We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 27 Scarborough hotels

The Crescent Hotel

3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   The Crescent | Belvoir Terrace, Scarborough YO11 2PP , England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Crescent Hotel to your Saves list
The Crescent Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
96%
Ranked #3 of 27 hotels in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Pete L Scarborough, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (377)
  • Photos (37)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (80)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

377 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    277
    80
    15
    3
    2
See reviews for
49
205
24
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

A colleague from work hosted a leaving do in June, and I doubt we could have gave her a better send off! She was able to book for forty of us well in advance with a great variety to choose from beforehand meal wise. Each course was generous and really well cooked, the waiting staff very attentive. The dining room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
nottinghamshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

On the sign outside I noticed it was rated 3 star, but I would suggest the room we had was 5 star, superficially anyway. We stayed in a room called the Londsborough which was huge, as was the bathroom. First impressions of the room were mighty impressive, and very comfortable, a few niggles, including a hard bed but certainly nothing... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Wigan, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed for 2 days recently this was our first visit to this particular hotel....and we were NOT disappointed......the hotel is conveniently situated close to the town and seafront in a mews situation...the reception is spacious and receptionist cheery and helpful, as were all the staff,,,we had the Belvior suite...which was airy, spacious, and well appointed, with a great bathroom,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
25 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It is conveniently located close to the station, the town centre and the beach yet is on a quiet and elegant crescent - those rooms facing this crescent must have a lovely view (the one we stayed in had a prospect overlooking the air-conditioning system and the brick facade of Debenhams). The room was comfortable and quiet with only a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
TheCrescentHotel, Front Office Manager at The Crescent Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind review. It will be our pleasure to have your company again the next time you visit Scarborough. Lindsay Cooney More

Barnsley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed in the Hotel for one night after doing a 2 day 50 mile walk for a cancer charity And we chose this Hotel for its central location & good reviews & we where not disappointed Because we checked in late after our walk and really enjoyed the nice bath and comfy bed. Plus the rooms even though a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
TheCrescentHotel, Front Office Manager at The Crescent Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind review. It will be our pleasure to have your company again the next time you visit Scarborough. Lindsay Cooney More

London
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
44 hotel reviews
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel is located a short walk from the railway station and very close to the main shopping area in the town. Our room was huge and the facilities within were very good indeed, with modern fittings and a lovely large bathroom with separate bath and shower. Breakfasts were very nice and I particularly enjoyed the tasty black pudding !... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheCrescentHotel, Front Office Manager at The Crescent Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind review, your comments have been passed on to all the staff. It will be our pleasure to have your company again the next time you visit Scarborough. Lindsay Cooney More

Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We stayed in The Crescent Hotel for two nights, our main reason for visiting Scarborough was to see Status Quo at the open air theatre. The hotel was quite a walk from the theatre, but I was aware of that at the time of booking. I chose The Crescent as it looked like a well kept hotel from photos on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
TheCrescentHotel, Front Office Manager at The Crescent Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and I sincerely apologise for the towel quality you received. I hope that if you ever have an issue with the quality here, you will bring it to my attention during your stay so I can take immediate steps to rectify the problem. I am heartened that you enjoyed all other aspects of your stay... More

Manchester uk
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

This small hotel is located in a gardened crescent. At its nearest point 50 feet away from the Brunswick shopping centre. The public rooms are well proportioned and quite pleasant. Our bedroom was comfortably sized and just on the smart side of nice. Our first breakfast on the 9th July was however disappointing the hot items ordered was a mix... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheCrescentHotel, Front Office Manager at The Crescent Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor. You didn't mention whether you had brought any of your issues to the attention of any staff member, as we would have welcomed the opportunity to rectify any issues with the quality of the food and towels. I am sorry to read that you had difficulty in parking,... More

Lincolnshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

We just spent 2 nights here and had a slightly smaller room than previously which was ok for a short stay. A good clean bathroom and comfortable beds which are my main requirements and polite and helpful staff. An excellent breakfast selection ( I recommend the porridge) and pleasant serving staff.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheCrescentHotel, Front Office Manager at The Crescent Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review and I do hope we will have the pleasure of your company again on your next visit to Scarborough. Lindsay Cooney More

Leeds, West Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

The bedroom and bathroom were very dated and in need of refurbishment. We dined in the restaurant in the evening and this was quite nice but not amazing. I regularly stay in 4 and 5 star accommodation and am amazed that this property is so highly rated on Tripadvisor.

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheCrescentHotel, Front Office Manager at The Crescent Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review comparing us to a 4 or five star hotel so achieving 3 out of 5 doesn't seem too harsh when we are actually a 3 star hotel. We regularly update our rooms and public areas, and I hope that if you have occasion to visit Scarborough again, you will stop by a take a look... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Crescent Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Crescent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crescent Hotel

Address: The Crescent | Belvoir Terrace, Scarborough YO11 2PP , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Crescent Hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Crescent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crescent Hotel Scarborough

37 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (36)
Viewed
Room/suite (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Scarborough with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style
#1 Business Hotel in Scarborough #1 Family Hotel in Scarborough #3 Romantic Hotel in Scarborough
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
20

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Crescent Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer