We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 12 Banbury hotels

The Lismore Hotel

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   61 Oxford Road, Banbury OX16 9AJ, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Lismore Hotel to your Saves list
The Lismore Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
Ranked #11 of 12 hotels in Banbury
  • Reviews (66)
  • Photos (15)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (11)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

66 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
See reviews for
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wadebridge, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

dirty mugs and spoon left over from previous occupants carpet hadnt seen a hoover in weeks the fan was broken and dangerous as there was no front cover exposing the fan blades broken chair and curtain rail the bed was uncomfortable and duvet felt like 2 old blankets in a duvet cover... solid thick and heavy the man on reception... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
61 hotel reviews
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Stayed here with 3 colleagues a few weeks ago, and to say we were disappointed is an understatement! The rooms, including bathrooms, carpets, beds, all filthy. There was so much dirt on the carpets of all 4 rooms, we were shocked! They didn't even have the decency to spin a hoover around or clean the bathrooms or beds after the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
sowgate, Owner at The Lismore Hotel, responded to this review

well thats very strange if it was so bad i would have said at the hotel and pointed it out ? More

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

Shower broke and came away from the wall. Impossible to balance hot & cold water. Only 2 milk sachets but a million coffee, tea, hot chocolate sachets. Television not working or just an extremely bad signal that needs looking into. Those utterly annoying disposable bath mats that stick to your feet and end up thrown in the corner instantly!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Brantham, United Kingdom
4 reviews 4 reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

We booked over the phone and arrived late afternoon to be shown the "chalet" lol....a converted shed ! Car park was hard to find as was reception . We could not not stay in the chalet .....double bed shoved against radiator and hardly any room the other side ...just enough for the door to open. We asked for another room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

My Husband and two friends stayed at The Lismore from Dec 30th to Jan 2nd. When we arrived we had difficulty finding the car park at the back (no signs) we rang Paul who gave us directions how to get there (easy when you know how) On check in I stood in what I thought was reception, Paul was sat... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

My heart sank as soon as I got to the entrance, this was meant to be a special night for my partner and I, but the hotel was drab and dreary and the owner seemed to have no customer service skills at all. When we asked to see the room first he was not very accommodating and had a look... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013 via mobile

Shocked I really was apauled at the service firstly on the telephone when trying to book a room , then again when we actually got there. Dirty stinking room. Hair in the sink from someone shaving. Cobwebs around ceiling. We had a 10month old baby with us and need to keep the room warm . The heating shut off at... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
sowgate, Owner at The Lismore Hotel, responded to this review

Well your lies have surpassed yourself thats a very racist accusation to make, i had one of my employees with me when you called me and you were on speaker phone.If you want to make the accusation to the police then please do, i will give them a call myself to clear my name. We have pictures dated on your... More

London, United Kingdom
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Booked into the hotel without having read the reviews, as it looked interest on Booking.com website. Wondered why there was a 48 hours notice for cancellation & you had to give your credit card number!-found out why when we stayed & didn't stay there! Booked for a Friday & Saturday night. Arrived about 21:15 and got the key to the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Bradford, United Kingdom
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a couple of nights over bank holiday weekend. Had a great time, the owner was on top form although he struggles a bit with left from right. Handily located for the town centre and all the restaurants etc. We stayed in one if the chalet rooms, small but well appointed and clean. The oak paneled bar was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bolton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

great hotel very helpfull nice place to stay.rooms are very clean.good comunication with owner,i left my cloths in the wardrobe but they was returned to me.the bar is well stocked and as a pub atmophere with it,all in all a good place to stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Lismore Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Lismore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lismore Hotel

Address: 61 Oxford Road, Banbury OX16 9AJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Banbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Lismore Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Lismore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lismore Hotel Banbury

15 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

All traveler photos (15)
Bathroom (3)
Room/suite (4)
Hotel & grounds (6)
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All management photos (1)
Hotel & grounds (1)


Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are undergoing a full and total refurbishment of all Bedrooms and bathrooms, Restaurant and bar. The project should be finished by early new year we will still be open with no disruption to guests. ... more   less 
Number of rooms

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer