We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Vineyard At Stockcross

5.0 of 5 Stockcross, Newbury RG20 8JU, England
Hotel website
Offers & Announcements
�229 rooms this Autumn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
The Vineyard At Stockcross
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Vineyard At Stockcross
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    359
    103
    69
    24
    28
See reviews for
46
320
7
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (583)
  • Mar-May only
    (151)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (173)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (148)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (111)
All months
Milan, Italy
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Unfortunately it was a business visit and I couldn't take advantage of the Spa and of the facilities as I would have liked. The hotel is stylish and has a very good chef, it's giving you the feeling of a real vinary countryside location.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marwan H, General Manager at The Vineyard At Stockcross, responded to this review

Many thanks for reviewing your recent business visit. I'm pleased you had an enjoyable stay, but I hope we can welcome you back on a leisure visit soon so that you have time to enjoy and relax in our tranquil spa. Kind regards Marwan Hemchaoui General Manager More

Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked several weeks in advance via the website, it was difficult to get through on the phone so had several email conversations to confirm the Romantic Package and the details such as what lunch we required at the spa, treatments we wanted and the champagne and chocolates for the room! On arrival there were several people stood around a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marwan H, General Manager at The Vineyard At Stockcross, responded to this review

I was really disappointed to read your review having stayed on our Romantic Getaway package. I can only apologise for the service you received during your stay. I’m pleased you enjoyed the food and wine matching dinner in our restaurant, but I’m sorry for the slow service you experienced. When staying in a five star hotel such as The Vineyard... More

Bath
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed as a couple for one night during the week having been to the restaurant a few years ago. We stayed in a suite which was large and well presented. Breakfast was very good and the food in the bar too. Whilst many positives for a 5 star hotel there were a few disappointments ... I asked for a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Marwan H, General Manager at The Vineyard At Stockcross, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. I was disappointed to read that your experience with us this time wasn’t to the high standard you had become accustomed to. Thank you for your kind comments about the good points about the hotel, but it is not good enough for the wake up call not to have happened, for... More

Gosport, England, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Having spent several nights and great meals at the Vineyard in the past, I have to say this "Special" wine extravaganza left me feeling a little disappointed. My partner and I stayed for two nights, the first was a meal with two matching wines per course, while the food was good, the portions were a little mean and the food... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marwan H, General Manager at The Vineyard At Stockcross, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us on Trip Advisor. I’m pleased you enjoyed your dinner on the Friday night, but was disappointed to read that you felt the portion sizes weren’t big enough. The dinner on Friday was a tasting dinner so naturally the courses are smaller to reflect this. The food should... More

Henley on Thames
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We recently spent the day at the Spa and The Vineyard had had a wonderful day. Although slightly unorthodox in its layout - you have to walk quite a distance from the pool through the hotel to the treatment rooms - it was a genuinely relaxing day. The staff are great, attentive and keen to ensure you fully enjoy your... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marwan H, General Manager at The Vineyard At Stockcross, responded to this review

Hi Marwan Thanks for reviewing your recent spa day on Trip Advisor. It was fantastic to read that you had such an enjoyable and relaxing day with us. Thank you for your kind words about our staff and I'm pleased you enjoyed your bento box. We only take a small number of spa days per day to ensure that the... More

St. Brides Netherwent, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

A group of four of us arranged to have dinner and stay over as a treat for a good year end. The service was superb, food (tasting menu) was excellent. We had a lot of fun rating the wines that came with each dish. Rooms were lovely. All in all very well worth while.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marwan H, General Manager at The Vineyard At Stockcross, responded to this review

Thank you for such a wonderful review. It's great to hear that the four of you had such a lovely stay with us and enjoyed the tasting menu and matching wines experience. I hope to welcome you back again in the near future. Kind regards Marwan Hemchaoui General Manager More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My family and I went here recently for cream tea and some glasses of wine. We had an amazing time in beautiful surroundings. The settings was perfect; a roaring fire, great wine and friendly people. In addition, and something which can make or break a place in my opinion, the staff were extremely genuine and polite. They also were hugely... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marwan H, General Manager at The Vineyard At Stockcross, responded to this review

Thank you so much for posting such a lovely review regarding your recent afternoon tea experience. Thank you for your kind words about the hotel surroundings and the politeness of our staff, that’s really great to hear. I really look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards Marwan Hemchaoui General Manager More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The room was lovely but only had coffee facilities, no tea. The bath was not very clean. The restaurant was lovely and the food is second to none. The service in the restaurant is very attentive without being intrusive. The staffs knowledge of the meal and wines they are serving is very detailed. I have stayed there on numerous occasions... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marwan H, General Manager at The Vineyard At Stockcross, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I'm pleased you had a great experience with us when it came to the food and wine and were happy with your room overall. Thank you for bringing the cleanliness of the bath to my attention, this is something I will address with our housekeeping team. We do... More

Rockport, Texas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel is very nice, but I don't think it rates $300 USD per night. At check in no one helped with our bags and we had to carry them up and down staircases and a long hike to the room. The rooms are very nicely appointed and had everything we could need. On a positive note they were very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Marwan H, General Manager at The Vineyard At Stockcross, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I’m sorry to hear that there wasn’t a porter available to carry your bags to your room. We are always able to offer this service, but it may mean during busy periods that there may be a short wait for your bags to arrive in your room.... More

Stowe, Vermont
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was a lovely property with a lot of amenities and great service. The food was outstanding and the chef, Daniel Galmiche, was nice enough to accommodate in giving my husband and me a personal tour of the kitchen. If you enjoy wine you will love this place as it is all about wine and great food. The spa was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marwan H, General Manager at The Vineyard At Stockcross, responded to this review

It was great to read that you enjoyed your time here, were really happy with the food and wine you experienced and the service you received. We love wine here and I hope you were able to take in our glass floored wine vault housing over 800 bottles. I’m pleased you enjoyed spending time in our spa, but was disappointed... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Vineyard At Stockcross? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vineyard At Stockcross

Address: Stockcross, Newbury RG20 8JU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Newbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Vineyard At Stockcross 5*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Vineyard At Stockcross reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Vineyard At Stockcross Hotel Newbury
Vineyard At Stockcross Newbury
Vineyard At Stockcross Hotel Newbury
The Vineyard At Stockcross Newbury, England

151 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (123)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (23)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (56)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (15)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay