We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 25 Luton hotels

Chiltern Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Waller Avenue, Luton LU4 9RU, England
Hotel amenities
Chiltern Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Chiltern Hotel to your Saves list
Ranked #17 of 25 Hotels in Luton
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
Jones008 West Midlands, United Kingdom
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    47
    38
    36
    38
See reviews for
22
42
15
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (188)
  • Mar-May only
    (49)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (58)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (52)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (29)
All months
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
60 hotel reviews
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I have now given this hotel the benefit of the doubt on a handful of occasions, predominantly as it is very convenient to my place of work and I did want it to work out, I really did but i have now reached the end of the road. Rather than improving from my last review it is actually getting worse... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

i stayed here recently and yes very reasonably priced but poor poor service, firstly our keys didn't work and after 2 hours we were told by a trainee receptionist that there was no one at the hotel who could help, yes a trainee in charge of the hotel.......we were due to be at a party at the hotel and needed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
West Midlands, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

When I arrived the outside of the hotel looked very tired and could do with a bit of TLC, however, inside the banqueting room it looked stunning. The food was excellent great music and very friendly bar staff! I did stay that night and the bed was comfortable and the room was clean. The corridors could do with a paint.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

At first i was doubting my stay here because i was reading the other reviews, but.. After my stay i have no faults. Quick check in/out, Staff was very friendly and helpful all around! Room was nice and modern. Very clean, nice bathroom, comfortable beds!! Breakfast was also very nice! Thankyou for the lovely stay i will be returning!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Nothing special to report , poor internet connection but everything else worked. The staff all seem friendly and checkin/out was very fast. Parking is easy. While it is next to a main road, the traffic noise wasnt an issue. Jc

Was this review helpful? Yes
LTN911, Manager at Chiltern Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor; Your positive comments regarding the staff will be shared; I know they will all take great satisfaction from your feedback. Your sincerely Donna Bowers Executive Assistant Manager More

London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A disgusting filthy hovel.....would've been better than this foul tip. Disgusting bathroom (full of hair, no working shower head), no remote for TV, insect ridden bed (I'm still itching), radiator that couldn't be turned off, boiling hot room. And a couple next door apparently putting things inside each other. A chain lock for the door should tell you all you... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
LTN911, Manager at Chiltern Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer It is most regrettable that you were not able to highlight your concerns with a member of the Management Team at the time in order that we could address this immediately. If you could let me know the room you stayed in I can investigate this further. As for the comment regarding other hotel guests, this really is... More

Essex
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2014

We booked for a 1 night stay before our early flight to Egypt from Luton. Welcoming staff & quick check in. Good clean room, my only complaints: A. Plug socket too low on the wall for the kettle to plug in safely, had to balance it on the dustbin (not safe) B. Plug socket too far from the bedside table... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
LTN911, Manager at Chiltern Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor; I was very sorry to read your comments and may I firstly aplogise for the inconvenience caused and the disappointment you experienced. We are working our way through a refubishment of all rooms and plug sockets have been replaced. I am sorry that you were... More

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

stayed for 2 nights for an auction, I must admit was concerned with previous reports, however I must say I had a good stay, the staff could not do enough, the room was ok, especially for the price paid my only real complaint was that at breakfast there was lots of screaming children, not really the hotels fault, but also... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
LTN911, Manager at Chiltern Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor; it was a delight to read your comments. The motivation our teams get from positive feedback is crucial to our success and balances any reports we receive which are not so complimentary. I do hope we shall the pleasure of welcoming you back on a... More

kent
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

We recently stayed overnight as we had an early flight from Luton airport. From our arrival to our pick up by the taxi (included in the price) our visit was fantastic , incredibly friendly and helpful staff . The stay included our car parked for the duration of the holiday , exceptional value for money , our only disappointment was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
LTN911, Manager at Chiltern Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer I was delighted to read your positive feedback regarding all aspects of the hotel is much appreciated. This opportunity to review guest satisfaction is invaluable as it enables us to assess our performance and improve where necessary. We are very grateful for your support. Your sincerley Donna Bowers Executive Assistant Manager More

West Midlands, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

I stayed at this hotel on business. It was clean and the bed was comfortable. The staff were very friendly. Breakfast was ok with a good selection to choose from. The location is perfect if you need close access to the motorway.

Was this review helpful? Yes
LTN911, Manager at Chiltern Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor; it was a delight to read your comments. I do hope we shall have the pleasure of welcoming you back on a future occasion, when you can be assured of our personal attention. Your sincerely Donna Bowers Executive Assistant Manager More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Chiltern Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chiltern Hotel

Address: Waller Avenue, Luton LU4 9RU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Luton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chiltern Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your Chiltern Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

80 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (46)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (9)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay