We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 25 Luton hotels

Chiltern Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Waller Avenue, Luton LU4 9RU, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Chiltern Hotel to your Saves list
Chiltern Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
42%
Ranked #17 of 25 hotels in Luton
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Jaynee82 Glasgow
  • Overview
  • Reviews (178)
  • Photos (80)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (44)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

178 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    42
    37
    35
    36
See reviews for
20
40
15
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

I stayed at this hotel with husband and 2 children before a flight from luton airport, the location is really great meaning we didn't have to get up extra early before our flight! The main bonus was the hotel was very accommodating to my children nothing was too much trouble and a special meal was prepared in the restaurant! Not... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
51 hotel reviews
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Let me get the `thumbs down' points out of the way first. Hotel is tired and in dire need of refreshing. I stayed in room 114 for two nights and whilst reasonably clean on the surface, the bathroom had mould and grime on the ceiling, the shower curtain and the floor. The room was far too hot with a centralised... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
LTN911, Manager at Chiltern Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer Thank you for taking the time to write on Trip Advisor. Your positive comments regarding the staff will be shared; I know they will all take great satisfaction from your feedback. We are working our way through a refurbishments of all the rooms at the Hotel, I say this not as an excuse but occasionally some standards are... More

Inverness
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We returned from holiday in Portugal and had to stay in Luton in order to catch flight to Scotland the next day. we were late in arriving ( 1am) but were met by friendly staff at desk. -checked in found our room (319) very small, too warm for me , tried opening window but too much noise from road outside,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
LTN911, Manager at Chiltern Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer I am disappointed to note your feedback regarding your visit to The Chiltern Hotel; I am very sorry that you felt the hotel did not meet with your expectations. Guest feedback of any nature, whether it be negative or positive is essential in monitoring whether our guests' expectations are being met. Sadly this was not the case on... More

2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

read different reviews on this hotel some bad some not so good . we went to see beach boys at Hampton court palace , booked with national coaches .this hotel came as a pleasant surprise .we were in room 219 2nd floor ,modern décor clean and bathroom was modern and well presented , the usual stuff good tea and coffee... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
LTN911, Manager at Chiltern Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. The Management team and staff are committed to providing the very best service and experience for all our guests, every day. Therefore it is most reassuring that we reached your expectations on this occasion. Your sincerley Donna Bowers Execitve Assistant Manager More

Yorkshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

This hotel was thrust upon me after not being able to get anywhere else in the area at short notice . I had my reservations having read the previous trip advisor reviews and was expecting a repeat of Angelo's Hotel Faliraki 2002 (that quote will be lost on most of you but I am still scarred by it) I was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
LTN911, Manager at Chiltern Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer The motivation our teams get from positive feedback is crucial to our success and balances any reports which we receive which are not so complimentary. We accept these as part of our duty to improve and know that we don't always get it right. We are very grateful for your support. Your sincerley Donna Bowers Executive Assistant More

Southport, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for one night as working in the area, room and hotel was very dated and needed an overhaul, room was so hot and could not turn the temp down. Staff at breakfast were very helpful and friendly and the breakfast was good. Would not stay again unless they update the decor and turn down the heating.

Was this review helpful? Yes
LTN911, Manager at Chiltern Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer May I thank you for taking the time to place a review on TripAdvisor. Your positive comments regarding the staff with be shared; I know they will all take great satisfaction from your feedback. We are working our way through a refurbishment of all rooms at The Hotel and have completed the first floor with a further 15... More

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

I think other visitors have been cooked so it was my turn to be deep frozen. I am Scottish and it was to cold, even for me . You could see your breath in front of you. The staff were lovely but could offer no solution to the problems. I always have a standard room and a late arrival on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
LTN911, Manager at Chiltern Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest I was very sorry to read your comments on TripAdvisor and may I firstly aplogise for the inconvenience caused and the disappointment you experienced. Guest feedback of any nature, whether it be negative or positive is essential in monitoring whether our guests' expectations are being met. Sadly this was not the case on this occasion, for which I... More

Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

We made a last minute booking after having to make plans for a 6am flight from Luton airport. Paid 60£ for the night without breakfast. Check-in was fine. Hotel interior is what you would expect for an airport hotel. Room was ok. Bed was comfortable, TV worked. No fridge. Bathroom was a bit grotty and floor was flooded after a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
LTN911, Manager at Chiltern Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. We are working our way through a refurbishment of all rooms at The Hotel and have completed the first floor with 15 about to commence in September 2014. I say this not as an excuse but occasionally some standards are overlooked during busy periods. I do... More

Brentwood, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

I travel regularly for work and this hotel is the worst that I have stayed at in the UK. It is boiling. When booking I was invited to upgrade to an Executive room which I did. I paid £84 inc breakfast for myself and my wife for 1 night. It seems that an Executive room is simply a standard room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
LTN911, Manager at Chiltern Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer Thank you for your feedback and I am sorry to note you had some negative experiences during your visit. It is most regrettable that you were not able to highlight your concers regarding your bedroom with a member of the Management Team at the time, in order that we could address this immediately. We would have been more... More

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Before i start getting into this place i will say i think the staff were great here and doing the best they could with an awful hotel. I stayed here for two weeks as it was close to family and other commitments. Firstly the hotel was so hot. Got in my room and the heat knocked me back. Radiators on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
LTN911, Manager at Chiltern Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer Your positive comments regarding the staff will be shared; I know they will all take great satisfaction from your feedback. We are working our way through a refurbishment of all rooms at The Hotel and have completed the first floor with a further 15 about to commence in September 2014. Guest feedback of any nature, whether it be... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Chiltern Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Chiltern Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chiltern Hotel

Address: Waller Avenue, Luton LU4 9RU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Luton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chiltern Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Chiltern Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

80 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (46)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (9)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Chiltern Hotel is a 3 star property with easy access from the M1. This modern business hotel has a friendly and welcoming atmosphere. Situated on the outskirts of Luton town centre, the Chiltern hotel is within close proximity of Luton airport (5 Miles) and London (35 Miles). This property was built in 1965, renovated in 1996 and in 2007. From the moment you arrive at the hotel you can expect to receive the warmest of welcomes from our friendly staff, which will be on hand throughout your stay to guarantee your comfort. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
97

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer