We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rocksalt Rooms

4.0 of 5 1-3 Backstreet, Folkestone CT19 6NN, England
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Rocksalt Rooms
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Rocksalt Rooms
Rocksalt Rooms
Rocksalt Rooms
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    22
    13
    7
    0
See reviews for
4
51
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (69)
  • Mar-May only
    (16)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (25)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (17)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (11)
All months
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed one night as we had dinner at the restaurant. Very convenient. We stayed in Kittens so we had more room than the others from what I can gather.....bed very comfortable and the linen smelt lovely.....shame the Nespressso machine didn't work....lacked a full length mirror and although the lighting and ambience reflected the style it would have been nice to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sarah W, Manager at Rocksalt Rooms, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review and your comments which we will pass onto the team. We do look forward to welcoming you again in the future. The Rocksalt Team More 

Romford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

we stayed at rocksalt rooms in the la la room on 1st floor. We read it would be small and it was but it had 3 windows so was very airy. It was lovely and warm with a comfy bed and very modern feel. Breakfast was included and delivered in a hamper. It was impossible to look in the mirror... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sarah W, Manager at Rocksalt Rooms, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review and comments about your stay. Due to the fact we are situated in a working harbour area, the windows can get dirty quite quickly, but we would like to assure you that they are cleaned regularly. I note the picture of the window you have added is of a neighbouring property and not part of... More 

South Witham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

The room was a bit small (perhaps we were in the smallest double I don't know) and you would not want to stay in it for more than one night. The bed was comfortable and the duvet was pillows were lovely. The layout of the room was not entirely practical and it was difficult to use the tea and coffee... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sarah W, Manager at Rocksalt Rooms, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear that you were a little disappointed with your stay. We try to be clear in all our marketing that the rooms are fairly small and located within a working fishing harbour and we have tried to make them as comfortable as possible, given their size. We are sorry that you were disappointed. The Rocksalt Team More 

London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
44 hotel reviews
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2014

Stayed for one night whilst on a weekend break to revisit Folkestone and to catch up with the latest Triennial artworks. The location of the accommodation, just off the stade, was perfect for a night stay combined with a meal in Rocksalt. Most of the accommodation in Folkestone is located some distance away, so it was a pleasure to be... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sarah W, Manager at Rocksalt Rooms, responded to this review

Many thanks for your lovely review. We hope that you might stay again sometime. The Rocksalt Team More 

Kent
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2014

Our room on the 1st floor had no sea view - just looks out onto cottages and a brick wall. Just as well the windows were filthy as that helped to disguise the view. The room is compact and the bed is very, very high. It was comfortable though and fortunately the sheets didn't smell of fish and chips -... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Sarah W, Manager at Rocksalt Rooms, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your recent stay. If you would like to discuss your complaint with a member of the team please do call in on 01303 212070 and ask for Sarah or Jack. The Rocksalt Team More 

Cheshire, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

When We saw the room which was on the first floor overlooking the harbour We thought it looked nice but there was no wardrobe and nowhere to sit other than on the bed or on a small stool which was kept underneath a shelf which was packed with cups and coffee machine. There is also no dressing table. We had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sarah W, Manager at Rocksalt Rooms, responded to this review

Many thanks for your feedback following your stay and your kind words about the restaurant. The rooms are on the small side, we agree, but we feel they have all the essentials necessary for a short stay. We are sorry that you were disappointed. Unfortunately, some of these recent summer nights have been horrendously hot and sticky and I am... More 

Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

If I had received a response from the email I sent to the management at Rocksalt then I would not have felt the need to send my first ever review to Trip Advisor. We stayed at Rocksalt for 1 night only and waited in anticipation for the breakfast basket which was to be delivered to our room at approx 8.00am... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sarah W, Manager at Rocksalt Rooms, responded to this review

Many thanks for leaving these comments and I am sorry but for some reason your original email has not been received. The management team would really like to speak to you about your experience so please do call us on 01303 212070 and ask for Sarah or Jack. We are sincerely sorry for the problems that you have experienced. The... More 

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

You can book this place, but you will never find it. The rooms are quite hidden. After an exhaustive -- and exhausting search -- you go to the restaurant of the same name and ask for directions. Turns out they have the keys in the restaurant, and you were meant to go there! A sign on the entrance would help... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sarah W, Manager at Rocksalt Rooms, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review, we will pass your comments onto the team. We are always happy to arrange a late check out so if you come and see us again please do mention this to the team and they will be happy to sort that out for you. The Rocksalt Team More 

London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

We stayed at a room on the first floor. The room was small but clean and cozy. The problem is, there was no table and we had no place to put even a single cup on. Well, there were bed side tables and a TV table but they were already fully occupied by books, coffee machine, dryer, etc. Breakfast offered... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sarah W, Manager at Rocksalt Rooms, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review, your comments will be pass onto our team. The Rocksalt Team More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We had booked an evening meal at Rocksalt and decided to make the most of it by booking rooms also. Folkestone: Not a lot to do there...great seafood available, and lovely views, but other than the environs close to the room, there wasn't much we felt we wanted to explore. Desperate needs a couple of lovely cafés. The room: The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sarah W, Manager at Rocksalt Rooms, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review and your comments will be passed onto our team. We do hope you might return to stay again one day. The Rocksalt Team More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Rocksalt Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocksalt Rooms

Address: 1-3 Backstreet, Folkestone CT19 6NN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Folkestone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rocksalt Rooms 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Rocksalt Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocksalt Rooms Folkestone, Kent, UK

21 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (18)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay