We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 27 Scarborough hotels

Red Lea Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prince of Wales Terrace, Scarborough YO112AJ, England
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Red Lea Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Red Lea Hotel to your Saves list
79%
Ranked #13 of 27 Hotels in Scarborough
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
brichy Richmond-upon-Thames, United Kingdom
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    58
    23
    9
    8
See reviews for
32
73
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (186)
  • Mar-May only
    (48)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (61)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (47)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (30)
All months
Richmond-upon-Thames, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
40 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed two night for Oliver's Mount road races, handy the circuit and wanted hotel with a pool. Staff lovely and friendly. Room was a bit basic, but clean, tea/coffee (no biscuits), small TV with plenty of channels. Bathroom with toiletries, no tissues. Food very ordinary and measured out, breakfast ok, poor selection especially if you want continental. Too much lighting... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Scarborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just had afternoon tea at this hotel, to say the food was poor was an understatement. The food was obviously portioned out per person on the serving three tier tea stands, two triangle sandwiches ( small at that ) a half fruit scone with jam and cream and a petit chocolate, oh and a cup of tea, all for twelve... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
RedLeaGM, Front Office Manager at Red Lea Hotel, responded to this review

We are very disappointed that you feel this way about the afternoon tea you attended. The price for our afternoon tea is £7.95, however as you are aware this particular event was a charity event for 58 guests and the £12 you were charged was the price charged by the event organisers, not by ourselves. We have received nothing but... More

York, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

First the positives: Friendly and helpful staff, indoor pool, comfortable beds, decent-sized room recently refurbished. Negatives: Food mediocre, no option for a continental breakfast (croissants, cheese etc.) but old-fashioned cooked meal waitress served. Dinner was OK but nothing special, aimed at visiting coach parties. The cleaning of the room (bathroom particularly) left something to be desired. General: Situated a little... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The autumn break was with my wife,brother and sister in law. The hotel was clean and the bedrooms very comfortable. We had allowed for autumnal weather and had loads of clothes with us but there was adequate storage.. The restaurant was excellant, the waiting staff were polite yet friendly and the hotels kitchens were up to date with my gluton... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at the Red Lea for 2 nights when our daughter graduated from university. The ceremony was at the spa complex & the Red Lea is on the cliff above the spa complex. The bedroom was very comfortable. Our room had a double and a single bed. The food was very nice and the service in the restaurant was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Nice surprise for my partner as staff did not let on as I ordered champagne to thank her for my weekend away for my birthday lovely room with a beautiful view as well A++++++++++++ would recommend to anybody for a weekend away staff very nice too.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Visited the Red Lea again in august this year after a wonderful visit last year also in august, The hotel is still the great hotel that it was apart from one thing. the service in the dining room was to say the least very very slow and sometimes the food was cold by the time it arrived, last year we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
County Londonderry, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

great trip for a week to scarborough n.yorkshire hotel red lea, very good food great friendly staffand the fact that we are pensioners in our 80s it was a holiday break to enjoy.i,ve travelled all over europe and the u.s.a. and never met hotel staff who offerred so much pleasantry. the staff were of a mixed nationality and were all... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The standard of hotels at the coast are never met with those inland or indeed abroad. I can only imagine this one got its three stars for having a pool. Tired, small rooms, very hot - this needs addressing as lots have mentioned it and silly locks on the door which means when you close you door its not locked... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
South yorkshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Just got back from a lovely night away. Paid £79.00 at the Red Lea Hotel. Lovely snug double room, had a lovely nights sleep. The hotel is dated but very clean and comfy. The staff are lovely and can't do enough for you. Breakfast was well cooked although I wasn't keen on the display and presentation of the cereals, jams... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Do you own or manage Red Lea Hotel?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Red Lea Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lea Hotel

Address: Prince of Wales Terrace, Scarborough YO112AJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lea Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Red Lea Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

60 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (26)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (35)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay