We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Philmore Guest House

126 Columbus Ravine, Scarborough YO12 7QZ, England
Philmore Guest House

12 reviews from our community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    6
    3
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
4
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (12)
  • Mar-May only
    (1)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (10)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (0)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (1)
All months
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2015

I've been going to Philmore since I was a child and 25 years on still go with my wife. It is a brilliant family run business which always gives a warm welcome, a good breakfast and a comfortable room. All 4 family members can not do enough for you, all you have to do is ask. A great location, right... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PhilmoreGuestHouse, Owner at Philmore Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I am pleased you always enjoy staying with us. We look forward to seeing you both again. More 

Boston, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

On my occasional trips to Scarborough I always ask Mel and Nicky if they have a room for me - don't always get one - very happy if they can fit me in. (Must book earlier) When I got married some years ago I had all my family stay there. You know what I am going to say... love the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PhilmoreGuestHouse, Owner at Philmore Guest House, responded to this review

It was great to see you again. Thank you for leaving your comments. I know you always enjoy staying here and look forward to the next time we meet up. More 

Halifax, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

The room was 60 pounds for the two of us, for just one night. Dirty nickers and a woman's top were found under my bed. Didn't seem clean at all. Paper thin walls made it hard to sleep. The kettle didn't even reach the plug socket, had to out it on the floor to reach! Then looked in the cups... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PhilmoreGuestHouse, Owner at Philmore Guest House, responded to this review

I am sorry you had such a bad time while you were staying here. Why on earth did you not mention anything was wrong while you were here? I have just checked under every bed and found nothing. Where are the items you found under the bed now? The cups in all rooms are washed and bleached every day. I... More 

Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Wow, after coming to Scarborough on and off for the last 10 years randomly picking the Philmore Hotel by chance on our first visit to the area, myself and my family have enjoyed every varying length of stay we have booked. Love the freindly atmosphere, comfortable accomodation and ressful stay. The location is excellent at the North Bay, with Mel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PhilmoreGuestHouse, Owner at Philmore Guest House, responded to this review

It was great to see you all again. Thank you for your positive comments. It is good to know you enjoy staying here. Don't leave it so long before you pay us another visit. More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Nicky and Mel were very welcoming Room 1 was spacious very clean with a very comfortable bed. Shower had good pressure and lots of hot water. Breakfast was good quality and tasty. Location was excellent 2 minute walk to Peaseholm Park. Off street parking was a massive advantage but street parking passes were available free of charge. If I were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PhilmoreGuestHouse, Owner at Philmore Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to tell us your views. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you both again. More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Just returned home from another excellant stay at the philmore wonderful food lovely clean room Nicola and Mel great hosts nothing is too much troublle very handy for the beach and Peasholme park just a couple of minutes away.The sealife centre is also close by.We have stayed here many times and hope to do so again

Was this review helpful? Yes
PhilmoreGuestHouse, Owner at Philmore Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments. I am pleased you have had yet another enjoyable holiday with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. More 

Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Stopped on off chance they had 2 rooms on 12/07/14 for one night only - pleased we did as we took the last 2 rooms and found the owners very pleasant. Firstly lets get it clear it's a guest house not a 4 or 5 star hotel and what you pay reflects that, if you're after something upmarket or boutique... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PhilmoreGuestHouse, Owner at Philmore Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. I am glad your family enjoyed your stay. More 

Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

The room was clean but mismatched bedding plastic shower hose to attach to bath taps not great in a very competitive market. Breakfast was good but require notice for boiled or scrambled eggs?... Landlady was very welcoming and communal rooms large and airy

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PhilmoreGuestHouse, Owner at Philmore Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Your comments have been noted and are being addressed. More 

uk
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Just had our third visit as part of a group. Have always found the rooms clean and presentable, if not always the biggest but hey, this is a guest house, not a 5 star hotel!! Mel and Nicola have always been great friendly hosts, and have served up well cooked breakfasts and evening meals. Being at the lower end of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PhilmoreGuestHouse, Owner at Philmore Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your weekend with us. We hope to see you all again next year. More 

Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

We have just returned from the Philmore Guest House that has accomodated us out of season this year ,and feel that i should write this review. Having stayed at the Philmore Guest House on many occasions my wife and i always find the Hosts Mel and Nicky to be extremely accomodating. The decor is constantly updated yearly and we have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

2 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities