We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 182 Scarborough B&Bs / inns

Philmore Guest House

Save Saved
You added Philmore Guest House to your Saves list
126 Columbus Ravine, Scarborough YO12 7QZ, England
Hotel amenities
Philmore Guest House
Ranked #131 of 182 Scarborough B&B and Inns
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Scarborough
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    3
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
4
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

On my occasional trips to Scarborough I always ask Mel and Nicky if they have a room for me - don't always get one - very happy if they can fit me in. (Must book earlier) When I got married some years ago I had all my family stay there. You know what I am going to say... love the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
PhilmoreGuestHouse, Owner at Philmore Guest House, responded to this review

It was great to see you again. Thank you for leaving your comments. I know you always enjoy staying here and look forward to the next time we meet up. More

Halifax, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The room was 60 pounds for the two of us, for just one night. Dirty nickers and a woman's top were found under my bed. Didn't seem clean at all. Paper thin walls made it hard to sleep. The kettle didn't even reach the plug socket, had to out it on the floor to reach! Then looked in the cups... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PhilmoreGuestHouse, Owner at Philmore Guest House, responded to this review

I am sorry you had such a bad time while you were staying here. Why on earth did you not mention anything was wrong while you were here? I have just checked under every bed and found nothing. Where are the items you found under the bed now? The cups in all rooms are washed and bleached every day. I... More

Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Wow, after coming to Scarborough on and off for the last 10 years randomly picking the Philmore Hotel by chance on our first visit to the area, myself and my family have enjoyed every varying length of stay we have booked. Love the freindly atmosphere, comfortable accomodation and ressful stay. The location is excellent at the North Bay, with Mel... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
PhilmoreGuestHouse, Owner at Philmore Guest House, responded to this review

It was great to see you all again. Thank you for your positive comments. It is good to know you enjoy staying here. Don't leave it so long before you pay us another visit. More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Nicky and Mel were very welcoming Room 1 was spacious very clean with a very comfortable bed. Shower had good pressure and lots of hot water. Breakfast was good quality and tasty. Location was excellent 2 minute walk to Peaseholm Park. Off street parking was a massive advantage but street parking passes were available free of charge. If I were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
PhilmoreGuestHouse, Owner at Philmore Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to tell us your views. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you both again. More

Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Just returned home from another excellant stay at the philmore wonderful food lovely clean room Nicola and Mel great hosts nothing is too much troublle very handy for the beach and Peasholme park just a couple of minutes away.The sealife centre is also close by.We have stayed here many times and hope to do so again

Was this review helpful? Yes
PhilmoreGuestHouse, Owner at Philmore Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments. I am pleased you have had yet another enjoyable holiday with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. More

Derby, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Stopped on off chance they had 2 rooms on 12/07/14 for one night only - pleased we did as we took the last 2 rooms and found the owners very pleasant. Firstly lets get it clear it's a guest house not a 4 or 5 star hotel and what you pay reflects that, if you're after something upmarket or boutique... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
PhilmoreGuestHouse, Owner at Philmore Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. I am glad your family enjoyed your stay. More

Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

The room was clean but mismatched bedding plastic shower hose to attach to bath taps not great in a very competitive market. Breakfast was good but require notice for boiled or scrambled eggs?... Landlady was very welcoming and communal rooms large and airy

Was this review helpful? Yes
PhilmoreGuestHouse, Owner at Philmore Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Your comments have been noted and are being addressed. More

uk
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Just had our third visit as part of a group. Have always found the rooms clean and presentable, if not always the biggest but hey, this is a guest house, not a 5 star hotel!! Mel and Nicola have always been great friendly hosts, and have served up well cooked breakfasts and evening meals. Being at the lower end of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
PhilmoreGuestHouse, Owner at Philmore Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your weekend with us. We hope to see you all again next year. More

Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

We have just returned from the Philmore Guest House that has accomodated us out of season this year ,and feel that i should write this review. Having stayed at the Philmore Guest House on many occasions my wife and i always find the Hosts Mel and Nicky to be extremely accomodating. The decor is constantly updated yearly and we have... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stayed here for one night in desperation when we had already searched around other properties that were booked up. Good points: location not bad near Peasholm Park and not far from sea. Bad points: Small chintzy room with well worn furniture, faded pink towels etc. Only room for one person to walk round the bed at a time. Ensuite... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Philmore Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Philmore Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Philmore Guest House

Address: 126 Columbus Ravine, Scarborough YO12 7QZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

1 photo of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Scarborough with
any amenities