We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 3 Dunkeld hotels

Atholl Arms Hotel

Bridgehead, Dunkeld PH8 OAQ, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Atholl Arms Hotel to your Saves list
Atholl Arms Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
78%
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Dunkeld
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 6 days ago
markboyde41 Edinburgh, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (281)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Photos (70)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (62)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

281 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    124
    95
    34
    15
    13
See reviews for
36
163
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My 2 children and I stayed at the Atholl Arms the other night (16th July) while on a short activities break. We stopped for lunch at the hotel with no plans to stay, however, due to the service we received, booked two rooms that same day. I must compliment the hotel both in terms of quality of service, food and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
christines89, Owner at Atholl Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review for us. We take great pride in the service we offer and it makes us happy to learn that our efforts are appreciated. Our head chef Ally is always searching for local produce, being delivered daily so his team can create all those wonderful specials we... More

Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Dined here in group of 4 . Surroundings pleasant , lounge area nice and dining room nicely decorated but the dishes were a bit hit and miss. The duck amuse bouche was lovely and raised our expectations. Two of us had the salmon starter which was fine and although the belly pork main with Stornaway black pudding was really good... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
christines89, Owner at Atholl Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Hello CarolC01, Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. I am glad you found our establishment clean, inviting and nicely decorated. Saying our food is a hit or a miss is a bit concerning. I cannot recall your visit although it may have been a few weeks ago. There is no record of complaint about... More

Scotland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Recently stayed here for one night as a get together with friends from around Scotland. We didn't spend much time in hotel as exploring the town with the kids and visiting the Hermitage nearby so really only a base. Free wifi was handy though. Lovely lounge area. Bedroom was a good size and the hotel provided a porta-cot. Room overlooked... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
christines89, Owner at Atholl Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review. Your kind comments are shared with all the staff. It's great to get positive reviews, many of our rooms have new thick wool curtains but I also feel some rooms could do with a blind to pull down for added coverage. Also great to hear the new... More

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
16 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

The entrance via a spacious and very comfortable looking lounge with an attractive dining room adjacent unfortunately led to a rather disappointing and noisy bistro where the table we were given was 'sticky' and in need of a clean. As it was the only one left and nobody appeared to serve or clean we gave it a miss. Bistro menu... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
christines89, Owner at Atholl Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for writing this review. I would like to understand why you did not receive the service you should have. Even on busy times we always let guests know we will be with them as soon as we can. This is usually acceptable to most folks when we are clearly busy. Tables are always wiped down after... More

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We recently stayed here on a late rooms booking. Really enjoyed the experience, staff were all very friendly and helpful, and dinner was exceptional (thanks to new head chef Alister!) Although our particular room was average, we had the opportunity to look at the rooms over-looking the river (thanks to the very helpful and pleasant house-keeper!) which were as good... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
christines89, Owner at Atholl Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Sue and Neil, Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for us. It's nice to hear you enjoyed your visit to Dunkeld. It is a policy of ours for all staff to read these reviews as this helps us achieve our goals for delivering the best service we can. Ally is settling in great... More

Windsor, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

I can't believe I stayed at the same hotel as some of the reviewers. Room 5 was diabolical. Cold, damp, ill fitting windows that did not lock or shut properly. On one side looking out over a grim inner courtyard into a disused room with no windows, pigeons flapping and wind blowing. On the other side, overlooking the co-op and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
christines89, Owner at Atholl Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Hello happy_travelsj, I am so sorry that our hotel was not up to the standard you were looking for. Your room, a standard room, was booked via expel through your work. Many guests ask for room 5 as it offers the large bathroom with the new shower. If you had come to us at the time of stay we would... More

Longforgan, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

I stayed there for the second time on Saturday and it was excellent. It was a special day for me and my new fiancé and I cannot praise the staff enough! They went above and beyond to make our stay memorable. They even wrote us a card and left it on our specially decorated table with a bottle of bubbly... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
christines89, Owner at Atholl Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Hello and thank you so much for taking the time to write such a fabulous review. Guest satisfaction is paramount to us and being a small hotel we can add that extra touch for our customers. It's lovely for us to have guests come back to celebrate a special occasion knowing that you trust us to do a great job.... More

Campbeltown, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

this hotel was a disaster,Tried to overcharge me by £18 on arrival,asked for payment upfront? unusual?. booked a twin room,was asked if we needed beds split,said yes, No another small bed was put in the room. was taken to the 1st landing and pointed to where our room was on the 3rd floor.windows in room had no locks on them... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
christines89, Owner at Atholl Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Mr. Adder56, Your review seems somewhat unbalanced. I would like to clarify just a few points. When booking a room within a 24 hour period a deposit is necessary to hold the room, I do believe you will find this the case in most if not all hotels. You booked this room through laterooms on an "Advance Purchase Rate"... More

Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

We stayed here for the weekend of our friend's wedding. The hotel has an excellent location in Dunkeld and a beautiful garden by the river. The breakfast was excellent. The room was fairly basic and I expected higher quality for £99 a night. The shower was a tiny trickle with inconsistent temperature.

Was this review helpful? Yes
christines89, Owner at Atholl Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for taking the time to write a review. It's nice to hear you enjoyed your breakfast and also the garden on the river. I am a bit concerned about your mention of the shower. The room you were in had a new shower fitted in January. Please know, when staying on any future visits, that its... More

Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

Stayed here a couple of times now, bringing our two labradors to do some walking in the local area. The staff are really friendly, and can't do enough to make our stay enjoyable. The food is reasonably priced, and of a high standard for a bar (we've never eaten in the restaurant because we have the dogs with us, we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Christine S, Owner at Atholl Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Mike, Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for us. It's nice to hear you enjoyed the lovely walks along the river with the dogs. There is also a nice walk along the side of the cathedral. As you know we have the bar/bistro and we also have the RiverView Restaurant. Both menus are... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Atholl Arms Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunkeld
Restaurant, Rom...
Show More
1.0 mi away
Hilton Dunkeld House
Hilton Dunkeld House
#3 of 3 in Dunkeld
4.0 of 5 stars 1,110 reviews
Quiet, Free Par...
Show More
0.1 mi away
The Royal Dunkeld Hotel
Free Parking, R...
Show More
17.2 mi away
Atholl Arms Hotel
Atholl Arms Hotel
#16 of 22 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 stars 381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Luxury, Free Pa...
Show More
11.0 mi away
Knockendarroch House Hotel
Knockendarroch House Hotel
#2 of 22 in Pitlochry
5.0 of 5 stars 357 reviews
Free Breakfast...
Show More
11.0 mi away
Atholl Villa
Atholl Villa
#1 of 22 in Pitlochry
5.0 of 5 stars 368 reviews
Restaurant, Fre...
Show More
11.0 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#3 of 22 in Pitlochry
5.0 of 5 stars 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atholl Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atholl Arms Hotel

Address: Bridgehead, Dunkeld PH8 OAQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Dunkeld
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Atholl Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atholl Arms Dunkeld
Hotel Atholl Arms
Atholl Arms Hotel Dunkeld, Scotland

70 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (42)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (29)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Number of rooms
17

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer