We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Atholl Arms Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
Bridgehead, Dunkeld PH8 OAQ, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Atholl Arms Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Atholl Arms Hotel
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    109
    42
    15
    13
See reviews for
40
184
7
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (317)
  • Mar-May only
    (75)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (82)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (88)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (72)
All months
Arbroath, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We have just come back from a two night stay with friends and what a brilliant two days it was. Room 12 was up two flights of stairs which we found hard going. It was a basic clean big room. The staff were so friendly and helpful and carried our bags up to our room. The breakfast was piping hot... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Wigan Lancashire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for two nights to attend a friends wedding and couldn't recommend it highly enough. The location was stunning, excellent facilities, food was great, the rooms were spotless and very comfortably furnished. The beds were comfortable and the breakfast was lovely and included a very good cooked veggie selection. The most impressive were the staff and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
christines89, Owner at Atholl Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review for us. Your kind words about the service and staff are shared by all and very much appreciated. We always have plenty on the breakfast menu as many guests are heading out for long walks for the day or in your case a long drive back... More 

Dundee, Scotland, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Love this hotel! Beautifully decorated. It's very traditional, but simply styled. The staff are really friendly and you can choose between informal dining in the newly refurbished Bistro or the more formal restaurant that overlooks the River Tay. They are Vegetarian Society approved and have a full menu for vegetarians and vegans. Great for families or couples. We are heading... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Perth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My daughter and I spent a night here recently using an Itison deal @ £49 for 2 people with breakfast & bottle of wine. Whilst the room was slightly dated this did not affect our stay in any way. The room was clean, well appointed and even though we were overlooking the main street we were not bothered by any... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
christines89, Owner at Atholl Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and your meals. All of our 17 rooms are quite different in size and style. I would be happy to show you around next time you visit. Our burgers are incredibly popular and we offer a half price burger... More 

Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I won a night stay in this lovely hotel through a local paper and after returning today I can say that I was not disappointed with my prize! The Atholl arms is a lovely hotel on the banks of the river Tay. There are views to the river from some rooms and from the main restaurant. We were in a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
christines89, Owner at Atholl Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. I am so glad you enjoyed your visit to Dunkeld. We try our best to make our guests feel at home, your kind words about the friendly staff are noted and shared. All of our dishes are made fresh to order using only the best produce... More 

Lossiemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

Stayed here on Saturday 14th Feb but not very impressed.I should say first of all that we did arrive early and they very kindly let us into our room straight away.The breakfast in the morning was also very nice and a nice lounge area with a fine fire to relax at.We thought it was a bit over priced for the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
christines89, Owner at Atholl Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Ann from Lossiemouth, I treat all trip advisor responses with good clarity. I have looked into the reasons for your disappointing stay here in Dunkeld. You stayed in rooms 1 and 3. Not budget rooms as you would have preferred. Knowing we would be fully booked for Valentines day, we called all our guests 3 days prior to their... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015

We stayed in this hotel on the 6th and 7th of February whilst the hotel was lovely and we given an upgrade as soon as we arrived and we were pleasantly surprised it was spotless and very comfortable .. The bar area has a lovely coal fire in it but it was very cold in there even though it was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
christines89, Owner at Atholl Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for taking the time to write a review on Dunkeld. I am so sorry you were freezing in all the pubs, how unusual. Glad to hear that your room was nice and cozy. We do have the coal fire on in the bar, the gas fire on in the lounge and our new wood stove in... More 

Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2015 via mobile

We have just returned from a weekend break at the Atholl Arms and what a wonderful stay it has been. We arrived very late Friday night (almost midnight) but I had pre warned the hotel in advance and we were really grateful of them to stay up and wait for us! We had travelled almost 6 hours from the Midlands.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
christines89, Owner at Atholl Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for taking the time to write such a brilliant review. It is so nice to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's never any bother to be there if you are coming in late and thank you for calling to let us know this, it was quite a trip for you. It is our goal... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2015

We used an itison.com voucher for a night here. We were given a spacious freshly decorated room (14). We had dinner in the lounge and it was really nice and we were told the burgers were home made in the hotel (you could tell, especially the veggie burger). Breakfast was nice too. Staff were very friendly and especially so to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
christines89, Owner at Atholl Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. I agree that Dunkeld is a lovely village and it does get very busy especially in the summer months when folks can enjoy many walks and outside dining in our private garden. All of our food is made from scratch by our team of chefs. I... More 

Dundee, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
30 hotel reviews
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2015

Stayed here for 2 nights newly opened (January) after a refurbishment to outside (still scaffolding up of the street side but to be down very soon we were informed) newly renovated bar and several rooms have been upgraded, our room (newly refurbished) was at the front on the top floor (note. no lift ) with a beaultiful view over the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
christines89, Owner at Atholl Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for taking the time to write such a fantastic review. It sounds like you enjoyed your stay with us and made the most of what Dunkeld has to offer. The walks along the river are brilliant any time of year with the huge trees and the water. Your kind words have been shared with the staff... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

94 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (65)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (23)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (29)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question