We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Old Court Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
Symonds Yat West, Ross-on-Wye HR9 6DA, England
Hotel amenities
The Old Court Hotel
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Ross-on-Wye
Certificate of Excellence
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Vikki C Bristol, United Kingdom
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    67
    32
    16
    9
See reviews for
57
108
4
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (265)
  • Mar-May only
    (69)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (95)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (60)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (41)
All months
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Just back from yet another wonderful weekend at The Old Court, been returning for 7 years now. We took friends this time who thoroughly enjoyed it, even if they did moan about all the walking we did. Thank you to Victoria and Jono and all the staff for being so attentive once again. The food was wonderful, the setting as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Called for lunch today after visiting the lovely Butterfly zoo on the other side of the road. Husband and I had the burger whilst our 2 year old had the kids burger. My husband also ordered onions rings. Onion rings were incredibly oily, we barely touched them. Our burgers, for £10.95, came with fries and salad. The burgers themselves were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have just come back from yet another trip to The Old Court. This hotel has got to be up amoung one of the most friendliest and welcoming hotels we have ever known. My husband and i go there to unwind, periodicly throught the year,and have done a New Year there and just coming up to our 2nd Christmas. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

So looked forward to a short break and it was a nightmare! We heard everything from our room including a dog barking. Smoke from the fire filled our room and breakfast was awful! When you pay you expect a treat, sadly we left one night early. Whilst staff were friendly when we explained why we were leaving we were not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Victoria S, Owner at The Old Court Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for this 2nd review from the same party regarding your stay last weekend. Please see my response to the other review as the same applies. In addition, I understand that you booked 2 of our cheapest standard rooms, where we do state on the internet they can be noisy. With respect to the dog, once we realised there... More 

Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here in April with our young baby and my parents in law. The staff were really kind and helpful from the moment we arrived and gave us a free upgrade so we could have a fridge in our room. We ate in the bar on the friday night and found the bar food really poor. The vegetables had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Victoria S, Owner at The Old Court Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay here last weekend. I am sorry you did not like the accomodation. We had given you an apartment as you had booked a small room where there would not have been very much space for the cot you also required. I believe the main reason for your poor feedback was that you... More 

worcester
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We booked into this hotel for a night on weekend celebrating my wife's 50th birthday. We called in the day before and had a nice coffee. Took the opportunity of pointing out it was my wife's 5oth the next day and we would be eating in the restaurant subject to it being ok as my wife is a vegetarian. We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Victoria S, Owner at The Old Court Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and review which I expected as I know and understand your wife was disappointed we did not have the Butternut Squash Vegetarian meal available on Sunday night. I cannot apologise enough that we ran out of that dish - an oversight by our very busy kitchen team who had already prepared over 300 fresh mealson... More 

Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Recently returned from a weekend stay in the cottage at the Old Court Hotel. The cottage was perfect, lovely and clean, spacious and well equipped. The shower was particularly great! The staff we encountered were faultless, very welcoming and professional. I must say a huge thank you to the owner who went out of her way to give our group... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My partner and I spent a long weekend at the Old Court Hotel for a country getaway. The staff were wonderful, we felt relaxed and at home immediately. The breakfast was great, so much choice and great service! The food from the bar menu was also amazing, we didn't have a bad meal. The location is perfect for those wanting... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Coventry, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel has so much character, it is set in lovely gardens at Symonds Yat West within easy reach of lots of attractions. Our room was the basic room that had a new bathroom and a balcony overlooking the large gardens, the food in the restaurant was great and residents get a 20% reduction, the room rate included a nice... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband arranged a 2 night break for my 50th birthday as a surprise, I had no idea where we were going and I was not disappointed what a beautiful place , stunning location, mouthwatering food, friendly staff who will go above and beyond to make your stay perfect ,highly recommended ,our room was cozy with tea/ coffee facilities and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

44 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (44)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities