We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 8 Oakham hotels

Brook Whipper-In Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Market Place | Rutland, Oakham LE15 6QW, England
Hotel amenities
Brook Whipper-In Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Brook Whipper-In Hotel to your Saves list
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Oakham
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
MrsBJohal
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    93
    51
    30
    28
See reviews for
26
136
7
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (252)
  • Mar-May only
    (65)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (66)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (55)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (66)
All months
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We wandered into the restaurant of this hotel during our trip to Rutland water. We did not stay here therefore I cannot comment on the rooms. The food was average but the waiters were attentive and dinner was also reasonably priced. We also got 25% off our meal using a gourmet society card. All in all not a bad deal... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
lee_mogridge, General Manager at Brook Whipper-In Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I will of course pass on your thoughts to my team. We reply on honest reviews, such as yours, in order to help us improve our standards. I do hope we see you again at The Whipper-in More 

Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We took a short break in cold January to Rutland area after a hip replacement operation while still on crutches and we took the dog! We found the Whipper inn to be dog friendly and although we had to sit in the bar, it was absolutely fine,comfortable and more importantly Warm! Very good food at reasonable prices, we ate there... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
lee_mogridge, General Manager at Brook Whipper-In Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. The Whipper-In welcomes everyone, including your dog, who, is possibly one of the most important parts of your family. We look forward to meeting you again soon, and should you decide to stay with us in the hotel, we have dog friendly rooms also! More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Spent Christmas Day at the hotel having an excellent dinner. The food was very good and reasonably priced. Despite the staff working on Christmas Day they were very pleasant and welcoming, their service made the day really nice

Was this review helpful? Yes
lee_mogridge, General Manager at Brook Whipper-In Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you do much for you kind review. At The Whipper-In we do our best to provide and enjoyable meal with a good atmosphere, and im pleased that the entire provided you with a great experience. We all look forward to welcoming you again. More 

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed for work for 2 nights. Arrived to no heating, but told it would soon be fixed. Wasnt fixed by the time I left. Room was a good size but there was not a chair to sit on at the desk to enable me to do any work. it was very poorly lit so it was difficult to read in.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
lee_mogridge, General Manager at Brook Whipper-In Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. As a 16th century coaching inn, we still retain many of its original features including old beams, uneven floors, and unfortunately no over head lighting, im sorry you did not bring this to my attention as I would have provided an additional work lamp in order to rectify your problem.... More 

HULL
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We did not stop at the Hotel so we cannot rate that, but we ate in the Restaurant last night (Monday 12th January 2015). The greeting by the Manager and his staff was very warm and friendly and they went out of their way to make us feel very welcome. The food was exceptional. Our party had four different starters... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
lee_mogridge, General Manager at Brook Whipper-In Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your very kind words. I have had great pleasure on feeding this back to my team at The Whipper-In. We do our best to create a home-from-home feel with a fast friendly service offing fantastic food, it was a pleasure to look after you and we all look forward to welcoming back to The Whipper... More 

Leicester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
53 hotel reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had booked in for dinner. The restruant was virtually empty with only two other diners and the bar was empty. A poor start to the evening as a member of staff was not very helpful or friendly, nor flexible. The food was hot and well presented and tasty, but unsure if we will go again

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
lee_mogridge, General Manager at Brook Whipper-In Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your thoughts, im extremely sorry that the atmosphere was not I would have hoped for you on your visit. This is something I have since looked into and addressed. I am however pleased that you enjoyed your meal and I do hope that you return to The Whipper-In and experience the recent changes. More 

Soham
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

As our previous New Years Eve stay, the food was very good & well presented, an excellent disco and a brilliant party atmosphere. The staff, as always were very friendly and worked extremely hard to make our stay enjoyable. We had a downstairs room, which was clean and comfortable, although a little tired, but this was not an issue at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMWhipper, General Manager at Brook Whipper-In Hotel, responded to this review

Happy new yea to you sir, from all of us at The Brook Hotels Group. Thank you for your thoughts and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Whipper-in hotel, I will of course, pass on your views to the entire team. Thank you also for your views on your room, this is something that I intend to... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I really enjoyed my stay at the hotel from 23-28 Dec. The manager and staff were all very helpful and friendly. The service was excellent. My room in the main building was very attractive, comfortable, warm and quiet. I had a bath AND shower, bliss after a day of muddy walking. It was a pleasure to return to my warm... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GMWhipper, General Manager at Brook Whipper-In Hotel, responded to this review

From all at The Whipper-in, we would like to wish you a very happy new year. It was a pleasure to look after you all during a wet & snowy visit! We look forward to seeing you again soon. I will be sure to pass your kind words to my team. More 

Coalville
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Had a wonderful New year break with my husband. The food was lovely, great music and nice cosey atmosphere. All the staff were welcoming and worked their socks off to provide a great experience. Everyone appeared to be having a good time. Our room was fine,bed was clean and comfy. Dust found in bathroom, and some mouldy grouting, but bath... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GMWhipper, General Manager at Brook Whipper-In Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words, I am very pleased that we made the end of 2014 & the beginning of 2015 memorable for you. I also thank you for your views, we take your views and thoughts constructively and we will look into the issues raised. I would like to wish you a vey happy new year... More 

Oakham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

What a wonderful day. the food was Excelent, the staff were very attentive, and the hotel is simply adorable. Despite the Manager having a number of 'hats on' for Christmas Day, he made some time for a quick chat which allowed me time to pass on our thanks to the wonderful staff at The Whipper-Inn, looking forward to returning again... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DUmmat, Director at Brook Whipper-In Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for posting such a lovely review of your Christmas Day Lunch and stay with us at the Brook Whipper-In Hotel .I am delighted that Mr Mogridge and his team made this a very relaxing and enjoyable festive break for you. It will, of course, be my pleasure to pass your kind compliments and appreciation on to all the... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Brook Whipper-In Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brook Whipper-In Hotel

Address: Market Place | Rutland, Oakham LE15 6QW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Rutland > Oakham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Brook Whipper-In Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Brook Whipper-In Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Whipper In Hotel
Whipper In Hotel Oakham
Brook Whipper-In Hotel Oakham, Rutland

83 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (42)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (41)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (21)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay