We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Kenton

139 Queens Parade, Scarborough YO12 7HU, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Kenton
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

95 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2015 via mobile

We stayed for a night as part of a birthday present to see a concert in Scarborough. We didn't realise (probably our fault) that breakfast wasn't included, which based on the standard of accommodation seemed a bit mean for £50 out of season. The room was ok. It could have done with a good clean and dust but at least... More 

Helpful?
Thank Paul G
jeanius141, Owner at The Kenton, responded to this review

Sorry you did not enjoy your stay, it was obviously not going to be a good weekend for you, arriving late for your concert. The cleaner was asked to prepare the room for your arrival by checking cleanliness, supplies etc. The duvets in winter are 13 tog, so we do not routinely supply extra blankets, although they are available if... More 

Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2015

When we visited it seemed like we were the only guests .. met by a slightly flustered lady who offered us a room on first floor rather than higher up more flights of stairs ... which was much appreciated ... when we got to the wrong .. which was a great size and adequately clean I asked about buying breakfast... More 

Helpful?
Thank Duanne99
jeanius141, Owner at The Kenton, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am pleased you appreciated being allocated a larger room on a lower floor. We did have several other rooms in during your stay but from memory most people had travelled on public transport so the car park would be empty. My rooms are priced so you have the option to stay in bed and... More 

Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2015 via mobile

Lovely little guest house...set over 3 floors the room was small but it had tea and coffee making facilities and a tv,it was clean as was the bathroom but we just needed it as a base as we were out all of the 3 days we stayed there, the gentleman that greeted us was very polite and very helpful, as... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tracey M
jeanius141, Owner at The Kenton, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review. I am pleased you enjoyed yourselves and hope to see you again Antonio More 

Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2015

Very rude man met us on arrival, noise in the hotel woke us up at 2:30 am which continued until 3:15 am - shouting, banging and doors slamming! Overall cold atmosphere and would not return with my family - lack of customer service would give 2 out of 10 and the 2 is for location

Helpful?
1 Thank Susan B
jeanius141, General Manager at The Kenton, responded to this review

Sorry I appeared rude when you arrived - I was just concerned about finding you a parking space as you had not mentioned you have a van, and you were blocking the car park entrance. I moved my car on the street to provide you with a space and kept this space for you whenever you went out. Unfortunately I... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2015 via mobile

Whan we got there we had to wait 5 min to some one answer the door whan in she give us key show how to use the key on door than said she got to go she cooking whan in room the kid bunk bed was so wobley and the main bed was so hard and it give us a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Stewart B
jeanius141, General Manager at The Kenton, responded to this review

Sorry you had to wait for me to answer the door, if I remember correctly you arrived before the check in time of 2pm and I was in the middle of cooking something which is why I did not show you to your room - perhaps I would have been better not to answer the door until 2pm. The firmness... More 

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2015 via mobile

On arrival staff met us at door and gave us keys, showed us how to open main door but didn't bother to show us to our room. Apart from a few marks, room was clean enough, although few things could do with updating, also few things that could be fixed very easily but not bothered to. Can't comment on food... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rachelec1
jeanius141, Owner at The Kenton, responded to this review

Sorry you found parking horrendous, there is a council car park about five minutes walk away. We do not charge for parking unlike several of the accommodation providers nearby, and most people appreciate this. Sorry about your problems with shower, I was not told I was needed. More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2015 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend stayed in scarbrough for the first time ever , since it was his birthday. We arrived and were greeted nicely and we were shown how to use the door with the card and we were shown to our room, our room was lovely and cosy and the bed was amazing and even had a sink and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sophie L
jeanius141, Owner at The Kenton, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and comments, I am pleased you enjoyed your first visit to Scarborough and hope to see you both again. More 

Leeds
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2015

Really nice b&b was really lovely & clean. Family room was absolutely great. Would deffo stay again. Free Wi-Fi so my daughter was happy. Great location & service. Great view of the cricket ground. Free car park which is a bonus.

Helpful?
Thank sarah H
jeanius141, Owner at The Kenton, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and comments, I am so pleased you had a good time and hope to see you again. More 

Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2015

I would give the location and the cleanliness of this B+B a 4* and location a 5*. but due to our experience we felt the over all grading could only be a 2*-3* reasons for this are as follows. Because we were coming up from North Wales which took us 4 hour, we decided to set off early which meant... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Louise J
jeanius141, Owner at The Kenton, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and comments. Sorry you found the room too hot, we have restrictors on the windows as they are family rooms and the one painted shut has been that way for many years - we would love to put new windows in but as the windows are a listed feature in the building we are not... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2015 via mobile

Myself. Husband and 2 children arrived here for our 1st trip to scarbrough. This hotel is opposite the beach and a cracking view of scarbrough castle so that is a bonus. Only a short walk to peasholm park and the main street of scarbrough. It was nice and quiet. On arrival we were met with the manager recieved our key,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lisa N Lee K
jeanius141, Owner at The Kenton, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and comments I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

17 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (13)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.9 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#9 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 stars 2,794 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Mount Hotel
The Mount Hotel
#12 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 stars 252 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Catania
Hotel Catania
#126 of 186 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 stars 48 reviews
0.4 mi away
Miricia
Miricia
#58 of 186 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 stars 141 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Paragon
The Paragon
#85 of 186 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 stars 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay