We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Square, Buxton SK17 6BD, England
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Winter Warmer Offer
Old Hall
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Old Hall to your Saves list
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Buxton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
Dorset-Wanderer Dorset, UK
Write a Review

706 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    346
    253
    69
    23
    15
See reviews for
72
413
13
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (706)
  • Mar-May only
    (188)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (132)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (200)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (186)
All months
Dorset, UK
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Located right in the centre of Buxton, this hotel has the character and style of another century but with modern bathroom fittings and comfortable rooms. A choice of dining in either the restaurant or wine bar and I had an excellent meal in the latter. Breakfast was individually cooked and served in the old fashioned way and was equally delicious.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SallyPotter287, General Manager at Old Hall, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind review. The building dates back to 1573 and has so much character and charm. Our award winning breakfast is cooked fresh to order, guests can enjoy this in our main restaurant overlooking the beautiful Pavilion Gardens: a great way to start the day! Thank you once again for your review. We hope to... More 

Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The hotel is a lovely old building. The staff are friendly and efficient, food excellent, room clean and bed very comfy. My only concern was arriving on a sunday lunch time there was nowhere to park and it was not clear exactly where we should be parking. Once that was sorted everything was perfect. We would definitely go again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
SallyPotter287, General Manager at Old Hall, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Our hotel is full of character and charm as it is one of the oldest hotels in England. I am very happy to see that you found the staff friendly and efficient and enjoyed the meals you ate. All your kind comments have been passed on to the staff. Although we do not have our... More 

Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Booked a room for 2 nights for me and my partners birthday. Very pleased with the room no 24. Bed very comfy and a good night sleep we had. Breakfast was great well cooked and plenty of it. Staff very polite and helpful. Never got to use the lounges as we're booked for meetings. Didn't eat in the Resteraunt so... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SallyPotter287, General Manager at Old Hall, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on TripAdvisor. I am happy to see the recent snow we have had in Buxton did not spoil your stay. I would recommend for you to check our Website or Facebook page as we have fantastic offers running throughout the year. We hope to welcome you again very soon. Kind... More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

My wife and I held our wedding here last March and it was made to be a magical day by the hotel and the service we recieved. We even nominated the hotel for the best wedding venue awards due to the perfection. We booked a over night stay here a week ago as we couldnt wait the year to come... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SallyPotter287, General Manager at Old Hall, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on TripAdvisor. It is lovely to welcome returning guests! I would also like to thank you for your nomination for the best wedding venue. We are so proud to be the regional winner of the 2015 wedding industry awards. We hope to welcome you again very soon. Kind Regards, Sally... More 

Alton, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for five days on bed /breakfast. A classic room, very comfortable and clean, the whole hotel was in very good order. Staff were all extremely helpful and parking , although on road, presented no problems. Ideally situated in the heart of Buxton there are any number of choices of restaurants nearby. Close to Rail Station and walking... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SallyPotter287, General Manager at Old Hall, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am extremely happy to see you enjoyed your visit to our hotel. Our hotel is full of character and charm as it is one of the oldest hotels in England. I would recommend for you to sign up to our newsletter from our Website and you can receive the latest offers from our hotel.... More 

manchester
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
11 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

this hotel is excellent furnished lovely almost like a boutique hotel. the staff are fantastic, the breakfast was a la carte, located very centrally across from the pavillion gardens and the opera house. this hotel is also priced very reasonably so if visiting buxton stay here you wont be dissapointed. the only downside is the parking outside is limited but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SallyPotter287, General Manager at Old Hall, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It is lovely to receive such positive feedback from you. We are in a perfect location in the center of Buxton. Although we do not have our own private car park there is pay and display spaces at the front and side of the hotel. 24 hour tickets can be obtained from reception which allow... More 

Bedfordshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a lovely overnight stay on a 'Winter Warmer' deal here. It is a beautiful old hotel and we had an elegant bedroom (24) which was very tastefully decorated. Every where was spotlessly clean and the bathroom was very well equipped with a very large shower and it even had a handrail to hold onto when getting out of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SallyPotter287, General Manager at Old Hall, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on Tripadvisor. I am extremely happy to see you enjoyed your stay and took advantage of our Winter Warmer offer! I have passed all your kind comments to the staff. I would recommend for you to check our Website and Facebook Page as we have similar offers running throughout the... More 

Douglas, null, Isle Of Man
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have stayed at the Old Hall a couple of times and decided to have a relaxing break before Christmas. We used room service the first night and were delighted with the attentive and quick service. Smiling staff and fresh hot food. Delicious and inexpensive. The next night we used the bar and were not disappointed. Stilton, pear and walnut... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SallyPotter287, General Manager at Old Hall, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It is so lovely to receive comments about the staff and the level of service when you ordered food to your room. We are in a perfect location in the center of Buxton and there are some beautiful walks all around the Peak District, we are very lucky. Thank you once again for your review... More 

Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

we stayed here after going to the opera house, the staff were fantastic breakfast was good but evening meal for veggie`s was restricted the rooms are tired and in need of updating and I don't warrant the price, all in all it was a good nights sleep, I would stay here again if I got a price deal

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SallyPotter287, General Manager at Old Hall, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am happy to see that you were happy with the staff during your stay and enjoyed our award winning breakfast! I am sorry you were not happy with the choices for vegetarians. We do have our own vegetarian menu with lots of options, I am sorry this was not offered to you. Our hotel... More 

Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed between Christmas and the New Year on a 'winter break special' and upgraded at the same time. Room very spacious, evening meal good and breakfast excellent. Had a good day walking through the snow in the grounds of Chatsworth before heading to Buxton. This hotel has loads of character and history. It is in an ideal position to sample... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SallyPotter287, General Manager at Old Hall, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am very happy to see you took advantage of our Winter Warmer offer, it has been very popular. We have lots of special breaks running throughout the year which can be found on our Website. We hope to welcome you again very soon and thank you once again for your review. Kindest Regards, Sally... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Old Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Hall

Address: The Square, Buxton SK17 6BD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Buxton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Hall 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Old Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Hall Hotel Buxton
Old Hall Buxton

162 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (119)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (26)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (25)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (55)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (43)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay