We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 38 Ross-on-Wye B&Bs / inns

The White Lion

Save
You added The White Lion to your Saves list
Wilton Lane | Wilton, Ross-on-Wye HR9 6AQ, England
Hotel amenities
The White Lion
Ranked #21 of 38 Ross-on-Wye B&B and Inns
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ross-on-Wye
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    17
    11
    3
    11
See reviews for
21
24
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (93)
  • Mar-May only
    (17)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (49)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (14)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (13)
All months
Ferndale, Wales, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We came across this restaurant by accident but its no accident that that we go back time and time again the food is really very good and the setting beautiful come the warm weather you can sit out by the side of the river have a meal or just a drink and soak up the atmosphere. The service is excellent... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ross-on-Wye, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have been on several occasions to the White Lion for food and drinks alone and ant fault the service not the food quality! I am sum what dumbfounded by RhysP review as he hasn't as such mentioned the quality of the food just the mistake they had brought on themselves. It was lucky a member of staff knocked and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hereford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I've never stayed there but been for many a sunday roast - every time we have visited The White Lion in Ross-on-Wye we have had a fantastic experience! The food is scrummy and the atmosphere is warm, friendly, homely, cosy, relaxed...I could go on!!! I hope nothing changes, ever...x

Was this review helpful? Yes
Swindon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
9 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

My sister and step dad booked their joint birthday party here the landlady booked the whole place out for the party and included a massive buffet of home cooked curry and sweet and sour pork there was so much leftovers. Excellent place as I've said in previous reviews great menu of delicious home cooked food fine local ale and views... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2014

We stayed in the white lion last week for 3 nights (23/09/14 in the family room which was very comfortable for the 3 of us, the staff were very friendly and the food was home from home with a varied menu. Ian , Rachael looked after us very well along with the other staff, our fishing trips were all booked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

A group of friends and I canoed down the river wye and were advised to stay at the white lion. The staff were rude "including management" We were kept outside to eat our rather expensive meal (avoid the duck) also kept outside in the morning to eat our breakfast. We asked for a clean mug to replace a chipped and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
jacquinewman, Owner at The White Lion, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, I am though somewhat bemused by your comments. Firstly regarding you having to eat under the pegola, I am sorry but you had not booked a table and we were fully booked in the pub so this was the only seating available which you chose to take, I am sorry... More 

Cardiff
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

What a lovely place, beautiful location with a great menu. Staff were very friendly, lovely atmosphere inside and outside at the rear of pub where it looks onto the river Wye. We sat outside and had our order taken within minutes. Ordered starters of duck pancakes with spring onion and cumcumber with a drizzle of plumb sauce. This starter was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lydbrook, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

I have to say: I really dislike celebrating my birthday. Seriously: all body features rapidly decamping south, unless it's excess weight, in which case it remains remarkably buoyant. The White Lion makes you realise that such concerns are really rather foolish, as it soothes you with a lovely, comforting, family atmosphere and some seriously excellent food. The steak was sublime:... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

We stopped off at The White Lion during a wonderful 3 day canoe trip down the river Wye. All their rooms were booked up a couple of weeks prior to our trip so we decided to camp in the small campsite owned and run by the pub. The facilities here were very good with a good shower, toilets and washing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Visited for dinner one a very warm evening and were able to sit outside alongside the river which was beautiful. However, the food was average at best - standard pub fare served fairly indifferently. The pub itself has huge potential but is fairly outdated. Seems to be relying on location for customers, but not sure if would get much return... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The White Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Lion

Address: Wilton Lane | Wilton, Ross-on-Wye HR9 6AQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The White Lion Ross-On-Wye, Herefordshire

20 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (13)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay