We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Donnington Valley

Certificate of Excellence
Old Oxford Road | Donnington, Newbury RG14 3AG, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Donnington Valley
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Donnington Valley
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    205
    101
    39
    9
See reviews for
59
239
20
119
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (630)
  • Mar-May only
    (172)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (160)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (163)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (135)
All months
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed at the donnington for one night with my three daughters. The hotel is in need of a little decoration as it does look tired in places. The food at dinner was excellent although drinks are quite pricey. Breakfast was disappointing. The mushrooms were swimming in oil, there were no tomatoes and the scrambled egg was hard. There were no... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Norfolk
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed for 5 nights whilst entering some senior golf events nearby - generally we rated the hotel very highly - the rooms were clean & comfortable with sky sports on telly !! Shame the pillows were mega flat - the bathrooms were very high standard & nice decor but the shower heads were very small & weak - breakfast... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Torquay, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My wife and I stayed here for 1 night to attend a wedding and we had a really enjoyable experience. We stayed in a classic double room which was really was nice, clean, and had everything you needed. We didn't have chance to use the pool or spa facilities however we did go and have a look before we left... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Me and my partner have stayed here a few times now and it has always been a pleasure. Lovely rooms, good breakfast and in a peaceful location that you can also travel to the town for a meal out. Would definitely recommend

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cuffley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We are currently staying at the Donnington Valley for a golfing weekend with friends. The hotel is lovely. Quite busy as their is a wedding taking place but it's not had any effect on our stay. We thought it might as we have a room at the front of the hotel but no it's all sound proofed well. The room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed in an executive room only for one night. The hotel deserves its 4 star rating. The facilities provided by the hotel is excellent and the staff is helpful. The restaurant get booked up very quickly but you can stay in the bar and order your food. Hot breakfast was served, coffee was slow to arrive but we had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

They do a special deal for 2 nights for wedding guests, with a free evening meal thrown in. The complimentary spa/gym facilities were excellent, our room and food were good, and the wedding itself was superbly managed. Reception staff were ever so friendly and helpful. Only two niggles. 1: you should not have to get up to find a waiter... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DVH-HM, General Manager at Donnington Valley, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at our hotel. I am very happy to read that you had a great wedding weekend and that you have the opportunity to try and enjoy most of what our hotel has to offer, including the spa and gym facilities. However, I am disappointed to hear that our service... More 

Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed one night at this hotel, thankfully it was only one night. Its in need of a refurbishment. My bedroom room seemed to be up in the attic with velux windows. The room was warm but quite dark until the blinds were opened and I put the lights on. Food was average, wine selection good. The sauna and gym... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DVH-HM, General Manager at Donnington Valley, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your recent stay. I am sorry to hear that your room was not as you had expected it. However, I am happy you have enjoyed your lunch and had the opportunity to enjoy a nice time at the sauna and gym. We hope that you consider to stay with... More 

Southampton
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

5 Ladies went for a weekend spa at Donnington. Facilities are very good, with a decent size pool, sauna, steam room, aroma room along with good changing facilities. Treatments were excellent and the staff were very obliging for fun demanding women of a certain age ! Like to thank the receptionist at the Spa (Jana) who was very kind and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DVH-HM, General Manager at Donnington Valley, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your thoughts on your recent stay with us. I am very pleased to hear that you and your friends enjoyed yourselves so much at our spa, and that our staff made you feel so welcome. In particular, I am delighetd to hear that you enjoyed the dining facilities and your accommodation. We... More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Disappointing Booked a 2 night stay, Friday and Saturday night to take my wife away for her birthday. Donnington Valley is a golfers hotel, not somewhere to come for a romantic break, be warned. There are no grounds to walk around, which I was disappointed about, as the website gives it a much grander look, showing views, however, these are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
DVH-HM, General Manager at Donnington Valley, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. The golf course can be dangerous which is why we recommend that guests don’t walk across it for fear of getting hit by a ball. We do have maps on a lovely walk which is available behind the hotel which leads up to... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

98 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (84)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (17)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities