We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Halfway House Inn Country Lodge

Hotel website
Chilthorne Domer, Yeovil BA22 8RE, England
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
The Halfway House Inn Country Lodge
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

84 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    20
    26
    23
    7
    8
See reviews for
22
20
7
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (84)
  • Mar-May only
    (24)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (34)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (11)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (15)
All months
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

When one books a last-minute single room over a Bank Holiday weekend; expectations are low. Such was the case when I booked one night at Halfway House less than 24 hours before arrival! To say I was delighted would be an understatement. It's not The Ritz and neither does it pretend to be. It is a clean, comfortable, welcoming hotel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Horley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I shared a room with my brother, and parents. The room was clean, and presented well. The bathroom was basic, but I didn't feel uncomfortable using it. The hotel also gave us some shower essentials like soaps, shampoos, etc. The pillows were really soft and comfy. The only let down of the room was that we were located right next... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Absolutely fantastic service, lovely food and great rooms. A warm smile from the staff and an even warmer shower. Perfect to refresh us on the way to land's end! Special mention to Angus for understanding quite how tired and hungry we were!

Was this review helpful? Yes
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

What everyone has said pretty much sums up this place. The staff are very friendly and helpful and I feel sorry for them as they are doing their best with a tired and dated hotel. The meals are huge and the steak was excellent, outstanding even, but we decided to eat out for our second night as the dining room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers are raving about these Yeovil hotels

London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for 2 nights, we checked it quickly and without issue. The rooms are very basic, our room was very small and extremely hot but had everything we needed. There were a lot of cobwebs in the room but aside from this it was clean. The bathroom was clean and quite big. Breakfast was very good, probably the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
wirral
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for two nights and in all honestly it was ok.... We were both not looking for anything special and that's exactly what we got. The staff were friendly and they made you feel very welcome, the breakfast was excellent but the hotel was tired and in desperate need of a make over, it wasn't the cleanest I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Evesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here for a long weekend in chalet 10, two floors, attic type bedroom, French doors onto small lawn, away from the road and nearest the lake, husband caught 16 fish from lake, only one peg accessible due to weed. Visited National Trust properties nearby. Excellent breakfast and meals, lovely chef and staff, very friendly, meals were excellent value for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

After a very long & tiring day at Bournemouth Dog Show we arrived at the Halfway House to be greeted by a lovely lady on reception who assured us we were expected as was the dog. She accompanied us to the room & showed us where we could walk the dog.The room was clean & reasonably spacious (big enough for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Wolverhampton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were travelling to Cornwall for our family holiday and wanted a dog friendly place to stay on the way to break up the journey. We booked the Halfway House Inn for the five of us plus our dog and it was perfect for a night or two. Clean, comfortable and nice staff. But cramped for all of us perhaps,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Broken sums up this hotel...and my mental state of mind in the morning! I will try to give credit where it was due and not be completely negative about my experience at the halfway house inn. I travel all over the UK and have stayed in hundreds of hotels in the last 12 years. Please take the time to read... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Gill M, General Manager at The Halfway House Inn Country Lodge, responded to this review

Darren L I'm sorry you are unhappy with your stay at the Halfway House Inn and you are entitled to your opinion. However I have checked and you were taken to your room and told the times of food and breakfast by the lady behind the bar as everyone is so you were not just 'dumped' In your room. I... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

13 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yeovil hotels
3.3 mi away
Ash House Hotel
Ash House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Martock
4.5 of 5 stars 202 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Manor
The Manor
#9 of 12 in Yeovil
4.0 of 5 stars 367 reviews
3.0 mi away
Premier Inn Yeovil Town Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn Yeovil
Premier Inn Yeovil
#3 of 12 in Yeovil
4.5 of 5 stars 140 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Preston Hotel
The Preston Hotel
#7 of 12 in Yeovil
4.0 of 5 stars 113 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ilchester
4.5 of 5 stars 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay