We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Castle Lodge Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
Wilton, Ross-on-Wye HR9 6AD, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Castle Lodge Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Castle Lodge Hotel
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    35
    6
    10
    5
See reviews for
15
52
5
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (96)
  • Mar-May only
    (23)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (33)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (19)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (21)
All months
There are newer reviews for Castle Lodge Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Hereford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

We popped in for a mid week supper and had a great evening. The staff were really welcoming and the bar menu was varied. I ordered tuna which arrived perfectly cooked with seasonal veg and my husband ordered fish and chips, which he said was very good. Service was excellent and it was good value for money. The hotel occupies... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Borehamwood, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

The rooms were lovely. The hotel was very clean and the owners were lovely. There were fresh strawberries for breakfast and a very extensive menu. We ate dinner and the food was good but the chocolate panacotta I had for dessert was amazing. We would return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
cheshire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We stayed here recently for a week and had a lovely peaceful time. Steve and Georgina made us very welcome. We found the hotel to be clean and the bed was very comfortable, unlike some that we have stayed in recently. We also appreciated the tea/coffee making and the shortbread biscuits. There were a good variety of breakfasts available each... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Potters Bar, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

This was the worst place I have ever stayed in.. Food was awful, room was dreadful, the place was a real dump.. The owners need a personality by-pass. It was a dreadful experience, don't bother !! There are so many beautiful places and this is definitely not one of them ..

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
castlelodgehotel, Manager at Castle Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

As a rule,my partner and I don,t respond to bad reviews.By and large,the vast majority of our guests enjoy their stay with us and appreciate the personable service that we afford them.This is not just a business.It is a way of life! Every now and again,however,there are people in life who have little else to do but peddle falsehoods about... More 

Droitwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

As a hotel we had stayed in previously but not with the existing owners, we were looking for somewhere to celebrate my birthday convenient for the majority of the family. In the end there were 11 of us with 10 staying overnight. My initial contact to book had been easy with Georgina sorting out all the arrangements for the rooms... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Very helpful owners, who worked well to make our visit comfortable. Freshly-made tasty sandwiches and a good full breakfast with a comprehensive set of options. Quiet location, some 10 minutes from Ross town centre.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wales UK
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

We stayed the weekend in Ross-on-Wye in another hotel, while out and about came across the Castle Lodge Hotel. With the wet weather we decided to call in for a drink and to dry off. Georgina the owner welcomed us and while having a drink we checked out the menus. There was very good range of Al a Cart, bar... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Monmouthshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

We had a great Christmas party at Castle Lodge. The food was good, well cooked and nicely presented. The owners were extremely welcoming and couldn't do more for us. There were lots of lovely extra touches such as nibbles and drinks when we arrived and mince pies etc before we left, as well as plenty of party paraphernalia. It was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Stayed here one night only while travelling by motorcycle. Met at door by Stephen, the owner. Very helpful. Nice hot shower. I had a meal and a couple of drinks at the bar. Great food. Nice breakfast as well. Bed wad comfortable and great nights sleep. Nice spacious room. Everything spotlessly clean. Overall a pleasant stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Hereford
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Had a meal at the hotel not so long ago. The hotel has plenty of character and one of my favourite features is the bar. The meal itself was very well presented and tasted great, nothing to fault at all. The hosts were very accommodating and couldn't do more for us. Slightly bemused by the negative reviews but I would... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

22 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question