We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 18 Newbury hotels

Donnington Valley

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Old Oxford Road | Donnington, Newbury RG14 3AG, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Donnington Valley to your Saves list
Donnington Valley
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
77%
Ranked #5 of 18 hotels in Newbury
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
richard b Chatham, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (510)
  • Photos (95)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (108)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

510 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    222
    168
    82
    30
    8
See reviews for
46
195
16
96
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chatham, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

i went with a party 16 friends this is a 4 star hotel my opinion no more than 2 the food was very poor the cooked breakfast was cold served on cold plates the toast was not toasted it looked like had come out of the fridge the rest of the food was very poor the diner food not cooked... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
DVH-HM, General Manager at Donnington Valley, responded to this review

Thanks for reviewing your recent stay with us at Donnington Valley. Thank you for highlighting the issues you had with your stay. I’m sorry to hear you weren’t impressed with the food, service and price of our drinks. I hope your rooms were to your liking and you and your friends were able to spend time in our state of... More

High peak
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I stayed for 4 nights and it is exceptionally frustrating if you are staying on business because of the lack of phone signal and the hotel wifi was very intermittent. Having said that it had a good spa and gym and the bar areas had a good relaxed feel. The food was OK and the room very quiet, spacious and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
DVH-HM, General Manager at Donnington Valley, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay. I’m glad that you enjoyed the spa, gym bar areas and you were happy with your room. However, I’m sorry to hear that you found the intermittent wi-fi and phone signal frustrating. Our IT department has looked into the wi-fi issue and this has now improved. I hope we can... More

Budapest, Hungary
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

With the golf course and it's architecture, this hotel is a piece of american countryside in the heart of England. Now about the steaks... that's far from it, but the rest of the food was pretty good - with overly nice waiters. (I think you can call them namby-pamby.) The wellness section is ok, the pool and the saunas are... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
DVH-HM, General Manager at Donnington Valley, responded to this review

Thanks for your great feedback on your recent stay. I’m glad to hear that you found your room comfortable and enjoyed the food and our spa facilities. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind regards Sally Russell More

Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I had high hopes of our stay at the Donnington but overall was disappointed. We queued for ages just to check in with small children and heavy bags - and then were overcharged the deposit and had to chase several times to receive a copy of the invoice via email. We stayed as a family of four, with interconnecting rooms.... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
DVH-HM, General Manager at Donnington Valley, responded to this review

Thanks for taking to time to give your feedback on your recent experience with us. I’m pleased you were happy our gym, with size your rooms and the facilities, and liked the personalised children’s biscuits, but please accept our apologies for the condition of the sheets and smell in the rooms, I will bring these issues to the attention of... More

midlands
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
36 hotel reviews
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is not the most attractive when you approach it there is a feeling of a late 70's early 80's cubic design to it which flows into the rooms which are well equipped but have corporate feel rather than a unique one. Having said that the reception and bar area could have been lifted out of a mansion house... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DVH-HM, General Manager at Donnington Valley, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review your Donnington Valley experience on Trip Advisor. It’s great to hear you enjoyed your food and loved our restaurant. Thanks for your kind comments about Chris, our Head Sommelier. He’s very passionate about wine as you saw and loves to source new wines to add the ever growing wine list. Thanks for highlighting... More

Farnborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Booked a spa day for our wedding anniversary and we were not disappointed. We had lunch included which was very enjoyable and a 25 minute treatment which was very relaxing. Whilst not cheap I would definitely go for a longer treatment in the future. Never had one before but for me it was excellent. All towels, robes etc were provided... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
DVH-HM, General Manager at Donnington Valley, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your feedback on your recent stay with us to celebrate your wedding anniversary. It’s great you were able to use the spa and enjoyed your treatment. We have a great range of treatments so hopefully next time you visit us, you can choose a longer treatment. Thanks for your comments on our staff and highlighting... More

Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here for two nights and everything was perfect. We had a lovely spacious room. The breakfast and the evening meal was delicious. We enjoyed hanging out by the pool and using the spa facilities. We even took a walk up to the ruins around the corner which had lovely views. The town centre was not far by car... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
DVH-HM, General Manager at Donnington Valley, responded to this review

Thanks for your lovely feedback about your recent stay at Donnington Valley. I’m really pleased you enjoyed your whole experience from your room, dinner and breakfast to the spa, the surrounding countryside and shopping in Newbury. I look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards Sally Russell More

Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Was taken here for one night by my partner for my birthday and loved every minute of it!! Appreciated the lovely touch of a birthday card and bowl of fruit waiting for me, which apparently was picked up on from when my partner booked!! The Spa and staff were excellent as were the staff in the hotel and restaurant itself.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
DVH-HM, General Manager at Donnington Valley, responded to this review

It’s fantastic to hear you enjoyed your birthday treat here at Donnington Valley. I’m so pleased you had a wonderful stay and appreciated the card and the fruit bowl in your room. Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor, and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards Sally Russell More

West Midlands, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a very usual, run of the mill hotel, I had been led to believe that it was a bit of something special, but it just ordinary nice, the pool was lovely but a tad cool, the staff were lovely as they are in most chain hotels, the bed was huge, the soap was 'white company' so very nice,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
DVH-HM, General Manager at Donnington Valley, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us on Trip Advisor. I want to thank you for bringing the bar and spa issues to my attention. I will certainly be speaking to our bar team to ensure they receive further training on pricing and measures. As for our spa team, I’m sorry that you did not receive the best... More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was our second visit to the Donnington Valley Hotel and spa and I'm sure it won't be our last. There is ample parking and on our arrival we were quickly and efficiently checked in and directed to our immaculate room. The purpose of our stay was for a spa weekend and the facilities are first class, and it certainly... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
DVH-HM, General Manager at Donnington Valley, responded to this review

It’s so lovely to hear you had a wonderful spa break with us. I’m so pleased you enjoyed all of our spa facilities and Sunday lunch in our light, airy restaurant. Thanks for your lovely comments about our hotel, and I look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards Sally Russell More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Donnington Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Donnington Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Donnington Valley

Address: Old Oxford Road | Donnington, Newbury RG14 3AG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Newbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Donnington Valley 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Donnington Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Donnington Valley Newbury, England
Donnington Valley Hotel Newbury

95 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (82)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (17)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Newbury with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#1 Family Hotel in Newbury #2 Romantic Hotel in Newbury #3 Business Hotel in Newbury #3 Luxury Hotel in Newbury
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Following a recent £14 million redevelopment, this 111 room, privately owned 4-star country hotel in Newbury, Berkshire with a state of the art spa and 18 hole golf course, offers spa and golf break guests the perfect leisure destination. Rurally located in the heart of Berkshire's rolling countryside, Donnington Valley Hotel and Spa is home to England's most exciting new Health Club and Spa. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
110

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Donnington Valley staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer