We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Chiltern Hotel

3.0 of 5
Waller Avenue, Luton LU4 9RU, England
Hotel amenities
Chiltern Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ranked #17 of 24 Hotels in Luton
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 5 days ago
Wino1962 Perth and Kinross, United Kingdom
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    54
    39
    38
    45
See reviews for
24
45
15
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (208)
  • Mar-May only
    (56)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (58)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (52)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (42)
All months
Perth and Kinross, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Down in Luton for a funeral and my mate booked here as he had stayed before. For £65 for a room with en suite I wasn't going to complain given the prices for hotels nearer the airport. I can only give a brief overview as I only stayed one night but here goes- Good points- clean room (good view), comfortable... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
LTN911, Manager at Chiltern Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor; it was a delight to read your comments. We are working our way through a refurbishment of all rooms at the Hotel and have completed the first floor with a further 15 about to commence in September 2015. I say this not as an excuse... More 

Surrey, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We had a lovely stay at Chiltern Hotel. Attended cousin's wedding so stayed the night before and the night of the wedding. Could not fault anything! The staff were very welcoming from the start of our stay until we checked out. Food was delicious and nothing was a problem. Look forward to staying again!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
LTN911, Manager at Chiltern Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer Thank you for taking the time to share the benefit of your experience and for choosing Chiltern Hotel. I am delighted to note you enjoyed all aspects of your visit. Your positive comments regarding the staff will be shared; I know they will all take great satisfaction from your feedback. I do hope we shall have the pleasure... More 

2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I have been in this "Hotel" for about two days.It was horrible, rooms very dirty,no decorating rooms and staff very ruff ..Just one boy was very kind and that it is.Only the food was reasonable. there are better places to stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
LTN911, Manager at Chiltern Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer Thank you for your feedback and I am sorry to note you had some negative experiences during your visit. It is most regrettable that you were not able to highlight your concerns regarding your bedroom with a member of the Management Team at the time, in order that we could address this immediately. We would have been more... More 

Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had an amazing night, as soon as I walked in. The lady at the reception was amazing. The hotel itself was nice. Bed was comfy and view was also nice. This is the first time I stayed here and to be honest I think I might be coming back. This has to be the 2nd best hotel in Luton, after... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
LTN911, Manager at Chiltern Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor; it was a delight to read your comments. I do hope we shall have the pleasure of welcoming you back on a future occasion, when you can be assured of personal attention. Your sincerely Donna Hayward Executive Assistant Manager More 

Dunstable, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

wedding service was good. managed to sort out decorations, catering and sound system all from the hotel. manager made himself available when needed. Rooms were a different storey. booked 3 rooms and all rooms had problems with the shower. no cold water and only had very hot water. Not what a bride needs before her big day. moved to a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
LTN911, Manager at Chiltern Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer It was a delight to read your positive feedback from your function held here. Your comments regarding the staff will be shared; With regards to the accommodation, we did have issues with the hot water on this evening you were moved to another room, however, unfortunately the problem was unable to be resolved, and as a gesture of... More 

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2015

My family and I stayed at the Chiltern Hotel as we had a function there.The food was excellent, great music. The hotel was clean and rooms were lovely and warm. The staff were brilliant very friendly and helpful they couldn't do enough to make are stay a enjoyable one. My only negative would be its needs a bit of a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
LTN911, Manager at Chiltern Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer I was delighted to read your positive feedback regarding all aspects of the hotel is much appreciated. This opportunity to review guest satisfaction is invaluable as it enables us to assess our performance and improve where necessary. May I thank you for taking the time to place a review on Trip Advisor. Your sincerely Donna Hayward Executive Assistant... More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2015 via mobile

I have stayed at this hotel a few times and must say everytime I return to Luton will definitely be staying with this hotel. The rooms are very clean and modern very nice. The housekeepers are also amazing and very helpful. Food is lovely. All staff are amazing and would like to thank them for their service and I will... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
LTN911, Manager at Chiltern Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor; it was a delight to read your comments. Your positive comments regarding the staff will be shared; I know they will all take great satisfaction from your feedback. I do hope we shall have the pleasure of welcoming you back on a future occasion, when... More 

Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2015

The Hotel looks great from the outside, but you should never judge a book by the cover. On arrival I walked into the reception are and immediately felt negative vibes. I just couldn't put my finger on what was wrong until later. I tried to check in, but was initially told that I was not booked in for that night.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
LTN911, Manager at Chiltern Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer We have gone through your comments on Trip Advisor. We are responding directly to you as we do take your comments very seriously, and this also helps us to raise our standards to the guest expectations. I apologise for the inconvenience caused during check-in, however, this was rectified immediately, and this was due to a system error. The... More 

Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2015

I stayed in the hotel for one evening as there were no better hotels available locally. Whilst I managed to tolerate the 1996 standard internet and the television with a seemingly toy remote control which had no impact on what occurred on the screen the final straw was me waiting for over an hour in the morning to obtain an... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
LTN911, Manager at Chiltern Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest I was very sorry to read your comments on TripAdvisor and may I firstly aplogise for the inconvenience caused and the disappointment you experienced. Guest feedback of any nature, whether it be negative or positive is essential in monitoring whether our guests' expectations are being me. Sadly this was not the case on this occasion. I do hope... More 

Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2015

My 8th, and final stay at this hotel (June 2014), left me in a state of utter despair. The hotel is now nothing more than a refuge for DSS destitutes, and is unsuitable for decent paying guests. The restaurant is now only operating part time, and breakfast is an on-off affair, dependent on the attendance of staff. The rooms are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
LTN911, Manager at Chiltern Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your feedback, we are investigating the issues mentioned. We have refurbished most of our bedrooms and they are up to the standards of a 3* hotel, accredited by an approved Agency. Luton on a whole is very busy and there has been an increase in room rates across the board, but we have still kept... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

85 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (50)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (9)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question