We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 20 Lytham St Anne's B&Bs / inns

The Carlton Hotel

3.0 of 5 Inn   |   61 South Promenade, Lytham St Anne's FY8 1LZ, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Carlton Hotel to your Saves list
The Carlton Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
70%
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Bristolslaver1973 Lytham
  • Overview
  • Reviews (30)
  • Photos (13)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (7)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

30 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    8
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
8
11
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lytham
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

As a resident of nearby Lytham ~ The Carlton is located around 3:5 miles along the Prom ~ it is in ideal location / pit stop whilst we are out cycling along the stunning Fylde Coast. It prides itself in freshly home prepared foods and it's quality is second to none ~ also one must mention the excellent coffee on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lancashire, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

we stayed here for 1 night , it was a Saturday night , as we handed our money over , we was told the proprietors was having a family party and we were quite welcome to attended the party .We didn't take much notice of that , no one would go to a strangers party. well the room was nice... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here with a late booking for 2 nights last weekend. The hotel is very clean and staff very helpful.................However the mattresses on the beds were poor., My friend in a separate room had springs directly under the mattress cover............using the duvet from a spare bed underneath the bottom sheet helped . My room was spacious with a sea view.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Hi iv just stayed at this lovely family run hotel which I have to say was superb run business. I have no complaints the rooms excellent not only for me but catters for disabled people with a lift. The staff excellent especially dark haired girl name I think lu lu a highly experienced member of staff, Again I would definitely... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights on a B & B basis. We had asked on the phone if there was parking and we were told there was but on arrival there was only room for 6 cars and as there are 18 rooms it was totally full up. We were then directed to one of the nearby streets which... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Roger B, Owner at The Carlton Hotel, responded to this review

In response to quasimodo01 • £25 p.p.p.n. for a sea view room is not overpriced in anyone’s book. (special price given at time of booking) • We only have 15 letting rooms and six parking spaces on site however parking across from the hotel is free and no time limit. Of course on a beautiful sunny Good Friday parking will... More

Oakham, Rutland United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Staff very friendly. Been on a course for the week. They looked after me very well. Washed my clothes from fire fighting course and dried my wet ones from sea survival. Breakfast was great. Will stay again

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
england
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
40 hotel reviews
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Eight of us spent a night at the Carlton in November and had a pleasant stay. The hotel is spotlessly clean with parking for several cars. Two rooms had a sea view while the third looked over what was a carehome car park I think. The rooms and public areas were spotlessly clean but as the rooms are quite spacious... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Bolton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
22 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

This hotel is on the front, has some parking and is reasonably clean and comfortable. Bedroom nice and warm and cosy with all we needed, shower didnt work too good tho and had a bit of gunge at the bottom. The downside was the when we arrived the owner was out so the bar manager checked us in which was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Knottingley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We spent 2 nights here, it was a pleasure. My sister-in-law was with us & she is disabled, so it was a Godsend that there was a lift. Both rooms were on the 1st floor with seaviews, rooms 7&8. The rooms are very clean & spacious, the breakfast was delicious & ample. We found an excellent Chinese/Thai restaurant - The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Chorley
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stayed for 1 night. Fab clean and comfy room and shower room. Breakfast very tasty with lots of choice. Nice to see kids helping to serve breakfast. Hosts friendly and helpful. Didn't dine in the cafe bar but very pleasant looking. Great position across from cinema and Toby Carvery, and close to shops and cafes etc.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Carlton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carlton Hotel

Address: 61 South Promenade, Lytham St Anne's FY8 1LZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lytham St Anne's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Carlton Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your The Carlton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Carlton Hotel Lytham St Anne's, UK - England

13 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Other (5)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Carlton commands the finest position on the South Promenade, an excellent view of the sea, rock gardens and pier. The hotel is in walking distance of the main shopping centre, bus routes and Ashton Gardens, and within easy reach of the four championship golf courses and bowling greens.It overlooks the minature railway, pitch and putt course and putting greens.St. Annes is the perfect base for day trips to the many beautiful attractions the North West has to offer.We are a family owned and managed hotel, our main concern is for your relaxation and comfort, and to provide good home cooking and a pleasant stay in St. Annes.St. Annes is an attractive resort offering entertainment for all the family. Blackpool, with all its many attractions, is only a few minutes away but St. Annes retains a quieter charm in a restful atmosphere. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
15

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer