We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Atholl Arms Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
Bridgehead, Dunkeld PH8 OAQ, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Atholl Arms Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Atholl Arms Hotel
Add Photo Write a Review

334 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    144
    115
    45
    15
    15
See reviews for
44
196
7
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (334)
  • Mar-May only
    (86)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (88)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (88)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (72)
All months
Perth and Kinross, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I ate dinner at The Atholl this week and it was quite a wait for the food to arrive at the table. This can be forgiven but the manager's rude attitude cannot. He was very snippy with every person at the table and this is not the first time I have seen him behave this way. On the plus side,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Dropped in for lunch on a lovely sunny day last week and managed to get a table on the small terrace overlooking the river. Food was good and delivered with very friendly and attentive service - and even a biscuit and water bowl for the dog !

Was this review helpful? Yes
Musselburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed for 3 nights recently and couldn’t fault this Hotel. Being my Birthday my Wife had booked Room 17 (the Suite) as a treat. The room was HUGE. Very comfortable bed and seating areas. Great views from 3 sets of Windows overlooking the Hotel gardens, bridge and the main street on the other side. Actually felt like stay in a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Perth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Had a very nice, dog friendly visit to the Atholl Arms. Great to be able to have lunch where the dogs are welcomed and catered for. Fresh water for the dogs was provided without being asked for and the dogs enjoyed the complimentary biscuit too.Very helpful and cheerful staff. Delicious lunch, sitting in the garden beside the river. We will... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My partner and I have stayed here several times,but this was our first time in three and a half years.We were travelling back from up the north of Scotland and decided on impulse to stop in Dunkeld.We enquired about a room,and,despite the short notice,we were accommodated in a room with lovely views over the RiverTay.Staff were as friendly and helpful... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
36 hotel reviews
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Lovely riverside setting. Car park just across the road. He staff were very friendly and helpful and we enjoyed. Great dinner here. Lovely room ovelooking the river Tay. We were visiting the Loch of the Lowes with nesting Ospreys and this hotel was probably the closest.

Was this review helpful? Yes
christines89, General Manager at Atholl Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. The loch of the lowes is one of the many attractions in the area and I am glad you enjoyed your visit and your stay with us. Unfortunately lady never made it back this year and I hope to see you on your next return to Dunkeld. Best Regards Alan More 

Gateshead, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2015

Arrived to lovely old hotel full of character. Live music was playing in the bar and lots of singing and welcoming atmosphere! Room was spacious and very clean. Had lovely bedding and kids had real mattresses, not like thin ones other hotels use! No biscuits, bottled water or shower caps in room and could hear tv from room next door.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
christines89, General Manager at Atholl Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Glad you enjoyed your stay although I am disappointed that you felt the kids breakfast was a small portion. I would be interested to know what you asked for as we never reduce a portion size unless specifically asked for a small portion. Look forward to seeing you again next time you visit. Best Regards... More 

Peebles, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2015

Enjoyed a very nice two night break at this hotel and it proved a good location and base for our trip to The Perth NH race Festival in April. Traditional hotel with current owners working hard to up-grade and improve hotel facilities. New Bistro dining area is contemporary in style, lively bar area and the hotel lounges and dining room,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
christines89, Manager at Atholl Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review of your short break at the hotel and thanks for noticing our recent award. We have always been dog friendly at the hotel and have quite a few regular four legged friends who get spoiled by the staff. You are quite right to mention our river view rooms as the view is wonderful, particularly on a... More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2015

Impolite, rude personnel. They claimed not to have received our payment in advance through paypal, although I showed receptionist the deduction in my (internet) banking account. He didn't believe me and wanted me to pay double. Breakfast was very minimalistic and served by the same grumpy, cranky personnel. Bad start of our holidays. And I am not a very demanding... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
christines89, Manager at Atholl Arms Hotel, responded to this review

May I say firstly we do not or never have accepted payment through PAYPAL, nor do we own a guestbook so I am not sure why you have written this review about our hotel. I am disappointed that Trip Advisor does not recognise the discrepancies of this review and allows this to remain....... Maybe one day!!! More 

Stirling, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2015

Organized, experienced staff, accurate lunch order (despite no jotter/pad), friendly waiter without being sickening, good profile of other lunch guests, pleasant surroundings with some nice artwork on the walls for sale by local artists, would consider staying here after a tasty lunch of sandwiches and soup, tea and coffee.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
christines89, Manager at Atholl Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review and I am pleased you enjoyed your visit to the hotel. Hopefully we will see you again on your next visit to Dunkeld. We have some great overnight deals and also our monthly Slow Food Dinner is not to be missed. Follow us on Facebook or sign up to our newsletter to keep in touch. Regards... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

107 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (71)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (25)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (36)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay