toast. Most of the staff were very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lytham
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

As a resident of nearby Lytham ~ The Carlton is located around 3:5 miles along the Prom ~ it is in ideal location / pit stop whilst we are out cycling along the stunning Fylde Coast. It prides itself in freshly home prepared foods and it's quality is second to none ~ also one must mention the excellent coffee on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lancashire, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

we stayed here for 1 night , it was a Saturday night , as we handed our money over , we was told the proprietors was having a family party and we were quite welcome to attended the party .We didn't take much notice of that , no one would go to a strangers party. well the room was nice... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Stayed here with a late booking for 2 nights last weekend. The hotel is very clean and staff very helpful.................However the mattresses on the beds were poor., My friend in a separate room had springs directly under the mattress cover............using the duvet from a spare bed underneath the bottom sheet helped . My room was spacious with a sea view.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Hi iv just stayed at this lovely family run hotel which I have to say was superb run business. I have no complaints the rooms excellent not only for me but catters for disabled people with a lift. The staff excellent especially dark haired girl name I think lu lu a highly experienced member of staff, Again I would definitely... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights on a B & B basis. We had asked on the phone if there was parking and we were told there was but on arrival there was only room for 6 cars and as there are 18 rooms it was totally full up. We were then directed to one of the nearby streets which... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Roger B, Owner at The Carlton Hotel, responded to this review

In response to quasimodo01 • £25 p.p.p.n. for a sea view room is not overpriced in anyone’s book. (special price given at time of booking) • We only have 15 letting rooms and six parking spaces on site however parking across from the hotel is free and no time limit. Of course on a beautiful sunny Good Friday parking will... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carlton Hotel

Address: 61 South Promenade, Lytham St Anne's FY8 1LZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lytham St Anne's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Carlton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Carlton Hotel Lytham St Anne's, UK - England

13 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay