We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The White House Guest House

Hotel website
Wye Street, Ross-on-Wye HR9 7BX, England
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The White House Guest House
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The White House Guest House
The White House Guest House
The White House Guest House
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    20
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
13
32
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (61)
  • Mar-May only
    (26)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (13)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (13)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (9)
All months
Chester
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Friendly and accommodating host, plentiful breakfast, soft towels and hot showers. Nice to have the tea/coffee facilities and toiletries in the bathroom. The place itself is tired and a bit shabby and unfortunately smells of cigarette smoke throughout.

Was this review helpful? Yes
thelandlady, Owner at The White House Guest House, responded to this review

Judy would like to thank you for your response. I have taken on board your comments, both positive and negative, and will do my best to rectify the specific things you have mentioned. All rooms were redecorated in February/March this year and ok, we don't go for minimalist and laminate floors. The White House was built in 1722, after all.... More 

Neath, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here for 3 nights on the 24th April. Lovely pleasant room with four poster bed. Nice and romantic, as it was our anniversary. Nice view of the river. Breakfast was excellent and there was plenty to eat. Had a welcoming cup of tea on arrival and Judy told us where the best pubs and restaurants were. Its only 2... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
thelandlady, Owner at The White House Guest House, responded to this review

Judy would like to thank you for your kind response, which is much appreciated. So glad you enjoyed your stay and your anniversary. It was a pleasure to meet you both. Congratulations again. Hope to see you again sometime. Thanks again for taking the time to respond. Best wishes More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

When we arrived, Judy, the proprietor, opened the front door and welcomed us and our dog, and immediately gave us a cup of tea. She very helpful in describing the various eating places in Ross and tips on visiting nearby Symonds Yat. The rooms were pleasant and the breakfast hearty and good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
thelandlady, Owner at The White House Guest House, responded to this review

Judy would like to thank you for your kind response, which is much appreciated. It was lovely to meet you all and your dog is quite amazing! So glad you brought him. Hope to see you again and thank you for taking the time to respond. So pleased you enjoyed your stay More 

Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2015

Judy was very welcoming and understanding of young children, such a help when travelling as a family! Some great tips on places to eat in the evening. Fantastic breakfast with an Easter egg for the children. Judy even gave us some bread to feed the ducks on the river just across the road - lovely!

Was this review helpful? Yes
thelandlady, Owner at The White House Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. So glad you enjoyed your stay. The children were lovely and I'd love to see them again sometime. Thank you for taking the time to respond. Kind regards More 

Hull
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2015

When we arrived we was welcomed by Judy and showed to our rooms. Rooms were very nice and tidy also beds were very comfy and slept like a log! Wifi was great too. Breakfast was nice and plenty of it, different varieties to choose from and they was even hot cross buns and we all got a creme egg each.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
thelandlady, Owner at The White House Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review. It is much appreciated. I'm really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us here in Ross. Thank you also for taking the time to respond. Look forward to seeing you again sometime! More 

Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2015

My husband and I and three friends stayed at the White House for two nights and could not have wished for better. A lovely warm welcome greeted us when we arrived with the offer of tea or coffee and biscuits which we really appreciated. Judy, the proprietor, then gave us some information about places to eat in Ross and their... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
thelandlady, Owner at The White House Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for such a lovely review. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and would thank you for taking the time to respond. It is much appreciated and I will look forward to your return later! Thanks again. More 

Norwich
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2015

Stayed here for 4 nights, a sort of working break to look after our grandchildren who live in Ross. Judy very welcoming and friendly. Comfortable warm room with great extra touches ie chocolates, roses and a bottle of bubbly to celebrate Valentines Eve, plus a good supply of tea, coffee, biscuits etc. The breakfasts were very good and kept us... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
thelandlady, Owner at The White House Guest House, responded to this review

A lovely review. Thank you so much for taking the time to respond. It is much appreciated I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were comfortable here. I hope the babysitting went well! It was lovely to meet you both and would love to see you again if you need to stay. Thank... More 

Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2015

I recently stayed here with my husband and 5 year old. We arrived late on a Friday night but our welcome was so warm with tea and biscuits! The owner was so accommodating - especially for the fussy 5 year old at breakfast and the breakfast was amazing. The room was a great size for a family room with a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
thelandlady, Owner at The White House Guest House, responded to this review

What a brilliant review! Judy would like to thank you so much for responding and it was a pleasure to have you stay here. I hope you had a good day on the Saturday also. Thanks again for taking the time to write the review. It is much appreciated. Hope to see you again. More 

Roydon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2015

My wife and I with our two young adult children stayed here during a bright, but bitterly cold January week-end. Judy had made sure the rooms were warm and the beds aired, there were extra blankets and a generous policy regarding tea bags, milk, biscuits etc. The breakfast was tasty, home cooked and suitable for everyone with croissants, cereals, juices,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
thelandlady, Owner at The White House Guest House, responded to this review

Judy would like to thank you for your kind response. I am sorry that Liz had a migraine whilst you were staying here, but I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay nonetheless. Thank you for taking the time to respond and best wishes for the wedding! More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2014

Welcomed with good old fashioned pot of tea and biscuits. The room was big and clean, and had a river view. The bed was comfy and the shower was hot. Breakfast was really nice. Would definitely stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
thelandlady, Owner at The White House Guest House, responded to this review

Judy would like to thank you for your kind response, which is much appreciated. So lovely to receive such a lovely review. Thank you so much and hope to see you again before long. It was a pleasure to meet you. Thank you for taking the time to send this review More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

4 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities