We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 12 Banbury hotels

Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17-19 Horse Fair, Banbury Cross, Banbury OX16 0AN, England (Formerly Mercure Whately Hall Hotel)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel to your Saves list
Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
66%
Ranked #10 of 12 hotels in Banbury
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
frabel Windsor, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (480)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Photos (70)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (94)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

480 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    113
    186
    103
    53
    25
See reviews for
51
238
31
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Third time we have stayed here and had forgotten how hot the rooms get so much so that it was unbearable .My booking said each room has Climate control (a fan) and a fridge.No Fridge.For the money it cost these conditions are unacceptable.Breakfast was ok but the Bacon was tuff as old boots and nothing was hot.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Scotland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Would stay there again as long as there was no wedding taking place !! Fortunately for the wedding party, it was great weather and a warm ,balmy evening. Unfortunately for us,our room overlooked area where wedding was taking place . There was no air conditioning in our room but had to keep all windows shut for the noise. Music ended... More

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
whately, General Manager at Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guests Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comments and I am very sorry for the disturbance caused by the wedding we had here and that we were unable to move you rooms. We do try our very best to accommodate non wedding guests as far away as possible however it is not always possible... More

Southampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We got a good deal via the Accor hotels website and paid just under £50 for B&B for 2. It was excellent for that price but in reality if we had paid over £60 we would have been disappointed and an more very unhappy. The place is tired and needs a lot of work to bring it up to a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
whately, General Manager at Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Thank you very much for your review following your stay here, I am happy to read that you had a good rate for staying with us, I understand your comments regarding the overall condition of the hotel and we are undergoing consant redecoration and refurbishment, I would hope that should you choose to stay with us again you... More

Carlisle, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were given a couple of tickets for the British F1 GP a couple of days before the race & After trolling through lots of hotels that were ether fully booked or way too expensive I came across Mercure Banbury via late rooms.com for £99 for a double room & only 16 miles from Silverstone. The hotel was clean &... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
whately, General Manager at Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Thank you very much for your lovely comments following your stay here with us at Mercure Banbury Whately Hall. I am very pleased to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us and especially nice to read your comments about the team. Once again many thanks and I do hope that we will have the pleasure of... More

Oxfordshire
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Wonderful gardens. A lovely looking building, came here for a three day conference with work, so I didnt pay! Good location, literally a 5 min walk from the main town and a couple of mins from the cinema. car park behind the hotel but it does have limited space. You get a feeling of grandeur in the hotel, and it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
whately, General Manager at Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your 5 out of 5 review following the stay you had with your conference. I am so happy to read your lovely commets regarding not only the building but the general atmoshphere and am really pleased that you would choose to stay with us again. Once again many thanks, Kind Regards Michael Williams... More

Wigan, England
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed over Grand Prix weekend, and no staff on the bar for me to order my food. Same problem when I wanted to pay. Breakfast average buffet - strong and burnt coffee. Put the do not disturb sign on door if you want to sleep in past 8.30am or housekeeping will wake you up. The bed was very uncomfortable. Rooms... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
whately, General Manager at Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. Naturally I am really disappointed to read your comments regarding both the Food and Beverage service and quality of the coffee and regarding your accommodation. On a positive note I am pleased to read that the team were polite and courteous. I will certainly address your... More

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a super room, in the old part of the building, overlooking the garden. The room was comfortable and clean. It was tastefully decorated and the old fashioned, quirky building is charming. Located close to historic Banbury Cross, the hotel is also very handy for nearby shops. The staff were helpful and knowledgable.

Was this review helpful? Yes
whately, General Manager at Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Thankyou very much for your lovely review following your recent stay with us here at Mercure Whately Hall Hotel. I am very pleased to read how much you enjoyed your accommodation and to read your kind words about the team. I do hope to be able to welcome you back in the future. Kind Regards Michael Williams General... More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I have now stayed here twice for work and the staff are fantastic they remember your name and what you like to drink especially John who looks after you at breakfast and Sara such a friendly and helpful person

Was this review helpful? Yes
WhatleyHall, Rooms Division Manager at Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your comments after your stay and really appreciate that you gave us 5 out of 5 score. Your positive feedback – as a business traveler – is extremely important for us. I will be certain to pass your kind words to John and Sara. We look forward to welcoming you... More

Rugby
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Just had a one night stay on dinner,bed & breakfast rate. The room looked recently refurbished and we had a view of the lovely garden. Such good value for money, but what makes this hotel is the staff, all so friendly,nothing too much trouble and only had to ask once for anything. Great breakfast too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
WhatleyHall, Rooms Division Manager at Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you ever so much for your lovely comments. I am happy to read that you liked the bedroom and enjoyed the breakfast as well. I am especially pleased to read your kind words about the team. Once again many thanks and look forward to welcoming you at your next visit. Kind regards, Atilla Pek Rooms Division Manager More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel

Address: 17-19 Horse Fair, Banbury Cross, Banbury OX16 0AN, England (Formerly Mercure Whately Hall Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Banbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, ACCOR, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Whately Hall Hotel

70 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (49)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (22)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (7)

Amenities

Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
3 star hotel offering 69 ensuite rooms in an idyllic 17th Century setting where Jonathan Swift wrote Gulliver's Travels in 1723. Ideal as a base for exploring the Cotswolds region, Stratford Upon Avon, Oxford, Woodstcock & Warwick. 10 minutes from Banbury railway and coach stations, 30 miles (50 km)from Birmingham Airport and easily accessible via Junction 11 of the M40. Features 7 meeting rooms accommodating up to 120 delegates, Swifts & Berkeley Restaurants and Hornton Bar. 24hrs room service and free car parking. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
69

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer