We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Vineyard At Stockcross

5.0 of 5 Stockcross, Newbury RG20 8JU, England
Hotel website
Click for phone number
Announcement
New Year's Eve
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
The Vineyard At Stockcross
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Vineyard At Stockcross
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    365
    103
    70
    24
    28
See reviews for
48
323
7
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (590)
  • Mar-May only
    (151)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (173)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (148)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (118)
All months
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

May I post a different review of the luncheon previously posted by Chris, as I think his view unduly harsh. On returning home from this event I immediately emailed the Chamber to say how impressed I was with the Vineyard's hospitality, service and food, and hoped they would return again soon. The welcoming champagne was a delight, and the food... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marwan H, General Manager at The Vineyard At Stockcross, responded to this review

Many thanks for such a positive review regarding the Chamber lunch you attended. It was really great to have some many members at The Vineyard celebrating 2014 and networking with other members. We really enjoyed hosting the lunch and I'm really pleased you had such a great time. I look forward to welcoming you back in the new year. Kind... More 

Portsmouth
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We arrived for a night away at The Vineyard with high hopes. We were shown to our room and were initially pleased. The lady greeting us confirmed our restaurant reservation although there seemed to be some confusion as we had booked for 7.45pm yet she has 7.30pm down. No matter though as she altered the booking. She told us that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marwan H, General Manager at The Vineyard At Stockcross, responded to this review

I was really disappointed to read your review about your recent stay with us. I can only agree that the room and breakfast standard was unacceptable, and for this I can only apologise. I would really appreciate it if you would contact me on my mobile on 07584 332955 to further discuss the issues you highlighted. I look forward to... More 

Cricklade, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
5 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We've been to the Vineyard for Tea and immediately decided to book a Dinner. As a Christmas treat, we thought we'd stay overnight, and it was everything we expected it to be. We had the seven course Tasting Menu with an superb (that word again!) bottle of Sancerre. We thoroughly enjoyed the food with a helpful explanation from the the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marwan H, General Manager at The Vineyard At Stockcross, responded to this review

I’m so pleased you had such a wonderful experience with us and it lived up to your expectations; thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. It’s great to hear you were happy with your room and really loved the tasting menu and wine you chose to enjoy with your dinner. We look forward to welcoming... More 

Christchurch, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our stay at the Vineyard was excellent from start to finish. We stayed in a suite which was really large with luxury marble bathroom, simply divine for relaxing and sipping champagne! We chose the four course dinner with matching wines, a different wine for each course, and the attention to detail was superb both from the waiting staff and our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marwan H, General Manager at The Vineyard At Stockcross, responded to this review

It was fantastic to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay, in particular the food and wine matching experience and your luxurious suite. I’m really pleased our waiting staff made the evening for you and I really hope to welcome you back in the near future. Kind regards Marwan Hemchaoui General Manager More 

2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

After my last review the Vineyard team welcome us back with a upgraded room . We were both taken back by the welcome we had and the room was just amazing! prior to dinner we were met by the head Chef Daniel who went through the menu with us and explained in great detail the food ,that alone was just... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marwan H, General Manager at The Vineyard At Stockcross, responded to this review

I was so pleased to read that you had a wonderful experience at The Vineyard this time around. It was fantastic to hear that you had such a lovely dinner, and Daniel was able to spend some valuable time with you throughout the evening. I really look forward to welcoming you this New Year’s Eve on our two night break... More 

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed there for a weekend with our little one of 1 year and rooms are pretty and spotless! The service was amazing and a special thanks to Thibaut who will tell you everything about wine ;) The cook at the end of the service comes to shake your hand which brings always a plus! And thanks for the departure... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marwan H, General Manager at The Vineyard At Stockcross, responded to this review

Thanks very much for posting a lovely review about your recent stay with us. It's always great to receive good feedback, and I'm really pleased you enjoyed the food and wine experience, were happy with your room and the service you received. I look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards Marwan Hemchaoui General Manager More 

Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
12 hotel reviews
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Here for a business conference and what a delight. Rooms good, spacious, Nespresso, nice if a little dated bathrooms and dressing room. Bar friendly, easy to eat on your own, however food generally excellent. For mass catering the best I've ever had. Fresh pastries, cakes, and fine dining presentation for the evening group meal despite large numbers. Best thing of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marwan H, General Manager at The Vineyard At Stockcross, responded to this review

Thanks for posting such a great review about your recent business visit to The Vineyard. It's fantastic to hear that you enjoyed all the food served during your stay and were happy with your room in general. Thank you for your kind words about our staff, they are a great asset to us. I look forward to welcoming you back... More 

Milan, Italy
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Unfortunately it was a business visit and I couldn't take advantage of the Spa and of the facilities as I would have liked. The hotel is stylish and has a very good chef, it's giving you the feeling of a real vinary countryside location.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marwan H, General Manager at The Vineyard At Stockcross, responded to this review

Many thanks for reviewing your recent business visit. I'm pleased you had an enjoyable stay, but I hope we can welcome you back on a leisure visit soon so that you have time to enjoy and relax in our tranquil spa. Kind regards Marwan Hemchaoui General Manager More 

Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2014

We booked several weeks in advance via the website, it was difficult to get through on the phone so had several email conversations to confirm the Romantic Package and the details such as what lunch we required at the spa, treatments we wanted and the champagne and chocolates for the room! On arrival there were several people stood around a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marwan H, General Manager at The Vineyard At Stockcross, responded to this review

I was really disappointed to read your review having stayed on our Romantic Getaway package. I can only apologise for the service you received during your stay. I’m pleased you enjoyed the food and wine matching dinner in our restaurant, but I’m sorry for the slow service you experienced. When staying in a five star hotel such as The Vineyard... More 

Bath
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2014

We stayed as a couple for one night during the week having been to the restaurant a few years ago. We stayed in a suite which was large and well presented. Breakfast was very good and the food in the bar too. Whilst many positives for a 5 star hotel there were a few disappointments ... I asked for a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Marwan H, General Manager at The Vineyard At Stockcross, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. I was disappointed to read that your experience with us this time wasn’t to the high standard you had become accustomed to. Thank you for your kind comments about the good points about the hotel, but it is not good enough for the wake up call not to have happened, for... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Vineyard At Stockcross? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vineyard At Stockcross

Address: Stockcross, Newbury RG20 8JU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Newbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Vineyard At Stockcross 5*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and EasyToBook so you can book your The Vineyard At Stockcross reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Vineyard At Stockcross Hotel Newbury
Vineyard At Stockcross Newbury
Vineyard At Stockcross Hotel Newbury
The Vineyard At Stockcross Newbury, England
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Newbury
#1 Luxury Hotel in Newbury
#1 Romantic Hotel in Newbury
#2 Family Hotel in Newbury

152 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (124)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (25)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (15)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay