We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 8 Oakham hotels

Brook Whipper-In Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Market Place | Rutland, Oakham LE15 6QW, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Brook Whipper-In Hotel to your Saves list
Brook Whipper-In Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
60%
Ranked #6 of 8 hotels in Oakham
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
David P Leicester, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (214)
  • Photos (74)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (46)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

214 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    39
    84
    41
    28
    22
See reviews for
20
120
6
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Visited on a busy weekend, the world renowned Bird Fair at Rutland Water was in full swing but that didn't stop the staff in The George Restaurant looking after us as though we were their most honoured guests of the evening! A family reunion was the reason for our visit, our nephew from RSA, an intrepid birder of some repute,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
R F, General Manager at Brook Whipper-In Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your comments and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your dinner at the Whipper. Yes, we were quiet busy that evening with guests from the Bird Fair. Whether very busy or less so, we aim to give a consistent high quality of service and superb cuisine at all times which you very gracefully experienced... More

Newmarket, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We arrived looking forward to a lovely stay at what seemed to be a quaint inn, last night. On arrival, we were greeted by the receptionist and checked in, only to find out that our room was NOT ensuite - the bathroom was across the landing. The room needed updating, felt dirty and uninviting. We asked if there were any... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
R F, General Manager at Brook Whipper-In Hotel, responded to this review

We were sorry to learn that you did not enjoy your accommodation at your recent stay at the Whipper-In. The fact is that we had no other rooms available to entertain your request for a room change. We were expecting one room to be cancelled but so did not happen. Most customers do enjoy the large room you stayed in... More

St. Albans, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stopped off as we were part of a coach tour visiting the town. The attitude of the staff was very poor and felt unwanted. The tea was horrible and the coffee wasent exectly gr8 for 2.50 each expected it to be a bit better. One place wouldent be recommending to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes
R F, General Manager at Brook Whipper-In Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for commenting on your quick visit to the Whipper-In. We are sorry you had a less than satisfactory experience with our staff and the quality of the coffee. We are a little surprised though as we are known for providing very good hospitality and we have never had a complaint about the quality of our coffee before. We... More

Easingwold, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very friendly and efficient management and staff make this a welcoming hotel. The food was of a high standard and good value. Large comfortable room overlooking the courtyard, which is a good place for a relaxing drink. Situated in the heart of the attractive historic town of Oakham, a stones throw from the castle, with Rutland Water within a couple... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
R F, General Manager at Brook Whipper-In Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your comments and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. The Whipper-In dates back to the 1700 so you are right that we are a little "quirky" and have some squeaking floor boards. That is part of our charm, we think! We look forward to welcoming you back at your next... More

Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Quaint inn to rest your head. Small-ish room with squeaky floorboards but all in keeping with the age of the building. Nicely decorated, Blackmore vale room overlooks the courtyard which has pretty flowers. Free wifi in room, tea and coffee making facilities.

Was this review helpful? Yes
R F, General Manager at Brook Whipper-In Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your comments and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. The Whipper-In dates back to the 1700 so you are right that we are a little "quirky" and have some squeaking floor boards. That is part of our charm. We look forward to welcoming you back at your next visit to... More

Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I received a voucher for Afternoon Tea and took it at this hotel as it was the closest to where I live. I emailed in advance to explain that I was vegetarian and they emailed straight back with interesting meat-free sandwich suggestions from the kitchen. The room was cosy and quiet and my friend and I really enjoyed the sandwiches,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
R F, General Manager at Brook Whipper-In Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your comments on the afternoon tea service you had at your recent visit to the Whipper-In. Yes, we do remember the special requirements you desired and we are pleased that we could satisfy your wishes. We always aim to please. We hope to see you soon again at the Whipper for another afternoon tea or... More

Bourne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

This was a voucher gift given to my best friend by her sister for her birthday. We eagerly booked in; when we called it was explained that afternoon tea was served from 11.30am, that it was a plentiful platter of delicious sandwiches and cakes including strawberry tarts and unlimited coffee or tea. He also told us we could if the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
R F, General Manager at Brook Whipper-In Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for commenting on the afternoon tea service. It seems that your reservation went wrong from the beginning. We are not sure whom you spoke to at the initial contact with us as we only have ladies manning our reception. It is correct that our afternoon tea service does commence from 14.30 onwards and we apologise for not giving... More

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Absolutely fantastic place to stay. Visited twice now. Friendly staff and the service was excellent. Relaxing atmosphere and great bars and restaurants near by. Some great history about the old coach house. The picture of the old man who looks like he's going to cry is absolutely stunning.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
R F, General Manager at Brook Whipper-In Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your comments and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and the "Whipper" hospitality. Yes, Oakham is a lovely Market Town and has a lot to offer. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best wishes, The Whipper Management & Team More

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

I used Whip In for a training seminar. A great welcome from Robert and his team and nothing was too much trouble. Refreshments and lunch delicious. Recommended for anyone who'd like to run a training course/seminar/conference in a venue with lots of character and friendly efficient service.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stamford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

A very pleasant and enjoyable stay with extremely friendly helpful staff who went the extra distance to make our visit truly memorable. I would definitely stay here again as the food was excellent and local beer served well.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
R F, General Manager at Brook Whipper-In Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review and I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us at the "Whipper". You will be happy to learn that we have just changed most of our beers to even more popular ones. Please come back and see us again soon. Best wishes, The Whipper Management & Team More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Brook Whipper-In Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Brook Whipper-In Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brook Whipper-In Hotel

Address: Market Place | Rutland, Oakham LE15 6QW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Rutland > Oakham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Brook Whipper-In Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Agoda so you can book your Brook Whipper-In Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Whipper In Hotel
Whipper In Hotel Oakham
Brook Whipper-In Hotel Oakham, Rutland

74 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (34)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (41)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (21)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Oakham with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This 17th-century coaching inn is in Oakham town centre, in the old market square. It has free parking and original features, including real log fires and ancient oak beams. The Brook Whipper-In Hotel is a traditional country hotel. It is less than 500 metres from Oakham Rail Station, which has regular direct trains to Leicester, Peterborough and London Stansted Airport. Hotel Rooms: 24. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
24

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Brook Whipper-In Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer