We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hidden Valley Yurts

Lower Glyn Farm | Llanishen, Chepstow NP16 6QU, Wales
Hidden Valley Yurts
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    1
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
25
8
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (49)
  • Mar-May only
    (10)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (29)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (9)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (1)
All months
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Unhygienic Long que for toilet Peter and Amanda overall friendly Ugly alpacas igh Awful smell Breakfast basket nothing like what was advertised on four in a bed Overall I'd never stay here again Never ever ever

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HiddenValleyYurts, Owner at Hidden Valley Yurts, responded to this review

Dear Katy R - I believe you have left this review for the wrong site - we have never provided breakfasts so it is clear you did not stay here - the breakfast option was only introduced to comply with the 4 in a bed rule and no customer has opted to book this. Please would you contact Tripadvisor to... More 

Surrey, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2014

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at Hidden Valley Yurts. The site was easy enough to find with the postcode and the directions given on the website. Harry met us in the car park with an off road buggy with a trailer to cart our luggage and ourselves down to the site. We had pre-ordered a Tesco's... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

Our family stayed here at the beginning of August and we all thoroughly enjoyed it. The kids loved the freedom of being able to just disappear for hours on end, exploring the woods and stream apart from our teenage daughter who hated not having any mobile signal! It had all the mod cons: showers, dishwasher, oven, microwave, kettle, BBQ and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
blackburn
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Returned home on Friday after an 11night stay. Had to prise my youngest daughter out of the yurt as she didn't want to leave. What a wonderful and relaxing place to stay. My children enjoyed getting wet and muddy in the stream and playing on the rope swings with the other children and Tilly the dog. The yurt was comfortable... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
HiddenValleyYurts, Owner at Hidden Valley Yurts, responded to this review

Thanks so much for taking the time to leave such a great review. We loved having you here since you so clearly 'got' what this valley is all about. Harry (our son) said thanks so much for leaving the yurt so beautifully clean - he couldn't believe you'd been staying for 11 days. Welcome back anytime. More 

Egham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

We visited Hidden Valley at Easter for a short break. What a wonderful place. Our teenage children who usually have their faces stuck to mobile phones and I pads were off into the stream and up into the woods like a shot. They enjoyed building fires and cooking marshmallows every night. Facilities very acceptable. The owners dog was popular with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HiddenValleyYurts, Owner at Hidden Valley Yurts, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the lovely review - great to hear that the woods and the fire were more exciting than electronics - just what we hoped for when we set Hidden Valley Yurts up. Welcome back anytime. More 

2 reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

We arrived late on the Friday evening, to be greeted by hospitable and friendly hosts. Throughout our stay we felt at home and as though we belonged. My eldest lost herself in the woods, by the stream and on the tyre swings. Us adults enjoyed the serenity and simplicity of it all, and our baby was snug and content with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
HiddenValleyYurts, Owner at Hidden Valley Yurts, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the trouble to write this. So pleased you enjoyed your holiday - welcome back any time. More 

Cannock, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

We returned home yesterday after a 5 day stay at Hidden Valley Yurts. What a lovely place for a relaxing holiday where children can be children. They played with the other children and enjoyed being wet and muddy in the stream or the woods. The rope swings were a big hit! We stayed in yurt one which had it's own... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HiddenValleyYurts, Owner at Hidden Valley Yurts, responded to this review

Thank you so much for this review - we know how important a family holiday is and it means such a lot to us to know that we helped you to have one. Welcome back anytime. More 

Rushden, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Just got back from the most amazing holiday - Amanda and Peter have created a very special place where I recharged my batteries and the children entertained themselves either in the stream and wood or quietly playing board games, coming back to the yurt for food and drinks and to watch me tackle my first of several bar-b-ques! The yurts... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HiddenValleyYurts, Owner at Hidden Valley Yurts, responded to this review

Thank you so much for leaving us such lovely feedback. We hope Hidden Valley Yurts is always a lovely place to holiday but it is the case that some weeks the magic seems to be even more special - and this was certainly one of them - and the extra ingredient has to be the guests! I really do have... More 

bristol
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Have just come back from a lovely Monday to Friday holiday at Hidden Valley Yurts. The yurt was comfortable and there was a really nice community feeling among the families staying. It was really nice to see all the children playing together in the grounds and with the games that were provided. We loved having Tilly the springer spaniel visiting... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HiddenValleyYurts, Owner at Hidden Valley Yurts, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the trouble to leave this lovely review and also for the constructive comments - very helpful - hadn't realised the knives had got so low (what does happen to knives?) - have re-stocked now and re-written the signs for the recycling so hopefully they are clearer. Enjoy the rest of the summer and welcome back anytime. More 

Inveraray, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
27 hotel reviews
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

This is a fantastic place to stay. The setting is idyllic, the yurts are laid out sympathetically on the site with communal spaces to meet and talk with others and plenty of space for you to be on your own if you want. We had a relaxing week, which is what we wanted - with plenty of things to do... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

66 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (56)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities