We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 18 Newbury hotels

Donnington Valley

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Old Oxford Road | Donnington, Newbury RG14 3AG, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Donnington Valley to your Saves list
Donnington Valley
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
76%
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Newbury
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
katherinem_11 Shepperton
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    170
    85
    33
    8
See reviews for
47
200
16
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (521)
  • Mar-May only
    (136)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (160)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (131)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (94)
All months
Shepperton
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We were dining at The Vineyard at Stockcross, but prices are double to stay there so we tried sister hotel Donnington Valley and were delighted. Our room was modern and clean with a great view of the golf course. Breakfast buffet was great; full english plus continental, lots of choice. As residents we had free use of the spa facilities... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Houston
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

like the location. don't like their 'game'. we made reservations in Jan for a Sept stay. We were put in inferior rooms I think because we booked thru a third party and not direct with them. I went to a friend's room in another wing which had air conditioning, a view, and was quite nice. we were in the 'attic'... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
LONDON
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
39 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A modern (ie comfortable but character-free) hotel that specialises in golf/spa/wedding packages. Been several times for overnight spa stay with a friend, and this time was another success. We'd been upgraded, and the executive room was spacious and well presented. Very comfortable. Great bathroom with separate bath and shower. A small lift helps anyone who would struggle with the stairs.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
DVH-HM, General Manager at Donnington Valley, responded to this review

It’s great to read that you had another enjoyable stay with us, were happy with your room, and were able to spend a few relaxing hours enjoying our spa facilities. I hope next time we can exceed your expectations in the restaurant. I look forward to welcoming you to Donnington Valley again soon. Kind regards Sally Russell More

newcastle england
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The room was large and clean the bathroom had a shower and bath the shower is not very powerful. Room service is prompt but all extras are charge for chips are extra with a beef burger the wine is expensive! The service in the bar is below average this is mainly due to lack of staff, the restaurant is slightly... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DVH-HM, General Manager at Donnington Valley, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I’m sorry to hear your stay wasn’t as enjoyable as expected. We realise that for many guests having decent wifi and a good selection of TV channels is something that features high on their list when choosing a hotel and this is why we are in discussion at... More

Andover, Hampshire, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I booked this hotel in July for the 2 night Bacchanalian Feast to celebrate our wedding anniversary. The hotel, staff, food, room & spa were all excellent! Booking was easy, I was then contacted in advance for restaurant reservations, the food & service in the wine press restaurant was first class! We enjoyed it so much we have booked again... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
DVH-HM, General Manager at Donnington Valley, responded to this review

I was delighted to read your fantastic review of your recent stay with us on the Bacchanalian Feast Break. Thank you for your lovely comments about the food, staff, service and hotel in general. We are really looking forward to welcoming you back in November for your husband's 40th for another enjoyable stay. Kind regards Sally Russell More

Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed there with my wife for couple days expecting a romantic four star hotel and amenities, but was instead met with an outdated establishment with very inconsistent service. Check-in was pleasant and efficient. Unfortunately, we were assigned a room, which could only be described as a former maid's quarters. The ceilings were slanted and low (that's including the bathroom). I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
DVH-HM, General Manager at Donnington Valley, responded to this review

Firstly I'm sorry to read that your room wasn't as you had expected. Your room was in the old part of the hotel building and the sloping ceilings are part of the quirky nature of the building, which many of our guests are fond of. On your next visit, when booking a reservation with us, please request a room that... More

London, England
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
37 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here for a wedding. The hotel is located in open countryside, with a golf course, and is a pleasant venue for a wedding reception. The staff were all friendly, helpful, and enthusiastic. The bars could have used an extra pair of hands on occasion. The room, however, was a disappointment. The bathroom had not been updated to the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
DVH-HM, General Manager at Donnington Valley, responded to this review

Many thanks for reviewing your recent experience with us on Trip Advisor. I’m pleased that you were happy with the location of Donnington Valley hotel and you found our staff friendly and helpful. However, I’m sorry to hear that you room wasn’t what you had expected. Thank you for highlighting the issues with your room, they will be passed onto... More

Sussex
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
31 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed one night and played their golf course twice. It was booked through an agent so, as usual with this type of booking I find, the room we had wasn't one of their best located (dreary outlook) but the price was a bargain. The dinner was very good. There was a fairly good choice from the restricted 'all in stay'... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
DVH-HM, General Manager at Donnington Valley, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to give us feedback on your recent stay. It’s great to hear you had lovely stay overall and enjoyed both dinner and breakfast. Some of our rooms look out onto the grounds of the front of the hotel and others to the back with a view of the golf course. If you decide to stay... More

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I treated my partner to a spa treatment, a fantastic evening meal and an overnight stay for his Birthday. We both felt totally pampered and loved every minute of our stay. Every single member of staff we came into contact with greeted us with a smile and we're very attentive. We'll definitely book again

Was this review helpful? Yes
DVH-HM, General Manager at Donnington Valley, responded to this review

I'm so pleased you and your partner had a wonderful stay with us and enjoyed every minute of it. Thank you for your lovely comments about our staff members, I'm glad they made you feel so welcome. I hope we'll see you again soon. Kind regards Sally Russell More

Chatham, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

16 of us went to this so called 4star hotel. the so called cooked breakfast was cold and the plates were very cold and the main meals very poor room service good drinks highly overpriced our evening meal took over 2 30+mins to serve a 3 course meal. a lot of nicely dressed staff most of did not know what... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
DVH-HM, General Manager at Donnington Valley, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your recent experience with us. We have just received very positive feedback from the organiser of your stay commenting on the great food and service so I'm sorry that your experience did not reflect that of other members of your party. Kind regards Sally Russell More

Do you own or manage Donnington Valley?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Donnington Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Donnington Valley

Address: Old Oxford Road | Donnington, Newbury RG14 3AG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Newbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Donnington Valley 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Agoda, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Donnington Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Donnington Valley Newbury, England
Donnington Valley Hotel Newbury

95 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (82)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (17)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near Donnington Valley