We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Atholl Arms Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
Bridgehead, Dunkeld PH8 OAQ, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Atholl Arms Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Atholl Arms Hotel
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    113
    45
    15
    15
See reviews for
42
194
7
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (333)
  • Mar-May only
    (91)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (82)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (88)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (72)
All months
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Arrived to lovely old hotel full of character. Live music was playing in the bar and lots of singing and welcoming atmosphere! Room was spacious and very clean. Had lovely bedding and kids had real mattresses, not like thin ones other hotels use! No biscuits, bottled water or shower caps in room and could hear tv from room next door.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Forfar, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Visited here last weekend for lunch the place had no atmosphere ordered food came out all wrong forgot the soup order and was cold the price for what you get was hideous will not be back . No one seemed to care that you where customers .

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dundee, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Popped in today and what a transformation, decor looks refreshed throughout and the bistro looks almost unrecognisable. Same lovely and friendly staff who were most accommodating. Sampled the pizza from what appears to be an updated menu and it was fantastic. Certainly got our money's worth as portions were huge!! Definitely recommend here for their delicious food, good potions, ample... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Had a meal here with a group of mates before the Etape as we're staying close by. The food was very good I had home made pizza was very tasty and filling mates had burgers and enjoyed them to. Nice bit to eat in the back and a woodburner for winter. Staff were helpful and friendly. Bar is pretty quite... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Peebles, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Enjoyed a very nice two night break at this hotel and it proved a good location and base for our trip to The Perth NH race Festival in April. Traditional hotel with current owners working hard to up-grade and improve hotel facilities. New Bistro dining area is contemporary in style, lively bar area and the hotel lounges and dining room,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
christines89, Manager at Atholl Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review of your short break at the hotel and thanks for noticing our recent award. We have always been dog friendly at the hotel and have quite a few regular four legged friends who get spoiled by the staff. You are quite right to mention our river view rooms as the view is wonderful, particularly on a... More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Impolite, rude personnel. They claimed not to have received our payment in advance through paypal, although I showed receptionist the deduction in my (internet) banking account. He didn't believe me and wanted me to pay double. Breakfast was very minimalistic and served by the same grumpy, cranky personnel. Bad start of our holidays. And I am not a very demanding... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
christines89, Manager at Atholl Arms Hotel, responded to this review

May I say firstly we do not or never have accepted payment through PAYPAL, nor do we own a guestbook so I am not sure why you have written this review about our hotel. I am disappointed that Trip Advisor does not recognise the discrepancies of this review and allows this to remain....... Maybe one day!!! More 

Stirling, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Organized, experienced staff, accurate lunch order (despite no jotter/pad), friendly waiter without being sickening, good profile of other lunch guests, pleasant surroundings with some nice artwork on the walls for sale by local artists, would consider staying here after a tasty lunch of sandwiches and soup, tea and coffee.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
christines89, Manager at Atholl Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review and I am pleased you enjoyed your visit to the hotel. Hopefully we will see you again on your next visit to Dunkeld. We have some great overnight deals and also our monthly Slow Food Dinner is not to be missed. Follow us on Facebook or sign up to our newsletter to keep in touch. Regards... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I would say this hotel was ok. Bedroom carpet edges were not clean and it was very odd that the light was positioned at one side of room, so quite difficult to see for make up etc at the mirror on the other side. The receptionists were both lovely but breakfast on the Sunday was served very officiously by a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
christines89, Manager at Atholl Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Karen Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. During our upgrading of the hotel we have moved the lights to a more central position but haven't yet moved them all from the traditional position of near the window. We could have supplied with you with an additional lamp if you had mentioned to one of the staff.... More 

Dornoch, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We're quite keen on a couple of days away every couple of months or so and generally pick a fair to middling hotel just like this one. Hotels with character are always quaint and this one is just that. The room we were in overlooking the "main drag" if you can call Dunkeld High street that had had a make... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
christines89, Manager at Atholl Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review and I am pleased you enjoyed your stay. We like the quirkiness of the sloping floors, which we do believe adds to the character of our charming building. Next time you are in town, perhaps ask for a river view room which has a stunning view away from the main street. Alan More 

Falkirk, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2015

Ok. Phoned hotel direct rather than book through itison. Got same deal, was under impression the deal included a bottle of wine per couple. There were 4 of us. Were not told in nice manner by staff that deal did not include getting bottle of wine per couple. Hotel ended up loosing out on 4 evening meals due to attitude.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
christines89, Manager at Atholl Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review and i'm sorry that you felt that after being told by bar staff that there was no wine included with your deal, you had to make a demand for 2 bottles of wine with myself. These are the words that were used to avoid any confusion. "A previous deal included wine but this time we decided... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

95 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (66)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (23)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (29)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities