We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Donnington Valley

Certificate of Excellence
Old Oxford Road | Donnington, Newbury RG14 3AG, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Best prices for:1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Donnington Valley
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

714 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Rome, Lazio, Italy
Level Contributor
107 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

I've been at the Donnington several times, the rooms can be surely better for what we pay. L Yes the room is big but the furniture and the bathroom does not represents an hotel that tries to be on the deluxe side of the business. The service is fast, quick check in, quick checkout, it can be improved at the... More 

Helpful?
Thank MBITA
Neston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Booked two executive doubles for a business trip @ £115/night room only. Reception, bar and dining area were all lovely and as such expected rooms to be just as nice. However upon entering room 240, I discovered that this wasn't to be the case. Very 'springy' bed, bedside lamp not working and a tv from the early 2000's positioned to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ashley B
DVH-HM, General Manager at Donnington Valley, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write up your thoughts on your recent stay with us. I am delighted you thought that our reception, bar and dining areas are lovely. Thank you for your valuable feedback on the maintenance issues you discovered on the day. Our team will ensure these are fixed straight away. I can also assure you... More 

Wiltshire
Level Contributor
147 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Dreading returning for my second night (pre-paid on business), I was mightily relieved to receive a move to a better room. My first night was ruined by a terrible grinding motor noise coming from the ceiling. There was a drawn-out procedure involving a duty manager - the second member of staff to come and listen to the noise and pronounce... More 

Helpful?
Thank WiltshirePhilippa
DVH-HM, General Manager at Donnington Valley, responded to this review

I am extremely sorry to read your review and very disappointed that you had such a bad start to your two-night stay. There are obviously some training issues that need to be ironed out and I can assure you this will be done straight away - I am speaking to the individuals in question to ensure that the level of... More 

Level Contributor
67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stay at the Donnington Valley as a treat to escape the rigours of a hectic life style. We enjoy the relaxed atmosphere, the rooms are well appointed, the resturant always delivers and the gym/ pool is fine. On arrival this time, we experienced a text book welcome from the receptionist, short of running out a red carpet

Helpful?
1 Thank Shashvisits
DVH-HM, General Manager at Donnington Valley, responded to this review

Thank you for a wonderful review of your recent stay with us. I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed all of the facilities that we provide, and that all of the team, including members of reception, were able to make you feel so welcome! We hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon. kind regards, Nick... More 

Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Went to hotel with Friendship Travel for New Years Eve and following day. Check in from hotel was goo, simple and quick. Room was great, spa and gym great but so disappointed with the New Years Eve event. Only had choice of meat or veggie menu, no fish choice and our rep did not seem to want to ask for... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ladiesthattour
DVH-HM, General Manager at Donnington Valley, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a detailed review of your recent New Year's stay with us. I am pleased that you enjoyed many aspects of the hotel including the welcome you received, and the facilities including room, spa and gym. However, I am really sorry to read that your experience did not meet your expectations and that... More 

Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2016

Stayed at the Donnington Valley Hotel on New Years Eve and had a fabulous time. On arrival we were given a complementary upgrade to an Executive suite which was most appreciated. We sampled the swimming pool and monsoon showers (fantastic) and then rested until the evening's meal and entertainment. The food was exceptionally good and, despite the restaurant being very... More 

Helpful?
Thank Boglyns
DVH-HM, General Manager at Donnington Valley, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review. I am so delighted that you had such a wonderful New Year's Eve celebration, and that you were able to enjoy so many aspects of the hotel including the spa and restaurant, and that you enjoyed the Bellini brunch the following morning. We very much look forward to welcoming you again soon. Kind regards,... More 

Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2015 via mobile

Best one we've booked for years Nice reception Rooms lovely, had 13 in total and not one issue. Didn't use spa myself but the colleagues that did said it was spot on. Really good food at the meal which is rare, staff were great working really hard and anything asked for was returned very quickly. Evening bar was very busy... More 

Helpful?
Thank IanCraythorne
DVH-HM, General Manager at Donnington Valley, responded to this review

What a wonderful review. Thank you for taking the time to share your recent Christmas party experience with us. I am delighted that your group enjoyed the facilities we have to offer and that you so enjoyed the food. Our team will be delighted with your kind words and I will be sure to pass them on. We hope we... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2015

had a christmas party there last night and really should have walked out after the bar, not only did he look at me like i was scum off his shoes, he short messaged me on a double and over priced me by a tenner. The food was ok but dont have the turkey unless your on a diet, when trying... More 

Helpful?
Thank David M
DVH-HM, General Manager at Donnington Valley, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of your recent experience with us. I can only apologise: I know the team were extremely busy on the night in question and I can assure you that the mistakes that were made would not have been made intentionally. When requiring a lift home I would always recommend booking in advance for numbers over 4... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2015 via mobile

Having read some good reviews and seem some lovely photos of this place, my partner and I chose the Donnington Valley as our wedding night venue as we were getting married nearby. Unfortunately, we were left deeply unsatisfied with both the hotel and the service we received. As it was our wedding night, we decided to splash out and book... More 

Helpful?
Thank NickCaplan
DVH-HM, General Manager at Donnington Valley, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and valuable feedback of your recent experience with us. I would like to apologise: there has clearly been a miscommunication on our part regarding your booking. We do pride ourselves on making all of our guests feel special, especially those who are celebrating such a special occasion and I am saddened that we have let... More 

Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2015

Stayed here before and all ok. This time - VERY DIFFERENT! Firstly, I checked in, and attended an external event close by. So I hadnt had a chance to really look at the room or unpack (only 1 night stay anyway). I returned to my room at about 9:30pm. I turned the TV on - and didnt work! Sound but... More 

Helpful?
Thank PaulieC76
DVH-HM, General Manager at Donnington Valley, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your thoughts on your recent stay with us. I am really sorry to hear that you were not pleased with your experience this time around. I will look into the issues that you have raised and speak to the relevant members of the team to ensure that we can improve on these... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

132 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (118)
Viewed
Room/suite (21)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (19)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (53)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newbury
2.0 mi away
The Vineyard At Stockcross
2.6 mi away
Regency Park Hotel
Regency Park Hotel
#8 of 17 in Newbury
4.0 of 5 stars 542 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hare and Hounds Hotel
Hare and Hounds Hotel
#2 of 17 in Newbury
4.5 of 5 stars 441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Donnington Grove Hotel and Country Club
4.5 mi away
Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel
1.8 mi away
Hilton Newbury North
Hilton Newbury North
#13 of 17 in Newbury
3.5 of 5 stars 791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay