We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express Banbury M40 Jct.11

Certificate of Excellence
Ermont Way | Stroud Park, Banbury OX16 4AE, England
Hotel amenities
Holiday Inn Express Banbury M40 Jct.11
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Banbury
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2015
cat89Hampshire Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    151
    39
    13
    5
See reviews for
72
80
20
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (297)
  • Mar-May only
    (54)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (93)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (89)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (61)
All months
South West England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

Booked and paid for a two night stay (27th & 28th February) at the Holiday Inn Express Banbury M40 Jct.11 on 09/02/2015 to include a cooked breakfast. On arrival after a long journey, we were told that there would be no breakfast available due to IHG going into administration and the Hotel been suddenly taken over by the Premier Inn... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2015 via mobile

The hotel is a classic example of how awful the "Express" experience is with Holiday Inn. basically you pay the same high price but get a poor value service in return. No room service, no iron in you room (ironing room on 3rd floor apparently!) which isn't much use when your in your knickers and tights and want to iron... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
GMBanbury, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Banbury M40 Jct.11, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review I am sorry to hear you did not have an enjoyable experience. All staff have been spoken to regarding their customer service skills, as this is unacceptable for them to act as you stated. Unfortunately due to being a Holiday Inn Express we are unable to offer room service to our guests, they are... More 

Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
26 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2015

Stayed in room 101 which was very large for just me! I think normally it would be a family room. It was fairly basic and done in that date HI style, but it was clean and comfortable. They had Sky tv and quick internet. Unfortunately my room was by the stairwell and a cupboard/door marked Staff Only, and those two... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GMBanbury, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Banbury M40 Jct.11, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review I am pleased you found the upgraded room with Sky TV comfortable and clean, I am sorry you experienced noise from the stairwell and the housekeeping cupboard. All staff have been spoken to regarding your experience on check out, this is unacceptable, they should be aware of guests at all times. I hope we... More 

liverpool
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2015

Stayed here for business Monday night and was pleased to find a clean, well run hotel with plenty of parking. The room was reasonable size, with a very comfortable bed, coffee making facilities, (no tea for some reason), TV, free wifi and ensuite. The ensuite was a little unusual in that the toilet was separated from the shower cubicle by... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GMBanbury, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Banbury M40 Jct.11, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review, I am pleased to hear you found the hotel clean and comfortable, We offer an Express Start breakfast to all guests, unfortunately due to Brand Standards we are only able to offer the three hot options that we do. I have discussed the issues you found with the items we offer with the Food... More 

Liverpool
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
52 hotel reviews
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2015 via mobile

Had to book this place at the last minute as my flight was cancelled. It does exactly what it says on the tin and is convenient to the motorway too. Good value, clean comfortable rooms and well maintained reception areas too. The Frankie and Benny's on site was very nice too. Overall good stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMBanbury, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Banbury M40 Jct.11, responded to this review

Dear Paul B Thank you for taking time to review your stay. I am pleased that we were able to accommodate you comfortably as your plans needed to change. I hope you enjoyed your stay and you were able to relax. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to stay again in the future. Many Thanks Bex... More 

Hempstead, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
36 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2015

Tut tut agian for customer service. Too busy talking to each other behind the bar, each waiting for the other to do some work. How can one person wait so long to order a drink and food when three members of staff walk past and do not even make eye contact. I said it once and I will say it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GMBanbury, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Banbury M40 Jct.11, responded to this review

Dear John H Thank you for taking time to bring this matter to our attention. As a valued guest, your comments are taken very seriously as we always make the effort to provide 100% guest satisfaction. I am sorry that you felt on this occasion we have not succeeded, All staff have been spoken to regarding customer service skills, We... More 

Wrexham County, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2015

Clean basic hotel and room. Functional staff No bath in room unable to relax after long day Slow internet (inc premium service) Noisy if you are near stair entrance HVAC set at 28'C throughout 2day stay Retuning end of January but will look for different hotel. If all you want is to arrive shower, sleep and have breakfast then it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Banbury M40 Jct.11, responded to this review

Dear Andy R, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review regarding your recent stay. I am pleased you found our cleanliness level to be great. However, I am sorry to hear that you experienced problems with the internet on this occasion and that you were not fully pleased with the amenities provided in the bathroom. I... More 

Daventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2015 via mobile

Stayed for a night after visiting family in the area. Lovely reception area and spacious. Staff were friendly welcoming and helpful. Room was more than adequate and slept really well. All facilities clean and comfortable. Breakfast cooked, cereals, pastries, fruit, cheese - a lot more on offer than I could have imagined!! On check out, nice to see the consistency... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GMBanbury, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Banbury M40 Jct.11, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review . I am pleased to hear you had an enjoyable stay and found the hotel clean and spacious. We pride ourselves on providing excellent customer service to all guests, I am glad you felt welcomed by the staff upon arrival. All your kind comments have been passed to all staff, We hope to welcome... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2015

The Hotel was clean and tidy as you would expect from an express hotel. The room and bathroom were clean and the bed was comfortable. Unfortunately, the reception staff let the side down. A woman came from the back offices and looked as if see was on the walk of shame. The duty manager, I think his name was Wayne,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Banbury M40 Jct.11, responded to this review

Dear John W, Thank you for sparing some time out of your busy day to write us a candid feedback. I am pleased to see that you were able to take delight in our property's overall cleanliness as shown on your generous five star rating. On the contrary, it is regretful that you were not able to fully enjoy your... More 

Toronto
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
93 hotel reviews
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2015

This hotel is as no frills as it gets - the amenities are very basic, with a poor breakfast. The rooms are small, but very clean, lacking pretty much everything except a tv (don't expect a safe for example - even though it is fairly standard). Beds are great though. Bottom line, it is very clean and functional, if you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Banbury M40 Jct.11, responded to this review

Dear DrSavant, Thank you for sparing some of your precious time to write us a feedback regarding your recent stay. I appreciate you, rating the overall cleanliness of our property with five stars. And also, your kind regards for the quality of service our hotel staff members were able to provide during your stay is greatly appreciated. To see and... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

30 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question