We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Brook Whipper-In Hotel

Market Place | Rutland, Oakham LE15 6QW, England
Hotel amenities
Brook Whipper-In Hotel
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Oakham
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Sarah-Louise D Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

315 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    69
    127
    59
    31
    29
See reviews for
31
181
7
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (315)
  • Mar-May only
    (105)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (83)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (55)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (72)
All months
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We only went in for a late lunch and didn't stay in the hotel, so can only comment on the rooms. Food was lovely though we both had the "gin and tonic fish and chips", beautifully cooked, huge portion and attentive service. The menu offered a good choice and I'm told that the bread and butter pudding my husband had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Solihull
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

All I can say is WOW! This place is stunning! Our kind of place! Old and rustic with wooden beams and real character! I have to praise the staff, in particular Katy who has been brilliant in my email correspondence. I mentioned it was my husbands birthday and anniversary this weekend and if she could arrange for a bottle of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ipswich
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were given a 3 night B&B voucher for Christmas and choose the Whipper in right in the middle of the lovely town of Oakham, Rutland. The staff were very attentive and when we had an issue with our room this was swiftly sorted to our satisfaction. We stayed in the "Old Berkley", the stairs upstairs are quite lose and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DUmmat, Director at Brook Whipper-In Hotel, responded to this review

I am delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us at Brook Whipper-In Hotel and that following a change of room to the “Old Berkeley” , you settled down to relax and enjoy your break in Oakham .I am pleased that Mr Mogridge and his team made you feel very comfortable throughout and Chef will be particularly pleased that... More 

Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

An interesting old inn which needs some TLC and attention to detail. Visited Oakham for the weekend to attend an orgainsed event, a lovely town with some interesting sites, this hotel and it's history caught our interest. Staff were very pleasant but overall it really needs some care and attention to acheive anything more than an ok. Room and bathroom... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DUmmat, Director at Brook Whipper-In Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking a moment to write about your recent stay with us at The Brook Whipper-In. As you can see all reviews on this site are read and considered by both myself and the General Manager , Mr Lee Mogridge . Mr Mogridge also asks his guests if they wouldn’t mind giving him some direct feedback at the... More 

St Ives, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A lovely old coaching inn, full of character. Lots of effort made to make the courtyard bright and cheerful with colourful planting. Helpful, friendly staff and excellent food. Our room, superior double was spacious and comfortable with a huge flat screen TV. The only downsides were a bit of noise from out front when the farmer's market set up and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DUmmat, Director at Brook Whipper-In Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Deborah It was a pleasure to welcome you to the Brook Whipper-In and it is very rewarding for me to read your review today. I am delighted that you appreciated the quirky beauty and charm of the Hotel whilst visiting Oakham .Mr Mogridge has already passed your feedback onto his team and also housekeeping have addressed the small patch... More 

Oakham, Rutland.
Level Contributor
121 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I was invited to give a Presentation here for the local Lions Club last night and dinner was supplied! I cannot say how much it cost, but imagine that the Lions have secured a Good Deal, as they dine here every two weeks. I did not stay the night, so can't comment on the rooms. I would have reviewed this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DUmmat, Director at Brook Whipper-In Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your recent dinner with us at The Brook Whipper-In Hotel and I am pleased that you found Mr Lee Mogridge and his team very welcoming. I am happy to read that your presentation to the Lions Club ran so smoothly and that Chef managed to delight you with his menu on the evening. Lee and of... More 

Whitby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is an old coaching in type of hotel. The location was good for the places we wanted to visit and fishing at Rutland Water. However the place was a little tired and I did complain about one or two things. The manager/owner was on holiday but I was promised a response when he returned. This has not been forthcoming.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DUmmat, Director at Brook Whipper-In Hotel, responded to this review

I have discussed your review with Mr Lee Mogridge, my General Manager at the Brook Whipper-In Hotel and I am sorry if you still feel that the issues you bought to the attention of the on duty team at the time of your stay, remain unresolved. Although ,Mr Mogridge was under the impression that your complaint had resolved, I have... More 

England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed one night in this hotel deciding not to stay for the planned second night. The room and bathroom had not been cleaned - dust on all surfaces, and many months worth of dirt on skirting boards. There were hairs on the bathroom floor and it had clearly not been cleaned, nor had the sink or the bath. There... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
lee_mogridge, General Manager at Brook Whipper-In Hotel, responded to this review

I am very sorry to read that you were disappointed with the housekeeping standards at the Brook Whipper-In Hotel during your recent visit.As you can see from the history of reviews on this site the nature of your feedback is certainly not a criticism that the Brook Whipper-In usually receives . However,if you would like to contact me directly on... More 

Travelers are raving about these Oakham hotels

4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This break was booked for my husbands birthday and we was looking foreward to a nice a la carte meal in the restaurant that evening to celebrate, only to be told chef wasn't cooking from that menu tonight. Very disappointed as was told that afternoon the menu was available. Hence we ate elsewhere. Descided we would try the menu next... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
lee_mogridge, General Manager at Brook Whipper-In Hotel, responded to this review

Firstly,thank you for posting your honest views regarding your recent visit to The Brook Whipper-In Hotel. As a small group of 5 hotels we rely on views, such as yours, to help us improve our standards and service for both new and returning guests. Secondly, I am sorry to read of your disappointment regarding our menu choices and the items... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel is an old building of character so as such don't expect every modern feature. On the plus side would be an extremely friendly staff and a restaurant serving very good food. Power showers haven't reached the room I had and my bed was not that comfortable. There are no numbers to any rooms, just local names. Tuesday night... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DUmmat, Director at Brook Whipper-In Hotel, responded to this review

I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay in one of the rooms overlooking our delightful courtyard. It is always very rewarding to be able to read and to pass on such wonderful comments for Mr Mogridge to share with his team , so I would like to thank you personally for reviewing your visit with us... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

107 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (66)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Other (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (41)
Viewed
Room/suite (21)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oakham
0.1 mi away
The Old Wisteria Hotel
2.9 mi away
Barnsdale Lodge Hotel and Restaurant
2.6 mi away
Barnsdale Hall Hotel
Barnsdale Hall Hotel
#2 of 2 in Barnsdale
3.5 of 5 stars 513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Old Plough
The Old Plough
#3 of 7 in Oakham
4.0 of 5 stars 54 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hambleton Hall
Hambleton Hall
#1 of 1 in Hambleton
4.5 of 5 stars 344 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Admiral Hornblower
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay