We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Palace Hotel

Palace Road, Buxton SK17 6AG, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Palace Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Palace Hotel
Write a Review

1,392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    440
    328
    204
    133
See reviews for
175
636
24
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (361)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1392)
  • Mar-May only
    (416)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (378)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (319)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (279)
All months
Buxton
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My wife and I had a lovely stay at the Palace Hotel, and thoroughly enjoyed some quiet days there. The staff were very friendly and helpful, and accommodated us in every way. We found the room very comfortable, and spacious - it was a perfect place from which to visit the peak district, and to retire and hang out during... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The hotel is massive so i can see why it might be hard to maintain. but that is no excuse when you pay the rate that you do! The first thing i check a hotel has (being a girl!) is a hairdryer which they said they supplied- They didnt, but they did eventually bring me one. The breakfast options were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3

Travelers are raving about these Buxton hotels

Hexham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

A friend and I visited this hotel last year and had a great time. We fear the hotel has either changed chefs or been told to pear down on the quality and presentation of the food. It was terrible, the goats cheese tart was simply goats cheese place on a circle of not very well cooked filo pastry and in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheHotelCollection, General Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review

Dear CAHexham, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. Please accept my sincere apologies for any disappointment caused by your evening meal. As you have mentioned this is not of our usual standard and this will be investigated with my head chef. We do hope that you will return so that we can restore your faith in us. Kindest... More 

Nottinghamshire
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
26 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We love Buxton and have been to The Palace Hotel several times but feel it is now in urgent need of a full make over. The furniture in our room was looking very tired and needs replacing and repairs to the wallpaper do not look good. There is no menu to the TV so you cannot look at the choice... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheHotelCollection, General Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Meandmybloke, I am sorry that you felt disappointed by your latest visit to the hotel. We have refurbished some of the bedrooms and I am sorry that you were not in any of these rooms. With regards to the TV and hairdryer this will be addressed with my maintenance manager straight away. Thank you for bringing this to my... More 

Haddenham
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at The Palace Hotel for 4 nights as part of our local coach company tour of Derbyshire. As mentioned by other reviewers, the hotel is in need of updating, but this did not spoil our stay. The reception staff were friendly, and had no hesitation in changing our allocated room as this was below our expectations. the food... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheHotelCollection, General Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Val M, I am thrilled that you are able to happily recommend us to others. Thank you for taking the time to leave us such lovely comments, especially regarding our team’s friendly service and also your delicious meals. We do hope to welcome you back next time you are exploring Buxton. Warm regards James Lake General Manager More 

Falmouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Impressive building with spacious seating areas . Our bedroom was good with a massive bathroom, unfortunately no stand alone shower , and a shower curtain not a screen wiith the shower in the bath ......this is 2015 !! Overall the level of service was a huge disappointment with a lack of attentiveness and there was no clear evidence of any... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
TheHotelCollection, General Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jane B, It is disheartening to hear that you were disappointed with the service you received during your stay on this occasion. We usually get very good feedback about the service we provide as you can see from reviews the review after yours, I am sorry that you disagree. Your feedback will be discussed with the rest of my... More 

Dewsbury
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Arriving at the hotel, the check-in was efficient and the guy said "I've upgraded your room - I think you'll like it". Sure enough - a 2-bed suite with a large lounge/dining room was what he had upgraded to - couldn't have been better for my 65th birthday celebration. Meal in the restaurant was limited choice but decent quality and... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheHotelCollection, General Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review

CestMoiDewsbury, I am ever so pleased that you we impressed with your complimentary upgrade for your special birthday. Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We hope to welcome you back soon Kind regards James Lake General Manager More 

London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
19 hotel reviews
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We bought an amazon local package otherwise i would be moaning about cost as well, location very good, staff at reception , breakfast and dinner, very helpful and accommodating, but the hotel it self is in a terrible mess, so old that its falling apart, room 109 was lovely and clean and our bed was comfy, but it was so... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
TheHotelCollection, General Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review

Dear spirited74, It is a shame to read that your recent stay with us was not to your expectations on this occasion, but I’m pleased to read that you enjoyed dinner and breakfast with us. The charge for the car parking is very competitive for the area and in-line with many other hotels around Buxton. I do hope that you... More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a marvellous weekend. Overall, we loved the charm and excellent value of The Palace. I do hope it can be restored to its former glory. The positives - hotel is right next to the train station and v close to town; the staff are wonderful; the rooms are clean and comfortable; the food (on the whole) is very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheHotelCollection, General Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review

Dear highgate47, Thank you for the review and I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us at The Palace Hotel and all of the team were really friendly and helpful during your visit. Sorry for the confusion over the newspapers in the morning; at least you ended up with lots of reading material in the end! I do... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We arrived on the Saturday of a bank holiday weekend, and had booked a 2 night stay. The entrance to the hotel is very grand and classy, and we were told at this point about the small print on the booking.com confirmation email which required £4.50 per night car parking fee. The room was disappointingly very small and there was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheHotelCollection, General Manager at The Palace Hotel, responded to this review

Dear John H, I am disappointed to read that your recent stay with us was disturbed by the other guests in the hotel, and for this I apologise. I am pleased, however that you accepted the refund for the additional night that you were due to stay. I do hope that your recent visit has not tarnished your view of... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

293 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (252)
Viewed
Room/suite (69)
Viewed
Bathroom (32)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (38)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (92)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (41)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities