We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 11 Yeovil hotels

Mermaid Hotel

High Street, Yeovil BA20 1RE, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Mermaid Hotel to your Saves list
Mermaid Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
54%
Ranked #11 of 11 hotels in Yeovil
A recent review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014
nina s Yeovil, United Kingdom
Write a Review

33 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    10
    7
    2
    7
See reviews for
5
6
3
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yeovil, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

I have eaten many times at this carvery and in the main the food and service has been good, but today I had reason to complain that there where 3 hairs in my food, the young lady serving took it back to the kitchen and returned to say it was stubble from the pork, I said that I did not... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

What can I say I am a contractor and having worked in yeovil for a few months I believe this to be the best value for money place to stay it far from the Ritz's but it's far from the price it's great value for money the rooms are clean the bedding is clean and there is parking I will... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Yeovil, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

Rooms lacked cleanliness although it was obvious that some effort had been put in. The worst bit was tge fact that there were young girls there at the bar who came up the corridors after midnight to make a lot of noise and arguing! You turn up for breakfast and there's a notice saying "wait here until you are welcomed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ahappychappie, Owner at Mermaid Hotel, responded to this review

I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your stay. I do think you've been a little unkind as the rooms are very clean. I have shown your review to the chambermaids and they are both distraught. The hall carpet certainly doesn't smell at all. I really do accept constructive critism but it's a not really fair to exaggerate. I can only apologise... More

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

I have stayed in pubs from Florida to Beijing and this is by far the worst establishment I have ever had the misfortune to stumble across! The staff couldn't even look me in the eye. I feel this is due to the fact they had the audacity to charge 50 hard earned pounds to stay in their dump! I would... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ahappychappie, Owner at Mermaid Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear about your stay, obviously I have looked into your complaint and have no record of you staying here. I have also checked with the staff and they have no recollection of your stay. Also we do not have a billiard table so I am a little confused. More

Stockton on the Forest, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed over for 3 nights on 23rd August. We were visiting family for a special occasion, the journey took over 7hrs so you can imagine I was extremely tired by the time we arrived there. I have eaten at the carvery several times before and cant fault it. I rang ahead to query parking and the lady was very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Seaford, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Recently stayed at The Mermaid Hotel. Lovely old building in an excellent location. Found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. Wanted to try the food in the evening but appeared that the restaurant was closed. The room was clean, although the bathroom had black mold over the ceiling, the shower doors did not close properly and the bathroom... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Colchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Didn't stay here but went for lunch with friends and this place is what I am finding harder to come by these days; great food cooked on the premises at fantastic prices. I had a large carvery meal for £5.95 and was given loads of lovely meat and then loaded up on roast parsnips, potatoes, cauliflower cheese- the works. It... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

Seventeen of us stopped here on a Friday night the staff looked after us from when we arrived to when left breakfast good rooms clean and comfortable.The only negative was they shut the bar to early but you can't have everything .SOTV

Was this review helpful? Yes
Isle of Man
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

This is a very old coaching inn. hotel over one hundred years old right in the heart of yeovil really close to all shops. Needs refurbishing of rooms. A basic old pub / restaurant with rooms above, low budget accommodation. We were visiting family in Yeovil for 4 days so we were looking for a simple budget hotel just for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

We just left this "hotel" after being there under two hours as there was no way we could face it any longer. We were by no means expecting luxury from this hotel- just a cheap stop over to refuel before continuing a long journey. When we arrived we were asked "you do know about the event tonight right?" They must... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2

Been to Mermaid Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mermaid Hotel

Also Known As:
Mermaid Hotel Yeovil
Mermaid Hotel Yeovil, Somerset
Address: High Street, Yeovil BA20 1RE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Yeovil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 11 hotels in Yeovil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Yeovil offers old world charm combined with every modern facility. Originally a fifteenth century coaching inn, The Mermaid Hotel retains its character, especially in the spacious bars and split level restaurant. 14 comfortable bedrooms all centrally heated, with colour television and refreshment facilities. Our attractive licensed restaurant in Yeovil offers A la carte menus with an excellent selection of hot or cold snacks and meals, readily available in our open plan bar is situated in the heart of Somerset, ideal for holidays in Somerset area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Mermaid Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mermaid Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.