We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 11 Ross-on-Wye hotels

Castle Lodge Hotel

Wilton, Ross-on-Wye HR9 6AD, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Castle Lodge Hotel to your Saves list
Castle Lodge Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
80%
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Ross-on-Wye
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
mikesierra Bourne, United Kingdom
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    31
    6
    7
    4
See reviews for
13
45
5
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bourne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
14 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This is a wonderful old hotel building (Georgian?) with interesting and fascinating rooms. Look past the bathroom sanitaryware, which is a bit 1970s, but perfectly clean and serviceable, and enjoy the unique charm and character the rooms have to offer. The food is highly rated with splendid breakfast and dinner served in the restaurant.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pickering, North Yorkshire
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
28 hotel reviews
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

There is something wrong with this place. It's difficult to put a finger on it because I don't have enough fingers. Is it the hideous manikin in the hallway holding a tray with a guestbook on it? Or would it be the bathroom attached to our room which had fitted carpet? Or perhaps the big crack in the washbasin, or... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Yarm, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014 via mobile

On arriving was not met with a warm welcome. The reception and hallway was untidy and the floors were dirty. On going up to our room, all the carpets were dirty and the presentation on the stairways and hallways were so dated and nothing like the websites pictures. On entering our room, very squeaky floorboards, dirty carpets, dead spiders and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Carmarthenshire, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

We stayed here for a wedding reception held next door in the beautiful Wilton Castle. We had a very comfortable stay and we were allowed to check in early to enable us to change for the wedding. (Thankyou for that). Bed was comfortable breakfast was comprehensive room pleasant and clean . This is very good value hotel well situated and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We checked in for a night this weekend whilst in Hereford, where we were attending a friends wedding. Our first impressions of the hotel were made on arrival, whereby we were met by a friendly woman who i later learned was half of the couple who owns and run the castle lodge hotel. She was warm lady who showed us... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Hereford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

We popped in for a mid week supper and had a great evening. The staff were really welcoming and the bar menu was varied. I ordered tuna which arrived perfectly cooked with seasonal veg and my husband ordered fish and chips, which he said was very good. Service was excellent and it was good value for money. The hotel occupies... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Borehamwood, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

The rooms were lovely. The hotel was very clean and the owners were lovely. There were fresh strawberries for breakfast and a very extensive menu. We ate dinner and the food was good but the chocolate panacotta I had for dessert was amazing. We would return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
cheshire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We stayed here recently for a week and had a lovely peaceful time. Steve and Georgina made us very welcome. We found the hotel to be clean and the bed was very comfortable, unlike some that we have stayed in recently. We also appreciated the tea/coffee making and the shortbread biscuits. There were a good variety of breakfasts available each... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Potters Bar, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

This was the worst place I have ever stayed in.. Food was awful, room was dreadful, the place was a real dump.. The owners need a personality by-pass. It was a dreadful experience, don't bother !! There are so many beautiful places and this is definitely not one of them ..

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
castlelodgehotel, Manager at Castle Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

As a rule,my partner and I don,t respond to bad reviews.By and large,the vast majority of our guests enjoy their stay with us and appreciate the personable service that we afford them.This is not just a business.It is a way of life! Every now and again,however,there are people in life who have little else to do but peddle falsehoods about... More

Droitwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

As a hotel we had stayed in previously but not with the existing owners, we were looking for somewhere to celebrate my birthday convenient for the majority of the family. In the end there were 11 of us with 10 staying overnight. My initial contact to book had been easy with Georgina sorting out all the arrangements for the rooms... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Castle Lodge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Castle Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Lodge Hotel

Address: Wilton, Ross-on-Wye HR9 6AD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Castle Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Ross-On-Wye
Castle Lodge Hotel Ross-On-Wye, Herefordshire

21 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Ross-on-Wye with
any amenities