We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   4 Rutland Terrace | Queens Parade, Scarborough YO12 7JB, England
Hotel amenities
  • Overview
  • Reviews (20)
  • Photos (6)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (6)
  • More
The Ainsley
Ranked #130 of 181 Scarborough B&B and Inns
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Scarborough
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

20 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    6
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
12
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

This is the second time we have stayed here,this time we stayed in one of the sea view rooms with superb views of the north bay,the rooms have everything you need,clean and comfortable.The owners are friendly and helpful,good hearty breakfast.It is in a good location taking about ten minutes in to the centre of town and handy for the lovely... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Chester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

My husband and I have just re-visited The Ainsley. Glad to say that again we really enjoyed the hospitality, food and of course that sea view. The room as usual was lovely, clean and well stocked with beverages and biscuits. Will definately be going back again

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is awfull they put us in a box room with a tiny window, when we asked to move they said they where fulling the gentleman was unbalievebly rude and we heard him talking about us downstairs swearing, even tho the door s to the other rooms wher still open all night :-/ so just think they didn't want... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Ainsley01, Owner at The Ainsley, responded to this review

We’re sorry that you didn’t enjoy your recent stay at The Ainsley, but we would like to take this opportunity to respond to your criticisms. The top floor bedrooms that you booked are described as small, ensuite double rooms; they are not by any stretch of the imagination ‘box rooms’ with tiny windows. The guest house is regularly inspected by... More

Derby
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Came here 10 years ago and got engaged so holds great memories for us. We always stay in room 8 on the second floor because of amazing sea views. The rooms are spotless and have all the facilities you need including a great shower. The view of the North Bay is panoramic and the castle is a 2 minute walk.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Chester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

My husband and I have stayed here quite a few times and will continue to do so. There is always a warm welcome whenever we arrive, which is usually on speck. The building (as with all the buildings here) is very old but lovely. The views from the bay windows of the front/sea facing rooms are absolutely beautiful. The breakfast... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

I've stayed in many b&bs throughout the north of England and The Ainsley is definitely the best. We were made to feel very welcome and the breakfasts were superb (excellent choice and served in a lovely, cosy dining room). My little boy and I shared an en-suite family room which was spotless and comfortable. I also must mention the tea... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Just shows how much TripAdvisor can mislead, people saying this is the best b&b in Scarborough! I'd hate to see the worst. Stayed one night ( thankfully) It's a typical British guest house, tiny rooms, dated , overpriced and nowhere to Park. Not awful but nothing special. Won't stay here again

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Coalville, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Had a lovely stay The Ainsley guest house. Felt right at home especially with the nice extra touches and the view from my room on the front is outstanding. Was listening to the sea every night. Lovely to have bottled water and drinks in the lounge that were needed with the hot weather. Old fashioned decor but really homely. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bradford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

stayed for one night we were made to feel very welcome the room was spotless and had everything you needed,the sweets were a nice touch too.i would definately go back to this hotel for a longer stay.the hotel is in a good location a short distance to beach and town centre

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Me, my husband and little boy turned up at The Ainsley wanting a room for just one night. That was no problem at all. They made us feel very welcome straightaway. We were given a lovely room which was spotless but very cosy. I was taken aback by the amount of tea, coffee and milk there was in the room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Ainsley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Ainsley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ainsley

Address: 4 Rutland Terrace | Queens Parade, Scarborough YO12 7JB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ainsley 3*

6 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (3)

Amenities

Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Ainsley is a small, family run guest house with superb views over Scarborough's North Bay and only a short walk from all local amenities. Recently awarded a three star rating by Quality in Tourism for Visit Britain. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
9

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer

    Bookmark for later
    Save Saved
    You added The Ainsley to your Saves list