We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 18 Newbury hotels

Donnington Valley

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Old Oxford Road | Donnington, Newbury RG14 3AG, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Donnington Valley to your Saves list
Donnington Valley
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
77%
Ranked #5 of 18 hotels in Newbury
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
skiman202 Ashford, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (495)
  • Photos (92)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (105)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

495 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    218
    161
    79
    30
    7
See reviews for
45
186
16
92
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ashford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Booked this one night golf break sometime ago but as it was good value (2 rounds golf, dinner, Bed & Breakfast) I was not expecting that much . Weather helped (we had two glorious days) but room (Classic Twin) was very good (very well appointed and good size), food (Market Menu) although limited choice, was excellent quality (with very good... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dereham,norfolkUnited Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Something I cannot put my finger on prevented me giving 5*s. We went for a two night stay and my first impression was not good. Front of office staff in reception and especially in the restaurant were very austere. This might have something to do with their all black uniform but Could have been friendlier. Restaurant menu was very expensive... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Second time visiting this hotel, and stay was just as great. Had booked a classic room but was given an executive room, was lovely spacious, comfy bed, very large room came with a safe and a fridge. Only fault was that that the pressure on the shower wasn't enough for us, we like a power shower ha. The spa at... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Southampton UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Took 7 friends for an overnight stay and a couple of rounds of golf. After a particularly unpleasant start with an obnoxious little madam on reception who has clearly made the wrong career choice ( hospitality ), we went on to have 2 great rounds of golf, an excellent dinner ( served by the cheerful and helpful Moses ), an... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Really enjoyed a one night package including a treatment in the Spa .All the staff were very attentive and professional.The place was very clean with lots of nice touches in the rooms.Food was good .Basically had a really relaxing , pampering time .Great place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
DVH-HM, General Manager at Donnington Valley, responded to this review

Thanks for your lovely review on Trip Advisor. I'm really glad you enjoyed your stay with us and had lovely, relaxing time in our spa. Thanks for your kind comments about your room and the food, and I hope we can welcome you back soon for another, relaxing pamper break. Kind regards Sally Russell More

Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
34 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was my second time staying here as the local office is close by. I checked in, and the reception staff were friendly and helpful. I was given room 110 which, as I discovered once I was in the room, was a disabled access room. I really don't like these rooms and I really dislike being given one and not... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
DVH-HM, General Manager at Donnington Valley, responded to this review

Thanks for reviewing your recent stay with us on Trip Advisor, and your kind words about our staff. I’m glad you were happy with our room rate and free Wi-Fi. Sorry to hear you were not happy with your room. Next time you stay with us, just let reception know if you are not happy with your room, and we... More

London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Was allocated a room on arrival got to the room only to find someone else already booked in complain to manager and new room given 28 of us on golfing break one lad had to be given a new room as one first given was not cleaned Second lad lights never worked in room another new room given Food good... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DVH-HM, General Manager at Donnington Valley, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your golf break on Trip Advisor. Apologies for the mix up with rooms, but I’m pleased everything was resolved. I’m glad you enjoyed the food and service and I hope you had a good round of golf or two on our parkland golf course. I look forward to seeing you soon for another golf break. Kind... More

Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

enjoyable couple of days away. comfortable room, clean and well presented. I enjoyed a great round of golf with three friendly guys who were happy to let me join them. The course was in excellent condition, greens very fast. My wife enjoyed the the pool and spa while I was playing golf. The meal both nights were delicious. Not a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
DVH-HM, General Manager at Donnington Valley, responded to this review

I’m so pleased you had an enjoyable stay with us and were able to make the most of our parkland golf course and spa facilities. Thanks for your lovely comments about dinner and our wine list. Our Head Sommelier, Chris Neeves, is always on the look out for new wines to add to our ever growing wine list, so I’m... More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Let me start by saying the hotel itself is really good. The hotel has a grand feel to it, it's spacious and the outdoor areas are really well kept and beautiful. The food was good and the bar had a great atmosphere. But this is where the positives ended. The room we stayed in, room 401 completely let the stay... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
DVH-HM, General Manager at Donnington Valley, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay on Tripadvisor. It’s good to hear that you were happy with the feel of the hotel in general and enjoyed the food and bar area. I’m sorry to hear though that your room experience wasn’t as good. I will speak to our maintenance team about the air conditioning not working to get this... More

Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We booked Donnington Valley based on other reviews and a personal recommendation. We were a group of 12 hens on a civilised hen weekend, we arrived at 10am and were greeted by a friendly receptionist who checked us in with efficiency. We then headed to the spa where we were again greeted by a lovely chap on the spa reception... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
DVH-HM, General Manager at Donnington Valley, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to celebrate your friend’s hen weekend at Donnington Valley. It’s great to hear you had an enjoyable time with us and were happy with the service you received in the spa and the restaurant. Our golf course is always lovely to look out on so I’m glad you were all able to enjoy the view. Apologies... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Donnington Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Donnington Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Donnington Valley

Address: Old Oxford Road | Donnington, Newbury RG14 3AG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Newbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Donnington Valley 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Donnington Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Donnington Valley Newbury, England
Donnington Valley Hotel Newbury

92 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (79)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#1 Family Hotel in Newbury #2 Romantic Hotel in Newbury #3 Luxury Hotel in Newbury #3 Business Hotel in Newbury
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Following a recent £14 million redevelopment, this 111 room, privately owned 4-star country hotel in Newbury, Berkshire with a state of the art spa and 18 hole golf course, offers spa and golf break guests the perfect leisure destination. Rurally located in the heart of Berkshire's rolling countryside, Donnington Valley Hotel and Spa is home to England's most exciting new Health Club and Spa. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
110

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer