We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 12 Banbury hotels

Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17-19 Horse Fair, Banbury Cross, Banbury OX16 0AN, England (Formerly Mercure Whately Hall Hotel)
Hotel website
Click for phone number
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SAVE UP TO 30% OFF
Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel to your Saves list
66%
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Banbury
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
Mike W St Austell, United Kingdom
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    205
    113
    56
    25
See reviews for
56
255
31
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (518)
  • Mar-May only
    (127)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (162)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (117)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (112)
All months
St Austell, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed in room 50 in the old section on the second floor for a couple of nights the second of which coincided with a wedding the reception for which was held in the room just below us. This is a very nice hotel with comfortable and well appointed rooms although if you are requiring double glazing you will be disappointed.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
whately, General Manager at Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Many thanks for your 5 out of 5 review following your recent stay here. I am very happy to read how happy you were with your stay here at Mercure Whately Hall Hotel. I understand your comments regarding the double glazing and this is hopefully something we will be able to address. Should you choose to come and... More

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This is a rather small hotel with a lot of charm. The staff is helpful and accommodating. We checked in after our non-stop flight included a 4 hr layover at JFK after being diverted after control panel issues on our plane. There were 2 weddings going on at our hotel with many guests staying over and filling the hotel, so... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
whately, General Manager at Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much indeed for taking the time to review your stay here. I am really happy to read your lovely comments regarding the team here. Naturally I am disppointed to see that you did not sleep well due to the mattress. We recently replaced most of our mattresses and are continuing to do so. I hope... More

Bangalore, India
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
39 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I checked into the hotel on a day when I had forgotten my wallet!! No credit cards but luckily I had paid for the stay in advance or so I thought! When checking in I found to my dismay that the booking was for the next weekend by mistake but the staff at the reception was kind enough to change... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
whately, General Manager at Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest I am very happy to read that what could have turned into problem was quickly sorted out by the team here and that it did not impact on you having a great stay with us. I am glad that you found your accommodation comfortable and that, as you note, we are in a great location in Banbury. I... More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed in this hotel on the 11/10/14 in an executive room. The room was of an excellent standard and was large and very clean and well presented and furnished. The bathroom was also large and well equiped with everything you could need from body lotion to heated towel rail. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The hotel is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
whately, General Manager at Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest I am so pleased to read your 5 out 5 review following your stay with us here at Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel. I am happy that you enjoyed your spacious and comfortable room and I will be certain to pass on your kind comments regarding the hotel Team to them as it very important for the them... More

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Have just com back from a weekend break at this hotel. It's is in a great location so we did not need the car all weekend which is a nice change. It is a lovely old place but looks a bit tried in places . Our room was ok but I think the heating is on a time so felt... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
whately, General Manager at Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your kind review following your stay with us. I am happy to read that on the whole you enjoyed your stay with us. I understand your comments regarding the decoration and am pleased to say work commences at the end of this month on more decoration. I am sorry that the room was... More

Chorley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I've stayed here several times over the past couple of months and in many ways it is ideally placed but it has to be said that the place suffers from chronic under investment. Yes it's an old building which brings with it quirky corridors and odd shaped rooms but that's no excuse for drab decor and poor lighting in the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
whately, General Manager at Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dea Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post you comments following your stays with us. I am very happy to read your kind words about the team we have here and that you enjoy the food that we serve. I understand and can only agree with your comments regarding the decoration of some of the bedrooms, we have... More

Banbury
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Afternoon tea as a birthday treat gift from friends: very pleasant. Felt very personal: our places were set ready for our arrival and we were greated with a glass of Prosecco. Delicious sandwiches, cakes and scones in a relaxing setting with attentive service.

Was this review helpful? Yes
whately, General Manager at Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much indeed for your 5 out of 5 review for the Afternoon Tea you took with us. I am so glad to read that you enjoyed your birthday treat with us and received such good service and a delicious Afternoon Tea. Once again many thanks and I hope to have the pleaure of welcoming you... More

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our two night stay at the what looked like a very stylish traditional hotel was completely ruined with the church bell's opposite the hotel ringing every 15 minutes day and night throughout the stay. Unfortunately the traditional rooms have only secondary glassing which is not sound proof hence very little sleep. The hotel is in a very central location but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
whately, General Manager at Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Firstly thank you for posting your comments following your stay here and naturally I am very sorry to hear about how disturbed your stay was due to the Church Bells. I am not sure if we were unable to move your rooms if you requested a move or not to a quieter part of the hotel, if you... More

Bolton, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Whatley Hall was very nice it was quiet dispite there being a wedding reception on the grounds. The room was large and well laid out and the bed was very big but that came from two singles being pushed together, on first glance the room was clean, but then the cracks started to show, firstly the windows hadn't been cleaned... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
whately, General Manager at Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much indeed for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at Mercure Whately Hall. I am very happy to see that overall you enjoyed your stay with us. Of course I am disappointed to read your comments regarding the cleanliness of your room which is clearly unacceptable and I am very... More

Southampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here for one night during the week with my boyfriend. We had a huge room (142) in the add on part of the hotel. The hotel needs some updating. The room had peeling wall paper and the bathroom had no running cold water in the sink. Overall the room was very clean and the bathroom was spacious with a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
whately, General Manager at Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay here with us. I understand your comments regarding the decoration that is required and I am pleased to say that beginning this month is another phase in a our refurbishment programme, so should you choose to come and stay with us again you will see... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel

Address: 17-19 Horse Fair, Banbury Cross, Banbury OX16 0AN, England (Formerly Mercure Whately Hall Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Banbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Whately Hall Hotel

70 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (49)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (22)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay