We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The George Hotel Chepstow

Moor Street, Chepstow NP16 5DB, Wales
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chepstow
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
The George Hotel Chepstow
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

71 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    13
    23
    16
    11
    8
See reviews for
10
24
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (71)
  • Mar-May only
    (12)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (25)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (16)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (18)
All months
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Great hotel, nice and central and comfortable beds. Friendly staff and always nice and clean. Walking distance to all the town amenities. Have tried other hotels in town but this is always the best. Hope it reopens soon!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Biggleswade, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Lovely location close to the amazing Tintern Abbey. Sadly the hotel is rather run down and in need of a re-fresh. Not one of the friendliest reception greeting I've had on arrival and the bar service was really poor on what was a pretty quiet day. The room was clean and tidy, bed was comfortable and had a good and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers are raving about these Chepstow hotels

Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2015

Located in central Chepstow with shops and bars on the doorstep. It's good location for visiting all of Chepstows tourist attractions from the longest and fastest zip wires in the diving centre to Chepstow horse races. The George hotel is not the best but it's adaquet if your not to fussy.

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2015

Recently stayed here after visiting Chepstow for the day. Bar is clean, modern & welcoming. Service was quick and friendly at the bar and our food was delivered within 10-15 mins. Great value for money with a wide variety of dishes including a vegetarian section. The George Chepstow is the place to be to watch all live sport complimented by... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Patrick B, General Manager at The George Hotel Chepstow, responded to this review

Dear Customer, Firstly I'd like to thank you for taking the time to leave us some great feedback, we value all feedback very much as we see this as an opportunity to improve and enhance our services. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit to the George and that you were happy with the products and facilities... More 

Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2015

My husband and I stopped here at the last minute over the Christmas period whilst visiting relatives. We were greeted by a lovely young lady at the bar who took us to the reception desk to check their availability and we were allocated a double room for £50 inclusive of continental breakfast. There were two flights of stairs which lead... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Patrick B, General Manager at The George Hotel Chepstow, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave us such great feedback. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that my team looked after you and your Husband. We value all feedback very much, it's useful to take forward positive and negative feedback to improve and enhance our services. We hope to... More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2014

My partner and I recently stopped at the George for lunch as we were looking for somewhere different and prefer to avoid chain restaurants if possible, first impressions of the place were good and it looked like a decent place to go for a drink as well as being clean enough to eat at. I decided to order the mixed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Patrick B, General Manager at The George Hotel Chepstow, responded to this review

Dear Customer, I would like to apologise for the negative experience you had with us, however I am glad that your first impression of us was good upon entering the venue. We have since been taken under new management, Enjoy Pubs Ltd, and we will be releasing a new and improved menu across the company at the end of January.... More 

Wales
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2014

Sunday lunch here has to be the BEST I've had in a long, long time and very reasonably priced. My husband and I have been back several times and intend to make it a regular occurrence! The staff are friendly, too. All in all, a good find!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Patrick B, General Manager at The George Hotel Chepstow, responded to this review

Dear Customer, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with great feedback, this is something we value very much and appreciate our customers making the effort to do so. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed our Sunday lunch, the kitchen team worked hard to get this right. Sadly we no longer serve Sunday lunch as we have... More 

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2014

Good pub food here early on a Wednesday evening. I had scampi, my husband had gammon and we shared a sticky toffee pudding. All very nice. Friendly staff, reasonable prices, clean toilets, Sky Sports News on the TV. What's not to like? Decor fine, clean and bright

Was this review helpful? Yes
Patrick B, General Manager at The George Hotel Chepstow, responded to this review

Dear Customer, Thank you for providing us with such positive feedback, I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your time here at the George. Feedback is very important to us and we value all feedback whether it be positive or negative, as we can use this to improve any services we offer. We hope to see you again very soon,... More 

Wales
Level Contributor
56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2014

A family early evening meal was a disaster from beginning to end. Two very young girls working only. Part of the order was not sent out. My sons "rare" steak was like a piece of shoe leather. I cleared our table myself and we had to ask for the childrens ice-cream after waiting an age. She asked "was everything alright?".... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Patrick B, General Manager at The George Hotel Chepstow, responded to this review

Dear Customer, Please let me first of all apologise for my late response. Secondly, I would like to apologise on behalf of the team on duty that evening. This is certainly not how I train my team to handle customer complaints or how to provide customer service. We have since been taken under new management, Enjoy Pubs Ltd. We have... More 

Chepstow, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2014 via mobile

Rubbish for food service I got told the food i wanted wasnt available. Then I wasnt aloud to use my card. My friends food came out half cold and with some of her order missing. Then I found out my friend got 25% discount as it was monday but I didnt get offered the same service even though I ordered... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Patrick B, General Manager at The George Hotel Chepstow, responded to this review

Dear Customer, I would like to apologise for the delay in my response to you. Occasionally we experience difficulties with using our card machines, as do other venues. I apologise for any inconvenience this caused you when visiting the venue, we try our best to ensure that this doesn't happen too often by regularly servicing the machines. We offer 25%... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

4 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chepstow hotels
0.3 mi away
Castle View Hotel
Castle View Hotel
#1 of 4 in Chepstow
4.0 of 5 stars 171 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beaufort Hotel - Chepstow
2.3 mi away
St Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The First Hurdle
The First Hurdle
#4 of 4 in Chepstow
3.5 of 5 stars 70 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coach and Horses Inn
Coach and Horses Inn
#8 of 17 in Chepstow
4.5 of 5 stars 26 reviews
0.5 mi away
Two Rivers
Two Rivers
#9 of 17 in Chepstow
4.0 of 5 stars 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities