We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Red Lea Hotel

3.0 of 5 Prince of Wales Terrace, Scarborough YO112AJ, England
Hotel website
Click for phone number
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Red Lea Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Red Lea Hotel
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    58
    23
    9
    8
See reviews for
32
75
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (189)
  • Mar-May only
    (48)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (61)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (50)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (30)
All months
uk
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Hubby and I stayed here for one night, after a previous night at another hotel. What a fabulous Hotel. I just wish I knew this existed before, after booking many different hotels in scarborough in the course of thirty odd...years. Our room was pristine, spacious, we didn't care if we didnt have a seaview, we wouldn't bother if this was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have just returned from another excellent stay at the Red Lea Hotel, where we took a party of guests on a painting holiday. This is the third time we have used the hotel and we are booked in to return for two more painting holidays next year. Over the three holidays we have held at the hotel we have... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shropshire
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Here for the 4th time and intend to use the swimming pool this time, the third time in room 113 very clean, comfortable and great views, just brilliant, all the staff are great and can not do enough to help. We will certainly be back next year. Thanks to all at The Red Lea.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Richmond-upon-Thames, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
40 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed two night for Oliver's Mount road races, handy the circuit and wanted hotel with a pool. Staff lovely and friendly. Room was a bit basic, but clean, tea/coffee (no biscuits), small TV with plenty of channels. Bathroom with toiletries, no tissues. Food very ordinary and measured out, breakfast ok, poor selection especially if you want continental. Too much lighting... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Scarborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Just had afternoon tea at this hotel, to say the food was poor was an understatement. The food was obviously portioned out per person on the serving three tier tea stands, two triangle sandwiches ( small at that ) a half fruit scone with jam and cream and a petit chocolate, oh and a cup of tea, all for twelve... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
RedLeaGM, Front Office Manager at Red Lea Hotel, responded to this review

We are very disappointed that you feel this way about the afternoon tea you attended. The price for our afternoon tea is £7.95, however as you are aware this particular event was a charity event for 58 guests and the £12 you were charged was the price charged by the event organisers, not by ourselves. We have received nothing but... More

York, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

First the positives: Friendly and helpful staff, indoor pool, comfortable beds, decent-sized room recently refurbished. Negatives: Food mediocre, no option for a continental breakfast (croissants, cheese etc.) but old-fashioned cooked meal waitress served. Dinner was OK but nothing special, aimed at visiting coach parties. The cleaning of the room (bathroom particularly) left something to be desired. General: Situated a little... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The autumn break was with my wife,brother and sister in law. The hotel was clean and the bedrooms very comfortable. We had allowed for autumnal weather and had loads of clothes with us but there was adequate storage.. The restaurant was excellant, the waiting staff were polite yet friendly and the hotels kitchens were up to date with my gluton... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed at the Red Lea for 2 nights when our daughter graduated from university. The ceremony was at the spa complex & the Red Lea is on the cliff above the spa complex. The bedroom was very comfortable. Our room had a double and a single bed. The food was very nice and the service in the restaurant was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2014

Nice surprise for my partner as staff did not let on as I ordered champagne to thank her for my weekend away for my birthday lovely room with a beautiful view as well A++++++++++++ would recommend to anybody for a weekend away staff very nice too.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2014

Visited the Red Lea again in august this year after a wonderful visit last year also in august, The hotel is still the great hotel that it was apart from one thing. the service in the dining room was to say the least very very slow and sometimes the food was cold by the time it arrived, last year we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Red Lea Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lea Hotel

Address: Prince of Wales Terrace, Scarborough YO112AJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lea Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Red Lea Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

60 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (26)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (35)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay