We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 8 Oakham hotels

Brook Whipper-In Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Market Place | Rutland, Oakham LE15 6QW, England
Hotel amenities
Brook Whipper-In Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Brook Whipper-In Hotel to your Saves list
60%
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Oakham
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
IvorD1954 Halifax, United Kingdom
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    85
    43
    28
    24
See reviews for
21
122
6
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (220)
  • Mar-May only
    (65)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (66)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (42)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (47)
All months
Halifax, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Reception lady was smashing, the barmaid/waitress (from Hungary) was delightful, being greeted with a smile makes so much difference. The bar/restaurant area was quaint, compact and very English. My colleague and I didn't eat there but we had a few drinks when we returned after dinner in a nearby Chinese. The atmosphere was pleasant and friendly. The rooms were adequate... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DUmmat, Director at Brook Whipper-In Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post such a delightful review of your recent stay with us . I am pleased that you enjoyed both the quirkiness and character of this old coaching inn and that all my team made you feel both comfortable and welcome during your stay . Your kind words are greatly appreciated and I will... More

Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Never experienced such discourteous and poor customer service in a hotel. I am not surprised that other guests have also had bad experiences at this hotel,.The hotel needs to look at ways they can improve their standards and service or customers will not return or make positive recommendations. It is a real shame, as the building is historical, atttractive and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
DUmmat, Director at Brook Whipper-In Hotel, responded to this review

As a Director of Brook Hotels I am very concerned to read your account of your stay with us at the Brook Whipper-In especially as it differs so considerably from the accounts given to me by the staff at my Head Office , the Whipper- In Reception team and my General Manager. I understand that prior to your stay you... More

Lincolnshire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Used a gift voucher for Afternoon Tea not really expecting much but was blown away by the service and quality of the food. The receptionist gave us such a warm welcome and the waitress was perfect. Could not have asked for anything more - sandwiches were great as were cakes, scones and fruit etc. Thanks

Was this review helpful? Yes
DUmmat, Director at Brook Whipper-In Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for visiting us at The Whipper-In and for your kind compliments following such an enjoyable Afternoon Tea with us .I have passed this on to our new General Manager to share with her team especially the restaurant staff and Brenton our Head Chef .We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel very soon . More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Check in was quick and friendly. Wifi is free but access code is required. Evening meal was OK. Room view was over a roof. Unfortunately fan noises started at 9.30 pm and eventually at midnight I asked to move. The evening porter could hear the noise over the phone and mentioned the noise could be from the extraction from the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DUmmat, Director at Brook Whipper-In Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking a few moments to review your recent stay with us and I am pleased that you found our staff both efficient and friendly . However, I do apologise for the noise from the nearby restaurant that disturbed you during your stay. I really appreciate your kind understanding of the situation and I am very delighted that... More

Leicestershire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed for 1 night and that was more than enough left at half six next morning . The noise from upstairs started at 5 in the morning.Room was dirty with dirty stained chair in corner. Bathroom was disgusting with mould and dirt around bath. Walls were dirty. Payed £95 for the night which was well overpriced. Would advise you stay... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
DUmmat, Director at Brook Whipper-In Hotel, responded to this review

I am extremely sorry to read your review .There can be no excuse for poor housekeeping practice of this nature and I have instructed the Hotel to address the issues you have bought to my attention immediately so that our usual high Brook standards are maintained consistently . We have a new General Manager taking over the operation of the... More

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We received a very warm welcome on our arrival. The room was good, but the bathroom's plumbing probably needs updating. We didn't have dinner as the kitchen closed earlier on a Sunday, but the breakfast was good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
DUmmat, Director at Brook Whipper-In Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words following your recent stay with us in Oakham it is greatly appreciated .I will, of course , let the reception team and Brenton our Chef know that you were pleased and felt very comfortable and welcome during your short break with us . Thank you once again for choosing to stay at The Whipper-In... More

Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Visited on a busy weekend, the world renowned Bird Fair at Rutland Water was in full swing but that didn't stop the staff in The George Restaurant looking after us as though we were their most honoured guests of the evening! A family reunion was the reason for our visit, our nephew from RSA, an intrepid birder of some repute,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
R F, General Manager at Brook Whipper-In Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your comments and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your dinner at the Whipper. Yes, we were quiet busy that evening with guests from the Bird Fair. Whether very busy or less so, we aim to give a consistent high quality of service and superb cuisine at all times which you very gracefully experienced... More

Newmarket, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

We arrived looking forward to a lovely stay at what seemed to be a quaint inn, last night. On arrival, we were greeted by the receptionist and checked in, only to find out that our room was NOT ensuite - the bathroom was across the landing. The room needed updating, felt dirty and uninviting. We asked if there were any... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
R F, General Manager at Brook Whipper-In Hotel, responded to this review

We were sorry to learn that you did not enjoy your accommodation at your recent stay at the Whipper-In. The fact is that we had no other rooms available to entertain your request for a room change. We were expecting one room to be cancelled but so did not happen. Most customers do enjoy the large room you stayed in... More

St. Albans, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Stopped off as we were part of a coach tour visiting the town. The attitude of the staff was very poor and felt unwanted. The tea was horrible and the coffee wasent exectly gr8 for 2.50 each expected it to be a bit better. One place wouldent be recommending to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes
R F, General Manager at Brook Whipper-In Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for commenting on your quick visit to the Whipper-In. We are sorry you had a less than satisfactory experience with our staff and the quality of the coffee. We are a little surprised though as we are known for providing very good hospitality and we have never had a complaint about the quality of our coffee before. We... More

Easingwold, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Very friendly and efficient management and staff make this a welcoming hotel. The food was of a high standard and good value. Large comfortable room overlooking the courtyard, which is a good place for a relaxing drink. Situated in the heart of the attractive historic town of Oakham, a stones throw from the castle, with Rutland Water within a couple... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
R F, General Manager at Brook Whipper-In Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your comments and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. The Whipper-In dates back to the 1700 so you are right that we are a little "quirky" and have some squeaking floor boards. That is part of our charm, we think! We look forward to welcoming you back at your next... More

Do you own or manage Brook Whipper-In Hotel?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Brook Whipper-In Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brook Whipper-In Hotel

Address: Market Place | Rutland, Oakham LE15 6QW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Rutland > Oakham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Brook Whipper-In Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Brook Whipper-In Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Whipper In Hotel
Whipper In Hotel Oakham
Brook Whipper-In Hotel Oakham, Rutland

81 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (41)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (41)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (21)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near Brook Whipper-In Hotel