We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 9 Folkestone hotels

The Southcliff

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   22 - 26 The Leas, Folkestone CT20 2DY, England
Hotel amenities
The Southcliff
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Southcliff to your Saves list
40%
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Folkestone
A recent review
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    66
    79
    43
    51
See reviews for
35
123
13
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (279)
  • Mar-May only
    (65)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (88)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (85)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (41)
All months
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I have spent couple of day's in this hotel. Staff is very friendly, place is tidy, rooms are ok and value/price ratio is very good. Surrounding areas are fantastic. There are few problems: first one which is substantial - no wifi in rooms only in lounge, which in 2014 is unacceptable. Second - thin walls and ceiling. I was woken... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I've been staying at the southcliffe for many years as I attend the Euro Militaire model show every September,it has always provided me with a basic room and bed for the night,not always perfect but habitable. However I won't be staying at the southcliffe anymore after this year,mainly because they overcharged me and debited the money from my account before... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Ian J, Owner at The Southcliff, responded to this review

Hi Brian just read your review and do find it a bit unfair. Your issue was with the pre-authorization of your card. Like most hotels nowadays we require a credit card guarantee and we do pre-authorize the card on the day of arrival. When we pre-authorize a card we add a £20 to the total amount to cover for incidentals(car... More

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel really needs updating as the furniture and overall is very oldschool but for it's worth the price so it's to book it. The location is brilliant. We had a view on the sea to it's was brilliant to wake up with this view.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Otley, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

You really do get what you pay for. Southcliff is a budget hotel which looks as though it has seen less austere times. It stands proudly on the front at Folkestone, which as a town appears to be searching for a role in the 21st Century. The bedroom was basic but comfortable, the shower lacking in power and the breakfast... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Southampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We needed somewhere to stay in Folkestonefor a weekend fundraising event and didn't want to pay a huge amount (other hotels were available for £200+ for two nights) - and booked the Southcliff via Laterooms at a total cost of £114 for a superior room with balcony and sea view. To summarise our stay - all the staff were friendly... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cambridge
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
36 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is our second time at this hotel. We booked it because it was cheap and nearly cheerful and we were only staying for two nights only. We didn't want any breakfast, customer service or to chat with our neighbours we just wanted a clean bed and somewhere to shower. If you don't have much money then stay here. Staying... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
cambridge
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I went with Sunrise holidays for five days , with Bruges being the highlight of the tour. Ive given three stars purely for the friendliness of the staff, from Joss our waiter in the dining room to the staff on reception. We all paid the same for our holiday, but the rooms all varied in standard and alot were not... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We needed somewhere close to stay for a ferry to France the following morning (5th Sept) - and found Southcliff on-line at a reasonable price and a very good location (on the sea front). On arriving, the friendly young lady in reception gave me a parking pass to put in my car - and whilst I was gone had sorted... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Newhaven, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Being the cheapest option for an overnight stay prior to a French trip we chose this hotel without even checking it out here. For £37 room rate we were not expecting anything special but the reception was pleasant, the room was clean, comfortable and well appointed. For a cheap overnight stop it cannot be faulted.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked this hotel as a one night stopover on our way to Belgium. I chose it as it was only 10 minutes away from the Channel Tunnel. When I booked I wasn't expecting anything more than a budget hotel; however, I did expect the basic standards of hygeine. When we checked in we had to wait as the girl... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Do you own or manage The Southcliff?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Southcliff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Southcliff

Address: 22 - 26 The Leas, Folkestone CT20 2DY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Folkestone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Southcliff 2*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Southcliff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Southcliff Hotel Folkestone
Southcliff Hotel Folkestone
The Southcliff Folkestone, Kent, UK

39 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (24)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near The Southcliff

Enlarge Map
Top-rated Attractions Nearby
The Leas Lift
The Leas Lift
Historic Sites
Leas Promenade
Leas Promenade
Scenic/ Historic Walking Areas