We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 18 Newbury hotels

The Vineyard At Stockcross

5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Stockcross, Newbury RG20 8JU, England
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
£229 rooms this Autumn
Save Saved
You added The Vineyard At Stockcross to your Saves list
The Vineyard At Stockcross
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
79%
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Newbury
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
katherinem_11 Shepperton
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    346
    97
    64
    24
    28
See reviews for
45
310
7
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Shepperton
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Our second visit, but just as good as our first. Though formal the staff were all very relaxed and chatty, our waitress and the Sommelier even jokey and fun. The food was superb, rarely have we experienced such well presented food which also tastes great. The plates have many flavours but you can taste them all, each mouthful different, and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

As I drove up to the entrance a very friendly, helpful valet met me and offered to take our bags to reception and then up to our room, and parked our car. The suite was spacious clean and tidy with fabulous bed and marble bathroom. We over looked the fountain and gardens outside the entrance. Dinner was beautiful and the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Just getting in to Tripadvisor, this is a review from back in Christmas 2012 when we stayed for three nights. Can't exactly remember the room type but I think it was their top room or one down, very nice room, very large bedroom, with equally large bathroom and lounge area. The hotel is impressive both internally and externally with a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marwan H, General Manager at The Vineyard At Stockcross, responded to this review

Thanks for reviewing your festive stay with us in 2012. It’s great to read you were happy with your room, but I’m disappointed to hear that there were issues with your TV. I’m glad it was finally resolved though. I’m pleased you had a wonderful experience in our restaurant and were able to enjoy both of our tasting menus at... More

Haslemere, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
82 hotel reviews
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Had a very nice meal (private dining area, corporate dinner), and accommodation. Food was excellent, and the room (we had 118 IIRC Caymus), on the ground floor was spacious and nicely decorated. My wife used the spa and said it was very nice. But I didnt see it for myself!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marwan H, General Manager at The Vineyard At Stockcross, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to give your feedback on your recent experience with us. It’s great to read that you enjoyed your dining experience and were happy with your room. I hope on your next visit you will be able to spend a few relaxing hours in our tranquil spa. I look forward to welcoming you and your wife... More

middlesex
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here with my husband a couple of weeks ago in celebration of our anniversary. Were promised a Deluxe Suite with complimentary upgrade to Atrium Suite (most pics on the website show a suite with either patio or balcony, we had neither). Walked into the suite and it STANK of smoke, opened the french doors and went out for a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Marwan H, General Manager at The Vineyard At Stockcross, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay. On reading your review I was disappointed to read that your stay wasn’t as you had expected. Our hotel is a non smoking hotel in all public areas and bedrooms so that’s unacceptable that your room smelt of smoke, and thank you for bringing it my attention. I’m also sorry... More

1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Cleaning standards in our room were very poor ,cob webs and dust and carpet stains . Staff had no ideas how to use the towel rail in the room our how to get warm air in the room. Had to send back food to the restaurant due to tasting very sour !! it was a very disappointing stay for us... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Marwan H, General Manager at The Vineyard At Stockcross, responded to this review

I was disappointed to read your review and of the problems you had with your room, the food and the service you received. Please accept my sincere apologies and thank you for highlighting the issues you had with your room, which will be relayed to our housekeeping team. Every room should be spotless before each guest checks-in and poor cleaning... More

Catskill Region, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The room was modern (without being hip or over-designed). All modern conveniences, comfortable bed, small lounge area, quality fixtures in bathroom. The room service was delicious, so too was breakfast. Definitely a perfect hotel for business travelers, and those looking for high-standards in modern accommodation and delicious food. Friendly and helpful staff.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marwan H, General Manager at The Vineyard At Stockcross, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback on your recent stay with us. I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and found the rooms to be of a high standard as well as the room service and breakfast. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards Marwan Hemchaoui General Manager More

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My partner and I went for our anniversary. Our room was incredibly spacious and peaceful. The bath was huge. We enjoyed a relaxing afternoon in the spa which wasn't overcrowded. Nothing could have prepared us however for the food. Sublime. The Lobster carpaccio was an absolute dream and the wine complemented each course beautifully. The staff were impeccable. I really... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marwan H, General Manager at The Vineyard At Stockcross, responded to this review

It’s lovely to hear you had such a wonderful experience with us, and I’m so pleased you enjoyed your food and wine pairing experience. We’ve had lots of comments about how delicious the lobster carpaccio is so it’s great to hear you loved this dish too. Thank you for your lovely comments about our friendly staff and I look forward... More

Marchwood, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

When we arrived at the hotel I was rather disappointed, it looked like a retirement home rather than a 5 star hotel. There was a sign saying valet parking but no one came to help park the car or get our luggage. Once inside I was more happy with the surroundings but not wowed. We were staying in a suite... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Marwan H, General Manager at The Vineyard At Stockcross, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to feedback about your recent stay. It’s fantastic to hear that you really enjoyed the food and wine matching experience, and found your room very comfortable. I’m sorry to hear though that you didn’t receive your Champagne and that no one was there to greet you on arrival to park your car or help with... More

England
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I had expected a lot from this hotel, so I may be being harsh, but I always try to be honest. Bad points - The service was the slowest I have ever experienced, and I like to be relaxed. When we arrived the doorman was nowhere to be seen and we ended up carrying our own bags and parking our... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Marwan H, General Manager at The Vineyard At Stockcross, responded to this review

Many thanks for reviewing your recent stay with us. I’m pleased you had a great food and wine experience and enjoyed your time in the spa. However, I’m sorry to hear that you experienced slow service, were not greeted by a member of staff on arrival and didn’t not receive replacement toiletries. Thank you for highlighting all of these points.... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Vineyard At Stockcross, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Vineyard At Stockcross? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vineyard At Stockcross

Address: Stockcross, Newbury RG20 8JU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Newbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Vineyard At Stockcross 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your The Vineyard At Stockcross reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Vineyard At Stockcross Hotel Newbury
Vineyard At Stockcross Newbury
Vineyard At Stockcross Hotel Newbury
The Vineyard At Stockcross Newbury, England

151 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (123)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (23)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (56)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (15)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Newbury with
any amenities