We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 9 Folkestone hotels

The Burlington Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Earls Avenue, Folkestone CT20 2HR, England
Hotel amenities
The Burlington Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Burlington Hotel to your Saves list
71%
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Folkestone
A recent review
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    149
    71
    30
    11
See reviews for
73
190
16
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (374)
  • Mar-May only
    (99)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (133)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (96)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (46)
All months
Sevenoaks
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
42 hotel reviews
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The hotel had low occupancy when we arrived so we were upgraded to a Superior sea view room, 343. The room was newly refurbished with top quality furnishing and sheets etc. The TV had full Freeview options, great Wi-Fi, kettle etc. The bathroom had a shower over the bath and the water flow into the bath was the best that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BURL-GM, General Manager at The Burlington Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Many thanks for writing a review regarding your recent stay. I am delighted to hear that you had a great and comfortable short break with us. It is always worth to upgrade to a superior room whenever possible. I look forward to welcoming you again soon. Yours sincerely More

Essex
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Twin bed instead of double Ok but it was very very uncomfortable as very old with damaged mattresses. Stayed there for 2 nights and couldn't sleep at all, both of us was with back aches after the first night, what about after the second one - couldn't wait to get back home. We supposed to have a relaxing weekend away... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BURL-GM, General Manager at The Burlington Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Thank you for your fair review and sorry to hear that you did not sleep well due to the beds not being comfortable. I have brought this issue to the attention of our housekeeping team to get the beds replaced and I would like to apologise for any inconvenience. Should you plan to return to Folkestone, I will... More

Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

I have visited Folkestone on numerous occasions always staying at the Grand Burstin. I read the reviews in high hopes of having a good stay at this hotel. I thought I would start with the plus sides to the hotel. Very friendly staff, a nice spacious room in good order and clean and lovely view of the sea room 344.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BURL-GM, General Manager at The Burlington Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Thank you for your review and constructive criticism. Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and sorry that you had to wait at the bar due to the bar person dealing with some room service. Same for the delay regarding Monday breakfast due to unforeseen circumstances, which the duty manager addressed in due course. I... More

London
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Got a fantastic deal for a 2 night bed and breakfast stay here. It is a dog friendly hotel, so was the main reason we chose it. Our room was very spacious and very comfortable. They had a little bed for the dog and a dog bowl. The staff were very friendly and very helpful at all times. As the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BURL-GM, General Manager at The Burlington Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Many thanks for your kind review and pleased to hear that you had a great stay, as well as your little friend! I hope to see you again soon at the Burlington. Yours sincerely More

Cheltenham, England
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

On arrival the reception staff were friendly and efficient. I asked if there was a trolley to take our cases upstairs and was assured a colleague would do this. This was done. The room was light, airy and had been refurbished. One slight point - there was soap but no toiletries - this is now unusual. Wi-fi was free. We... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BURL-GM, General Manager at The Burlington Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear that you had a great stay and nothing was much trouble. Please note that we are in the process of upgrading all toiletries in the rooms. As you mentioned, the car park is rather small but on-street parking is plentiful and unrestricted. I look forward to welcoming you... More

Maidstone, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Excellent location, on the Leas. Friendly and efficient staff. Rooms were good. Food was good quality, well prepared, and served by friendly and efficient staff. A very pleasant couple of days, and excellent value for money.

Was this review helpful? Yes
BURL-GM, General Manager at The Burlington Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Many thanks to leave a review regarding your recent stay. I hope to see you again soon at the Burlington. Yours sincerely More

BERKSHIRE
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

we stayed for two nights and were upgraded to a premium room. This had a huge bathroom, tub and shower. The plumbing in the shower was a delicate balance but worked with patience. Lots of white fluffy towels and spotlessly clean. We were lucky to have a sea view and although on the front/side the place was quiet. Parking was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BURL-GM, General Manager at The Burlington Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Thank you for writing a review and glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your comments regarding the first morning breakfast have been passed to the kitchen team to be addressed as this is unusual and does not reflect our breakfast standards. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience. i look forward to welcoming you... More

Guildford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Contrary to recent reviews, I have to wonder if we were at the same hotel!!! Excellent service, as our room was changed immediately due to noisy neighbours. Staff were efficient and extremely friendly. No language problems whatsoever. We felt this was a classical old style hotel and indeed creaked a bit, but was only exaggerated by very restless people above... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BURL-GM, General Manager at The Burlington Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Thank you for writing a review and pleased to hear that you had a great stay with us. Your compliments have been passed to our team and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Yours sincerely More

Weybridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were here for a weekend event - what can one say: Poor service. Many staff who could just manage a few words in English Staff who do not know how to serve a meal to clients Average to poor food Why three stars - I would say two stars at best.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BURL-GM, General Manager at The Burlington Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Sorry to hear that you were disappointed by the service you received, but nothing was brought to the attention of our restaurant manager or events co-ordinator during your event. We always encourage our guests to report any problem at the time so it can be addressed straightaway. Most guests praise our team of restaurant staff for being friendly,... More

Hertfordshire
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a voucher given to us as a present. The staff on reception were very pleasant and gave us keys to room 352. However the room was very tired and dated and I am surprised that anyone should be given that room. I went to reception and asked for a different room. We were then given room 356 one... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BURL-GM, General Manager at The Burlington Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Thank you for your review. Your constructive criticism regarding breakfast service have been brought to the attention of our restaurant team to be addressed and I would like to apologise for any inconvenience. The room you were originally allocated is to be refurbished in the near future and should not have been used. Sorry as this was allocated... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Do you own or manage The Burlington Hotel?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Burlington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Burlington Hotel

Address: Earls Avenue, Folkestone CT20 2HR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Folkestone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Burlington Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Burlington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burlington Hotel Folkestone
The Burlington Hotel Folkestone, Kent, UK

64 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (55)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay