We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Brook Whipper-In Hotel

Market Place | Rutland, Oakham LE15 6QW, England
Hotel amenities
Brook Whipper-In Hotel
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Oakham
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
TheBigDeeee Hilton, United Kingdom
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    102
    51
    30
    28
See reviews for
27
148
7
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (269)
  • Mar-May only
    (76)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (66)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (55)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (72)
All months
Hilton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Had a nice evenings stay here the Sunday roast was nice with plenty on the plate. Bed was very comforable and room clean all in all a pleasant experience and I would definitely stay here again if in the area

Was this review helpful? Yes
lincolnshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Had a one night stay, was greeted by a friendly man behind reception who explained our stay and recommended food. Room was very nice and comfortable only thing didn't like was shower could done with being on the wall and water kept going red hot and cold. Evening meal we was greeted again by friendly staff who couldntbdo enough for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DUmmat, Director at Brook Whipper-In Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us whilst in Oakham and I suspect the gentleman who greeted you so warmly on both occasions is Lee Mogridge our General Manager. He will be delighted to know that he and his team made your stay so comfortable and that you both enjoyed dining with us. Please accept my sincere... More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We were a group of Hash House Harriers in Barbados who meet up yearly for a weekend reunion with a couple of runs thrown in and also hold a dinner on the Saturday night. The Wipper In accommodated us, a group of 34, admirably, the breakfast was excellent, the facilities perfect and nothing was too much trouble for any of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DUmmat, Director at Brook Whipper-In Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Patrick I am delighted to learn from your review and Mr Mogridge himself that you and your group of Hash House Harriers enjoyed your stay with us at the Whipper-In and your runs around Oakham and Rutland Water. I am pleased to read that after all your exercise Chef fed you very well ! I do hope that we... More 

Nottingham
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

An excellent 2 night break with a friend at this old and characterful hotel. Friendly, informal and efficient staff made our stay memorable along with the extraordinarily good dinners and non-greasy cooked breakfasts. Our courtyard room was quiet and comfortable (although in need of a thorough dusting!). Apparently the bathroom (a bit tired) was about to be updated. An ideal... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DUmmat, Director at Brook Whipper-In Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Rosie and Harry V I am delighted to read that you both enjoyed your recent stay with us at The Brook Whipper-In Hotel and that the General Manager and his team made you feel most comfortable and welcome . I have spoken to Mr Mogridge regarding your room as we are in the process of refreshing a number of... More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Had a lovely 2 night stay here a couple of weeks ago. The hotel is old and has a lot of character. There are tea and coffee making facilities available in the room and free wifi. Breakfast was extra costing £10 but ate out with friends instead. The bed was comfortable enough but unfortunately the person in the room above... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
lee_mogridge, General Manager at Brook Whipper-In Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us recently and for your very kind review and recommendation of the Brook Whipper-In following your visit. I am very pleased that you found our historic coaching inn both cosy and comfortable . I am so sorry that you were disturbed by the guests in the room above and wish you... More 

Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We thought the Hotel was fab! The service from all staff was absolutely first class. We had a room on the first floor which was adequate for our needs. As one reviewer put, the floor did creek a bit. We had dinner in the hotel and enjoyed a top notch meal. The service was great and the food was of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
DUmmat, Director at Brook Whipper-In Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Walshd Thank you so much for visiting us at The Brook Whipper-In Hotel and I am delighted to read that Mr Mogridge and all his team made your stay so enjoyable, I have spoken to the Hotel today to relay your very kind words as you have definitely made their day ! Naturally, Chef is especially happy that you... More 

Manchester
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
31 hotel reviews
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Staying here now. A lovely quaint old worlde hotel. Staff are lovely, really helpful and friendly. Breakfast was one of the best I have eaten. Nothing is too much trouble. Lovely clean white linen, room adequate for our short stay. Would have given it 5 but our double is in fact 3/4, quite a cosy fit for an ample sized... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DUmmat, Director at Brook Whipper-In Hotel, responded to this review

Dear ManDebKen Thank you for posting your review whilst still resident with us at The Brook Whipper-In and I am delighted to read that all the team at the Hotel are taking such good care of you. I have passed your kind words on to Mr Mogridge to share with his team this morning and please let them know if... More 

Doncaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed at this friendly hotel early Feb and found it great,room clean and tidy and yes the hotel does need a bit of tlc but that was more than made up by the lovely staff,had a nice meal in the Chinese which is only a few doors away as the hotel is right on the market square in the center... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DUmmat, Director at Brook Whipper-In Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Steve and Di Thank you for posting such a lovely review of your stay with us , it is greatly appreciated by all of us at Brook Hotels. I am pleased to read that you found the Hotel conveniently located in the marketplace for exploring Oakham and Rutland and that all the team at the Hotel made you feel... More 

Neath
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We loved this Hotel and nothing would give us greater pleasure than to award it a 'Five'. There were couple of issues that means it falls just short but in an ideal World we would be able to give it 'four-and-a-half'! The service from Lee the General Manager and his excellent Staff is First class. The room we had on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DUmmat, Director at Brook Whipper-In Hotel, responded to this review

Dear David and Anne Thank you for taking the time to post such a lovely review of your recent stay with us at the Brook Whipper-In Hotel. As a small group of Hotels it is always very rewarding for me to read such comments and to be able to thank Lee and his team myself for extending such a warm... More 

Solihull, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Had a wonderful weekend at the Whipper In - the only disappointment being that we had just 2 nights to enjoy this trip. Hotel was excellant value with friendly staff and good food. Very pleased with the arrangements made to accomodate the dietary requests of a member of our party. The situation of the hotel was perfect, and we loved... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
lee_mogridge, General Manager at Brook Whipper-In Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your thoughts. In Brook Hotels we pride ourselves on our service and standards and always do our best to accommodate the individual needs of any guest who stays with us at The Whipper-In. I am delighted that Chef was able to adjust his menu to suit so that everyone in... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

86 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (45)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (41)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (21)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question