We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 11 Yeovil hotels

Mermaid Hotel

High Street, Yeovil BA20 1RE, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Mermaid Hotel to your Saves list
Mermaid Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
53%
Ranked #11 of 11 hotels in Yeovil
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 6 days ago
drunkengauger laois
  • Overview
  • Reviews (48)
  • Photos (5)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (5)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

48 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    15
    9
    6
    9
See reviews for
9
9
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Cleanliness very poor, bedroom smelt of smoke, access to car park (via fire escape) littered with cigarette ends, cans and other litter. Breakfast poorly organised. disappointed as with a bit of thought and effort it could be a useful place to stay. Glad to get out of it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
laois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

spent one night here its excellent value ok its a little shabby but it is clean and tidy, enjoyed the band on the sat night, brekkie was great just 2.50 xtra for a full english continental was included great bargain stay

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dorset, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here after a wedding for one night for the first and last time. Because of the scheduled live music night (until 1.30 am) the pleasant girl who booked us in had thoughtfully changed our room from no. 1 - directly above the bar, to no. 4 - directly above the rear courtyard/pub entrance. How in God's name they can... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dover, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed for two nights in June as this hotel was the cheapest available and near to relatives that we were visiting. Car park is tiny and a bit difficult to find but we managed to park ok. Car park is also locked at night so no worries about security. We arrived early but were made very welcome and we were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Torquay
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is cheap and cheerful but would use this hotel again. It is not the Savoy but great value for money and I had a good stay. Staff were attentive and efficient, the room was more than adequate with a lovely big bath, lashings of hot water and had everything I needed for my stay. It is in the town... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Only stayed one night thank god.. Room was so hot, no sink n bathroom so either had to wash hands under bath tap or go to ,sink in bedroom, bearing in mind soap dispenser is above bath. There was chocolate bar rubbish beside bedside cabinet. The mirror above sink looked as if it had never been cleaned. The loud music... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
13 hotel reviews
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

I did enjoy my stay at this City Centre Hotel , rooms were adequate ,extremely good value,clean with plenty of hot water staff very helpful and welcoming, Parking a bit of a nightmare but you can overcome it by rising very early , I found the bar snacks good .

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dagenham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Stayed at the mermaid for 1 night to see my daughter, and found that it was the cheapest in the area so I wasn't expecting the Ritz or anything like that. It was nice and clean which is always the main thing with me and nice and quiet but my room was well away from bars or cars. The room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

This is cheap accommodation in the centre of Yeovil, and I have reviewed it with this is mind. I'm used to staying in questionable B&Bs with work, but if I had paid for this hotel room myself, I would be disappointed and angry. It is not the worst I've stayed in, but it's the little, avoidable things that let it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ahappychappie, Owner at Mermaid Hotel, responded to this review

I'm sorry to hear how disappointed you were with your stay I will have words with the cleaners about the shared bathrooms. We don't use bars of soap we have dispensers in the showers. Also we have 14 rooms 11 of which are en suite, only 3 are not. I totally understand about the noise from the street outside but... More

Yeovil, England
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014 via mobile

Have stayed all over the country and I must say this is one of the best places I have stayed the pub is nice the staff are spot on very friendly and always willing to help the food is good the carvery is one of the best I've ever had and I would recommend the mermaid to anyone staying in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Mermaid Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Mermaid Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mermaid Hotel

Address: High Street, Yeovil BA20 1RE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Yeovil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your Mermaid Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mermaid Hotel Yeovil, Somerset

5 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated in the heart of Yeovil offers old world charm combined with every modern facility. Originally a fifteenth century coaching inn, The Mermaid Hotel retains its character, especially in the spacious bars and split level restaurant. 14 comfortable bedrooms all centrally heated, with colour television and refreshment facilities. Our attractive licensed restaurant in Yeovil offers A la carte menus with an excellent selection of hot or cold snacks and meals, readily available in our open plan bar is situated in the heart of Somerset, ideal for holidays in Somerset area. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
14

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer