We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ambassador Spa Hotel

36 - 38 Esplanade | Centre of the Esplanade, Scarborough Y011 2AY, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Ambassador Spa Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

801 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    230
    249
    155
    106
    61
See reviews for
128
375
34
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (801)
  • Mar-May only
    (215)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (248)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (181)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (157)
All months
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

On arriving we couldn't work out where reception was (silly us, we should have known to go through the side entrance) so we went to the car to ask staff member who described where reception was. We went right round to be served by has on the other side of the bar. Service was good and efficient. Managed to find... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Great hotel with really helpful staff. Booked a 6 night stay in a sea view family roomed had a couple of probs with the room a dripping shower and a TV that wouldn't work. Both were sorted out quickly. The decor in the room was a little tired but the size of the room made up for that. Great food,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bridlington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Booked at very short notice (30 mins) after walking out of the "Grand Hotel". Room 105 was lovely, clean, nicely decorated, side sea view and comfy bed. Staff on reception (Joanna) was really helpful. Went for a wedding evening do so only ate buffet and breakfast but they were lovely too. Didn't use the spa facilities so cannot rate them.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We visited for a spa afternoon for a treat for Valentines. 1) Grotty and broken changing rooms. Overflowing toilet and having to change in it as well.... 2) Pool had a layer of scum on it. Not nice trying to swim in this. 3) Sauna was broken and we got told we could go to the roof to use the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3

Travelers are raving about these Scarborough hotels

Huddersfield, UK
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for our anniversary and we reallyenjoyed the break. Fortunately we had great weather which was good as the hotel is a fair walk from the main town. We used the cliff lifts (left along the front) and were through the spa and at the town in perhaps a good 10 mins. If you were to walk without... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Ambassador Spa Hotel overlooks a panoramic view of the Bay, the accommodation downstairs is modern and clean, the upstairs bedrooms are small and hot, our room had a leaky kettle, and cracked sink, the continental breakfast lacked choice. However the spa was amazing and the fact that customers could you the facilities of pool and relaxation room were great.

Was this review helpful? Yes
AmbassadorOpsManager, Guest Relations Manager at Ambassador Spa Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Yvonne O, Thank you for taking the time to place your review. I am pleased you found our communal guest areas modern and clean and sorry to hear you found your accommodation small, in the future our premier deluxe rooms have high floor to ceiling windows and separating seating areas which may suit your needs better if you are... More 

Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Location of the hotel fine . The food was very poor . I complained twice about it ventualky we decided to eat out . We booked a family room with sea view at a cost of £155 per night including breakfast . The room was small . Windows couldn't be opened and sea view was possible through a small window... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AmbassadorOpsManager, Guest Relations Manager at Ambassador Spa Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Carole B, Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. As you can understand it is hard to rectify any situation once a guest leaves and i have tried my best to check your booking but cant do so as I only have your first name. I can confirm however that all our "sea view rooms"... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great hotel. Great view. Free breakfast and parking, and an added bonus, the superstars we were going to see were staying in the hotel, definitely be booking again. Location was good, the staff were really helpful, no draught beer but plenty of selection in the bar

Was this review helpful? Yes
AmbassadorOpsManager, Guest Relations Manager at Ambassador Spa Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jonathan P, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed meeting the guests we had in over the weekend ! We look forward to welcoming you back soon and who knows who you will bump in to next time! Kind Regards More 

Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My husband and I visit Scarborough on a regular basis and often stay at this hotel. Its in a great location but is looking tired and some of the bedrooms are quite small.We stayed for one night last night (9th August). I booked a sea view double at £115. The room was at the end of a long corridor on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
AmbassadorOpsManager, Guest Relations Manager at Ambassador Spa Hotel, responded to this review

Dear christineclerey, Thank you for your feedback , I am sorry you found your stay uncomfortable with us. I am sorry you found your room exceedingly warm , we do keep fans on hand for all guests if we have hot weather, the hotels heating has not been on through out summer, we did have other rooms available on Saturday... More 

Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My wife has used the spa / treatment facilities at this hotel on a few occasions and for her birthday she went for a day spa visit which included treatments which she said were very nice. She invited me to join her later in the day for afternoon tea.The afternoon tea was a terrible disappointment advertised to 'indulge in a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
AmbassadorOpsManager, Guest Relations Manager at Ambassador Spa Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Westview50, Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback regarding your spa and afternoon tea. Firstly I am pleased your wife enjoyed her spa day and treatments and will pass this on to our therapists. I am sorry to hear of your disappointment I your afternoon tea and would personally like to speak to you regarding your... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

214 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (184)
Viewed
Bathroom (21)
Viewed
Room/suite (63)
Viewed
View from room (23)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (27)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (9)
Viewed
Other (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (9)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.3 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#9 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 stars 2,254 reviews
0.1 mi away
Red Lea Hotel
Red Lea Hotel
#14 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 stars 239 reviews
0.6 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#13 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 stars 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#12 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 stars 467 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Mount Hotel
The Mount Hotel
#11 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 stars 224 reviews
0.7 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#25 of 28 in Scarborough
3.0 of 5 stars 1,649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay