We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pickering Road West | Snainton, Scarborough YO13 9PL, England
Hotel amenities
Coachman Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Coachman Inn to your Saves list
Ranked #110 of 182 Scarborough B&B and Inns
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2014
dizzywizzy newcastle upon tyne
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    16
    1
    3
    4
See reviews for
10
31
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (65)
  • Mar-May only
    (16)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (20)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (15)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (14)
All months
Walton-On-Thames, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2014

My husband and I were looking forward to our 4 day break at the coachman inn 27th December 2014. Upon arrival was not very welcoming. We were shown to our Double Room right up the top of the building in the eaves. The room was cold damp and not very clean. Sink right next to the bed. Wardrobe which we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AnnaC1911, Owner at Coachman Inn, responded to this review

We are very sorry that you have not had a good experience with us, as we always try to ensure that all our guests have a fabulous stay and feel that they are getting great service and value for money. The room in which you were booked into was at the very top of the building and with the building... More 

newcastle upon tyne
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2014

We've just arrived back from a weekend break at the Coachman's Inn. The hotel has a 1776 plaque outside, so it obviously has a lot of history to it. Downstairs was quaint and quirky, with an old fashioned bar, small 'snug' and large, spacious dining-room. Upstairs the bedrooms were large, extremely clean, well decorated, with modern bathrooms. There was a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AnnaC1911, Owner at Coachman Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and we have taken on board the comment regarding the heating, as you noted the inn dates back to the 1700's and there are some restrictions to what we are able to do, but that is now all in hand. We hope to welcome you back... More 

Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2014

I can wholeheartedly recommend the Coachman Inn, although probably best suited to adults only The new owners are turning the beautiful old coaching inn round from what must have been adequate into a really special place to stay. The inn is in a great location just off the A170 betwixt Pickering and Scarborough. The rooms are quiet even with the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AnnaC1911, Owner at Coachman Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We would warmly welcome you back to The Coachman Inn and hope to see you someday soon. More 

London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2014

Sadly we never got the chance to give our critique in person as we were rushing off to a family event; we wanted to speak to the owners direct as they had only just taken over the business and clearly wanted it to succeed. They were also very personable and deserved honest feedback. We stayed here with family members and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AnnaC1911, Owner at Coachman Inn, responded to this review

We were sorry to read your review and I can appreciate it was a few months ago, but we wanted to let you know that we have taken on board your comments and have worked on remedy the issues that you experienced. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed dining with us and if you are ever back in... More 

Wakefield, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014

Took a chance but what a joy it turned out to be. After a dreadful couple of weeks we had to get away. This popped up on a search for 'pubs with rooms' in North Yorkshire, near to Scarborough and Whitby. Beautiful setting, wonderful looking (although we were a little worried about the state of the windows but need not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AnnaC1911, Owner at Coachman Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review from your stay last year. We are so pleased that you enjoyed it and as you mentioned we have been very busy with making changes and we hope if you ever look to come back to the area, you will revisit as we would offer you a warm welcome here. More 

Morecambe, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
51 hotel reviews
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

We stayed on the caravan site next to this. Nothing to do with it though even though it is of the same name we got a very cheery welcome from the owner and staff. The menu was slightly limited but still enough choice. I sometimes think this is better as too vast a menu can spread the quality out We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AnnaC1911, Owner at Coachman Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your experience and found us value for money. If you are in the area again, please do stop by for a very warm welcome from us. More 

York, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

Best in the area for Sunday lunch, great presentation, food cooked to perfection, particularly the veg. Not yet tried evening meals. Sensibly priced and good service. Needs a bit of updating but with quality like this we are happy to support the new owners and give them the time to do so. New owners 10/10.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manchester
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

We've just got back from a lovely weekend in North Yorkshire, we stayed at The Coachman Inn for 1 night. We arrived at 3pm and checked in straight away. We were greeted by a lovely lady who was warm and polite who showed us to our room, Brougham, on the third floor, the loft rooms, on our floor there were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights as part of a golf package deal with Snainton Golf Club. Two rooms, a double for my wife and myself and a twin for teenage son and daughter. Rooms were very spacious, beds comfortable, everything very clean and all mod cons supplied including free wifi. (Fabulous big bath for soaking aching muscles after golf sessions -... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
UK
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Don't go near the place The comfortable lounge is stripped to make extra tables. The restaurant is soulless. Pack 'em in!!!!! None of the service, thoughtful menu or attention to detail that made the coachman worth travelling over 100 miles for is here. Awful. We will never go again!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
AnnaC1911, Owner at Coachman Inn, responded to this review

We were sorry to read your review and that you weren't happy with your dining experience. We have taken on some changes since taking over the inn and that has included changing the dining rooms. We certainly understand that if you enjoy things a certain way, any change can be unsettling, but we hope that if you are in the... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Coachman Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coachman Inn

Address: Pickering Road West | Snainton, Scarborough YO13 9PL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, LateRooms and Booking.com so you can book your Coachman Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

15 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay