We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 35 Ross-on-Wye B&Bs / inns

The White Lion

Wilton Lane | Wilton, Ross-on-Wye HR9 6AQ, England
Hotel amenities
The White Lion
Ranked #21 of 35 Ross-on-Wye B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2013
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ross-on-Wye
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Write a Review

73 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    43
    10
    7
    3
    10
See reviews for
15
18
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Came in here off the river on Saturday to find rude staff and a miserable landlord. We were made to feel like a massive inconvenience for ordering food and drinks. Have no idea why people who are so unwelcoming would want to run a pub. Avoid!

Was this review helpful? Yes
jacquinewman, Owner at The White Lion, responded to this review

Yes we remember your group well what you failed to say was that some of you were found to be eating your own food in our dining room and politely asked not to however you continued to eat your sandwiches and you admitted that this was not the right thing to do so I am sorry you felt we were... More

Corfe Castle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

We stayed at the White Lion for two nights in Janaury, we had a great relaxing time. The Food was good and service was excellent. Staff very friendly. Room was comfortable. We will certainly stay again. Great location especially for summertime.

Was this review helpful? Yes
London England
Top Contributor
288 reviews 288 reviews
54 hotel reviews
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed at the White Lion on the camping pitches for 1 night whilst on a multi day canoeing trip down the Wye and found it to be a perfect little place. The location is great being literally on the banks of the Wye allowing easy access to and from the water, there is a bathroom/shower facilities for the campers... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Camped here on 2 day canoeing trip. Good value for money as great location and landlord nice and helpful. Breakfast was good in the morning, especially for veggies. Love the big golden dog as well, he was fun. Would definitely go back

Was this review helpful? Yes
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

I booked our table online at 23:30 on Friday night. The booking was for 7 people, 4 adults and 3 under 8's for 18:30 the following evening. I received a confirmation email first thing Saturday morning. As it happened we were half an hour early. This was apparently no problem and we were shown immediately to our table. The staff... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Essex
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Great spot to relax after a hard days paddling down the river Wye. My kids kept themselves busy on the river bank, catching fish and running around on the well kept river bank. Our meal was good value, served by friendly staff quickly and efficiently. Overall, a great end to a lovely day, unwinding on the banks of the river... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Perfect spot for camping stop over on river Wye canoe trip. Food excellent, friendly and welcoming, very picturesque. One of the best camping locations we have stayed in as a family. Would definitely stay again if paddling this way in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Stopped overnight here camping a few yrs back and food great. Came back today as staying in Ross and thought would try it again, and had another great experience. Staff very helpful and friendly and food, service excellent, will be back. Highly recommend this place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
jacquinewman, Owner at The White Lion, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review The White Lion - I am so pleased your enjoyed your visit and look forward to welcoming you again in the future More

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Camped in 2011 and had a pleasant experience so returned this year. Right from the start found the landlord unwelcoming and apathetic. Was told we couldn't use our stove on the grass next to our tent - we were able to in 2011. Landlord blamed the council and said if he allowed it he would have to have the tents... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
jacquinewman, Owner at The White Lion, responded to this review

Dear myrmidons Thank you for taking the time to review our establishment. I note from your negative review that you were unhappy about the facilities for cooking on the riverbank. We have NEVER allowed cooking in the vicinity of other campers - this is a regulation by Herefordshire Council and signs stating this are clearly visible. In 2011 i used... More

solihull
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
30 hotel reviews
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We met friends at the White lion as it was half way for us and them from Crickhowell and they knew it was great location for a sunny day by the river. We ate the following...8oz Sirlion steak with mushrooms,onion rings,tomatoes and chips (good)£11.95 2x Tiger prawn stir fry with noodles (in like a sauce of sweet and sour-not mentioned... More

Was this review helpful? Yes

Been to The White Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Lion

Also Known As:
The White Lion Ross-On-Wye, Herefordshire
Address: Wilton Lane | Wilton, Ross-on-Wye HR9 6AQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Ross-on-Wye

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The White Lion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The White Lion to your Saves list