We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Rob Roy Guest House

Certificate of Excellence
227 Dover Rd, Folkestone CT19 6NH , England
Hotel amenities
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
The Rob Roy Guest House
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

135 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    100
    29
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
39
47
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (135)
  • Mar-May only
    (42)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (53)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (24)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (16)
All months
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
92 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed in the Guest House with our 3 kids prior to our visit in Dover Castle and were vary happy with our choice. There is convenient free parking adjacent to the Guest House. Sarah, the owner was very friendly and help us in everything we needed. The place that was renovate lately, was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was good... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had a very pleasant stay here. The room and the house in general was spotless and the beakfeast was very nice. The owners were also very hospitable and caring. However space is limited but for a short stay this seems to make no difference. Over all I would recommend a stay here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
444sarahf, Owner at The Rob Roy Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. Lovely having you stay. Regards Sarah and Jim More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had wonderful service from the moment of booking. Sarah and Jim gave us a great welcome and were very helpful recommending places to eat - ones that they've tried themselves. The room was really smart and a credit to the hard work that they've put in updating the property. The facilities for parking - and making sure no-one gets... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
444sarahf, Owner at The Rob Roy Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to do a review and very complimentary it was too. It was lovely having you stay and we are glad it helped you begin your holiday feeling ready to 'dance'. Kind regards Sarah and Jim More 

Japan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2015

Sarah was in contact with me since I made the reservation online. She and her husband have been a great help in offering advice about the area, offering the hospitality and happy smile that is needed when you're in a foreign country. They have been an immense help to me when my bus transit had gone all wrong and had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
444sarahf, Owner at The Rob Roy Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind words. It was lovely meeting you and helping you enjoy your 3 nights with us. It is a shame about your journey here but Jim collecting you from the bus station in the early hours of the morning made sure a lady alone in a foreign country felt safe. Take care Sarah and Jim More 

Harlow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2015

Sarah and Jim were very welcoming, my cooked breakfasts were hot and tasty, the room was very clean , especially as there were home made cookies to have with my cuppa! The shower was hot but no hot towel rail. I would definitely come again...

Was this review helpful? Yes
444sarahf, Owner at The Rob Roy Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind review. I take on board what you are saying about a heated towel rail but unfortunately the infrastructure of the over 100 year old building means that we are at our limit on the electric and to undergo major plumbing is on the list of future renovations. We know it did not mare your stay... More 

Harlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2015

Very good value for money. The rooms have been upgraded since we were first here (2013) and I have been back a couple of times since with no complaints. The rooms are clean and bright and Sarah showed us the new extension to the Family Room - very impressive. The breakfasts are very good and there is a good choice.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
sarah F, Owner at The Rob Roy Guest House, responded to this review

Hi Lin, thanks for taking the time to do a review. It did not seem like 2 years since you were last here, as I said at the time. Glad you had a comfortable and pleasant stay and we hope to see you and your friend again soon. Regards Sarah and Jim More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2015

My son and I travelled from Edinburgh by motorcycle to the Rob Roy Guest House for an overnight stay before travelling through France to Germany. After a very long journey from Edinburgh we unfortunately got caught up in traffic grid lock near Folkestone caused by a ferry strike. We contacted Sarah and Jim to say we were in the area... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
sarah F, Owner at The Rob Roy Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to do a review. It was lovely to meet you and your son. We do try and help our guests when we can and this is not the first time jim has gone on a rescue mission and I am sure it wont be the last. We cater for all types of clientele from... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2015

Not worth the money as place not well looked after,breakfast of poor quality,whole place was tired and in need of renovation. Expected better for the price. Would not recommend this place. Beds particularly uncomfortable.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
sarah F, Owner at The Rob Roy Guest House, responded to this review

Extremely disappointed and confused by your review from your party of guests. At no point did you complain or comment. I feel that £34/35 per head for a 3* accommodation is not over priced when it includes a FULL English breakfast, if wanted, which you did not and all the amenties in the room. My establishment is clean and well... More 

Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2015

We stayed here on our way to Dover for an early ferry crossing. Although being quite sufficient for an overnight stay the whole place needed a good make over. Beds, Shower Breakfast all OK and owner really friendly but don't expect Boutique style.

Was this review helpful? Yes
sarah F, Owner at The Rob Roy Guest House, responded to this review

Thank for taking the time to do a review, however we are very disappointed and sorry that you found us 'very tired'. We do not advertise ourselves as a boutique guest house and our prices reflect that. We are a traditional B & B and it is also our home. Folkestone itself is going through a regeneration and although we... More 

Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2015

Stayed at the B&B in Folkstone before travelling to France. Everything previous guests say about this place is spot on. Very convenient for the crossing, lovely welcome, breakfast is a treat also. Sarah could not be more welcoming or helpful. Would highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
sarah F, Owner at The Rob Roy Guest House, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time out of your holiday to do the review. Glad you had a good time here and we hope to see you again in the future. Regards Sarah and Jim More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

4 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Folkestone hotels
1.4 mi away
The Burlington Hotel
The Burlington Hotel
#3 of 9 in Folkestone
4.0 of 5 stars 520 reviews
1.2 mi away
Wards Hotel & Restaurant
Wards Hotel & Restaurant
#1 of 9 in Folkestone
4.5 of 5 stars 132 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Burstin Hotel
Grand Burstin Hotel
#8 of 9 in Folkestone
3.0 of 5 stars 2,525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Folkestone - Channel Tunnel
1.0 mi away
The Southcliff
The Southcliff
#6 of 9 in Folkestone
3.0 of 5 stars 410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay