We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Atholl Arms Hotel

Bridgehead, Dunkeld PH8 OAQ, Scotland
#1 of 3 hotels in Dunkeld
285 Reviews 4 of 5 stars
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Atholl Arms Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Atholl Arms Hotel
  • Overview
  • Reviews (285)
  • Photos (70)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (63)
  • Location
  • More
Save Saved
You added Atholl Arms Hotel to your Saves list
true
Write a Review

285 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    125
    95
    37
    15
    13
See reviews for
36
164
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I would like to inform to all of the guest who are interested in staying in this hotel to try to avoid the service given by an eastern europe recepcionist called Camelia Cozma!,! Really unfriendly, unpolite, unhelpful and speaking with arrogance while we where asking her to print a boarding pass. Im really concern about the future of this hotel... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Berwick upon Tweed, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I know this hotel of old - and it is old, an established part of Dunkeld, with a dated feel. The staff are mostly welcoming and friendly. When it gets busy they cope as best they can and sometimes it's clear they are under pressure. I have eaten in the lounge a number of times and I must say their... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
christines89, Owner at Atholl Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Hello STERCKS, I am concerned that you feel it necessary to write such a lengthy review and would very much like to talk to you more about your visit. If you would be so kind to email the hotel privately that would be nice. Subject matter " to owner " I would however like to mention, for other guests that... More

Inverness, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

An older hotel, that sometimes shows its age. The bed creaked as though it was on its last legs, but was comfortable enough. The hot water was hot, but difficult to get the balance right for the shower over the bath. We were up on the top floor and it was a reasonable climb with a heavy case. Small car... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
christines89, Owner at Atholl Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for writing a review. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your visit to Dunkeld.I agree, this is a special place with a worldly vibe to it. You can see from our web site that all our rooms offer different views, nine of them located on the first floor and eight on the second floor, all... More

dundee scotland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Arrived at Atholl arms to be upgraded to junior suite as was vacant. Lovely room with views over river. Staff could not do enough for us and we had drinks and sandwiches over the road in their beer garden. Nothing was too much trouble. Had meal at night in restaurant and steaks were beautiful and service was great. Would definitely... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
christines89, Owner at Atholl Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Hello and thank you so much for taking the time to write such a fabulous review. I am so happy to hear your stay with us was everything you expected from the service to the great food. Our menus are based strongly on local produce allowing our team of chefs to create many daily specials as fish is delivered and... More

Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

Stayed recently with 2 dogs. Hotel staff were welcoming efficient but run off their feet. The service from them was good but they need to employ more staff especially I ally in a very busy restaurant on a weekend. The food was of a very high quality both in the evening and at breakfast time.

Was this review helpful? Yes
christines89, Owner at Atholl Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for taking the time to write a nice review for us. It is lovely to hear you enjoyed your meal in our award winning restaurant. We have become increasingly busy and do need to get more staff on board, something we are working on and I appreciate you mentioning this. Our team of chefs are on... More

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

My 2 children and I stayed at the Atholl Arms the other night (16th July) while on a short activities break. We stopped for lunch at the hotel with no plans to stay, however, due to the service we received, booked two rooms that same day. I must compliment the hotel both in terms of quality of service, food and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
christines89, Owner at Atholl Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review for us. We take great pride in the service we offer and it makes us happy to learn that our efforts are appreciated. Our head chef Ally is always searching for local produce, being delivered daily so his team can create all those wonderful specials we... More

Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Dined here in group of 4 . Surroundings pleasant , lounge area nice and dining room nicely decorated but the dishes were a bit hit and miss. The duck amuse bouche was lovely and raised our expectations. Two of us had the salmon starter which was fine and although the belly pork main with Stornaway black pudding was really good... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
christines89, Owner at Atholl Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Hello CarolC01, Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. I am glad you found our establishment clean, inviting and nicely decorated. Saying our food is a hit or a miss is a bit concerning. I cannot recall your visit although it may have been a few weeks ago. There is no record of complaint about... More

Scotland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Recently stayed here for one night as a get together with friends from around Scotland. We didn't spend much time in hotel as exploring the town with the kids and visiting the Hermitage nearby so really only a base. Free wifi was handy though. Lovely lounge area. Bedroom was a good size and the hotel provided a porta-cot. Room overlooked... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
christines89, Owner at Atholl Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review. Your kind comments are shared with all the staff. It's great to get positive reviews, many of our rooms have new thick wool curtains but I also feel some rooms could do with a blind to pull down for added coverage. Also great to hear the new... More

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
16 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

The entrance via a spacious and very comfortable looking lounge with an attractive dining room adjacent unfortunately led to a rather disappointing and noisy bistro where the table we were given was 'sticky' and in need of a clean. As it was the only one left and nobody appeared to serve or clean we gave it a miss. Bistro menu... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
christines89, Owner at Atholl Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for writing this review. I would like to understand why you did not receive the service you should have. Even on busy times we always let guests know we will be with them as soon as we can. This is usually acceptable to most folks when we are clearly busy. Tables are always wiped down after... More

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We recently stayed here on a late rooms booking. Really enjoyed the experience, staff were all very friendly and helpful, and dinner was exceptional (thanks to new head chef Alister!) Although our particular room was average, we had the opportunity to look at the rooms over-looking the river (thanks to the very helpful and pleasant house-keeper!) which were as good... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
christines89, Owner at Atholl Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Sue and Neil, Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for us. It's nice to hear you enjoyed your visit to Dunkeld. It is a policy of ours for all staff to read these reviews as this helps us achieve our goals for delivering the best service we can. Ally is settling in great... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Atholl Arms Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Atholl Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atholl Arms Hotel

Address: Bridgehead, Dunkeld PH8 OAQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Dunkeld
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Atholl Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atholl Arms Dunkeld
Hotel Atholl Arms
Atholl Arms Hotel Dunkeld, Scotland

70 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (42)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (29)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Amenities

Number of rooms
17

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Atholl Arms Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer