We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rocksalt Rooms

1-3 Backstreet, Folkestone CT19 6NN, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Rocksalt Rooms
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

85 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    31
    30
    15
    9
    0
See reviews for
6
63
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (85)
  • Mar-May only
    (25)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (28)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (17)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (15)
All months
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed in a room for 2. Room was tiny and compact,,,, but very well presented. Very clean with a very comfortable bed. Wet room and toilet again was tiny,,, but very well presented. Excellent thick towels provided. Tea, coffee and water provided. There was a kettle and tea bags along with a Nespresso machine. I would recommend the Nespresso machine... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
FOHTeam, Manager at Rocksalt Rooms, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We will pass all of your comments onto the team The Rocksalt Team More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2015

We stayed two nights at the Rocksalt rooms. The location of the rooms was perfect, we had amazing views from our room. The complimentary breakfast was delicious. All in all the room was perfect, I can not fault any of it, will definitely being staying again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
FOHTeam, Manager at Rocksalt Rooms, responded to this review

Many thanks for your lovely review, we are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again. The Rocksalt Team More 

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2015

Unfortunately when I booked accommodation I had no idea the rooms were situated directly above the Rocksalt takeaway fish and chip shop, so the room smelt of frying fat. It also had no ventilation, was boiling hot as the Room was in the roof , it was a hot day and the windows were locked shut. ( despite being aware... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
FOHTeam, Manager at Rocksalt Rooms, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. We try very hard to make our marketing clear that our rooms are small and are located on a working harbour. We believe it adds to the charm but are naturally very sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay. The Rocksalt Team More 

Stoke- on- Trent
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2015 via mobile

A room with a view lovely, very quirky nice room very clean :-) the only thing I would make a point of is there isn't a lot of storage space a chest of drawers would solve this. Nice touch with a fresh bowl of strawberries every day. Bed very comfy and had good sleeps. The breakfast basket was great too... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
FOHTeam, Manager at Rocksalt Rooms, responded to this review

Many thanks for your lovely review. We generally only get people staying a night or two so we accept that when you stay a bit longer, as you did, that there isn't a lot of space for your belongings. We are sorry that you experienced those issues. Nonetheless, thank you for your lovely review, and we look forward to seeing... More 

Staffordshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2015

We found the restaurant quite easily so went in there to ask for directions to the hotel. Apparently you check in for the hotel at the restaurant and a member of staff showed us to our room. The room was extremely small and looked out onto a house/flat so we didn't feel particularly private. The room was perfectly clean and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sarah W, Manager at Rocksalt Rooms, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. We are sorry to hear that you found the room small. We will pass on your comments about the staff to the team. We do hope that you will consider us again for your next visit. The Rocksalt Team More 

Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2015

Wonderful overnight stay at Rocksalt Rooms. Great location, comfy bed, lovely bed linen, toiletries, mini hamper of drinks and fruit and fluffy towels. Delicious cooked breakfast in The Rocksalt restaurant including the best bacon and sausages I have ever tasted. We stayed on their Winter Warmer deal - Dinner, bed and breakfast at a very special price. Well worth a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sarah W, Manager at Rocksalt Rooms, responded to this review

Many thanks for your lovely review, we are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and breakfast with us. We do hope you come to stay again soon. The Rocksalt Team More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2015

Saturday 4th April 2015 We booked the Rocksalt rooms for an overnight stay & saw it overlooked the harbour with lovely views. When we arrived was surprised to learn the accomodation was over a fish & chip takeaway owned by the Rocksalt so strong smell of frying oil. The room itself was over priced no storage rustic looking & you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sarah W, Manager at Rocksalt Rooms, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay with us and we will pass all of your comments onto the team. If you would like to discuss your stay in any further detail please do call in and speak with one of our managers on 01303 212070. The Rocksalt Team More 

Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

Booked for 1 night before an early Channel Tunnel trip - stayed in the family room which is great - 2 separate rooms and a shared shower room. Loved the post industrial styling - bare brick, exposed plumbing - beaytifully and carefully done. Beds extremely comfortable - all in all great - But, no surfaces or storage or anywhere to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sarah W, Manager at Rocksalt Rooms, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review and all comments will be passed onto the team. We do hope you will stay with us again one day. The Rocksalt Team More 

Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015

The local area is not very encouraging BUT the rooms and food at Rocksalt are pretty good. We were in the La-La room which was very small and the lack of bath mat meant that the shower soaked the floor making it very slippery. The bin was grubby and the shower control knob was broken - a little bit more... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sarah W, Manager at Rocksalt Rooms, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review, all of your comments will be passed onto the team. The rooms are located in a working harbour so we understand the location comment, although we feel that adds a little to the charm of the rooms. We do hope you will try us again in the future. The Rocksalt Team More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015

Had a lovely stay at the Rocksalt Rooms and a lovely meal in the resturant. Bed was extremely comfortable had a great nights sleep. Room was cleaned to a high standard. Breakfast was okay, nice touch in a basket. Good job we had instructions on the whereabouts as it's easy missed if you don't know Folkestone. Would recommend for one... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sarah W, Manager at Rocksalt Rooms, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review, we do hope to see you again someday! The Rocksalt Team More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

34 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (30)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Folkestone hotels
1.5 mi away
The Burlington Hotel
The Burlington Hotel
#3 of 9 in Folkestone
4.0 of 5 stars 520 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Folkestone Channel Tunnel
1.3 mi away
Wards Hotel & Restaurant
Wards Hotel & Restaurant
#1 of 9 in Folkestone
4.5 of 5 stars 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Folkestone - Channel Tunnel
2.0 mi away
Grand Burstin Hotel
Grand Burstin Hotel
#8 of 9 in Folkestone
3.0 of 5 stars 2,537 reviews
1.6 mi away
10to12 Folkestone
10to12 Folkestone
#1 of 30 in Folkestone
5.0 of 5 stars 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay