We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 12 Banbury hotels

Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17-19 Horse Fair, Banbury Cross, Banbury OX16 0AN, England (Formerly Mercure Whately Hall Hotel)
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 40% OFF THIS WINTER
Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel to your Saves list
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Banbury
A recent review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012
Sue2000000 Newport, United Kingdom
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    206
    115
    56
    25
See reviews for
56
261
31
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (526)
  • Mar-May only
    (127)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (162)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (125)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (112)
All months
There are newer reviews for Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Newport, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
23 hotel reviews
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

The best thing about this hotel is the staff - they were excellent; polite, helpful, friendly; top marks on that front. The outside of the hotel is very imposing and it is situated in an excellent location. Our room was well equipped. However, the hotel really does need a refurb. It really is quite rough around the edges, e.g., worn... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
whately, General Manager at Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your review following your stay here at Mercure Whately Hall Hotel. I am pleased to say that the refurbishment of a lot of our bedrooms starts this weekend so hopefully you will be able to see the improvement should you stay with us again. I note your comments about the restaurant prices and... More

Banbury
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

To all of the staff at the Whately Hall Hotel, but in particular Ronel and James, Phil and I would like to say a huge Thank You for making our wedding day PERFECT! Ronel - thank you for all your time beforehand as well as on the day, you always had time for us and my relentless questions!! James you... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
whately, General Manager at Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr & Mrs Faulkner, First of all congtatulations on your recent wedding, and a HUGE thanks for your lovely comements regarding members of the team ,and I am really glad that we managed to make your day so special. I will be sure to pass on your comments to the whole team. Kind Regards Michael Williams General Manager More

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

My partner and I recently stayed at this hotel, on arrival the receptionist was very pleasant and welcoming, she also upgraded us free of charge. The hotel has it's own vintage charm but could do with a refurb as looking a little shabby in places. Our room was over all very cosy, with a comfy bed and lovely wooden beams... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
whately, General Manager at Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay here with us and I am very pleased that you has such a warm welcome. I am truly sorry for the poor standard of housekeeping that you experienced and I will certainly address this with my Head Housekeeper. I am pleased to tell you that... More

Porth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Had a great stay at Whately Hall. Room was a bit small, but comfort and cleanliness where both really good. The food in the hotel resaurant was also good quality and the set menu was excellent value. Banbury itself has no end of eataries of all kinds if you don't want to eat in. Only problem was being at the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
whately, General Manager at Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guests Thank you very much for your lovely review following your recent stay here with us at Mercure Whately Hall Hotel. It sis always great to receive such a positive review, I can only apologise for the disturbance but as you note we are a town centre hotel and it can be busy in the evening. Once again thank... More

Blackburn, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

I stayed in the old part of the hotel. The room spelt of smoke when I went in. I was in a single room and there was a double duvet and sheet on the bed which made it very uncomfortable. The room was not that clean and needed updating. Breakfast was good but was not worth the £15.50 I paid... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
whately, General Manager at Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking time to review your recent stay with us and I am truly sorry that your stay did not live up to our normally high standards of service that we pride ourselves upon offering. We do our best to elimate smoke odour when guests break the law and do smoke in the rooms and upon... More

Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Stayed in the "new" part of the hotel - the way the room doors are designed means they bang shut, so kept awake by banging doors through the night as people returned to their rooms, then woken from early morning as people left their rooms! Nice enough hotel and good location, but wouldn't stay there again because of the noise.

Was this review helpful? Yes
whately, General Manager at Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest I am so sorry to hear that you were disturbed by the other guests doors, they are meant to shut slowley to avoid such banging and it is the first comment i have had regarding this so I will get our engineer to immediatly start to check the door closers. Kind Regards Michael Williams General Manager More

Brasilia, Df
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
71 hotel reviews
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Stayed for one night only. Room 141, in the 'new' building behind. The building is showing its age and so is the room I had. That said, the bed was very comfortable - but the shower was pretty pathetic, water dribbled out. Spacious car park but very tight access. Reception and breakfast staff were very good, as was breakfast itself.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
whately, General Manager at Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to review your stay here with us at Mercure Whately Hall Hotel. I am sorry that you experienced poor water pressure I will certainly ask our engineer to investigate this as it is not normally an issue. I am pleased to say that 141 will be one of the rooms that will... More

Leicester
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We did enjoy our stay at the Whately Hall, but largely due to the value for money deal we got. £99 for 2 to stay in a suite and get breakfast is a good deal. We stayed in a suite in the 'new' part of the building, but as that is now 40 years old it is in need a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
whately, General Manager at Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your comemnts regarding your recent stay here and I am very happy that you did enjoy your stay. Your comments regarding refurbishment are true and I am pleased to say that we are starting this month a refurbihsment of almost half our bedrooms. I am glad that you enjoyed your breakfast and had great service... More

Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

I cannot rate the hotel, wanted to take my aged aunt out to a smart hotel for lunch - due to a private function only a (low) table in the reception area or the (empty) bar could be offered. Restaurant clearly not for locals pity!

Was this review helpful? Yes
whately, Front Office Manager at Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel, responded to this review

I would like to thank you for your feedback on the Whately Hall Hotel and apologise we could not accomodate you in the restaurant on your day in question. We have a high volume of Walk - In Customers on a regular basis in our restaurant for Lunch and Dinner but our restaurant is also a popular private banqueting room... More

Colchester
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Not the hotel it was when I stayed sometime ago. Disappointing as it was our anninversary. It was comfortable but the hotel decor is looking tired and the worst room I've had since the Adelphi 1999/2000ish. At least the staff are awake and helpful. A hotel with character but doesn't yet have the bright and airy feel of Mercure, although... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
WhatleyHall, Front Office Manager at Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel, responded to this review

I would like to Thank you for taking your time to complete your comments as every thought and comment helps us as a hotel to improve. I would like to confirm that you were given the correct information and we are hopefully due to start a small refurbishment programme at the beginning of October 2012 for bedrooms. I hope to... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel

Address: 17-19 Horse Fair, Banbury Cross, Banbury OX16 0AN, England (Formerly Mercure Whately Hall Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Banbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Agoda, ACCOR, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Whately Hall Hotel

70 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (49)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (22)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay