We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 182 Scarborough B&Bs / inns

The Terrace Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Terrace Hotel to your Saves list
69 Westborough, Scarborough YO11 1TS, England
Hotel amenities
The Terrace Hotel
Ranked #90 of 182 Scarborough B&B and Inns
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Scarborough
Check In Check Out
true
Write a Review

25 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    7
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
4
10
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Lovely owner..chris made us feel very welcome..great value.clean rooms.lovely cooked breakfast..we will call again next time we go to scarbourgh..good location for trains..buses and shops..andy and kian

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mexborough, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We couldn't fault this guest house, it was very clean and the breakfast was more than adequate. The owners Chris and sylvia could not do enough for you . we will definitely be paying them another visit! Totally enjoyed our few days away

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rotherham
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Spent 5 days there in July. The room was comfortable. Breakfasts were nicely prepared and enjoyable though not as comprehensive as some but for £25.00 per night excellent value. Proprietors were also very friendly and obliging.

Was this review helpful? Yes
yorkshire-forever, Owner at The Terrace Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments regarding how clean- comfortable- and wifi tv facilities were as expected -- cannot understand problem with breakfast (not as comprehensive as some) - you had a choice of over 12 different cereals - a full cooked breakfast of egg /bacon/sausage/tomato/hash brown/fried bread/ beans- then toast - and tea or coffee - a room with a... More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We stayed at the terrace hotel on 28th June for 1 night and we was very impressed it was clean and comfortable and our breakfast was really enjoyable Chris and his wife made us really welcome thanks Kath Alan and Rachel and Richard.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
yorkshire-forever, Owner at The Terrace Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review -- hope you and your nice family will stay again - thankfully in these hard times we have lots of people that book every year - we will continue to give good accommodation and food as long as we are able --- now 23 yrs - know i cant last for ever but... More

Bradford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

We stayed at the terrace hotel it was a fab , we had a warm welcome from chris and his wife the breakfast was lovely a good stay was had by all we will defiantly stay again our room was clean and the beds were very comfy our friends stayed to and enjoyed it I would recommend this b&b it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
yorkshire-forever, Owner at The Terrace Hotel, responded to this review

Just to say thankyou --- i don't ask people to write to trip advisor - never have -- so its nice to have a review like yours --- thanks rachel -- hope to see you again soon -- best wishes chris More

sheffield
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Stayed for a couple of days at the terrace..the breakfasts were second to none..the rooms spotless..and chris and his wife made us welcome from day one.its close to all amenities. We will definitely be going again

Was this review helpful? Yes
yorkshire-forever, Owner at The Terrace Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much -- all we want is nice people staying -- and all people staying want is somewhere that is clean - friendly - and gives a good breakfast -- see you again soon ------ Chris More

Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Me my two kids and mam and dad have been coming to this guest house for 15 years last year was the only year we didn't come as my mam died. We returned this year without her it was very hard but my kids are 18 and 21 now got me through it. We can honestly say there hospitality is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
yorkshire-forever, Owner at The Terrace Hotel, responded to this review

You know how i feel about you and your family -- thankyou for the review -- life's far more than just this --- its about loving people - and being sad when their gone -- i miss her as well More

Stamford, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

we had an excellent time there, very friendly people and welcome to the place the room was very clean and tidy breakfast we had no faults with the food always ask if you wish more which was good, we will go back again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
yorkshire-forever, Owner at The Terrace Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you -- always nice to have nice people stay with us -- it works both ways -- you want somewhere nice and we want nice people ---- look forward to you staying again -- thank you for the review. Chris More

Wakefield
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We came in August 2012 and had one of the worst stays we've ever had. The rooms were filthy, dead flies were inside the duvet, causing a restless night for myself and my husband. We booked for Sat & Sun, sat in the chair in the bedroom until 5am, then went for a walk. Also, on arrival we were welcomed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
yorkshire-forever, Owner at The Terrace Hotel, responded to this review

These are (obviously) barefaced lies - being published as some attempt at retribution for being refused a refund. We're a family run guest house and simply can't afford to refund every guest with an overactive imagination. They sent me a somewhat threatening email which explained their restless night was down to being bitten by 'flees' [sic], presumably they altered this... More

Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

stayed at the Terrace twice now in July and August, very friendly and very clean hotel, lovely breakfast, plenty of choice with cereal, cooked brekfast plentiful, excellent value for money, will be returning in the near future.... Bridget & Mark

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
yorkshire-forever, Owner at The Terrace Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the review -- can only say its nice to have nice people stay -- we always try our best to make people feel at home and enjoy their stay. Chris More

Been to The Terrace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Terrace Hotel

Address: 69 Westborough, Scarborough YO11 1TS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 182 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small family run guest house - same owners 20yrs - Private car park - Standard and ensuite rooms - Tv with Freeview / coffee / tea / facilities all rooms. Free WiFi. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Terrace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Terrace Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?