We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Jug and Glass Inn

Ashbourne Road | Hartington, Buxton SK17 0BA, England (Formerly The Jug and Glass Inn)
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Jug and Glass Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Jug and Glass Inn
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    45
    8
    5
    1
See reviews for
19
56
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (118)
  • Mar-May only
    (30)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (35)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (35)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (18)
All months
Ripon, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed one night on a walking trip away. Felt room was overpriced for what was offered. Room overlooked car park, part of double glazing had gone. Room could have been cleaner, cobwebs, dirty valance on bed. Cracked sink in bathroom and mould on grout. Bath had plenty of hot water ! Breakfast was extra, no fruit on offer but cooked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Janette F, Owner at The Jug and Glass Inn, responded to this review

I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us, unlike the AA representative who stayed recently and awarded us with a 3* Gold Standard certificate. It is unfortunate that you did not see the view beyond the 18' of rear car park outside your room as it is truly spectacular. We do not charge extra for breakfast unless,... More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2015

stopped in for apint on a saturady evening .... no fire or central heating on ..coldest weekend...big open fire ready to light but not lit and radiators cold ...so cold kept coats on - drank one pint and left... decor nice - staff friendly - sadly wont return until the summer despite being local as early feb in derbyshire with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2015

We had a lovely stay at this B&B and thought it was good value. The rooms are nice, clean and nicely decorated and the owners are friendly. The pub downstairs is great but beware it can shut early! We got back at 9.45 and fancied a drink in the bar before bed but it was already closed. But that's country... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2015

Visited recently and found a place with huge potential. The room we stayed in was of a high standard with excellent views towards the Dove Valley. The pub restaurant side was ok but it needs some cosmetic inside and out. The food was good I had a steak my wife had salmon both very nice. The premise was quiet but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2014 via mobile

What a little gem! Very nice staff even better food.had a fantastic time with the family here looking forward to returning with my partner. Fantastic prices and a great menu (I it was nicest we have ever tasted)

Was this review helpful? Yes
Victoria Harbour, Canada
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
19 hotel reviews
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2014

We recently stayed at this wonderful B&B/Inn. The hosts were very friendly, accommodating and GENUINE. The room left nothing to be desired. It was spacious, clean and comfortable. The best thing was it was only 40 feet from the pub where we met some wonderful people, sipped on a few ales and also had a great discussion with our hosts.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Europe
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2014 via mobile

Very nice and affordable B&B. Has a bar, nice simple rooms with all things one needs. Great view. I am more of a hotel visitor, but this b&b might be one to choose again. Located quite close to the center of Buxton. A short bike ride or car dtuve away from a nice city. Great place to start exploring this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Essex, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2014

Me and my partner Jon stayed here in September while visiting Alton towers. First of all, the food was excellent. Home cooking just the way we liked it and every request was delt with. The room was comfortable and we both slept well, just what was needed after a busy day. We were the only people there that night, and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manchester
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014

Stayed for two nights. Great location for exploring Peak District. Rooms were small but had everything you need. Well decorated and comfy bed. We had a dog with us but room was still high standard. Breakfast was good and plenty of it. Evening meals are great quality and quantity.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Teignmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2014

A welcome sight at a cross roads perched high on the hilltop road, fabulous views on both sides. A warm welcome by the Hosts and a very nice menu, and we thought very resonably priced. A massive 'T' bone steak on the specials board was had which was lovely, beers were good, pub warm and cosy. We didn't stay overnight,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

26 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (24)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question