We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 27 Scarborough hotels

The Crescent Hotel

3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   The Crescent | Belvoir Terrace, Scarborough YO11 2PP , England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Crescent Hotel to your Saves list
The Crescent Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
95%
Ranked #3 of 27 hotels in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
yorkshirelass86 Huddersfield, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (371)
  • Photos (37)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (78)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

371 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    275
    76
    15
    3
    2
See reviews for
48
203
24
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed in The Crescent Hotel for two nights, our main reason for visiting Scarborough was to see Status Quo at the open air theatre. The hotel was quite a walk from the theatre, but I was aware of that at the time of booking. I chose The Crescent as it looked like a well kept hotel from photos on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
TheCrescentHotel, Front Office Manager at The Crescent Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and I sincerely apologise for the towel quality you received. I hope that if you ever have an issue with the quality here, you will bring it to my attention during your stay so I can take immediate steps to rectify the problem. I am heartened that you enjoyed all other aspects of your stay... More

Manchester uk
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This small hotel is located in a gardened crescent. At its nearest point 50 feet away from the Brunswick shopping centre. The public rooms are well proportioned and quite pleasant. Our bedroom was comfortably sized and just on the smart side of nice. Our first breakfast on the 9th July was however disappointing the hot items ordered was a mix... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheCrescentHotel, Front Office Manager at The Crescent Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor. You didn't mention whether you had brought any of your issues to the attention of any staff member, as we would have welcomed the opportunity to rectify any issues with the quality of the food and towels. I am sorry to read that you had difficulty in parking,... More

Lincolnshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We just spent 2 nights here and had a slightly smaller room than previously which was ok for a short stay. A good clean bathroom and comfortable beds which are my main requirements and polite and helpful staff. An excellent breakfast selection ( I recommend the porridge) and pleasant serving staff.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheCrescentHotel, Front Office Manager at The Crescent Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review and I do hope we will have the pleasure of your company again on your next visit to Scarborough. Lindsay Cooney More

Leeds, West Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The bedroom and bathroom were very dated and in need of refurbishment. We dined in the restaurant in the evening and this was quite nice but not amazing. I regularly stay in 4 and 5 star accommodation and am amazed that this property is so highly rated on Tripadvisor.

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheCrescentHotel, Front Office Manager at The Crescent Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review comparing us to a 4 or five star hotel so achieving 3 out of 5 doesn't seem too harsh when we are actually a 3 star hotel. We regularly update our rooms and public areas, and I hope that if you have occasion to visit Scarborough again, you will stop by a take a look... More

Hertford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Booked here when we couldn't book where we usually stay in the same road. This is a very pleasant hotel, good sized room with long windows opening onto a sort of balcony, although it wasn't the sort you could sit out on. Decent bar, restaurant but very expensive so didn't use it. The situation is close to the town and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheCrescentHotel, General Manager at The Crescent Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your kind review. It is easy to sound defensive when trying to offer honest and heartfelt responses to our guests reviews. Below we have made our best shot at delivering the facts as we see them. You highlighted the fact that our hotel cost you £20 more than the property where you normally stay on the same... More

Herefordshire
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I have just returned from staying 3 night's at T he Crescent. we arrived to be greeted by Diane who was friendly and very helpful,she explained about the parking permit,which you can get from the hotel for £4 which cover's you until 1 .30pm the following day,if like us you were in luck to be able to park outside on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newcastle, Australia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have just spent two weeks in May driving around the UK and I have great pleasure in stating our two nights at The Crescent Hotel were among the best and by far represented the best value for money. The room was spacious, immaculately clean and well appointed. The bed was a dream and the breakfast was first class, as... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Truro, United Kingdom
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

I stayed for 10 days and found it to be a home from home and that is nice in a Hotel when you are working away miles from your loved ones Management and staff were very friendly and it seemed like there was always someone around to assist you or pass the time of day. Do try the Crescents’ famous... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

It's good, but not quite perfect. The superior rooms on the corner of the hotel are spacious with large double aspect windows and the luxury of a window in the (reasonably sized) bathroom. But public areas and landings are a little bit shabby and, for the high price, there are petty meannesses, like no biscuits on the teatray, no conditioner... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Beverley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

I had to spend a night in Scarborough on business and found this by checking Tripadvisor, as I often do. Reviews seemed good so I went for it. First positive was that by going directly to the hotel website I saved over £20 from the prices quoted by the various booking agencies! A bit hard to get to by car,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Crescent Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Crescent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crescent Hotel

Address: The Crescent | Belvoir Terrace, Scarborough YO11 2PP , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Crescent Hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Crescent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crescent Hotel Scarborough

37 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (36)
Viewed
Room/suite (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Amenities

Restaurant
Hotel Style
#1 Family Hotel in Scarborough #1 Business Hotel in Scarborough #3 Romantic Hotel in Scarborough
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
20

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer