We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Glenmorag Hotel

3 Kilbride Road, Dunoon PA23 7QH, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Glenmorag Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Dunoon
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
annC7698EJ Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

290 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    50
    92
    84
    32
    32
See reviews for
28
144
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (290)
  • Mar-May only
    (73)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (89)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (64)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (64)
All months
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Accommodation, food & entertainment was absolutely great. Views from bedroom were magnificent. All staff were more than helpful & obliging! I would thoroughly recommend this Hotel for a nice relaxing break!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just returned after staying at the glenmorag for 4 nights. Must admit I was pleasantly surprised after reading all the negative reviews on here prior to our travel. Yes the rooms are a bit dated and could do with a coat of paint and a freshen up. But this would be my only negative comment about our whole stay. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Liverpool, United Kingdom
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just come back from a David Urquart weekend at the Glenmorag. Yes it is true that the hotel is dated but clean, and service is excellent. Great value for money.Would definitely recommend it. Wold recommend that you pay for a sea view room.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Perth, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Visited the Glenmorag recently with a coach holiday company for long weekend. Staff were efficient and friendly. Breakfast and dinner were both well cooked and tasty home cooking. Room was a little tired but clean, and it was nice to look over the water.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
scotland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Nice hotel although rooms are a bit dated. Lovely views if you get a front facing room. Staff very friendly and helpful food is really good also has a cheap bar at £1.50 would definitely be back for a long weekend this year

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Glenmorag M, Manager at Glenmorag Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mary, We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and will pass your comments on to them. Regards, Management Team More 

Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Set in pleasant gardens the hotel is welcoming with caring and attentive staff. Clean rooms all ensuite, well serviced with excellent food. Entertainment provided in the evenings with a good bar. The building is a little tired but the value for money on a bus tour is unbeatable. I have been twice, once in the snow of winter and once... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Glenmorag M, Manager at Glenmorag Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Harry, Thank you for you feedback. We are pleased to hear you enjoy staying at the Glenmorag Hotel. We recognise it could do with a bit of refurbishment and try to provide a clean and comfortable environment. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future. Regards, Management Team More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I am writing this on behalf of my Dad as he does not access a Computer. He was at the Glenmorag from 3rd to 6th July as part of a David Urquhart tour. He found the room, service and food all to be great and had a brilliant time. The staff were excellent and all worked hard to keep customers... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Glenmorag M, Manager at Glenmorag Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Frazer, Thank you for your comments. We are glad your dad had an enjoyable stay. Regards, Management Team More 

Falkirk District, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Bought this break for my mums 70th birthday through Urquart tours. A great time was had by all. Mum and dad had a room without a shower which made it difficult for my dad to wash. Mum told reception and they were given a room with a shower without any problem. Rooms were a wee bit tired but spotless. Staff... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Glenmorag M, Owner at Glenmorag Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give us your comments. I am please to hear your parents enjoyed their stay. Regards, Management Team More 

England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I cannot tell you how disappointed my husband and I were with this hotel! It was obvious that the hotel had its heyday in the 1960s and had very little renovations since. It seems that our bedroom was one of the better ones as we had double glazing, but other ones could hardly open their windows and as for our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Glenmorag M, Manager at Glenmorag Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at the Glenmorag Hotel. The hotel is an old building and does need a bit of refurbishment however we do endeavour to provide a clean and comfortable environment for our guests. The issue regarding cleanliness outside the hotel was pointed out to the management during... More 

Travelers are raving about these Dunoon hotels

Fife, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Had a great 3 night Dinner, Bed & Breakfast weekend with friends. Food was very good with a fair choice. Bed linen and towels were spotless. Staff very lovely, especially the receptionist Zuzana. She was so helpful and patient - nothing was too much trouble for her. The Hotel Manager was friendly and chatted with guests. There was entertainment every... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Glenmorag M, Manager at Glenmorag Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and will pass your these onto the staff at the hotel. Regards, Management Team More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

60 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (60)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (17)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunoon
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Argyll Hotel Dunoon
0.4 mi away
Esplanade Hotel
Esplanade Hotel
#4 of 10 in Dunoon
4.5 of 5 stars 425 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hunters Quay Hotel
Hunters Quay Hotel
#5 of 10 in Dunoon
4.5 of 5 stars 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Selborne Hotel
Selborne Hotel
#6 of 10 in Dunoon
4.0 of 5 stars 111 reviews
0.4 mi away
St. Ives Hotel
St. Ives Hotel
#7 of 10 in Dunoon
4.5 of 5 stars 61 reviews
9.7 mi away
Willowbank Hotel
Willowbank Hotel
#1 of 3 in Largs
4.0 of 5 stars 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay