We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Jug and Glass Inn

Ashbourne Road | Hartington, Buxton SK17 0BA, England (Formerly The Jug and Glass Inn)
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Jug and Glass Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Jug and Glass Inn
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    47
    9
    6
    1
See reviews for
20
59
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (123)
  • Mar-May only
    (35)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (35)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (35)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (18)
All months
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I've always loved making a stop here and take any excuse to do so. So it was an easy choice when I was passing with my girlfriend and her mum. The staff are friendly and it's great and proper home made food every time. The sort of comfort food that you have missed from the majority of other pubs that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Coton in the Elms, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had a wonderful Sunday Lunch here whilst visiting Hartington and surrounding district on Easter Sunday. Excellent value, good portions and reasonable prices, lovely Olde worlde surroundings. Friendly staff.

Was this review helpful? Yes
burton
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We called in for lunch on Easter Monday, after seeing a sign offering Seniors lunch menus. i asked for a menu and also asked what the meals were for seniors & was told-all of them on the main menu i was reading.After paying with my card i thought the price seemed a bit steep and asked if it was correct.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Arriived Friday late afternoon for a two night stay at Easter-Janette showed us to a clean and comfy room overlooking amazing countryside! I was concerned that we might hear the busy room, but as our room was in the newer part of the pub overlooking the car park, we had a quiet night on a comfortable bed! The food is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
sheffield
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We called here for our tea before going to a show at the Buxton Opera House last saturday evening. We use to use this pub very often 4years ago when the previous owners ran it. What a difference no cosy open log fire or any radiators on , the place was very cold and not at all cosy. The weather... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ripon, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2015 via mobile

Stayed one night on a walking trip away. Felt room was overpriced for what was offered. Room overlooked car park, part of double glazing had gone. Room could have been cleaner, cobwebs, dirty valance on bed. Cracked sink in bathroom and mould on grout. Bath had plenty of hot water ! Breakfast was extra, no fruit on offer but cooked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Janette F, Owner at The Jug and Glass Inn, responded to this review

I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us, unlike the AA representative who stayed recently and awarded us with a 3* Gold Standard certificate. It is unfortunate that you did not see the view beyond the 18' of rear car park outside your room as it is truly spectacular. We do not charge extra for breakfast unless,... More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2015

stopped in for apint on a saturady evening .... no fire or central heating on ..coldest weekend...big open fire ready to light but not lit and radiators cold ...so cold kept coats on - drank one pint and left... decor nice - staff friendly - sadly wont return until the summer despite being local as early feb in derbyshire with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2015

We had a lovely stay at this B&B and thought it was good value. The rooms are nice, clean and nicely decorated and the owners are friendly. The pub downstairs is great but beware it can shut early! We got back at 9.45 and fancied a drink in the bar before bed but it was already closed. But that's country... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2015

Visited recently and found a place with huge potential. The room we stayed in was of a high standard with excellent views towards the Dove Valley. The pub restaurant side was ok but it needs some cosmetic inside and out. The food was good I had a steak my wife had salmon both very nice. The premise was quiet but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2014 via mobile

What a little gem! Very nice staff even better food.had a fantastic time with the family here looking forward to returning with my partner. Fantastic prices and a great menu (I it was nicest we have ever tasted)

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

26 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (24)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question