We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Jug and Glass Inn

Ashbourne Road | Hartington, Buxton SK17 0BA, England (Formerly The Jug and Glass Inn)
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Jug and Glass Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Jug and Glass Inn
Add Photo Write a Review

124 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    60
    48
    9
    6
    1
See reviews for
20
59
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (124)
  • Mar-May only
    (36)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (35)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (35)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (18)
All months
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2015

Ordered coke and diet coke, these weren't Pepsi cola or coke a cola, just a cheap brand, not very nice. Anyway ordered food I ordered tuna melt and my husband ordered steak and Stilton pie. Husband enjoyed his food and it looked nicely presented. Mine on the other hand was disgusting! The side salad was ok but the actual tuna... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Janette F, Owner at The Jug and Glass Inn, responded to this review

I sincerely apologise that you were not happy with your meal and that you felt the service offered by my staff was not of the standard that I expect from them. I will be looking into this matter as I do not allow sub-standard food to be prepared in my kitchen and certainly not then being served to my customers.... More 

Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2015

Called after a long walk, fairly typical pub menu but the quality was excellent and not bad value . Food matters most when you're hungry but there would be scope to smarten up both outside and inside. The layout is a bit awkward, not much passing room between tables. Would recommend anyway.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Janette F, Owner at The Jug and Glass Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for stopping here and leaving such a positive review. With regards to the exterior of the building, which I agree, is in need of smartening up, this is scheduled to be carried out next month as, hopefully, the weather will be better for external painting. Inside, the rear restaurant is almost complete in its new refurbishment and the... More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2015 via mobile

I've always loved making a stop here and take any excuse to do so. So it was an easy choice when I was passing with my girlfriend and her mum. The staff are friendly and it's great and proper home made food every time. The sort of comfort food that you have missed from the majority of other pubs that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Coton in the Elms, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2015

Had a wonderful Sunday Lunch here whilst visiting Hartington and surrounding district on Easter Sunday. Excellent value, good portions and reasonable prices, lovely Olde worlde surroundings. Friendly staff.

Was this review helpful? Yes
burton
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2015

We called in for lunch on Easter Monday, after seeing a sign offering Seniors lunch menus. i asked for a menu and also asked what the meals were for seniors & was told-all of them on the main menu i was reading.After paying with my card i thought the price seemed a bit steep and asked if it was correct.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2015

Arriived Friday late afternoon for a two night stay at Easter-Janette showed us to a clean and comfy room overlooking amazing countryside! I was concerned that we might hear the busy room, but as our room was in the newer part of the pub overlooking the car park, we had a quiet night on a comfortable bed! The food is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
sheffield
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2015

We called here for our tea before going to a show at the Buxton Opera House last saturday evening. We use to use this pub very often 4years ago when the previous owners ran it. What a difference no cosy open log fire or any radiators on , the place was very cold and not at all cosy. The weather... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ripon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2015 via mobile

Stayed one night on a walking trip away. Felt room was overpriced for what was offered. Room overlooked car park, part of double glazing had gone. Room could have been cleaner, cobwebs, dirty valance on bed. Cracked sink in bathroom and mould on grout. Bath had plenty of hot water ! Breakfast was extra, no fruit on offer but cooked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Janette F, Owner at The Jug and Glass Inn, responded to this review

I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us, unlike the AA representative who stayed recently and awarded us with a 3* Gold Standard certificate. It is unfortunate that you did not see the view beyond the 18' of rear car park outside your room as it is truly spectacular. We do not charge extra for breakfast unless,... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2015

stopped in for apint on a saturady evening .... no fire or central heating on ..coldest weekend...big open fire ready to light but not lit and radiators cold ...so cold kept coats on - drank one pint and left... decor nice - staff friendly - sadly wont return until the summer despite being local as early feb in derbyshire with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2015

We had a lovely stay at this B&B and thought it was good value. The rooms are nice, clean and nicely decorated and the owners are friendly. The pub downstairs is great but beware it can shut early! We got back at 9.45 and fancied a drink in the bar before bed but it was already closed. But that's country... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

26 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (24)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay