We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Donnington Valley

Certificate of Excellence
Old Oxford Road | Donnington, Newbury RG14 3AG, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Donnington Valley
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Donnington Valley
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    198
    99
    37
    9
See reviews for
58
229
19
117
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (613)
  • Mar-May only
    (155)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (160)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (163)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (135)
All months
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed here for a business meeting. Service was slow in the bar and when we returned from an offsite meal there was no draught beers as they were pipe cleaning!! Which is strange to do at 10:30pm... TV didn't work in my room and the bathroom sink tap was very loose and the shower didn't seem to work properly. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
51 hotel reviews
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We have stayed at the Donnington Hotel a couple of times before, both times we had an excellent experience and have recommended the hotel to friends and family. This visit was not as good and as such, we probably won't return again. - Spa/Pool - firstly, when we arrived in the room we found there were no bath robes or... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I travel a lot with work and most hotels just blur into one when you've visited so many . I don't say it lightly but the Donnington really does stand out because of the attention in the detail. I had room 40, a lovely large and spacious room. The pool is just big enough and the stag in the dos... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DVH-HM, General Manager at Donnington Valley, responded to this review

Fantastic to hear that you have rated us the best hotel you’ve stayed in in the last 10 years! I’m pleased you enjoyed everything about your stay apart from the slight issue with breakfast. I hope you will book again with us in the future. Kind regards Sally Russell More 

Salisbury, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It was my third stay, fab hotel to take the family, children loved it especially the pool and going with just the girls was so relaxing, a real treat. Great facilities, friendly, helpful staff and the food is delicious. Lovely room overlooking golf course and extremely clean.

Was this review helpful? Yes
DVH-HM, General Manager at Donnington Valley, responded to this review

I was really pleased to read your review about your recent stay here at Donnington Valley. It sounds as though you had a really pleasant break away and I hope we can welcome you back again in the near future. Kind regards Sally Russell More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband booked the Bacchanalian Feast for us which includes two night accommodation with breakfast and dinner included. On our first night we enjoyed a 3-course dinner in the restaurant from the Market Menu which is included in the price, which was very nice. On the second night, we ate from the a la carte menu and paid supplements to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DVH-HM, General Manager at Donnington Valley, responded to this review

Great to hear you enjoyed your Bacchanalian Feast break and made the most our spa and golf facilities during your stay. We do get booked up for spa treatments well in advance so if you do decide to book with us again and would like to experience one of our many spa treatments, please book early to avoid disappointment. We... More 

Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
9 hotel reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was a last minute booking over bank holiday and it was great! We had a great room with a fantastic view, had tasty dinner and breakfast. Service can't be flawed either. We also enjoyed the spa facilities and took a walk after breakfast. Will come again :-)

Was this review helpful? Yes
DVH-HM, General Manager at Donnington Valley, responded to this review

Great to hear your last minute break with us was so enjoyable and you were pleased with every aspect of your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards Sally Russell More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very pleasant hotel, with a surprisingly good Spa facility. Having been to this hotel for business meetings and lunches before, I hadn't seen the Spa building or facility, but I was very pleasantly surprised by what is there and the staff they had. I went as part of a group of 10 girls on our annual Spa weekend. We are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DVH-HM, General Manager at Donnington Valley, responded to this review

Thank you taking the time to post a review about your recent spa break with friends. It was lovely to read that you enjoyed your stay and it was only the dinner and the bar that was slightly short staffed that weren’t quite up to the standard you expected. Thank you for your kind words about our spa facilities; I’m... More 

Thatcham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I got treated by my husband to have a full body massage in Donnington's Spa on Valentine's Day. Hotel and surroundings are lovely, and staff are friendly. I understand it was very busy day for spa ladies, however it was a special day for me, and unfortunately I felt rushed and not welcomed. Lady who looked after me, gave me... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DVH-HM, General Manager at Donnington Valley, responded to this review

I’m really sorry to hear that your spa experience with us wasn’t as lovely as expected. We do get very busy with spa treatments, but we always give guests the correct amount of time for their treatments, pre, during and post, so I would just like to apologise that you didn’t not receive the service we strive to deliver. Kind... More 

Oxford
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Fabulous stay. The hotel was very clean and tidy throughout, as was our Executive room, and the staff couldn't have been more friendly, polite and helpful. We arrived early to make the most of the spa facilities and our room was ready for us (10.30am!). The spa was lovely and the day was very relaxing. You couldn't fault our afternoon... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DVH-HM, General Manager at Donnington Valley, responded to this review

Thank you so much for posting such a fabulous review on Trip Advisor about your recent stay. It was great to read that our staff were so friendly and helpful and you were really pleased with everything you experienced during your break away. I hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Sally Russell More 

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were a large group of friends, staying at the hotel for a night on their 'Love Donnington' package, and what a package it was. We were all very impressed with the food (cream tea, dinner and breakfast) - the cooking was rather high quality, particularly the excellent gravadlax and guinea fowl - and the spacious rooms (Reception didn't say,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DVH-HM, General Manager at Donnington Valley, responded to this review

Fantastic to hear you loved our ‘Love Donnington’ break and were happy with every aspect of your stay from the cream tea, dinner and breakfast to the spa facilities and your rooms. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards Sally Russell More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

98 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (84)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (17)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question