We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Donnington Valley

Certificate of Excellence
Old Oxford Road | Donnington, Newbury RG14 3AG, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Donnington Valley
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Donnington Valley
Share an Experience

607 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    196
    97
    37
    9
See reviews for
57
226
19
116
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (607)
  • Mar-May only
    (149)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (160)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (163)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (135)
All months
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Very pleasant hotel, with a surprisingly good Spa facility. Having been to this hotel for business meetings and lunches before, I hadn't seen the Spa building or facility, but I was very pleasantly surprised by what is there and the staff they had. I went as part of a group of 10 girls on our annual Spa weekend. We are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Thatcham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I got treated by my husband to have a full body massage in Donnington's Spa on Valentine's Day. Hotel and surroundings are lovely, and staff are friendly. I understand it was very busy day for spa ladies, however it was a special day for me, and unfortunately I felt rushed and not welcomed. Lady who looked after me, gave me... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Oxford
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Fabulous stay. The hotel was very clean and tidy throughout, as was our Executive room, and the staff couldn't have been more friendly, polite and helpful. We arrived early to make the most of the spa facilities and our room was ready for us (10.30am!). The spa was lovely and the day was very relaxing. You couldn't fault our afternoon... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were a large group of friends, staying at the hotel for a night on their 'Love Donnington' package, and what a package it was. We were all very impressed with the food (cream tea, dinner and breakfast) - the cooking was rather high quality, particularly the excellent gravadlax and guinea fowl - and the spacious rooms (Reception didn't say,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hants
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Bar service ignorant despite not being busy. Room smelt of body odour. Shower luke warm at best - asked to change room for a hot shower and got that, only to find the hot water ran out after two minutes. Not the first bad experience with this place, will definitely be the last. Can't understand how there are any reviews... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DVH-HM, General Manager at Donnington Valley, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I was disappointed to read that your experience with us wasn't as enjoyable as expected. I would like to apologise for the lack of hot water despite you moving rooms. Thank you for your feedback regarding our bar staff. This is not acceptable, and I will be... More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

stayed at donnington valley spa hotel for 1 night spa /meal/room/breakfast in march 2015 from booking the break to checking in the service was great.had our spa treatment early so we could chill out for the rest of the day.had our meal in the bar area which was very nice,there was a big party on in one of the function... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DVH-HM, General Manager at Donnington Valley, responded to this review

Great to read that you had such a lovely stay with us recently. I’m so pleased you were happy with your room, dinner and breakfast, and managed to spend time relaxing in our spa after your treatment. I look forward to welcoming you back again soon to Donnington Valley. Kind regards Sally Russell More 

Hampshire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our party of 40 golfers has just returned from a really excellent, good value weekend break. The hotel exceeded our expectations: friendly, helpful and attentive staff (Frank and Piroska in particular), clean & spacious rooms, great menu choices and delicious food - all well prepared and served hot (always difficult in big parties). Our private dining was much appreciated and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DVH-HM, General Manager at Donnington Valley, responded to this review

Fantastic to hear you had such a brilliant weekend with us from the golf and rooms to the food and service. I’m really looking forward to you booking again with us and experiencing another great weekend with fellow golfers. Kind regards Sally Russell More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed overnight as part of a spa and dinner package. Overall, the service was brilliant and for that I would have given 5 stars. The staff who did our treatments were absolutely lovely. Even though we didn't book treatments in advance (do this if you do book a break here!) and were the last customers on a Friday evening,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DVH-HM, General Manager at Donnington Valley, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor. I was pleased to read that you had a pleasant stay with us and really enjoyed the treatments you had. Thank you for your kind comments about our staff and service you received, it’s always lovely to hear when staff members have made a guest stay more enjoyable. Thanks for your... More 

Oxfordshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our children booked this as an anniversary suprise (our 25th) - Stay & Spa break. We had a warm welcome on check in, was upgraded and had a lovely suprise waiting in our room - thank you to the Hotel it was much appreciated. Our room was spacious, very clean, comfortable and quiet. This was our first Spa break so... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DVH-HM, General Manager at Donnington Valley, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent spa experience. It was fantastic to hear that you had such an enjoyable time with us celebrating your anniversary. I’m pleased you liked your room and enjoyed breakfast, and thank you for highlighting some of the issues you had. Our staff are always happy to show guests... More 

Oxford
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I went with 5 friends for a one night spa break. We had such a lovely time. Warm welcome & a lovely room got us off to a good start. The poor is a good size and the changing rooms have everything you need! We relaxed by the pool, had a jacuzzi, and enjoyed afternoon tea in the bar area.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DVH-HM, General Manager at Donnington Valley, responded to this review

Thanks for writing such a lovely review on Trip Advisor. I was really pleased to read that your spa break with friends was really enjoyable and you were happy with every aspect of your stay from the afternoon tea and your rooms to the spa facilities and dinner in the restaurant. I’m sorry that service was slow and you were... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

98 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (84)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (17)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question