We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 7 Basildon hotels

Holiday Inn Basildon

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Waterfront Walk | Cranes Farm Road, Basildon SS14 3DG, England
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Click for phone number
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Holiday Inn  Basildon
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Basildon to your Saves list
58%
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Basildon
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
Phil L North Wales, United Kingdom
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    100
    62
    27
    14
See reviews for
26
46
16
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (247)
  • Mar-May only
    (53)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (74)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (69)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (51)
All months
North Wales, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This is a very nice and comfortable hotel, the rooms are very spacious and very clean and provide an great nights sleep. I have only stayed in this hotel for business and the lounge and outside ares are nice and quite for working and have great wi fi connectivity. The staff are all very pleasant and the after you stay... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carlisle
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Nice stay for a family wedding, rooms clean and comfortable. Bar service not great, long wait at times but it was busy. Wedding food was very good. Public areas of the hotel and function rooms were freezing, saw them turning the air conditioning on several times even though the majority of wedding guests never removed jackets. The cold air was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed at this hotel for one night and was pleasantly supprised, the room and bathroom were clean if a little tired. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was well set out and well cooked. The hotel was well located with numerious resturants neatr by. YES I would stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Derbyshire UK
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
31 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This holiday inn a good choice in this area. All the staff made me feel welcome. I stayed here on two successive weeks. The first room was bigger than the second room. This meant that space to unpack clothing was limited in the second room. Personally, I dislike having hanging my clothes on display, so I really miss proper wardrobes... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Firstly let me say that the staff are great. Although my room is the worst holiday inn, actually worst hotel I have ever stayed in. I understand that the hotel is old but mold in the bathrooms and issues with taps and lights hanging out. I asked the staff for help at 7pm but they are full so cannot do... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
KevinCoombes, General Manager at Holiday Inn Basildon, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review. Please accept my apologies for the difficulties you encountered during your stay, quite clearly you have not experienced us at our best and for that, I am very sorry. As we have discussed on the telephone - your feedback is very important to us and we appreciate your time in bringing these shortfalls... More

Travelers are raving about these Basildon hotels

Perth, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here in Basildon as an alternative to the travelodge where we normally stay. The check in was quick and easy and we managed to get a free upgrade room. As an IHG member we got free wi-fi. The room was nice and clean with shower and bath. The main problem we had was breakfast. The breakfast buffet is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
KevinCoombes, General Manager at Holiday Inn Basildon, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your recent review of our hotel. I am pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and found the room facilities to be of a high standard. Your feedback enables us to make the right decisions in the future - so thank you again for your time in letting us know how we did during... More

Peterborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I feel a bit mean about giving the HI Basildon only three stars as it was a borderline 4. Check-in was pleasant enough, we were 'upgraded' although in many HI properties it is difficult to identify what the difference is. Once we got to our room we decided to ask if we could be moved as I don't much like... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
KevinCoombes, General Manager at Holiday Inn Basildon, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review of our hotel. What a pity that we were unable to deliver an experience good enough for four stars instead of the three that you have given us. It is certainly our ambition to deliver the best possible experience to our guests each and every time they stay with us. Your feedback is... More

St. Neots, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
26 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2014

A comfortable stay during a weekend conference. The room was clean and comfortable, the bed just right and a choice of (maybe 5 different) pillows. The food very good considering the hotel catered for 140 people at the conference. The breakfast was excellent. WIFI available for 24 hrs if you signed up to a loyalty scheme.

Was this review helpful? Yes
KevinCoombes, General Manager at Holiday Inn Basildon, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for providing us with your feedback in relation to your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Basildon. I am pleased that you enjoyed your weekend stay with us and am happy to read that you enjoyed the breakfast too. I hope to see you back here at the hotel again. Kind regards Kevin Coombes General Manager More

Gillingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

We were attending a family function and stayed overnight. Car parking was plentiful and free, check in was prompt with two staff on duty. The room was clean and well prepared with a view over the gardens and lake to the rear. Unfortunately one of the two lifts by reception broke down causing congestion and had not been repaired by... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
KevinCoombes, General Manager at Holiday Inn Basildon, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review of the Holiday Inn Basildon in relation to your stay with us. I am pleased to read that you had a great stay with us and would consider using us as your preferred choice should you return to area in the future. Please accept my apologies for the lift failure, I hope we... More

Helsinki
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

So there is no free wifi. Well that's not the fault of the hotel but the decision of some old executive who probably still send faxes. (I'm sure you know who you are. ;-)) The hotel is a bit pricy but that's market economy. This is what they can charge. So if you ca see past these two issues this... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
KevinCoombes, General Manager at Holiday Inn Basildon, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review of our hotel. I am pleased that we managed to exceed your expectations during your stay at the Holiday Inn Basildon. I will be certain to pass your comments on to the team. We do offer free standard internet to our IHG Reward Club Members which is free to join, so I am... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Holiday Inn Basildon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Basildon

Address: Waterfront Walk | Cranes Farm Road, Basildon SS14 3DG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Basildon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Basildon 3*
Number of rooms: 148
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, IHG, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Basildon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Basildon Hotel Basildon
Basildon Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Basildon Essex

75 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (33)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (43)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay