We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Donnington Valley

4.0 of 5 Old Oxford Road | Donnington, Newbury RG14 3AG, England
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Donnington Valley
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Donnington Valley
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    193
    96
    36
    8
See reviews for
57
222
19
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (596)
  • Mar-May only
    (138)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (160)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (163)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (135)
All months
Oxford
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

What a great spa day we had with The Girls. Staff couldn't have been more helpful, very modern, smart and relaxed setting and excellent value for money. We're used to spa says in old country hotels but that may be a thing of the past now!

Was this review helpful? Yes
DVH-HM, General Manager at Donnington Valley, responded to this review

I was so pleased to read that you had a great girlie spa day and found our staff to be helpful and smart. I hope you were able to make the most of the facilities and we look forward to welcoming you back for another girlie spa day soon. Kind regards Sally Russell More 

Doncaster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed on a 2 night 'package' with my wife and had a fantastic time. Our room was large, quiet and ideal for what we wanted. We spent time in the well equipped and very clean gym. The pool, steam, sauna etc were excellent and very relaxing. The reception staff were very helpful and friendly. The bar staff were very welcoming... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DVH-HM, General Manager at Donnington Valley, responded to this review

Great to hear you had such a fantastic time with us recently. I was really pleased to read that all of our members of staff you came into contact with were polite, friendly and helpful, and you enjoyed your gym and dining experience. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards Sally Russell More 

Padua, Italy
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I spent some days/nights in this hotel for a business meeting recently and I have mixed feelings. On one side, arriving late in the night in a freezing room because the window lock was broken, is not a good welcome. On the other side, the other room they gave me was large and with an extremely comfortable bed. On one... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DVH-HM, General Manager at Donnington Valley, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your recent business stay. I would like to apologise for the lock being broken, but glad you were happy with the room in general and our restaurant staff were friendly and welcoming. Thank you for highlighting the attitude of our reception staff, I will be speaking to the team... More 

Buckingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I stayed here for a night for a function . Having stayed many times before I was disappointed as standards have slipped considerably. I checked into my room to discover the toilet wouldn't flush . I reported it to reception and they moved me . How did housekeeping not know of the problem ?? I then went to the bar... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DVH-HM, General Manager at Donnington Valley, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give your honest opinions on your recent stay at Donnington Valley. I was disappointed to hear that on this occasion your experience did not live up to your expectations. We consider poor service as a serious issue as this impacts on guests first and foremost and also on fellow team members. Thank you... More 

Newbury, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Booked a Spa weekend with my Wife and was very impressed with the friendliness of the staff and the nothing is too much trouble attitude. The executive room was very spacious and looked out onto the Golf course. The Spa area is very relaxed and the lunch menu available in there is tasty! We had dinner off the Market menu... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DVH-HM, General Manager at Donnington Valley, responded to this review

Great to hear that you were impressed with your stay and our staff were able accommodate where ever possible. I’m pleased you were happy with your room with a view and enjoyed lunch in our spa and dinner in our WinePress restaurant. We look forward to welcome you back soon for a spa break. Kind regards Sally Russell More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for 1 night. We have been here many times before and we'll be back very soon. Our package included a cream tea (which was ok) a three course dinner (which was fantastic) and breakfast the next morning (which was brilliant). We were upgraded on arrival and our room on the ground floor was excellent. The staff throughout the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DVH-HM, General Manager at Donnington Valley, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to post a review about your recent stay. I was delighted to read that you really enjoyed your stay with us, especially the dinner and breakfast, and were happy with your room. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards Sally Russell More 

Berks
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I have just returned from a one night spa break at the Donnington Valley Hotel, and after reading some reviews I wasn't expecting to be wowed. How wrong could I be!! From the moment we arrived to the moment we left, it was a totally enjoyable experience. we were given a room on the 2nd floor, and was all that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DVH-HM, General Manager at Donnington Valley, responded to this review

Fantastic to hear you had such a lovely spa break with us and enjoyed your whole experience from the moment you checked in to breakfast the next morning. Thanks for sharing all your positive comments about your stay on Trip Advisor for other future guests to read. We’ll definitely take into account the one waitress per table suggestion and will... More 

fife
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Partner booked this for Valentine treat. On arrival I was impressed with the look of the hotel, reception staff were pleasant. Room was nice the faults only began when we visited restaurant on our first night, the restaurant was relatively quiet, starters ok not the greatest but main meal was truly dreadful, it wasn't hot, it wasn't cooked properly and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
DVH-HM, General Manager at Donnington Valley, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us at Donnington Valley. I was disappointed to read that your stay wasn’t as enjoyable as you had expected due to the standard of food you received and the behaviour of staff. Thank you for bringing both issues to my attention. This is not the standard of service expected of our staff... More 

portsmouth- england
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Me and my partner booked this as an early valentines pressie through secret escapes. We usually see the best of most places, however this hotel has a lot of work to do to ensure guests return. When arriving at the hotel, we were impressed with the surrounding countryside/golf course. After a friendly welcome in we went to the room which... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
DVH-HM, General Manager at Donnington Valley, responded to this review

I was really disappointed to read that your stay wasn’t as enjoyable as you had expected and fully take your comments on board. We can get busy over weekends for spa days, but as residents are also able to use the spa facilities during their stay, some times are busier than others. I would like to apologise for the service... More 

Coulsdon, Chipstead, Surrey, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were a group of eight enjoying a family spa/golf weekend break with dinner included and "matching wines". The hotel is roomy and the check in staff were very helpful and efficient. In fact all of the staff went out of their way to help us and seemed genuinely pleased and anxious to meet all of our requirements. While the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DVH-HM, General Manager at Donnington Valley, responded to this review

Many thanks for posting such a great review on Trip Advisor. I was really pleased to read that you had had such an enjoyable stay with us, and were happy with everything despite the slightly slow service at times. During our very busy times, especially on the weekend, our staff can get extremely busy so I would like to thank... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Donnington Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Donnington Valley

Address: Old Oxford Road | Donnington, Newbury RG14 3AG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Newbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Donnington Valley 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, LateRooms, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Donnington Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Donnington Valley Newbury, England
Donnington Valley Hotel Newbury
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Newbury
#2 Romantic Hotel in Newbury
#2 Luxury Hotel in Newbury
#3 Business Hotel in Newbury

98 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (84)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (17)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay