We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 24 Luton hotels

Chiltern Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Waller Avenue, Luton LU4 9RU, England
Hotel amenities
Chiltern Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Chiltern Hotel to your Saves list
Ranked #17 of 24 Hotels in Luton
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Graham M London, United Kingdom
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    49
    39
    37
    40
See reviews for
22
43
15
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (195)
  • Mar-May only
    (49)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (58)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (52)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (36)
All months
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

My job involves me travelling across the UK and I have stayed at many hotels, but never have I come across anything like this one! On arrival the room seemed fine till I got into the shower. The water pressure was terrible and the bathroom was filthy, im not normally one to complain but noone can shower there its impossible!... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Where to start.... My room had a dirty cotton bud on the floor the bin hadn't been emptied and doesn't have a heater! The food and service in the restaurant was terrible. They had the same song playing on loop I had to seat myself the speaker changed to a loud noise that wasn't stopped because there were no staff... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
LTN911, Manager at Chiltern Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer I am disappointed to note your feedback regarding your visit to Chiltern Hotel; I am very sorry that you felt the hotel did not meet with your expectations. It is most regrettable that you were not able to highlight your concerns with a member of the Management Team at the time in order that we could address this... More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel turned out to be a little gem. The staff from reception to the bar and restaurant were helpful and made me very welcome. The free gym was in good order but the machines were showing their age. Good car parking all covered by CCTV. Luton town and airport were a short drive or taxi ride away.

Was this review helpful? Yes
LTN911, Manager at Chiltern Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer Thank you for taking the time to share the benefit of your experience and for choosing Chiltern Hotel. I am delighted to note you enjoyed all aspects of your visit. I do hope we shall the pleasure of welcoming you back on a future occasion. Your sincerely Donna Hayward Executive Assistant Manager More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I have been a business guest for many months now and upon reviewing other reviews have to offer my honest opinion on this hotel. Take no notice of the negative comments and try it for yourself. Everyone is different but I can't see how anyone cannot say this hotel is not value for money! This hotel has excellent staff, the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
LTN911, Manager at Chiltern Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Dawn Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor; it was ad delight to read your comments. I was delighted to read your positive feedback regarding all aspects of the hotel is much appreciated. This opportunity to review guest satisfaction is invaluable as it enables us to assess our performance and improve where necessary.... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I've been staying here for a month now and couldn't ask for much more. rooms are clean, staff are friendly and go the extra mile to meet all needs required. Food is to a high standard and reasonably priced. Would recommend to people I know.

Was this review helpful? Yes
LTN911, Manager at Chiltern Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Marcus Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor; it was a delight to read your comments. Your positive comments regarding the staff with be shared; I know they will all take great satisfaction from your feedback. We are very grateful for your support. Your sincerely Donna Hayward Executive Assistant Manager More 

Christchurch, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A reasonable place to stay for one night prior to a flight from Luton Airport. The package deal included a room for the night, free taxi to and from the airport, and free parking for the duration of our trip. We paid around £95. The hotel is somewhat tired, and lacking in any warmth or charm, but if all you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
LTN911, Manager at Chiltern Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor; it was a delight to read your comments. The Management team and staff are committed to providing the very best service and experience for all our guests, every day. Therefore it is most reassuring that we reached your expectations on this occasion. I do hope... More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Disappointing stay. Very dated, poor condition and very untidy. I would never stay here again unless it had a full refurbishment. Good location and the building layout is good but everything else is a let down. The breakfast wasn't the worst I've had but it wasn't the best either.

Was this review helpful? Yes
LTN911, Manager at Chiltern Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, I was very sorry to read your comments and may I apologise for the the disappointment you experienced. Guest feedback of any nature, whether it be negative or positive is essential in monitoring whether our guests expectations are being met, sadly this was not the case on this occasion. The hotel is working its way through a refurbishment,... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
62 hotel reviews
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I have now given this hotel the benefit of the doubt on a handful of occasions, predominantly as it is very convenient to my place of work and I did want it to work out, I really did but i have now reached the end of the road. Rather than improving from my last review it is actually getting worse... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
LTN911, Manager at Chiltern Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer Thank you for your feedback and I am sorry to note you had some negative experiences during your visit. Our television's have all been fixed. With regards to the corridors we are having a refurbishment in January 2015 when this will be completed. I am very sorry that you felt the hotel did not meet with your expectations.... More 

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2014

i stayed here recently and yes very reasonably priced but poor poor service, firstly our keys didn't work and after 2 hours we were told by a trainee receptionist that there was no one at the hotel who could help, yes a trainee in charge of the hotel.......we were due to be at a party at the hotel and needed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
LTN911, Manager at Chiltern Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer I am disappointed to note your feedback regarding your visit to the Chiltern Hotel. Our Events Manager Jackie Beales and our Duty Manager Pamela Culliane were both on duty that night and were available for you to speak with. Upon investigating your complaints at the time of your stay it was very clear that a full refund would... More 

West Midlands, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2014

When I arrived the outside of the hotel looked very tired and could do with a bit of TLC, however, inside the banqueting room it looked stunning. The food was excellent great music and very friendly bar staff! I did stay that night and the bed was comfortable and the room was clean. The corridors could do with a paint.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
LTN911, Manager at Chiltern Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer I was delighted to read your positive feedback regarding all aspects of the hotel is much appreciated. This opportunity to review guest satisfaction is invaluable as it enables us to assess our performance and improve where necessary. We are very grateful for your support. Your sincerely Donna Hayward Executive Assistant Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Chiltern Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chiltern Hotel

Address: Waller Avenue, Luton LU4 9RU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Luton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chiltern Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Chiltern Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

80 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (46)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (9)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay