We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 17 Huddersfield B&Bs / inns

Edgerton Guest House

3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   86 New North Road, Huddersfield HD1 5NE, England (Formerly Cambridge Guest House)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Edgerton Guest House to your Saves list
Edgerton Guest House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Hotels.com Travelocity
and 4 more sites!
81%
Ranked #12 of 17 Huddersfield B&B and Inns
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
dragonmaster79 Ashford, Middlesex
Write a Review

17 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    9
    0
    0
    3
See reviews for
3
4
2
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ashford, Middlesex
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed here for one night of our holiday, so we were not expecting much from the Edgerton, but we were pleasantly surprised. We were given a choice of two rooms, one with an external door so we could come and go or a bigger bed with a shower room. We chose the bigger room and had a great night.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Friendly staff who couldn't do enough to help. Lovely comfortable bed and awesome power shower bathroom a little small but I'm a big guy so....... Only down side is breakfast was a little early for my liking but I put that down to me working night shifts.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Castleford
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

**IMPORTANT – PLEASE READ FULLY IF BOOKING THIS HOTEL** What you are about to read is FACT! It is neither fabricated nor embellished to suit my own needs and it is without prejudice. The sole intention of the following text is to stop you all from making the same mistake I made of being misled by the cancellation policy of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

The guest house was clean, warm and with friendly, helpful staff. The breakfast was very well cooked and generous. Our room was very comfortable and an alternative duvet was provided on request (change needed due to feather allergy). The bathroom supplies were pleasant and generous, as were the tea and biscuits. All appliances were working. A second key for a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

I stayed here for a few weeks and recommend most highly, the striking building takes on a modern feel inside and is decorated to a high standard, the owner (a patient, intelligent man who appreciates all feedback) was proud to show me the renovations/ improvements and wow! hard to believe this is one of the cheapest places to stay in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Skipton, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We booked here by chance as we were at an event in Holmfirth and left it too late to get anywhere in the village. It's now called the Edgerton, rather than the Cambridge, Guest House. We were a bit unsure when we arrived as the door was locked and we couldn't see anyone on reception. We rang the buzzer but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
CambridgeGuestHouse, Owner at Edgerton Guest House, responded to this review

Thanks for the good review, we hope all our hard work starts to pay off. We've recently invested a lot of time and effort upgrading the building bringing it to a standard that our guests expect and prefer. Hopefully if you end up staying here again you'll be even more satisfied with the level of quality and value for money... More

Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

had a night in the edgerton guest house, it was very clean and very comfortable, its a budget price so you dont expect the world and it was better than my expectations for the price, however the staff although friendly are very poor and clueless, however the manager who i assume i spoke to this morning is by far and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CambridgeGuestHouse, Owner at Edgerton Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind words regarding the cleanliness at the Guest House. I'm glad you saw some positives despite the level of service offered by our staff. The person I believe you dealt with at reception, was a sixteen year member of staff, who was completing his first week at work. Despite his youth and inexperience I sincerely believe... More

Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

This establishment also masquerades as "Edgerton Guest House". Reviews can be subjective so see what you think of the following. I booked online six weeks beforehand as I was travelling hundreds of miles on business and wanted somewhere reputable. I was in meetings until I arrived only to find building work going on and Edgerton locked and inaccessible. A builder... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
CambridgeGuestHouse, Owner at Edgerton Guest House, responded to this review

Thanks for the review. I would just like to explain that we have recently changed our name to the Edgerton Guest House and we are not masquerading for anyone. As you were aware building work was going on, which is not always practical, but for your convenience we upgraded your hotel room and sent you to an establishment where you... More

London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Unfortunately I had an unpleasant stay at this Guest House, now named the Edgerton Guest House. My room was in the basement, and felt unclean - the bedside drawers where filled with stubbed out cigarettes, filter tips, and what appeared to be small plastic bags indicating signs of drug use. There were also packets of stale cereal in the drawers.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
CambridgeGuestHouse, Owner at Edgerton Guest House, responded to this review

I'm sorry for the bad experience you had to incur during your stay. We were planning on transferring your booking to one of our sister hotels but due to lack of availability we had to keep you at the Guest House. I'm sorry about the bed side cabinets not getting cleaned thoroughly enough. We did have building works going on,... More

St Helens, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

nice hotel staff extremely nice and helpful but breakfast was dissapointing as staff did not seem to know what we liked and when served it was a very small offering which did not really satisfy our healthy appetites

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Been to Edgerton Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgerton Guest House

Address: 86 New North Road, Huddersfield HD1 5NE, England (Formerly Cambridge Guest House)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Huddersfield
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Huddersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Edgerton Guest House 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Family run Guest House, featuring a beautiful period property with great hospitality and service.Offering free on-site car parking and free Wi-Fi, Cambridge Guest House is a 10-minute walk from Huddersfield town centre and 0.5 miles from the bus and railway stations. It's 1 mile away from Huddersfield University, only 1.3 miles from Galpharm Stadium and 1.1 miles away from Huddersfield Royal Infirmary. There's a bus stop right outside the Guest House with buses running regularly towards town centre. The beautiful Victorian guest house is based on the A629 towards Halifax. It's approximately 5 mins away from Greenhead Park and 2 mins away from Kirklees college. about 2.5 miles (4 km) from junction 24 of the M62.Free private parking is available on site, with closed-circuit TV surveillance for additional security and our reception is open 24 hours a day so you can check in at your leisure.There are 14 spacious and comfortable rooms, all of which are en suite with POWER showers. Each room has a TV, a telephone, a fridge and tea/coffee making facilities. Ironing boards, irons and hair dryers are available upon request. Guests also have access to a microwave to warm up their food if required and there are plenty of local take aways, restaurants and pubs to eat out, alternatively you could order a take out and eat in your rooms.A full English breakfast is served in the beautiful arch shaped dining room. Vegetarian alternatives are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Priceline, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Edgerton Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Edgerton Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.