We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Chequers Hotel

6 - 8 Oxford St, Newbury RG14 1JB, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chequers Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Chequers Hotel
Chequers Hotel
Chequers Hotel
Add Photo Write a Review

206 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    21
    63
    56
    34
    32
See reviews for
14
65
23
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (206)
  • Mar-May only
    (45)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (56)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (60)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (45)
All months
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Chequers Hotel in Newbury offers everythin you could want in a hotel. The rooms are spotless and beautifully furnished. The food is excellent with a good choice for both evening meal and breakfast.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ChequersNewbury, Manager at Chequers Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review of our hotel. I shall pass your comments onto the team. We rely on constructive feedback from our guests to improve our service moving forward. We hope to see you back at The Chequers in the near future. More 

Newbury, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel is so bad my bath room floor would look flat if you were steaming out your face , by far the worst hotel I have ever stayed in I got charged £16 for a bread roll and butter , my room is so tatty and you need a gas mask to stand the musty rotten smell there is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChequersNewbury, Manager at Chequers Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are disappointed to hear that your experience did not fully meet your expectations. With regards to your comments about the bedrooms, the hotel is currently going through a refurbishment programme where the issues you have raised are due to be addressed. Unfortunately this does take a little time. Once complete this will bring the... More 

Travelers are raving about these Newbury hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Never before have I been welcomed by a receptionist with the words "sorry my hands are a bit sticky, I have been eating ribs". I should have known we were in for an alternative experience right there and then. This hotel is VERY tired. The decor is straight out of the 70's along with the bathroom, complete in our case... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChequersNewbury, Manager at Chequers Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of The Chequers Hotel and the constructive feedback provided.I am sorry if I was not available for us to discuss and resolve these issues at the time. Please accept my sincere apologies for the disappointing experience you received during your recent stay. Please also let me ensure you I have... More 

Skelmersdale, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Town centre tick. Good rooms tick. Comfortable bed tick. Well cooked and presented breakfast tick. No tick for long corridors full of doors to get to your room nor any air conditioning. Staff excellent ... Two ticks.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChequersNewbury, Manager at Chequers Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel following your recent stay. We are always very happy to hear when guests have enjoyed their stay. We hope to welcome you back to The Chequers Hotel in the near future. More 

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Was looking forward to joining our friends here after they had sent pictures of their room, we arrived and checked in to a polite guy on reception then we're directed back out to the car park and a room right at the back of the hotel. Our room was up stairs, (114) we are family of 2 adults and 2... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ChequersNewbury, Manager at Chequers Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your stay at our hotel. Please accept my sincere apologies for the disappointing experience you received. I was unavailable during your stay and believe you discussed your concerns with our on-shift Duty Manager. I would be very pleased if you could contact me directly at the hotel for me... More 

Level Contributor
73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2015

The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. The room was clean and comfortable, and quiet (but I was towards the rear of the building, away from the road). Ample car parking. Breakfast was very good. Met a friend and we had a very nice three course meal there, which was excellent, and not bad value for money. I have more... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ChequersNewbury, Manager at Chequers Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay at the hotel. We value all guest feedback, both positive and negative, as it is only with input from our guests that we are able to improve the service offered and move the business forward. I am pleased to see that you were happy with your... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2015

I was visiting Newbury for a wedding, and needed a place to lay my head. I knew that it would be a late night, and all I would realistically need was a place to crash, and a shower in the morning. The hotel is actually much nicer than i expected. It is 2 minutes walk from the main high street,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ChequersNewbury, Manager at Chequers Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I have passed your comments onto the team. It is with thanks to our guests taking the time to comment on their stay whether negative or positive that we can learn and move our business forward. The delay in hot water to your shower would have been... More 

Alicante
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2015

I recently stayed here. The hotel it self isn't bad spacious room but very dated bathroom with broken tap, broken shower, cracks in the floor. One morning we decided to have breakfast, me and my partner both had a bacon sandwich, when we checked out we were informed that the cost was £21 for that breakfast as no matter what... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ChequersNewbury, Manager at Chequers Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback following your stay at the Chequers hotel. We often receive compliments on how spacious our rooms are and the layout of the hotel so it is nice to hear you too could appreciate that aspect of the hotel. I do agree that parts of the hotel and rooms have... More 

Durrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015

This hotel was booked by my husband for my birthday and although it looked a bit shabby from the outside, it was a really pleasant place to stay! A lick of paint here and there would suffice! The super king 4 poster bed (room 119) was soooo comfortable, we had a great night sleep and it was peaceful, even with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ChequersNewbury, Manager at Chequers Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review of our hotel, I will brief the team on your comments. We rely on constructive feedback from our guests to improve our service moving forward. We hope to welcome you back to The Chequers Hotel in the near future. More 

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2015

4 grown ups - my daughters birthday - the first thing to remember with the Chequers is that it is as very old hotel - it is not a chain hotel with pristine cube shaped rooms rooms all clinically clean and exactly the same. Our room was more than adequate and my daughters room had a 4 poster bed. It... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
ChequersNewbury, Manager at Chequers Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at our hotel. We are always very happy to hear when our guest's have enjoyed their stay. The team at Chequers are proud to work in a hotel that is individual and differs from chain hotels, it is always great to hear when our guest's feel the... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

90 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (49)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (20)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (41)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newbury hotels
0.9 mi away
Hare and Hounds Hotel
Hare and Hounds Hotel
#2 of 18 in Newbury
4.5 of 5 stars 375 reviews
1.0 mi away
Good Night Inns Berkshire Arms Hotel
4.6 mi away
Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hilton Newbury Centre
Hilton Newbury Centre
#15 of 18 in Newbury
3.0 of 5 stars 634 reviews
0.7 mi away
Donnington Grove Hotel and Country Club
4.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN West Grange Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay