We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 9 Folkestone hotels

The Burlington Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Earls Avenue, Folkestone CT20 2HR, England
Hotel amenities
The Burlington Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Burlington Hotel to your Saves list
71%
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Folkestone
A recent review
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    150
    71
    30
    11
See reviews for
74
190
16
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (376)
  • Mar-May only
    (99)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (133)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (98)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (46)
All months
UK
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
32 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Just stayed overnight and didn't use restaurant or even breakfast so a limited review. Nice hotel, clean tidy and not too seaside. Well situated out of the busy zone but an easy walk in. Bed was comfortable, shower good and wifi worked well and free. Bar was nice enough but closes at 11pm which is a bit early if you... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We had an excellent stay despite having a medical emergency! The staff were really good and did all that they could to help and made us feel very welcome in somewhat difficult cicumstances. The room was comfortable and pleasant - the bathroom was fine but would be improved by a hook or hooks to hang one's clothes. All very clean.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BURL-GM, General Manager at The Burlington Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Thank you for leaving a review and glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thanks for your fair comment regarding the missing hook in the bathroom which I have asked our maintenance department to address. I look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Yours sincerely More

Sevenoaks
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
43 hotel reviews
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel had low occupancy when we arrived so we were upgraded to a Superior sea view room, 343. The room was newly refurbished with top quality furnishing and sheets etc. The TV had full Freeview options, great Wi-Fi, kettle etc. The bathroom had a shower over the bath and the water flow into the bath was the best that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BURL-GM, General Manager at The Burlington Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Many thanks for writing a review regarding your recent stay. I am delighted to hear that you had a great and comfortable short break with us. It is always worth to upgrade to a superior room whenever possible. I look forward to welcoming you again soon. Yours sincerely More

Essex
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Twin bed instead of double Ok but it was very very uncomfortable as very old with damaged mattresses. Stayed there for 2 nights and couldn't sleep at all, both of us was with back aches after the first night, what about after the second one - couldn't wait to get back home. We supposed to have a relaxing weekend away... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BURL-GM, General Manager at The Burlington Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Thank you for your fair review and sorry to hear that you did not sleep well due to the beds not being comfortable. I have brought this issue to the attention of our housekeeping team to get the beds replaced and I would like to apologise for any inconvenience. Should you plan to return to Folkestone, I will... More

Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I have visited Folkestone on numerous occasions always staying at the Grand Burstin. I read the reviews in high hopes of having a good stay at this hotel. I thought I would start with the plus sides to the hotel. Very friendly staff, a nice spacious room in good order and clean and lovely view of the sea room 344.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BURL-GM, General Manager at The Burlington Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Thank you for your review and constructive criticism. Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and sorry that you had to wait at the bar due to the bar person dealing with some room service. Same for the delay regarding Monday breakfast due to unforeseen circumstances, which the duty manager addressed in due course. I... More

London
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Got a fantastic deal for a 2 night bed and breakfast stay here. It is a dog friendly hotel, so was the main reason we chose it. Our room was very spacious and very comfortable. They had a little bed for the dog and a dog bowl. The staff were very friendly and very helpful at all times. As the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BURL-GM, General Manager at The Burlington Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Many thanks for your kind review and pleased to hear that you had a great stay, as well as your little friend! I hope to see you again soon at the Burlington. Yours sincerely More

Cheltenham, England
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

On arrival the reception staff were friendly and efficient. I asked if there was a trolley to take our cases upstairs and was assured a colleague would do this. This was done. The room was light, airy and had been refurbished. One slight point - there was soap but no toiletries - this is now unusual. Wi-fi was free. We... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BURL-GM, General Manager at The Burlington Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear that you had a great stay and nothing was much trouble. Please note that we are in the process of upgrading all toiletries in the rooms. As you mentioned, the car park is rather small but on-street parking is plentiful and unrestricted. I look forward to welcoming you... More

Maidstone, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Excellent location, on the Leas. Friendly and efficient staff. Rooms were good. Food was good quality, well prepared, and served by friendly and efficient staff. A very pleasant couple of days, and excellent value for money.

Was this review helpful? Yes
BURL-GM, General Manager at The Burlington Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Many thanks to leave a review regarding your recent stay. I hope to see you again soon at the Burlington. Yours sincerely More

BERKSHIRE
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

we stayed for two nights and were upgraded to a premium room. This had a huge bathroom, tub and shower. The plumbing in the shower was a delicate balance but worked with patience. Lots of white fluffy towels and spotlessly clean. We were lucky to have a sea view and although on the front/side the place was quiet. Parking was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BURL-GM, General Manager at The Burlington Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Thank you for writing a review and glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your comments regarding the first morning breakfast have been passed to the kitchen team to be addressed as this is unusual and does not reflect our breakfast standards. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience. i look forward to welcoming you... More

Guildford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
30 hotel reviews
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Contrary to recent reviews, I have to wonder if we were at the same hotel!!! Excellent service, as our room was changed immediately due to noisy neighbours. Staff were efficient and extremely friendly. No language problems whatsoever. We felt this was a classical old style hotel and indeed creaked a bit, but was only exaggerated by very restless people above... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BURL-GM, General Manager at The Burlington Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Thank you for writing a review and pleased to hear that you had a great stay with us. Your compliments have been passed to our team and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Yours sincerely More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Burlington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Burlington Hotel

Address: Earls Avenue, Folkestone CT20 2HR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Folkestone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Burlington Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your The Burlington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burlington Hotel Folkestone
The Burlington Hotel Folkestone, Kent, UK

64 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (55)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay