We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Ainsley

4 Rutland Terrace | Queens Parade, Scarborough YO12 7JB, England
The Ainsley
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    6
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
14
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (22)
  • Mar-May only
    (3)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (11)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (4)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (4)
All months
Chester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Once again we had a lovely stay at the Ainsley. Lynne as usual was warm and friendly, and made us feel very welcome right through our stay. Lynne is a very attentive lady, never rushes you and is always ready to answer any questions, whether it is about your stay at the b&b or about Scarborough itself. The breakfast has... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ainsley01, Owner at The Ainsley, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you both again when you next visit Scarborough. More 

York, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2014

We stayed in a front double en-suit with sea views only £56. The room was very clean, plenty of tea/coffee biscuits. The bed comfortable and shower worked well. Lots of thoughtful extras. The breakfast was more than ample with plenty to choose from in cereals, yogurt and full English. A friendly and warm welcome, will certainly go back again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Ainsley01, Owner at The Ainsley, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, so pleased you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Hope we can provide you with accommodation when you next visit Scarborough. More 

Bradford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

This is the second time we have stayed here,this time we stayed in one of the sea view rooms with superb views of the north bay,the rooms have everything you need,clean and comfortable.The owners are friendly and helpful,good hearty breakfast.It is in a good location taking about ten minutes in to the centre of town and handy for the lovely... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Chester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

My husband and I have just re-visited The Ainsley. Glad to say that again we really enjoyed the hospitality, food and of course that sea view. The room as usual was lovely, clean and well stocked with beverages and biscuits. Will definately be going back again

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

This hotel is awfull they put us in a box room with a tiny window, when we asked to move they said they where fulling the gentleman was unbalievebly rude and we heard him talking about us downstairs swearing, even tho the door s to the other rooms wher still open all night :-/ so just think they didn't want... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Ainsley01, Owner at The Ainsley, responded to this review

We’re sorry that you didn’t enjoy your recent stay at The Ainsley, but we would like to take this opportunity to respond to your criticisms. The top floor bedrooms that you booked are described as small, ensuite double rooms; they are not by any stretch of the imagination ‘box rooms’ with tiny windows. The guest house is regularly inspected by... More 

Derby
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Came here 10 years ago and got engaged so holds great memories for us. We always stay in room 8 on the second floor because of amazing sea views. The rooms are spotless and have all the facilities you need including a great shower. The view of the North Bay is panoramic and the castle is a 2 minute walk.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Chester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

My husband and I have stayed here quite a few times and will continue to do so. There is always a warm welcome whenever we arrive, which is usually on speck. The building (as with all the buildings here) is very old but lovely. The views from the bay windows of the front/sea facing rooms are absolutely beautiful. The breakfast... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

I've stayed in many b&bs throughout the north of England and The Ainsley is definitely the best. We were made to feel very welcome and the breakfasts were superb (excellent choice and served in a lovely, cosy dining room). My little boy and I shared an en-suite family room which was spotless and comfortable. I also must mention the tea... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

Just shows how much TripAdvisor can mislead, people saying this is the best b&b in Scarborough! I'd hate to see the worst. Stayed one night ( thankfully) It's a typical British guest house, tiny rooms, dated , overpriced and nowhere to Park. Not awful but nothing special. Won't stay here again

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Coalville, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Had a lovely stay The Ainsley guest house. Felt right at home especially with the nice extra touches and the view from my room on the front is outstanding. Was listening to the sea every night. Lovely to have bottled water and drinks in the lounge that were needed with the hot weather. Old fashioned decor but really homely. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

7 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question