We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Basildon

3.0 of 5 Waterfront Walk | Cranes Farm Road, Basildon SS14 3DG, England
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn  Basildon
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Holiday Inn  Basildon
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    110
    69
    31
    14
See reviews for
27
51
17
124
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (270)
  • Mar-May only
    (53)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (74)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (88)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (55)
All months
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I attended a Christmas event with my wife and work colleagues. A sit down meal, disco and all inclusive bar for an acceptably competitive price. Put this together with friendly professional staff and competitively priced rooms and you have a winning combination. The one reason I look forward to staying at this hotel are the amazingly comfortable mattresses, wow do... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Somerset, England
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
30 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I stayed at this hotel, last weekend, once again to visit friends and family. We were given the room we have had many times in the past. We made use of the bar for lunch and the sandwiches were very good. We both slept well and had a lovely breakfast on Sunday morning with our friends who... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Overall the hotel was ok, comfortable bed, clean and pleasant room. Liked the comfy armchair.staff were friendly and helpful in the main. Parking adequate. Loved the Canada Geese. Couple of niggles: wooden stirring sticks in the bar - cheap looking and ugly. Light gone in the bathroom (all hotel lighting is sadly lacking at the best of times) didn't the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We are frequent user of this hotel , amenities in the rooms had been improved to a good standard .although there are new faces among the staff still we feel at home, it is good to be back again and again .nice selection of movies to watch that my husband and I enjoys, foods are good, nice selection in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KevinCoombes, General Manager at Holiday Inn Basildon, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and enjoyed the "extra's" in our Executive rooms. We all look forward to seeing you back at the hotel soon. Kind regards Kevin Coombes General Manager More 

Basildon, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

All inclusive event £50+. Food choice poor. I had salmon which was overcooked and served with brussels and stuffing and reheated roast potatoes. Entertainment was a DJ that did a bit of singing which I have to say was poor. Where was the Caberet? Lost in translation somewhere. We were a large group of 35 and this was our Christmas... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KevinCoombes, General Manager at Holiday Inn Basildon, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your feedback in relation to your recent experience with us here at the Holiday Inn Basildon. I am sorry that you were not pleased with the service delivered to you recently and apologise for any upset we may have caused you. We receive good feedback in relation to our events so it is saddening to... More 

Travelers are raving about these Basildon hotels

Lommel, Belgium
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
18 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was my fourth stay at this hotel over a period of 5 years (1 night; Monday to Tuesday). Check-in was very efficient and with a smile. Getting free WiFi didn't work initially: we got a small document explaining how to obtain access, but it didn't work. Then I got a lounge access voucher, which did work. I cannot understand... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KevinCoombes, General Manager at Holiday Inn Basildon, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your recent review. I am pleased that you would return to our hotel in the future but somewhat disappointed that we failed to delight you during your stay with us. Please accept my apologies for the confusion over the internet and breakfast. As you quite rightly say the process for both of these is quite... More 

Chesterfield, Michigan, United States
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
9 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stay at a lot of IHG properties and this one is not as good as most. It is very dated. The staff do their best to make up for it. However, the room was uncomfortably warm and I never figured out how to moderate the temperature. My shower did not work for the first night. They did get it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KevinCoombes, General Manager at Holiday Inn Basildon, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review. I am sorry that you did not enjoy our product as much as others and hope that we have not deterred you from using us or the Brand again in the future. I am pleased to say that the faults with your room have now been rectified. Your comments regarding our team are... More 

Basildon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

So we had a room booked for two nights on the Friday 14th an Saturday 15th of November the first nights stay was okay but the second night after going out ancoming back at 3o'clock an finally getting to sleep at 4 to be woken up by the fire alarm at just gone 8.45 an stand out side for nearly... More 

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
KevinCoombes, General Manager at Holiday Inn Basildon, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review. I am sorry that you were disturbed by the fire alarm sounding and that you were requested to vacate the premises while the source of the alarm was identified by the Fire Brigade. As you can imagine - the safety of our guests and team members is always our number one priority and... More 

Chippenham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was my first stay at this particular IHG. Once I found it (the Holiday Inn sign is not illuminated), there was plenty of parking available. The reception was very friendly and efficient and I was checked in within a few minutes. I didn't realise I could have had free Wi-Fi which was a pain, but not the end of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KevinCoombes, General Manager at Holiday Inn Basildon, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review. I am pleased to read that you would use the hotel again if staying in the area, but it seems that on your recent visit you were not completely delighted with the service and product you received - which is how we want our guests to feel when using the Holiday Inn Basildon.... More 

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Went to a 60th birthday party on Saturday in Laindon near Southend and hubby thought it would be a good idea to stay overnight somewhere so that we could have a drink (even though we only live about 40 minutes away). He booked this hotel and after weeks of jibes (from me)about "BasVegas" and "other hubbies take their wives to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KevinCoombes, General Manager at Holiday Inn Basildon, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you very much for your review of the Holiday Inn Basildon. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us during the weekend. Please accept my apologies for any inconvenience caused as a result of the fire alarms sounding on Sunday morning but as you can imagine - our fire detection systems are designed to protect... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Holiday Inn Basildon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Basildon

Address: Waterfront Walk | Cranes Farm Road, Basildon SS14 3DG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Basildon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Basildon 3*
Number of rooms: 148
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Agoda, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Basildon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Basildon Hotel Basildon
Basildon Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Basildon Essex

66 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (33)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay